DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 10/26/2026 has been considered by Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 12-17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nho et al (US 10,319,278 B1) in view of Kwon et al (US 2017/0062674 A1) and Bita et al (US 10,135,034 B1).
Claim 1, Nho (Fig. 1-19) discloses a display device (18; Fig. 5; wherein discloses a micro LED display device) comprising:
a light emitting device (80; Fig. 5; wherein discloses a pixels);
a driver (78; Fig. 5) configured to drive the light emitting device (80; Fig. 5); and
a controller (66 and 72; Fig. 5) configured to control the driver (78; Fig. 5) and supply a plurality of emission clock signals (EM Clock; Fig. 6) to the driver (78; Fig. 6),
wherein the plurality of emission clock signals (EM CLK; Fig. 9 and 10) include a first emission clock signal (t0-t1; Fig, 9 and 10) and a second emission clock signal (t2-t3; Fig, 9 and 10), and
wherein a length of the first emission clock signal (t0-t1; Fig, 9 and 10) is different from a length (Col. 2, Lines 59-63; wherein discloses “FIG. 9 is a block diagram of circuitry that may be included in the emission clock generator to produce pulses of varying duration and start time, which are combined together to form the emission clock signal (EM_CLK), in accordance with an embodiment”) of the second emission clock signal (t2-t3; Fig, 9 and 10).
Nho does not expressly disclose wherein the display device further comprises:
an insulating layer disposed on the driver;
a plurality of protruding banks disposed on the insulating layer.
Kwon (Fig. 1-15) discloses wherein the display device (100; Fig. 1) further comprises:
an insulating layer (117; Fig. 2B; Paragraph [0059]; wherein discloses a third insulating layer) disposed on the driver (TFT; Fig. 2B);
a plurality of protruding banks (400; Fig. 2B; Paragraph [0061]; wherein discloses a bank layer) disposed on the insulating layer (117; Fig. 2B).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nho’s display device by applying a layering method, as taught by Kwon, so to use a display device with a layering method for providing an emission area of display apparatuses may be increased (Paragraph [0114]).
Nho in view of Kwon does not expressly disclose a first column line extending from a top surface of the insulating layer, along a side surface of a first bank among the plurality of protruding banks, to a top surface of the first bank;
a first light emitting device overlapping the first bank on the first bank and electrically connected to the first column line through a column connection electrode of the first column line; and
a black matrix including a first section positioned on side surfaces of the first bank and the first light emitting device, and a second section extending from the first section to be disposed on the first column line.
Bita (Fig. 1-5) discloses a first column line (21; Fig. 1) extending from a top surface of the insulating layer (202; Fig. 1), along a side surface of a first bank (208; Fig. 1; Col. 4, Lines 32-51; wherein discloses a bank layer 208) among the plurality of protruding banks (208; Fig. 1; Claim 5; wherein discloses the array of emissive LEDs include first and second groups of emissive LEDs), to a top surface of the first bank (208; Fig. 1);
a first light emitting device (220; Fig. 1) overlapping the first bank (208; Fig. 1) on the first bank (208; Fig. 1) and electrically connected (222; Fig. 1) to the first column line (212; Fig. 1) through a column connection electrode of the first column line (212; Fig. 1); and
a black matrix (240; Fig. 1) including a first section positioned on side surfaces of the first bank (208; Fig. 1; wherein figure shows a first second overlapping the edge of bank 208 arranged with the line 212) and the first light emitting device (220; Fig. 1), and a second section (Fig. 1; wherein figure shows further second between each LED 220) extending from the first section (Fig. 2A and 2B; wherein figure shows black matrix surrounding each LED) to be disposed on the first column line (Fig. 1; wherein each electrode individually connected to the driving circuit 230 and therefore covered by the black matrix 240).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nho in view of Kwon’s display device by applying a black matrix, as taught by Bita, so to use a display device with a black matrix for the black matrix layer is included to reduce internal reflection of the display panel, while an elliptical polarizer is introduced in the display stack to increase transmission and emission efficiency of the display panel (Col. 2, Line 63-Col. 3 Line 5).
