DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I (claims 1-5, 13, and 18-20) in the reply filed on 8/31/2026 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. US 12395735 B2 (reference patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Consider application claim 1, claim 1 of reference patent discloses an image stabilization control apparatus comprising one or more processors and/or circuitry which functions as: a first receiving unit that receives a translational shake signal that indicates a translational shake in a first direction; a second receiving unit that receives a first rotational shake signal that indicates a rotational shake about a first axis that intersects with the direction of gravity and the first direction; a first calculation unit that finds a first fluctuation range of a gravitational component in the first direction based on the first rotational shake signal; a second calculation unit that finds an amount of shake in the first direction based on the translational shake signal and the first fluctuation range; a third calculation unit that finds a target value for reducing a shake in the first direction based on the amount of shake found by the second calculation unit; a fourth calculation unit that finds a second fluctuation range of the translational shake signal; and a fifth calculation unit that finds a fluctuation range of the first rotational shake signal as a third fluctuation range, wherein the second calculation unit finds a radius of gyration of a rotational shake converted from the translational shake based on the third fluctuation range and an absolute value of a difference between the first fluctuation range and the second fluctuation range, and finds the amount of shake in the first direction by multiplying the first rotational signal by the radius of gyration.
Claim of reference patent discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 2, claim 2 of reference patent discloses the translational shake signal is a signal that indicates acceleration of the translational shake, and the first rotational shake signal is a signal that indicates angular velocity of the rotational shake.
Claim of reference patent discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 3, claim 1 of reference patent discloses an image stabilization control apparatus comprising one or more processors and/or circuitry which functions as: a first receiving unit that receives a translational shake signal that indicates a translational shake in a first direction; a second receiving unit that receives a first rotational shake signal that indicates a rotational shake about a first axis that intersects with the direction of gravity and the first direction; a first calculation unit that finds a first fluctuation range of a gravitational component in the first direction based on the first rotational shake signal; a second calculation unit that finds an amount of shake in the first direction based on the translational shake signal and the first fluctuation range; a third calculation unit that finds a target value for reducing a shake in the first direction based on the amount of shake found by the second calculation unit; a fourth calculation unit that finds a second fluctuation range of the translational shake signal; and a fifth calculation unit that finds a fluctuation range of the first rotational shake signal as a third fluctuation range, wherein the second calculation unit finds a radius of gyration of a rotational shake converted from the translational shake based on the third fluctuation range and an absolute value of a difference between the first fluctuation range and the second fluctuation range, and finds the amount of shake in the first direction by multiplying the first rotational signal by the radius of gyration.
Claim of reference patent discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 4, claim 3 of reference patent discloses the second fluctuation range is one of a fluctuation range of acceleration, a fluctuation range of velocity and a fluctuation range of displacement.
Claim of reference patent discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 18, claim 4 of reference patent discloses each of the first receiving unit and the second receiving unit includes a band-pass filter that extracts a signal of a predetermined frequency, and the first receiving unit outputs the translation shake signal of the frequency extracted by the band-pass filter and the second receiving unit outputs the first rotational shake signal of the frequency extracted by the band-pass filter.
Claim of reference patent discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 19, claim 5 of reference patent discloses the second receiving unit is capable of receiving signals that indicate rotational shakes about a plurality of axes that intersect with the direction of gravity and the first direction, and the first calculation unit selects a signal to be used as the first rotational signal out of the signals that indicate the rotational shakes about the plurality of axes.
Claim of reference patent discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 20, claim 6 of reference patent discloses An image stabilization control method comprising: receiving a translational shake signal that indicates a translational shake in a first direction; receiving a rotational shake signal that indicates a rotational shake about an axis that intersects with the direction of gravity and the first direction; finding a fluctuation range of a gravitational component in the first direction based on the rotational shake signal; finding an amount of shake in the first direction based on the translational shake signal and the fluctuation range; finding a target value for reducing a shake in the first direction based on the amount of shake in the first direction; finding a second fluctuation range of the translational shake signal; and finding a fluctuation range of the first rotational shake signal as a third fluctuation range, wherein a radius of gyration of a rotational shake converted from the translational shake is found based on the third fluctuation range and an absolute value of a difference between the first fluctuation range and the second fluctuation range, and the amount of shake in the first direction is found by multiplying the first rotational signal by the radius of gyration.
