DETAILED ACTION
The examiner acknowledges applicant’s amendments to claims 1-3 and the addition of new claims 4-7 filed September 8, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claim 1, line 1, the comma after the phrase “A vehicle door” should be removed, and lines 12-19 should read as follows: “is closed, wherein the mechanical key cylinder is disposed in a rear end portion of the elongated hole and is disposed rearward of the second door handle in the vehicle front-rear direction; wherein the cover includes an exposed surface, the exposed surface of the cover is configured to be exposed to an outside of a vehicle, having the vehicle door, when the vehicle door is closed, and wherein the exposed surface of the cover is disposed in an inclined manner, such that a front end, in the vehicle front-rear direction, of the exposed surface of the cover is positioned inward, in a vehicle width direction, of a rear end, in the vehicle front-rear direction, of the exposed surface of the cover.” This language is suggested in order to clarify the claim language.
In regards to claim 2, line 2, the colon after the word “wherein” should be removed, in line 3, the phrase “in the vehicle front-rear direction” should be inserted after the phrase “of the mechanical key cylinder” so as to relate the position of the second door handle relative to the vehicle front-rear direction recited in claim 1, in line 4, the word “wherein” should be inserted before the phrase “an exposed surface,” and in line 7, the word “wherein” should be inserted before the phrase “the rear end.”
In regards to claim 3, line 2, the colon after the word “wherein” should be removed, and in line 4, the phrase “the insertion hole is provided between a rear end of the cover” should be changed to “wherein the insertion hole is provided between the rear end of the exposed surface of the cover” since it is understood from claim 1 and the specification that the rear end of the cover of claim 3 refers to the rear end of the exposed surface of the cover.
In regards to claim 4, line 1, the colon after the word “wherein” should be removed, in line 3, the phrase “while the vehicle is traveling” should be changed to “when the vehicle door is closed and while the vehicle is traveling,” and in line 4, the word “wherein” should be inserted before the phrase “the exposed surface.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 4, claim 4 recites that the exposed surface of the cover is exposed to the outside of the vehicle while the vehicle is traveling, however, the claim language does not relate this to the position of the vehicle door, as recited in claim 1. It is understood from the specification that the vehicle door must be closed while the vehicle is traveling, and will be examined as such. See claim objections above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kondo et al. (US Pub. No. 20250270859).
The applied reference has a common assignee and joint inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
In regards to claim 1, Kondo et al. discloses a vehicle comprising: a door outer panel 53 having an elongated hole 531, a longitudinal direction of the elongated hole coinciding with a vehicle front-rear direction (Figure 2); a first door handle 24 configured to operate an electric opening and closing mechanism (Paragraphs 65-67), the first door handle being disposed on an inner surface side of the door outer panel (Figures 2-4A); a second door handle 26 configured to operate a mechanical opening and closing mechanism (Paragraphs 68-70), the second door handle being disposed inside the elongate hole (Figure 2); a mechanical key cylinder 27 disposed inside the elongated hole (underneath cover 32, Figure 2), the mechanical key cylinder being configured to unlock and lock the vehicle door; and a cover 32 that covers a key entryway of the mechanical key cylinder when the vehicle door is closed, wherein the mechanical key cylinder is disposed in a rear end portion of the elongated hole (Figure 2) and is disposed rearward of the second door handle in the vehicle front-rear direction (Figure 2); wherein the cover includes an exposed surface (surface at the indicator line for reference character 32 in Figure 6), the exposed surface of the cover is configured to be exposed to an outside of a vehicle, having the vehicle door, when the vehicle door is closed (Figures 2 and 6), and wherein the exposed surface of the cover is disposed in an inclined manner (Figure 6), such that a front end (see Figure 6 below), in the vehicle front-rear direction, of the exposed surface of the cover is positioned inward, in a vehicle width direction, of a rear end (see Figure 6 below), in the vehicle front-rear direction, of the exposed surface of the cover.
In regards to claim 2, Kondo et al. discloses that the second door handle is disposed forward of the mechanical key cylinder in the vehicle front-rear direction (Figures 2 and 6, at least a portion of the second door handle is disposed forward of the mechanical key cylinder); wherein an exposed surface of the second door handle (surface at the indicator line for reference character 262 in Figure 6) is disposed in an inclined manner, such that a front end of the exposed surface of the second door handle is positioned inward of a rear end of the exposed surface of the second door handle in the vehicle width direction (see Figure 6 above); and wherein the rear end of the exposed surface of the second door handle is adjacent to the front end of the exposed surface of the cover (Figure 6).
In regards to claim 3, Kondo et al. discloses that the cover has an insertion hole (see Figure 6 on Page 6 of the current Office Action) configured to allow the cover to be removed (configured to allow the latch of the cover, see Figure 6 on Page 6 of the current Office Action, to move and/or be manipulated); and wherein the insertion hole is provided between the rear end of the exposed surface of the cover and a rear end of the rear end portion of the elongated hole (Figure 6).
In regards to claim 4, Kondo et al. discloses that the exposed surface of the cover is configured to be exposed to the outside of the vehicle when the vehicle door is closed and while the vehicle is traveling (Figure 2); and wherein the exposed surface of the cover is configured to have airflow flow over the exposed surface of the cover while the vehicle is traveling and redirect the airflow to flow from within the elongated hole to an outside of the elongated hole (it is apparent from Figure 6 that airflow flowing from left to right in Figure 6 would be redirected to an outside of the elongated hole by the inclined exposed surfaces of the second door handle and the cover while the vehicle is traveling).
In regards to claim 5, Kondo et al. discloses that an entirety of the exposed surface of the cover is planar (Figure 6).
In regards to claim 6, Kondo et al. discloses that the exposed surface of the cover is configured to be entirely within the elongated hole (Figure 2).
In regards to claim 7, Kondo et al. discloses that the exposed surface of the cover faces the outside of the vehicle (Figure 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The new rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) are based on applicant’s amendments to the claims.
In light of applicant’s amendments to claim 2, the drawing objections set forth in the previous Office Action is withdrawn.
In light of applicant’s amendments to the claims, the claim objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in the previous Office Action are withdrawn, however, new claim objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are set forth in the current Office Action based on applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALYSON M MERLINO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675 November 9, 2026