Claim 2, Nho (Fig. 1-19) discloses wherein each emission clock signal (130; Fig. 8) is allocated based on at least one gamma prime (GP) (Col. 7, Line 64-Col. 8, Line 9; wherein discloses gamma encoding),
wherein each of the at least one GP is a part of a gamma prime tap (GP TAB) (Col. 7, Line 64-Col. 8, Line 9; wherein discloses gamma encoding), equally divided by the number of sub-frames periods in a frame period (Col. 7, Line 64-Col. 8, Line 9; wherein discloses red sub-frame and green/blue sub-frame), and
wherein the number of GP TABs (Fig. 7) is the smallest integer that is also larger than or equal to a grayscale (255; Fig. 7) divided by the number of sub-frame periods in a frame period (Fig. 7).
Claim 3, Nho (Fig. 1-19) discloses wherein a length of each GP TAB (Fig. 7) corresponds to an emission time in a frame period (110 or Emission; Fig. 7), and a length of each of the at least one GP corresponds (Fig. 7) to an emission time in a sub-frame period (114; Fig. 7).
Claim 4, Nho (Fig. 1-19) discloses wherein which sub-frame period in one of frame periods (Fig. 7) is allocated which GP in a GP TAB corresponding to the one of frame periods is variable (Col. 14, Lines 20-23; wherein discloses “This may allow the emission clock signal (EM_CLK) to generate a substantial variety of pulses that may account for any desired gamma and coding and/or refresh rates”).
Claim 5, Nho (Fig. 1-19) discloses wherein a serial number of the GP allocated to each sub-frame period increases or decreases (106 or counter; Fig. 7) as a serial number of the GP TAB corresponding to the sub-frame period increases (122; Fig. 7).
Claim 6, Nho (Fig. 1-19) discloses wherein each grayscale (104 or Data; Fig. 7) corresponds to at least one GP TAB (106 or counter; Fig. 7) and at least one GP (122; Fig. 7) included in the at least one GP TAB (Fig. 7).
Claim 7, Nho (Fig. 1-19) discloses wherein the first emission clock signal (t0-t2; Fig. 9) includes a first low level period (t1-t2; Fig. 9) and a first high level period (t0-t1; Fig. 9),
wherein the second emission clock signal (t2-t4; Fig. 9) includes a second low level period (t3-t4; Fig. 9) and a second high level period (t2-t3; Fig. 9), and
wherein a length of the first low level period is different from a length of the second low level period (Fig. 7; wherein figure shows EM Clock having different lengths of low level periods), or a length of the first high level period is different from a length of the second high level period (Fig. 7; wherein figure shows EM Clock having different lengths of high level periods).
Claim 8, Nho (Fig. 1-19) discloses wherein the first low level period (See figure 7 below) corresponds to a first grayscale (0 gray level; Fig. 7),
wherein the second low level period (See figure 7 below) corresponds to a second grayscale (1 gray level; Fig. 7) greater than the first grayscale (0 gray level; Fig. 7),
wherein the first high level period (See figure 7 below) corresponds to a third grayscale (2 gray level; Fig. 7) greater than the second grayscale (1 gray level; Fig. 7), and
wherein the second high level period (See figure 7 below) corresponds to a fourth grayscale (3 gray level; Fig. 7) greater than the third grayscale (2 gray level; Fig. 7).
Claim 12, Nho (Fig. 1-19) discloses wherein each of the plurality of emission clock signals (130; Fig. 8) is an AC signal (Fig. 8; wherein figure shows combined signals from the clock generators produces an EM_CLK which has an AC signal).
Claim 13, Nho (Fig. 1-19) discloses wherein each of the plurality of emission clock signals (130; Fig. 8) is an AC signal (Fig. 8; wherein figure shows combined signals from the clock generators produces an EM_CLK which has an AC signal) whose pulse width increases (EM_CLOCK; Fig. 7) as a serial number of the GP TAB 106 or counter; Fig. 7) corresponding to the emission clock signal increases (EM_CLOCK; Fig. 7) and whose low level state and high level state alternately change (Fig. 7; wherein figure shows EM_CLOCK signal alternately changes from high level state to low level stage).
Claim 14, Nho (Fig. 1-19) discloses wherein the controller (66; Fig. 5) supplies counting data (104; Fig. 6 and 7) to the driver (78; Fig. 6), and
wherein the driver (78; Fig. 6) controls an emission time (100; Fig. 6 and 7) of the light emitting device (80; Fig. 5) based on the plurality of emission clock signals (EM_CLOCK; Fig. 7) and the counting data (106; Fig. 6 and 7).
