DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 4, the phrase "ramp-like" renders the claim(s) indefinite because it is unclear as what constitutes “ramp-like”, thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 8, line 1, the phrase "ramp-like" renders the claim(s) indefinite because it is unclear as what constitutes “ramp-like”, thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorbi (US 2014/0015247) in view of DE 1288383.
As to claim 1, Sorbi discloses a connector (100) for flexible hoses (101), comprising: - a hollow main body (15), extending in a first axial direction (X) and defining an element for coupling with a flexible hose, the hollow main body comprising an outer lateral surface having at least one annular ramp-like element (5a), adjacent to at least one circumferential annular cavity and defining a housing for a sealing element (12a); - at least one clamping element (47) extending in the first axial direction and configured for applying, radially, a locking force on an outer surface of said flexible hose when said flexible hose is coupled to the hollow main body; said clamping element having at least one portion, in use, in contact with said flexible hose (Fig. 6);- a connecting body (as at 108) extending around the hollow main body and to which at least said clamping element is fixed ([102]).
Sorbi fails to teach that the connector being characterised in that the at least one portion of the clamping element comprises a curved surface, in a radial direction.
However, DE 1288383 teaches a similar hose connector fitting, wherein the clamping element comprises a curved surface, in a radial direction ([0015]; Figs. 7, and 9-11).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sorbi such that the at least one portion of the clamping element comprises a curved surface, in a radial direction, as taught by DE1288383, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to more reliably secure flexible hoses at higher pressures ([0002] - [0004]).
As to claim 2, Sorbi in view of DE 1288383 discloses the connector according to claim 1, wherein each clamping element is characterised in that it has a profile having at least one recess (Sorbi: Fig. 6).
As to claim 3, Sorbi in view of DE 1288383 discloses the connector according to claim 1, wherein the hollow main body comprises a cylindrical portion (Fig. 5), having a first diameter Dext (a given diameter along the length of the nipple).
Sorbi/DE 1288383 is not explicit as to whether the curved surface of the clamping element has a diameter between the value of Dext/(π³) and Dext(π⁵).
It is noted that the prescribed range is very large, from about 0.033 to about 305 times Dext.
Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Sorbi/DE 1288383 such that the curved surface of the clamping element has a diameter between the value of Dext/(π³) and Dext(π⁵), for the purpose of one or more of: controlling the weight of the structure; ensuring sufficient strength and/or flexibility; providing a structure which would have allowed sufficient sealing and engagement to occur when the joint is properly mated; to aid in the machining of the structure; to have a structural arrangement which would have been obvious to try, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As to claim 4, Sorbi in view of DE 1288383 discloses the connector according to claim 1, wherein said at least one clamping element has in a proximal end, relative to the connecting body, connecting means (Sorbi: 109), and in a distal end to the connecting body it has a protruding tab (Sorbi: 45).
As to claim 5, Sorbi in view of DE 1288383 discloses the connector according to claim 1, wherein each clamping element has at least one curved portion, in use, at least partly in contact with the flexible hose (refer to DE 1288383).
As to claim 6, Sorbi in view of DE 1288383 discloses the connector according to claim 1, wherein the sealing element housed in said annular cavity allows, in use, a sealed coupling between the flexible hose and the hollow main body (refer to DE 1288383).
As to claim 7, Sorbi in view of DE1288383 discloses the connector according to claim 1, wherein the annular cavity is delimited by a pair of side walls having a curved profile and a bottom wall (Sorbi: Fig. 2).
As to claim 8, Sorbi in view of DE1288383 discloses the connector according to claim 1, wherein there are two ramp-like annular elements (Sorbi: 5a, 5b) separated by a distance equal to the length of the annular cavity (Sorbi: Fig. 2).
As to claim 9, Sorbi in view of DE1288383 discloses the connector according to claim 1, wherein the hollow main body has a distal portion having a tapered shape (Sorbi: as at 104).
As to claim 10, Sorbi in view of DE1288383 discloses the connector according to claim 9, wherein the hollow main body has a proximal portion (Sorbi: 111), opposite the distal portion, and integral with the connecting body.
As to claim 11, Sorbi in view of DE1288383 discloses the connector according to claim 1, comprising a clip (46) intended to wrap, in the above- mentioned portion of the clamping element and at the sealing element, said flexible hose.
As to claim 12, Sorbi in view of DE1288383 discloses a method for making a connection with at least one flexible hose, comprising the steps of: - preparing a connector according to claim 1 (refer to claim 1 above); - preparing at least one flexible hose (101); - inserting the hollow main body into the flexible hose (Fig. 6); - putting said at least one clamping element in contact with an outer surface of said flexible hose to apply a force in a radial direction on the outer surface of said flexible hose in such a way as to define a sealed connection between the clamping element and the flexible hose (Fig. 6).
As to claim 13, Sorbi in view of DE1288383 discloses the method according to claim 12, comprising, before the step of inserting the hollow main body inside the flexible hose, the steps of: - preparing a connector wherein the hollow main body (15) comprises an outer lateral surface having at least one ramp-like annular element (5a), adjacent to at least one circumferential annular cavity (6a); - preparing at least one sealing element (12a); - inserting the sealing element in the annular cavity of the hollow main body (Figs. 1-3).
As to claim 14, Sorbi in view of DE1288383 discloses the method according to claim 12, comprising the step of preparing a clip (46a; Figs. 10-11); and wherein the step of placing said at least one clamping element in contact with the outer surface of said flexible hose is performed by wrapping said clamping element and said flexible hose using the clip (Figs. 5-7, 10-11).
As to claim 15, Sorbi in view of DE1288383 discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the step of placing said at least one clamping element in contact with the outer surface of said flexible hose is performed by positioning the clip in a portion of the clamping element at the sealing element (Figs. 5-6).
Examiner’s Note:
The italicized portions in the foregoing claims are functional recitations. These clauses, as well as other statements of intended use do not serve to patently distinguish the claimed structure over that of the reference(s), as long as the structure of the cited reference(s) is capable of performing the intended use. See MPEP 2111-2115.
See also MPEP 2114, which states:
A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647;
Claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531; and
[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525,1528.
Any one of the systems in the cited reference(s) is capable of being used in the same manner and for the intended or desired use as the claimed invention. Note that it is sufficient to show that said capability exists, which is the case for the cited reference(s).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Each of St. James, Grau, and Bobenhausen discloses a connector for a flexible hose including a clamping element similar to that of Applicant’s.
James M. Hewitt II
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3679
/JAMES M HEWITT II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679