Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1- are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim et al (US 2019/0246161}.
As per claim 1. Lim et al discloses: A method comprising: at a head-mountable device 201 {figures 2 & 4} having one or more processors 210 and non-transitory memory 230 {figure 2};
detecting a trigger 503 {figure 5} indicating that a user {figure 4} has mounted or dismounted the head-mountable device 201 {[0092] In operation 503, in an embodiment, the processor 210 may determine whether the electronic device is worn by a user, through the proximity sensor 240G For example, the proximity sensor 240G may sense a series of actions in which a user's head gets in proximity and wears the electronic device 201.}; and
in response to detecting the trigger 503 {[0093] In operation 505, in an embodiment, as detecting that the electronic device 201 is worn by the user, the processor 210 may activate a receiving module for obtaining an external signal.}, executing a routine including transmitting a request to change a state of a remote device 410/420 {figure 4} from a first state to a second state {[0094] In operation 507, in an embodiment, the processor 210 receives a signal transmitted by the external electronic device 410 through the receiving module. In an embodiment, the signal may be a broadcast signal transmitted by the external electronic device 410. In an embodiment, the signal may include information corresponding to content that is being executed by the external electronic device 410. The information corresponding to the content may include information such as an image, a video, a sound source, a game, etc. and, beside this, may include virtual reality content and augmented reality content information. In an embodiment, as detecting that the electronic device 201 is worn by the user, the processor 210 may receive a signal.}.
As per claim 2 Lim et al discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein executing the routine includes transmitting requests to change a respective state of a plurality of remote devices 410/420. {[0094] In operation 507, in an embodiment, the processor 210 receives a signal transmitted by the external electronic device 410 through the receiving module. In an embodiment, the signal may be a broadcast signal transmitted by the external electronic device 410. In an embodiment, the signal may include information corresponding to content that is being executed by the external electronic device 410. The information corresponding to the content may include information such as an image, a video, a sound source, a game, etc. and, beside this, may include virtual reality content and augmented reality content information. In an embodiment, as detecting that the electronic device 201 is worn by the user, the processor 210 may receive a signal.}
As per claim 3 Lim et al discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein executing the routine includes playing audio {[0093] In operation 505, in an embodiment, as detecting that the electronic device 201 is worn by the user, the processor 210 may activate a receiving module for obtaining an external signal. In an embodiment, the receiving module may include at least one of the RF module 229, the audio module 280, and the camera module 291. The receiving module may be activated upon detecting that the electronic device 201 is worn by the user, and may be activated based on a user input. Operation concerning the receiving module of the electronic device 201 is described later in detail in FIG. 7.}.
As per claim 4 Lim et al discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein executing the routine includes receiving confirmation to continue the routine {[0095] In operation 509, in an embodiment, the processor 210 decodes the received signal. In an embodiment, in response to data being insufficient to recognize the content as a result of analyzing the decoded signal, the processor 210 may send a request for additional data to the external electronic device 410 through the communication module 220. In response to sending the additional data request, the electronic device 201 may form a channel with the external electronic device 410, and may receive the additional data.}.
As per claim 5 Lim et al discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein executing the routine includes transmitting an indirect request to another device to transmit a direct request to the remote device 410/420 to change the state of the remote device 410/420 from the first state to the second state {[0104] Unlike this, in response to the virtual reality content being provided from the server 420 to the external electronic device 410 in real time in a streaming scheme, the processor 210 may transmit a streaming data request signal to the server 420, and the server 420 receiving the request signal may real-time provide the virtual reality content to the electronic device 201 in the streaming scheme.}.
As per claim 6 Lim et al discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the trigger 503 indicates that the user has mounted the head-mountable device 201 {[0092] In operation 503, in an embodiment, the processor 210 may determine whether the electronic device is worn by a user, through the proximity sensor 240G For example, the proximity sensor 240G may sense a series of actions in which a user's head gets in proximity and wears the electronic device 201.}.
As per claim 7 Lim et al discloses: The method of claim 6, further comprising: detecting a second trigger 503 indicating that the user has dismounted the head-mountable device 201; and in response to detecting the second trigger 503, executing a second routine including transmitting a request to change the state of the remote device 410/420 from the second state to the first state { [0159] In operation 909, in an embodiment, in response to a user stopping the using of the electronic device 201, the external electronic device 410 stops a communication link formed with the electronic device 201, and stops coupling with the electronic device 201 . . . According to an embodiment of the disclosure, in response to a user not wearing the electronic device 201, the electronic device 201 may obtain a non-worn state of the electronic device 201, and the electronic device 201 may stop the playback of the content which is being played back by the electronic device 201, and the external electronic device 410 may keep performing the playback of the content.}.