Claim 15, Nho (Fig. 1-19) discloses wherein the counting data (106; Fig. 6 and 7) includes information on a number of times to count edges (Col. 7, Lines 1-21; wherein discloses “The counter 102 may also output a digital counter signal 106 indicative of the number of edges (only rising, only falling, or both rising and falling edges) of the emission clock signal (EM_CLK) 98”) included in each of the plurality of emission clock signals (132; Fig. 9).
Claim 16, Nho (Fig. 1-19) discloses wherein the driver (78; Fig. 6) counts (102; Fig. 6) only a rising edge among the edges (Col. 7, Lines 1-21; wherein discloses “The counter 102 may also output a digital counter signal 106 indicative of the number of edges (only rising, only falling, or both rising and falling edges) of the emission clock signal (EM_CLK) 98”).
Claim 17, Nho (Fig. 1-19) discloses wherein the driver (78; Fig. 6) counts (102; Fig. 6) a rising edge and a falling edge among the edges (Col. 7, Lines 1-21; wherein discloses “The counter 102 may also output a digital counter signal 106 indicative of the number of edges (only rising, only falling, or both rising and falling edges).
Claim 21, Nho (Fig. 1-19) discloses wherein the driver (78; Fig. 5) is disposed in a display area (18; Fig. 5; wherein discloses a display).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nho et al (US 10,319,278 B1) in view of Kwon et al (US 2017/0062674 A1) and Bita et al (US 10,135,034 B1) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Vahid Far et al (US 10,777,116 B1).
Claim 9, Nho in view of Kwon and Bita discloses the display device of claim 7.
Nho does not expressly disclose wherein the controller supplies a third emission clock signal among the plurality of emission clock signals to the driver, and
wherein a waveform of the third emission clock signal is identical to a waveform of the first emission clock signal.
Vahid (Fig. 1-26) discloses wherein the controller (72; Fig. 5; Col. 7. Lines 15-18) supplies a third emission clock signal (1006; Fig. 8) among the plurality of emission clock signals (1002-1008; Fig. 8) to the driver (78; Fig. 5), and
wherein a waveform of the third emission clock signal (1006; Fig. 8) is identical (Fig. 8 shows the waveform of each Em_Base_Clk being the same just delayed with respect to each other) to a waveform of the first emission clock signal (1002; Fig. 8).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nho in view of Kwon and Bita’s display device by applying multiple emission clocks, as taught by Vahid, so to use a display device with multiple emission clocks for providing voltage (IR) drop may distributed in time and/or space to reduce or remove the appearance of display artifacts resulting from IR drop (Col. 6, Lines 65-67).
Claim 10, Vahid (Fig. 1-26) discloses wherein the controller (72; Fig. 5; Col. 7. Lines 15-18) supplies a fourth emission clock signal (1006; Fig. 8) among the plurality of emission clock signals (1102-1008; Fig. 8), and
wherein a total length of the fourth emission clock signal (1008; Fig. 8) is equal to (Fig. 8 shows each Em_Base_Clk being the same total length just delayed with respect to each other) a total length of the second emission clock signal (1004; Fig. 8).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nho in view of Kwon and Bita’s display device by applying multiple emission clocks, as taught by Vahid, so to use a display device with multiple emission clocks for providing voltage (IR) drop may distributed in time and/or space to reduce or remove the appearance of display artifacts resulting from IR drop (Col. 6, Lines 65-67).
Claim 11, Nho (Fig. 1-19) discloses wherein a waveform of the fourth emission (t508-t509; Fig. 9) clock signal is different from a waveform of the second emission clock signal (t2-t3; Fig. 9).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nho et al (US 10,319,278 B1) in view of Kwon et al (US 2017/0062674 A1) and Bita et al (US 10,135,034 B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Vahil Far et al (US 2019/0279553 A1).
Claim 18, Nho in view of Kwon and Bita discloses the display device of claim 1.
Nho in view of Kwon and Bita does not expressly disclose wherein the light emitting device is configured to emit light at a frame luminance in a frame period, and
wherein the frame luminance is equal to a sum of luminance in each of a plurality of sub-frame periods included in the frame period.