Claim of reference patent discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Claims are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. US 12395735 B2 (reference patent) in view of Tsuchiya et al. (US 2014/0327789 A1).
Consider application claim 5, claims of reference patent disclose all the limitations in application claim 3 but do not explicitly disclose the second calculation unit finds the amount of shake by multiplying the translational shake signal by a ratio of the first fluctuation range to the second fluctuation range.
Tsuchiya teaches the second calculation unit finds the amount of shake by multiplying the translational shake signal by a ratio of the first fluctuation range to the second fluctuation range ([0101] – [0109], [0119] – [0127]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of multiplying the translational shake signal by a ratio of the first fluctuation range to the second fluctuation range to find the amount of shake because such incorporation would help obtain a stable shake acceleration waveform. [0058].
Consider application claim 13, Tsuchiya teaches the first fluctuation range is found based on at least one of a root mean square value, an effective value, maximum and minimum values, an area of a waveform, and a discrete Fourier transform value of a predetermined frequency of the gravitational component in the first direction within the predetermined period of time (expression 7 & expression 8. [0125] – [0127], [0148] – [0150], [0305] – [0308], [0332]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of multiplying the translational shake signal by a ratio of the first fluctuation range to the second fluctuation range to find the amount of shake because such incorporation would help obtain a stable shake acceleration waveform. [0058].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 13, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuchiya et al. (US 2014/0327789 A1).
Consider claim 1, Tsuchiya teaches an image stabilization control apparatus comprising one or more processors and/or circuitry which functions as: a first receiving unit that receives a translational shake signal that indicates a translational shake in a first direction ([0084]); a second receiving unit that receives a first rotational shake signal that indicates a rotational shake about a first axis that intersects with the direction of gravity and the first direction ([0082] – [0083]); a first calculation unit that finds a first fluctuation range of a gravitational component in the first direction within a predetermined period of time based on the first rotational shake signal ([0101] – [0109]); a second calculation unit that finds an amount of shake in the first direction based on the translational shake signal and the first fluctuation range ([0101] – [0109], [0119] – [0127]); and a third calculation unit that finds a target value for reducing a shake in the first direction based on the amount of shake found by the second calculation unit ([0101] – [0109], [0119] – [0127]).
Consider claim 2, Tsuchiya teaches the translational shake signal is a signal that indicates acceleration of the translational shake, and the first rotational shake signal is a signal that indicates angular velocity of the rotational shake ([0082] – [0084]).
Consider claim 3, Tsuchiya teaches the one or more processors and/or circuitry further functions as: a fourth calculation unit that finds a second fluctuation range of the translational shake signal, and wherein the second calculation unit finds the amount of shake in the first direction using the second fluctuation range of the translational shake signal ([0101] – [0109], [0119] – [0127]).
Consider claim 4, Tsuchiya teaches the second fluctuation range is one of a fluctuation range of acceleration, a fluctuation range of velocity and a fluctuation range of displacement ([0101] – [0109], [0119] – [0127]).
Consider claim 5, Tsuchiya teaches the second calculation unit finds the amount of shake by multiplying the translational shake signal by a ratio of the first fluctuation range to the second fluctuation range ([0101] – [0109], [0119] – [0127]).
Consider claim 13, Tsuchiya teaches the first fluctuation range is found based on at least one of a root mean square value, an effective value, maximum and minimum values, an area of a waveform, and a discrete Fourier transform value of a predetermined frequency of the gravitational component in the first direction within the predetermined period of time (expression 7 & expression 8. [0125] – [0127], [0148] – [0150], [0305] – [0308], [0332]).
Consider claim 18, Tsuchiya teaches each of the first receiving unit and the second receiving unit includes a band-pass filter that extracts a signal of a predetermined frequency, and the first receiving unit outputs the translation shake signal of the frequency extracted by the band-pass filter and the second receiving unit outputs the first rotational shake signal of the frequency extracted by the band-pass filter ([0098]).
Consider claim 19, Tsuchiya teaches the second receiving unit is capable of receiving signals that indicate rotational shakes about a plurality of axes that intersect with the direction of gravity and the first direction, and the first calculation unit selects a signal to be used as the first rotational signal out of the signals that indicate the rotational shakes about the plurality of axes ([0082] – [0084], [0101] – [0109]).
Consider claim 20, claim 20 recites the method implemented by the apparatus recited in claim 1. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/TAT C CHIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486