DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,401,566. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 8 and 15 capture a broader version of the elements already patented in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,401,566.
Claims 5, 12 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,401,566. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 5, 12 and 19 capture a broader version of the elements already patented in claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,401,566.
Claims 6, 13 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,401,566. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 6, 13 and 20 capture a broader version of the elements already patented in claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,401,566.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, 11-13, 15-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipate by Duval (Pub No US 2019/0132633). Hereinafter, referenced as Duval.
Regarding claim 1, Duval discloses a system comprising:
a configuration tool (e.g. dongle device 104) comprising: one or more processing devices (Paragraphs [0014] [0035] figure 1; dongle 104);
one or more interfaces to communicatively couple with a media device (e.g. STB 102), wherein the media device is configured to output A/V content for display with at least one television of a set of one or more televisions (Paragraphs [0014] [0023] figure 1; dongle 104 connected to STB 102 via a USB connection);
and memory communicatively coupled with and readable by the one or more processing devices and having stored therein processor-readable instructions which, when executed by the one or more processing devices, configure the media device (e.g. STB 102) to perform operations with respect to a local network (Paragraphs [0035]-[0037] figure 1; STB 102 connected to television 106);
wherein the configuration tool is adapted to communicatively couple with the media device via at least one interface of the one or more interfaces to configure the media device to extend an ability of the media device to access features of a television (Paragraphs [0035] [0037] [0042] [0043] figure 1; dongle 104 extends the capabilities of STB 102 to be able to distribute 4K content to 4K television 106, wherein the connected dongle 104 processes the 4K video content that STB 102 would otherwise be unable to process);
and wherein the media device (e.g. STB 102) configured with the configuration tool (e.g. dongle device 104): receives audio/video (A/V) content via an Internet connection (Paragraphs [0021] [0034] figure 1; receive content over network 108 which may be a web server);
and provides the A/V content for display with a set of one or more televisions comprising the television (Paragraphs [0035] [0037] [0042] [0043] figure 1; display processed 4K content on television 106).
Regarding claim 2, Duval discloses the system as recited in claim 1; moreover, Duval discloses that the configuration tool (e.g. dongle device 104) is configured to overtake one or more interfaces of the media device (Paragraphs [0027] [0033] [0038] figure 1; user interface UI code, e.g. menu, corresponding to functionality previously performed by STB 102 may be offloaded to dongle 104).
Regarding claim 4, Duval discloses the system as recited in claim 1; moreover, Duval discloses that the configuring the media device (e.g. STB 102) also allows the media device to integrate with voice commands of the television (Paragraphs [0044] [0046] [0047] figure 1; receiving commands from a microphone, and directing the dongle device 104 to execute command functionalities and features absent from the STB 102, e.g. UI-based events).
Regarding claim 5, Duval discloses the system as recited in claim 1; moreover, Duval discloses that the media device (e.g. STB 102) configured with the configuration tool (e.g. dongle 104) operates as a server in the local network (Paragraphs [0035] [0037] [0042] [0043] figure 1; dongle 104 allows STB 102 to process and redistribute 4K content to one or more televisions, e.g. 106; paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 6, Duval discloses the system as recited in claim 1; moreover, Duval discloses that the configuration tool is configured to extend functionalities of the media device (Paragraphs [0035] [0037] [0042] [0043] figure 1; dongle 104 extends the capabilities of STB 102 to be able to distribute 4K content to 4K television 106, wherein the connected dongle 104 processes the 4K video content that STB 102 would otherwise be unable to process).
Regarding claims 8-9 and 11-13, Duval discloses all the limitations of claims 8-9 and 11-13; therefore, claims 8-9 and 11-13 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claims 1-2 and 4-6, respectively.
Regarding claims 15-16 and 18-20, Duval discloses all the limitations of claims 15-16 and 18-20; therefore, claims 15-16 and 18-20 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claims 1-2 and 4-6, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duval in view of Gordon et al. (Pub No US 2014/0096166). Hereinafter, referenced as Gordon.
Regarding claim 3, Duval discloses the system as recited in claim 1; moreover, Duval discloses that the media device (e.g. STB 102) is communicatively coupled to the television (Paragraph [0035] figure 1).
However, it is noted that Duval is silent to explicitly disclose that the media device is communicatively coupled to the television indirectly via a second media device.
Nevertheless, in a similar field of endeavor Gordon discloses the media device (Master STB 110) is communicatively coupled to the television (e.g. Television 340) indirectly via a second media device (Paragraphs [0048] [0049] figure 3; Master STB 110 is indirectly connected to Television 340 by means of dependent STB 115).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Duval by specifically providing the elements mentioned above, as taught by Gordon, for the predictable result of implementing a centralized management of content distribution at a user’s premise, which allows for sharing of resources and lower hardware costs.
Regarding claim 10, Duval and Gordon disclose all the limitations of claim 10; therefore, claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 3.
Regarding claim 17, Duval and Gordon disclose all the limitations of claim 17; therefore, claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 3.
Conclusion
JUNIOR O. MENDOZA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2424
/JUNIOR O MENDOZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424