Vahil (Fig. 1-16) discloses wherein the light emitting device (80; Fig. 5) is configured to emit light at a frame luminance in a frame period (Fig. 11; Paragraph [0057]; wherein discloses “16 sub-frames (e.g., 0-15) may be available during a single frame of image data”), and
wherein the frame luminance is equal to a sum of luminance in each of a plurality of sub-frame periods included in the frame period (Fig. 11; Paragraph [0057]; wherein discloses “16 sub-frames (e.g., 0-15) may be available during a single frame of image data”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nho in view of Kwon and Bita’s display device by applying sub-frames, as taught by Vahil, so to use a display device with sub-frames for providing programing or controlling each respective pixel, it may be useful to control the input signals provided to each pixel circuit in such a manner to reduce artifacts that may be presented on the display (Paragraph [0004]).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nho et al (US 10,319,278 B1) in view of Kwon et al (US 2017/0062674 A1) and Bita et al (US 10,135,034 B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sakariya et al (US 2018/0182279 A1).
Claim 19, Nho in view of Kwon and Bita discloses the display device of claim 1.
Nho in view of Kwon and Bita does not expressly disclose wherein the driver further includes an emission control transistor that controls an emission time of the light emitting device.
Sakariya (Fig. 1-32) discloses wherein the driver further (Fig. 29-31) includes an emission control transistor (Fig. 29; wherein figure shows transistor which receives an emission pulse control) that controls an emission time (Fig. 7) of the light emitting device (101; Fig. 2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nho in view of Kwon and Bita’s display device by applying an emission control transistor, as taught by Sakariya, so to use a display device with an emission control transistor for providing gamma correction with the non-linear clock generator(s) may help minimize the microdriver chip size, facilitating higher density pixels per inch in the active area, since circuit size and complexity is not necessary for higher bit logic (Paragraph [0069]).
Claim 20, Sakariya (Fig. 1-32) discloses wherein the driver (300; Fig. 30) further includes an emission control signal generation circuit (counter and compare; Fig. 30) that supplies an emission control signal (output from compare unit; Fig. 30) to the emission control transistor (switch connected to output of compare unit; Fig. 30), and
wherein the emission control signal generation circuit (counter and compare; Fig. 30) receives the plurality of emission clock signals (pwm clock; Fig. 30) and counting data (data clock and pulse width data; Fig. 30) from the controller (514; Fig. 5).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nho in view of Kwon and Bita’s display device by applying an emission control transistor, as taught by Sakariya, so to use a display device with an emission control transistor for providing gamma correction with the non-linear clock generator(s) may help minimize the microdriver chip size, facilitating higher density pixels per inch in the active area, since circuit size and complexity is not necessary for higher bit logic (Paragraph [0069]).
Claims 22-23 and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nho et al (US 10,319,278 B1) in view of Kwon et al (US 2017/0062674 A1) and Bita et al (US 10,135,034 B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shaeffer et al (US 2019/0347985 A1).
Claim 22, Nho in view of Kwon and Bita discloses the display device of claim 1.
Nho in view of Kwon and Bita does not expressly disclose further comprising:
a substrate including a display area;
a plurality of pixels arranged in the display area and including a plurality of light emitting devices including the light emitting device;
a plurality of column lines electrically connected to a first electrode of each of the plurality of light emitting devices; and
a plurality of drivers disposed on the substrate, positioned in the display area, and configured to drive the plurality of column lines and a plurality of row lines, the plurality of drivers including the driver,
wherein the plurality of row lines are electrically connected to a second electrode of each of the plurality of light emitting devices.
Shaeffer (Fig. 1-24) discloses further comprising:
a substrate (101; Fig. 1; Paragraph [0038]; wherein discloses a display substrate) including a display area (105; Fig. 1; Paragraph [0038]; wherein discloses a display area);
a plurality of pixels (106; Fig. 1) arranged in the display area (105; Fig. 1) and including a plurality of light emitting devices (104; Fig. 1) including the light emitting device (104; Fig. 12);
a plurality of column lines (114; Fig. 2) electrically connected to a first electrode of each of the plurality of light emitting devices (104; Fig. 12); and
a plurality of drivers (110; Fig. 1) disposed on the substrate (101; Fig. 1; Paragraph [0038]; wherein discloses “this includes configurations of both pixel drivers chips on or within the display substrate”), positioned in the display area (105; Fig. 1), and configured to drive (110; Fig. 2) the plurality of column lines (114; Fig. 2) and a plurality of row lines (112; Fig. 2), the plurality of drivers (116; Fig. 2) including the driver (110; Fig. 2),
wherein the plurality of row lines (112; Fig. 2) are electrically connected to a second electrode of each of the plurality of light emitting devices (104; Fig. 2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nho in view of Kwon and Bita’s display device by applying a display arrangement, as taught by Shaeffer, so to use a display device with a display arrangement for providing tiled display structures that may add flexibility in design of display shape, and facilitate the ability to locate cutouts in the display area (Paragraph [0041]).