As per claim 8 Lim et al discloses: The method of claim 6, further comprising: within a predetermined time period after detecting the trigger 503, detecting a user request to perform a function; and in response to detecting the user request, modifying the routine to include performing the function {[0159] According to an embodiment of the disclosure, the external electronic device 410 may obtain information on playback degree, time, position, etc. of content which is played back by the electronic device 201 from the electronic device 201 and, in response to the coupling with the electronic device 201 being stopped, perform playback of the content in a corresponding position.}.
As per claim 9 Lim et al discloses: The method of claim 8, wherein modifying the routine is further performed in response to detecting a user confirmation of the modification { [0159] In operation 909, in an embodiment, in response to a user stopping the using of the electronic device 201, the external electronic device 410 stops a communication link formed with the electronic device 201, and stops coupling with the electronic device 201 . . . According to an embodiment of the disclosure, in response to a user not wearing the electronic device 201, the electronic device 201 may obtain a non-worn state of the electronic device 201, and the electronic device 201 may stop the playback of the content which is being played back by the electronic device 201, and the external electronic device 410 may keep performing the playback of the content.}.
As per claim 10 Lim et al discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the trigger 503 indicates that the user has dismounted the head-mountable device 201 { [0159] In operation 909, in an embodiment, in response to a user stopping the using of the electronic device 201, the external electronic device 410 stops a communication link formed with the electronic device 201, and stops coupling with the electronic device 201 . . . According to an embodiment of the disclosure, in response to a user not wearing the electronic device 201, the electronic device 201 may obtain a non-worn state of the electronic device 201, and the electronic device 201 may stop the playback of the content which is being played back by the electronic device 201, and the external electronic device 410 may keep performing the playback of the content.}.
As per claim 11 Lim et al discloses: The method of claim 10, further comprising: within a predetermined time period before detecting the trigger 503, detecting a user request to perform a function; and in response to detecting the user request, modifying the routine to include performing the function {[0159] According to an embodiment of the disclosure, the external electronic device 410 may obtain information on playback degree, time, position, etc. of content which is played back by the electronic device 201 from the electronic device 201 and, in response to the coupling with the electronic device 201 being stopped, perform playback of the content in a corresponding position.}.
As per claim 12 Lim et al discloses: The method of claim 10, further comprising: determining a standard state of an additional remote device 1110 {[0171] In operation 1205, in an embodiment, the processor 210 stores state information of the searched peripheral electronic device 1110 in the memory 230. The state information of the peripheral electronic device 1110 may include at least one or more of identification information (ID) of the peripheral electronic device 1110, a currently providable service, and service category version information held by the peripheral electronic device 1110.}; determining that a current state of the additional remote device 1110 is not the standard state; and in response to determining that the current state of the additional remote device 1110 is not the standard state, transmitting a request to change the state of the additional remote device 1110 from the current state to the standard state {[0172] In operation 1207, in an embodiment, the processor 210 is coupled with the peripheral electronic device 1110. In detail, in an embodiment, the processor 210 performs a session coupling with the peripheral electronic device 1110, based on the service search response from the peripheral electronic device 1110.}.
As per claim 13 Lim et al discloses: The method of claim 12, further comprising modifying the routine to include transmitting the request to change the state of the additional remote device 1110 from the current state to the standard state {[0172] In operation 1207, in an embodiment, the processor 210 is coupled with the peripheral electronic device 1110. In detail, in an embodiment, the processor 210 performs a session coupling with the peripheral electronic device 1110, based on the service search response from the peripheral electronic device 1110.}.
As per claim 14 Lim et al discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a time the trigger 503 is detected; and determining that the time the trigger 503 is detected is within a predefined time window, wherein executing the routine is further performed in response to determining that the time of detecting the trigger 503 is within the predefined time window {[0159] According to an embodiment of the disclosure, the external electronic device 410 may obtain information on playback degree, time, position, etc. of content which is played back by the electronic device 201 from the electronic device 201 and, in response to the coupling with the electronic device 201 being stopped, perform playback of the content in a corresponding position. Note: predefined time window lacks specificity to distinguish over the applied prior art}.
As per claim 15 Lim et al discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a location of the head-mounted device when the trigger 503 is detected; and determining that the location of the head-mounted device when the trigger 503 is detected is within a predefined area, wherein executing the routine is further performed in response to determining that the location of the head-mounted device when the trigger 503 is detected is within the predefined area {[0188] In operation 1411, in an embodiment, the electronic device 1401 may transmit a pre-association request to the selected peripheral electronic device 1430. The pre-association request and response are steps of previously identifying location information of each device, service information, etc. before coupling between at least two devices. For example, while transmitting the pre-association request, the electronic device 1401 may previously request and grasp location information, etc. of the selected peripheral electronic device 1430 before the coupling. Besides this, while sending the pre-association request, the electronic device 1401 may identify whether the selected peripheral electronic device 1430 is still possible to provide previously stored state information (e.g., a currently providable service).}.
