DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 8, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 2024/0142091) in view of Norris (US 6,161,738).
Regarding claim 1. Lin discloses a portable charger (10, see Fig. 2) for a recreational flying object (sporting goods 20, see Fig. 3, Para. 0037) adapted to luminesce, said portable charger comprising: a body (11) comprising an inner surface and an outer surface defining a hollow space (111, see Figs. 4 and 11, Para. 0035) having first opening; a light source (311, see Fig. 11, Para. 0044) within the body; a connecting part (90, see Fig. 9, Para. 0040) arranged between body part (11) and the box cover (13).
However, Lin does not explicitly disclose that having a second opening opposite to first opening and a first end member comprising a first hinged closure adjacent said first opening and a second end member comprising a second hinged closure adjacent said second opening, each of said first and second hinged closures being movable between a first position in which the associated opening is closed and a second position in which the associated opening is open.
Norris teaches bag style device (10, see Figs. 1 and 2, Col. 3; lines 61-67) that includes a body comprising an inner surface and an outer surface defining a hollow space (orifice 22 to the internal compartment 12, see Fig. 1, Col. 4; lines 39-42) having first opening and a second opening opposite to first opening and a first end member comprising a first hinged closure (e.g. a top flap 26, Col. 4; lines 39-46) adjacent said first opening and a second end member (bottom flap 28, see Fig. 1, Col. 4; lines 47-67) comprising a second hinged closure adjacent said second opening, each of said first and second hinged closures being movable between a first position in which the associated opening is closed and a second position in which the associated opening is open (see Figs. 1 and 2, Col. 6; lines 29-49).
Therefore, in view of Norris, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to Lin by forming the body to include a second opening opposite to the first opening and by providing a second end member such modification would provide a second grip point serve as an alternative to the top flap when circumstances require, as suggested by Norris. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to improve access and usability.
Regarding claim 7. Lin further discloses the light source (30, see Figs. 5 and 11, Para. 0039, 0044) comprises a plurality of light-emitting beads (311, see Figs. 5 and 11).
The examiner takes Official Notice that the use of LEDs is old and well known in the illumination art. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute an LED for the lamp beads in the system of Lin. One would have been motivated since LEDs are recognized in the illumination art to have many desirable advantages, including reduced size, high efficiency, low power consumption, long life, resistance to vibrations, faster reaction times, and low heat production, over other light sources.
Regarding claim 8. Lin further discloses the light-emitting diodes (311) substantially cover the inner surface of the body (see Fig. 3, see Para. 0043).
Regarding claim 11. Lin further discloses comprising at least one anchor (130, see Figs. 9 and 12, Para. 0042) point adapted to receive a strap; said strap being adapted to secure the portable charger to an external structure (see Figs. 9 and 12, Para. 0042).
Regarding claim 12. Lin further discloses the at least one anchor point (130, see Fig. 9) and protruding member (131, see Fig. 3) from the body; the end closure (11, see Fig. 4, Para. 0041) comprising a peripheral member surrounding said body; said peripheral member comprising at least one hole (133, see Fig. 9, Para. 0042) positioned and sized to receive the at least one anchor point,
However, Lin is silent with respect to the at least one anchor point extends through at least one the hinged closures.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the protruding member and the hole so that least one anchor point extends through at least one the hinged closures for providing connecting member connecting with the hole so that the device is portable since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, providing a hole for the anchor point to extend through the hinged closures would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Norris and further in view of Carrasco-Slind (US 2017/0130951).
Regarding claims 9 and 10. The teachings of Lin have been discussed above.
However, Lin is silent with respect to the either or both of the first and second hinged closures comprise an indicia illuminable by the light source; wherein the indicia is a product name and/or logo.
Carrasco-Slind teaches an enclosed receptacle, such as a hand bag or luggage bag (see Fig. 1), with an internal lightning system and the exterior of the bag may also be provided with illuminations, for example, the logo could have enclosed LED which when illuminated brightens up the logo; a strip of light could be provided on bag surface which could be illuminated in dark for providing unique aesthetic appearance to the bag.
Therefore, in view of Carrasco-Slind, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an indicia illuminable by the light source for providing unique aesthetic appearance to the bag as suggested by Carrasco-Slind. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to provide an improved aesthetic appearance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art taken as a whole does not show nor suggest a portable charger with each of said first and second end members comprises a cap, each said cap comprising an end surface and a sleeve wherein the sleeve is sized and shaped to fit around an end portion of the body; the end surface defining a hinged flap, said hinged flap comprising a hinged edge about which said hinged flap can pivot, and said end surface defining a slit surrounding said hinged flap and as specifically called for the claimed combinations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Godshaw et al. (US 7,458,451) teaches a golf bag or sport carrying case; Mashburn (US 2015/0069708) teaches a portable apparatus to be used in connection with a new toss game; Tsai (US 6,745,877) teaches a luggage having a hidden type pull handle, and more particularly to a luggage.
/TSION TUMEBO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875