Claim 23, Shaeffer (Fig. 1-24) discloses wherein the display area (105; Fig. 1) includes a plurality of unit driving areas (Fig. 2; wherein figure shows a plurality of pixels connected to the driver 11) corresponding to the plurality of drivers (110; Fig. 2),
wherein each of the plurality of unit driving areas (Fig. 2; wherein figure shows a plurality of pixels connected to the driver 11) includes two or more row lines (112; Fig. 2) among the plurality of row lines (112; Fig. 2) and two or more column lines (114; Fig. 2) among the plurality of column lines (114; Fig. 2), and
wherein each of the plurality of drivers (110; Fig. 2) includes:
a row driver (115; Fig. 2) configured to drive two or more row lines (112; Fig. 2) arranged in a corresponding unit driving area (Fig. 2; wherein figure shows a plurality of pixels connected to the driver 11) among the plurality of row lines (112; Fig. 2); and
a column driver (116; Fig. 2) configured to drive two or more column lines (114; Fig. 2) arranged in a corresponding unit driving area (Fig. 2; wherein figure shows a plurality of pixels connected to the driver 11) among the plurality of column lines (114; Fig. 2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nho in view of Kwon and Bita’s display device by applying a display arrangement, as taught by Shaeffer, so to use a display device with a display arrangement for providing tiled display structures that may add flexibility in design of display shape, and facilitate the ability to locate cutouts in the display area (Paragraph [0041]).
Claim 26, Bita (Fig. 1-5) discloses wherein each bank (208; Fig. 1) among the plurality of protruding banks (208; Fig. 1; Claim 5; wherein discloses the array of emissive LEDs include first and second groups of emissive LEDs) is disposed in each sub-pixel of a plurality of sub-pixels included in each pixel of the plurality of pixels (Fig. 2A and 2B), and an the emission device (220; Fig. 1) is disposed on the bank (208; Fig. 1), and
wherein the bank of each of each sub-pixel (208; Fig. 1) of the plurality of sub-pixels is separated from each other (Fig. 2A and 2B).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nho in view of Kwon’s display device by applying a black matrix, as taught by Bita, so to use a display device with a black matrix for the black matrix layer is included to reduce internal reflection of the display panel, while an elliptical polarizer is introduced in the display stack to increase transmission and emission efficiency of the display panel (Col. 2, Line 63-Col. 3 Line 5).
Claim 27, Kwon (Fig. 1-15) discloses wherein each column line (510; Fig. 3) of the plurality of column lines (510; Fig. 3) includes a column connection electrode (510; Fig. 3) which includes a plurality of conductive layers (Paragraph [0068]; wherein discloses “the first electrode 510 may have a triple-layer structure, including upper and lower transparent conductive layers and a reflective layer therebetween”) including a first conductive layer disposed on the corresponding bank (430; Fig. 3) and a second conductive layer disposed on the first conductive layer (Paragraph [0068]; wherein discloses “the first electrode 510 may have a triple-layer structure, including upper and lower transparent conductive layers and a reflective layer therebetween”), and
Wherein the second conductive layer has a high reflection efficiency (Paragraph [0068]; wherein discloses “the first electrode 510 may have a triple-layer structure, including upper and lower transparent conductive layers and a reflective layer therebetween”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nho’s display device by applying a layering method, as taught by Kwon, so to use a display device with a layering method for providing an emission area of display apparatuses may be increased (Paragraph [0114]).