As per claim 16 Lim et al discloses: A head-mountable device 201 comprising: a non-transitory memory 230 {figure 2}; and
one or more processors 210 to: detect a trigger 503 indicating that a user {figure 4} has mounted or dismounted the head-mountable device 201 {[0092] In operation 503, in an embodiment, the processor 210 may determine whether the electronic device is worn by a user, through the proximity sensor 240G For example, the proximity sensor 240G may sense a series of actions in which a user's head gets in proximity and wears the electronic device 201.}; and
in response to detecting the trigger 503 {[0093] In operation 505, in an embodiment, as detecting that the electronic device 201 is worn by the user, the processor 210 may activate a receiving module for obtaining an external signal.}, execute a routine including transmitting a request to change a state of a remote device 410/420 {figure 4} from a first state to a second state {[0094] In operation 507, in an embodiment, the processor 210 receives a signal transmitted by the external electronic device 410 through the receiving module. In an embodiment, the signal may be a broadcast signal transmitted by the external electronic device 410. In an embodiment, the signal may include information corresponding to content that is being executed by the external electronic device 410. The information corresponding to the content may include information such as an image, a video, a sound source, a game, etc. and, beside this, may include virtual reality content and augmented reality content information. In an embodiment, as detecting that the electronic device 201 is worn by the user, the processor 210 may receive a signal.}.
As per claim 17 Lim et al discloses: The head-mounted device of claim 16, wherein the trigger 503 indicates that the user has mounted the head-mountable device 201 {[0092] In operation 503, in an embodiment, the processor 210 may determine whether the electronic device is worn by a user, through the proximity sensor 240G For example, the proximity sensor 240G may sense a series of actions in which a user's head gets in proximity and wears the electronic device 201.}.
As per claim 18 Lim et al discloses: The head-mounted device of claim 16, wherein the trigger 503 indicates that the user has dismounted the head-mountable device 201 { [0159] In operation 909, in an embodiment, in response to a user stopping the using of the electronic device 201, the external electronic device 410 stops a communication link formed with the electronic device 201, and stops coupling with the electronic device 201 . . . According to an embodiment of the disclosure, in response to a user not wearing the electronic device 201, the electronic device 201 may obtain a non-worn state of the electronic device 201, and the electronic device 201 may stop the playback of the content which is being played back by the electronic device 201, and the external electronic device 410 may keep performing the playback of the content.}..
As per claim 19 Lim et al discloses: The head-mounted device of claim 16, wherein the one or more processors 210 are further to: determine a temporospatial condition of the device when the trigger 503 is detected; and determine that the temporospatial condition is within a predefined window, wherein executing the routine is further performed in response to determining that the temporospatial condition is within the predefined time window {[0159] According to an embodiment of the disclosure, the external electronic device 410 may obtain information on playback degree, time, position, etc. of content which is played back by the electronic device 201 from the electronic device 201 and, in response to the coupling with the electronic device 201 being stopped, perform playback of the content in a corresponding position. Note: predefined time window lacks specificity to distinguish over the applied prior art}.
As per claim 20 Lim et al discloses: A non-transitory memory 230 {figure 2} storing one or more programs 140 {figure 2}, which, when executed by one or more processors 210 of a head-mountable device 201, cause the head-mountable device 201 to: detect a trigger 503 {figure 5} indicating that a user {figure 4} has mounted or dismounted the head-mountable device 201 {[0092] In operation 503, in an embodiment, the processor 210 may determine whether the electronic device is worn by a user, through the proximity sensor 240G For example, the proximity sensor 240G may sense a series of actions in which a user's head gets in proximity and wears the electronic device 201.}; and
in response to detecting the trigger 503 {[0093] In operation 505, in an embodiment, as detecting that the electronic device 201 is worn by the user, the processor 210 may activate a receiving module for obtaining an external signal.}, execute a routine including transmitting a request to change a state of a remote device 410/420 from a first state to a second state {[0094] In operation 507, in an embodiment, the processor 210 receives a signal transmitted by the external electronic device 410 through the receiving module. In an embodiment, the signal may be a broadcast signal transmitted by the external electronic device 410. In an embodiment, the signal may include information corresponding to content that is being executed by the external electronic device 410. The information corresponding to the content may include information such as an image, a video, a sound source, a game, etc. and, beside this, may include virtual reality content and augmented reality content information. In an embodiment, as detecting that the electronic device 201 is worn by the user, the processor 210 may receive a signal.}.
Conclusion
/DAVID D DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627
DDD