Claim 28, Kwon (Fig. 1-15) discloses wherein the plurality of conductive layers (510; Fig. 3; Paragraph [0068]; wherein discloses “The first electrode 510 may include a reflection electrode, and may include one or more layers”) further include a third conductive layer including metal (Paragraph [0068]; wherein discloses “the first electrode 510 may include a metal element, such as aluminum, molybdenum, titanium, tungsten, silver, gold, or an alloy thereof”) and disposed on the second conductive layer (Paragraph [0068]; wherein discloses “The first electrode 510 may include a reflection electrode, and may include one or more layers”) and a fourth conductive layer including transparent conductive oxide (Paragraph [0068]; wherein discloses “The conductive material may include a carbon nanotube film, a transparent conductive polymer, or a transparent conductive oxide (“TCO”)”) and disposed on the third conductive layer (Paragraph [0068]; wherein discloses “The first electrode 510 may include a reflection electrode, and may include one or more layers”), and
wherein a central portion and an edge portion of each of the third and fourth conductive layers remain (Paragraph [0068]; wherein discloses “The first electrode 510 may include a reflection electrode, and may include one or more layers”) while other portions of each of the third and fourth conductive layers are removed (Fig. 3; wherein figure shows electrode 510 is remove between adjacent banks).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nho’s display device by applying a layering method, as taught by Kwon, so to use a display device with a layering method for providing an emission area of display apparatuses may be increased (Paragraph [0114]).
Claim 29, Kwon (Fig. 1-15) discloses wherein the light emitting device (300; Fig. 1) includes an encapsulation film (310 and 390; Fig. 3) disposed on one side of a first electrode (310; Fig. 3) and one side of a second electrode (390; Fig. 3) of the light emitting device (300; Fig. 3), the encapsulation film (310 and 390; Fig. 3) including a reflective material (Paragraph [0067]; wherein discloses “The first contact electrode 310 and the second contact electrode 390 may selectively include a reflective layer, for example, a silver layer”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nho’s display device by applying a layering method, as taught by Kwon, so to use a display device with a layering method for providing an emission area of display apparatuses may be increased (Paragraph [0114]).
Claims 24-25, and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nho et al (US 10,319,278 B1) in view of Kwon et al (US 2017/0062674 A1) and Bita et al (US 10,135,034 B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ootorii (US 2012/0256814 A1).
Claim 24, Kwon (Fig. 1-15) discloses a first optical layer (400; Fig. 2B; Paragraph [0075]) disposed between a plurality of light emitting devices (300; Fig. 2B) on the layer stack (111-117; Fig. 2B);
an adhesive layer (520; Fig. 2B; Paragraph [0069]) disposed on the plurality of light emitting devices (300; Fig. 2B) and the first optical layer (400; Fig. 2B); and
a cover member (700; Fig. 3) disposed on the adhesive layer (520; Fig. 3),
wherein a plurality of row lines (530; Fig. 2B) are arranged on the plurality of light emitting devices (300; Fig. 2B) and the first optical layer (400; Fig. 2B).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nho in view of Ootorii’s display device by applying a layering method, as taught by Kwon, so to use a display device with a layering method for providing an emission area of display apparatuses may be increased (Paragraph [0114]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nho’s display device by applying a layering method, as taught by Kwon, so to use a display device with a layering method for providing an emission area of display apparatuses may be increased (Paragraph [0114]).
Nho in view of Kwon and Bita does not expressly disclose further comprising:
a substrate including a display area;
a layer stack on a plurality of drivers disposed on the substrate;
wherein a plurality of column lines are arranged between the layer stack and the plurality of light emitting devices, and
wherein a plurality of row lines are arranged on the plurality of light emitting devices.
Ootorii (Fig. 1-37) discloses further comprising:
a substrate (310-1; Fig. 30; Paragraph [0107]; wherein discloses a mounting substrate) including a display area (310A; Fig. 30);
a layer stack (Fig. 10A) on a plurality of drivers (20; Fig. 10A) disposed on the substrate (210; Fig. 27);
wherein a plurality of column lines (47; Fig. 10A) are arranged between the layer stack (Fig. 10A) and the plurality of light emitting devices (11R, 11G, and 11B; Fig. 10A), and
wherein a plurality of row lines (51; Fig. 10A) are arranged on the plurality of light emitting devices (11R, 11G, and 11B; Fig. 10A).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nho in view of Kwon and Bita’s display device by applying a layering arrangement, as taught by Ootorii, so to use a display device with a layering arrangement for providing false lighting of the light emitting device caused by false operation of the driver IC is able to be prevented (Paragraph [0013]).
Claim 25, Ootorii (Fig. 1-37) discloses wherein the layer stack (Fig. 10A) includes a side protection layer (31; Fig. 10A), an upper protection layer (32; Fig. 10A), and a plurality of insulating layers (33 and 35; Fig. 10A),
wherein the plurality of insulating layers (33 and 35; Fig. 10A) include a first insulating layer (33; Fig. 10A) on the upper protection layer (32; Fig. 10A) and a second insulating layer (35; Fig. 10A) on the first insulating layer (33; Fig. 10A),
wherein the layer stack (Fig. 10A) further includes a plurality of line connection patterns (41, 43, 45, and 52; Fig. 10A) connecting each of a plurality of lines (46 and 51; Fig. 10A) including the plurality of row lines (51; Fig. 10A) and the plurality of column lines (46; Fig. 10A) to the plurality of drivers (20; Fig. 10A),
wherein the plurality of line connection patterns (41, 43, 45, and 52; Fig. 10A) include:
a first line connection pattern (41; Fig. 10A) disposed on the side protection layer (31; Fig. 10A);
a second line connection pattern (43; Fig. 10A) disposed on the upper protection layer 32; Fig. 10A) and electrically connected to the first line connection pattern (41; Fig. 10A) through a hole in the upper protection layer (32; Fig. 10A);
a third line connection pattern (45; Fig. 10A) disposed on the first insulation layer (33; Fig. 10A) and electrically connected to the second line connection pattern (43; Fig. 10A) through a hole in the first insulation layer (33; Fig. 10A); and
a fourth line connection pattern (52; Fig. 10A) disposed on the second insulating layer (35; Fig. 10A) and electrically connected to the third line connection pattern (45; Fig. 10A) through a hole of the second insulating layer (35; Fig. 10A),
wherein the first line connection pattern (41; Fig. 10A) is electrically connected to one of the plurality of drivers (20; Fig. 10A), and
wherein the fourth line connection pattern (52; Fig. 10A) is electrically connected to a second electrode of at least one of the plurality of light emitting devices (11R, 11G, and 11B; Fig. 10A), or is electrically connected to a first electrode of at least one of the plurality of light emitting devices.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nho in view of Kwon and Bita’s display device by applying a layering arrangement, as taught by Ootorii, so to use a display device with a layering arrangement for providing false lighting of the light emitting device caused by false operation of the driver IC is able to be prevented (Paragraph [0013]).
Claim 30, Kwon (Fig. 1-15) discloses wherein the first optical layer (400; Fig. 2B) includes an organic insulating material (Paragraph [0065]; wherein discloses “The first bank 410 and the second bank 420 may include an inorganic insulating material”) in which fine particles are dispersed (Paragraph [0065]; wherein discloses “a metal oxide particle or a metal nitride particle”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nho’s display device by applying a layering method, as taught by Kwon, so to use a display device with a layering method for providing an emission area of display apparatuses may be increased (Paragraph [0114]).
Claim 31, Kwon (Fig. 1-15) discloses further comprising a third optical layer (600; Fig. 3) disposed on the plurality of row lines (530; Fig. 3) while overlapping the plurality of emission devices (300; Fig. 3), a third optical layer (600; Fig. 3) including an organic insulating material (Paragraph [0075]; wherein discloses insulating material) in which fine particles (Paragraph [0075]; wherein discloses “a metal oxide particle or a metal nitride particle”) are dispersed (600; Fig. 3).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nho’s display device by applying a layering method, as taught by Kwon, so to use a display device with a layering method for providing an emission area of display apparatuses may be increased (Paragraph [0114]).
Claim 32, Kwon (Fig. 1-15) discloses further comprising:
a second optical layer (420; Fig. 3) surrounding the first optical layer (210: Fig. 3); and
a third section of the black matrix (Paragraph [0075]; wherein discloses “the pixel separating layer 600 may include a non-transparent material, such as a black matrix material” ) disposed on the plurality of row lines (530: Fig. 3) and the second (210; Fig. 3) and third optical layers (600; Fig. 3).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nho’s display device by applying a layering method, as taught by Kwon, so to use a display device with a layering method for providing an emission area of display apparatuses may be increased (Paragraph [0114]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-32 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
In view of arguments, the references of Nho et al (US 10,319,278 B1), Kwon et al (US 2017/0062674 A1), Bita et al (US 10,135,034 B1), Vahid Far et al (US 10,777,116 B1), Vahil Far et al (US 2019/0279553 A1), Sakariya et al (US 2018/0182279 A1) Shaeffer et al (US 2019/0347985 A1), and Ootorii (US 2012/0256814 A1) have been used for new ground rejection.
Claim 1 is rejected in view of newly discovered reference(s) to Bita et al (US 10,135,034 B1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Adam J Snyder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623 10/26/2026