DETAILED ACTION
2. The action is responsive to the communications filed on 3/6//2026. Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. No Claim is amended. Claims 1, 8, 15 are independent claims. Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Summary of claims
3. Claims 1-20 are pending,
No Claim is amended,
Claims 1, 8, 15 are independent claims,
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed on 3/6/2026, since Applicant filed Terminal Disclaimer as required, Double Patenting rejections on claims 1, 8, 15 are withdrawn; with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant argued on pages 8-9 that the cited references including Nichols, Saunders and Owens did not teach “displaying an application menu…wherein the application menu includes a first application item that is associated with a first application, and a second application item associated with a second application,” as cited in claim 1. Specifically, Applicant argued Saunders’ interface is a status display and not a menu from which a user can select an application to interact with. Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Nichols is the art cited to teach an application menu from which a user can select an item to interact with. That is, Nichols teaches in Fig. 9, step 910, present user with a list of hyperlinks associated with a plurality of password protected websites; please note the list is an application menu including plurality of applications, each website is associated with an application, and a user can select an item in the list to interact with. Nichols’ websites list is an application menu, but Nichols does not expressly disclose each of the item in the list represents an application associated with a signed-in/signed-off status, Saunders is cited to expressly teach a list including one or more items, each item in the list represents an application the user signed-in (Saunders: [0043] and Fig. 4, FIG. 4 shows a user interface 40 that is displayed in response to a secured software application entering an access signed-in state. Column 42 indicates the signed-in or logged-in software applications). Nichols’ application menu could be modified to display each application’s name.
Applicant argued on 9-10 that the combination of Nichols and Owens is improper. Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that both Nichols and Owens provide user an integrated user interface for a user to select and interact with one or more password protected applications, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the invention of Nichols using the teachings of Owens to include displaying detail information associated with the selected application adjacent to the selected application, the combination of Nichols and Owens may allow user to receive more details information associated with the selected application directly in one interface. Accordingly, the combination of Nichols and Owens is proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jonathan Nichols et al (US Publication 20100017616 A1, hereinafter Nichols), and in view of Stillman Saunders et al (US Publication 20040111644 A1, hereinafter Saunders), and Stephen Owens et al (US Publication 20070157105 A1, hereinafter Owens)
As for independent claim 1, Nichols discloses: A wireless device (Nichols: [0078], personal computers, hand-held computing devices (e.g., PDA, phone, watch) comprising: one or more processors; and a computer-readable medium comprising instructions stored therein, which when executed by the processors, cause the processors (Nichols: [0078], single-processor or multiprocessor computer system) to perform operations comprising: displaying an application menu, in response to receiving a login credential, wherein the application menu includes a first application item that is associated with a first application, and a second application item that is associated with a second application (Nichols: Fig. 9, step 910, present user with a list of hyperlinks associated with a plurality of password protected websites; please note the list is an application menu including plurality of applications, each website is associated with an application; see in Saunders for more details for “each item is associated with an application”); receiving a user selection of the first application item (Nichols: Fig. 9, step 960, log the user into a website associated with the selected hyperlink); and displaying, in the application menu, in response to the user selection, an application preview menu, wherein the application preview menu provides information about one or more notifications associated with the first application (Nichols: Fig. 9, step 970, open a web browser window or tab associated with the website; please note the web browser window or tab may display information associated with the selected application, such as notification),
Nichols discloses enabling the user to access a plurality of password protected website/application with a list including all websites/applications, Nichols does not expressly disclose in the list, each item is associated with an application, in an analogous art of integrated authentication application, Saunders discloses: displaying an application menu, in response to receiving a login credential, wherein the application menu includes a first application item that is associated with a first application, and a second application item that is associated with a second application (Saunders: [0043] and Fig. 4, FIG. 4 shows a user interface 40 that is displayed in response to a secured software application entering an access signed-in state. Column 42 indicates the signed-in or logged-in software applications. For example, the first item in the list is a first application Word, the second item in the list is a second application Excel);
Nichols and Saunders are in analogous art because they are in the same field of
endeavor, integrated authentication application. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the invention of Nichols using the teachings of Saunders to expressly include displaying a list including application items in response to a secured credential. The motivation is to provide Nichols’s device with enhanced capability of allowing user to aware the signed-in/signed-out status associated with the application directly.
Further, Nichols discloses displaying a window or tab associated with the selected application presenting notifications associated with the selected application, but Nichols does not clearly disclose the application preview is displayed adjacent to the first application item, in another analogous art of integrated application user interface, Owens discloses: and wherein the application preview menu is displayed adjacent to the first application item (Owens: Fig. 3, display more details information associated with the Messenger application adjacent to the Messenger application).
Nichols and Owens are in analogous art because they are in the same field of
endeavor, integrated authentication application. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the invention of Nichols using the teachings of Owens to include displaying detail information associated with the selected application adjacent to the selected application. The motivation is to provide Nichols’s device with enhanced capability of allowing user to view the detail information of the selected application in an intuitive way in one interface.
As for claim 2, Nichols-Saunders-Owens discloses: receiving, in the application preview menu, a user selection of at least one notification from among the one or more notifications associated with the first application; and invoking the first application in response to the user selection (Owens: Fig. 9, in the application preview menu 905, user may select a notification 150 and invoke the Mail application).
As for claim 3, Nichols-Saunders-Owens discloses: receiving a user selection for a notification selected from among the one or more notifications associated with the first application; and displaying the notification in a separate display window (Nichols: Fig. 9, step 970, open a web browser window or tab associated with the website; please note the web browser window or tab may display notifications associated with the selected application).
As for claim 4, Nichols-Saunders-Owens discloses: wherein the application preview menu is displayed without a need to invoke the first application (Owens: Fig. 4, the preview menu may be displayed by selecting the menu button 421).
As for claim 5, Nichols-Saunders-Owens discloses: wherein the first application is an email application and wherein the application preview menu displays information regarding one or more received messages (Owens: Fig. 9, the Mail application and the preview menu displays the received email messages).
As for claim 6, Nichols-Saunders-Owens discloses: wherein the first application is a social media application and wherein the application preview menu displays information regarding one or more received messages (Owens: Fig. 4, the Messenger application and the preview menu displays the received IM message).
As for claim 7, Nichols-Saunders-Owens discloses: wherein the first application is an email application and wherein the application preview menu displays information regarding a sender of one or more received messages (Owens: Fig. 9, the Mail application and the preview menu displays the received email messages and the sender information).
As per Claim 8, it recites features that are substantially same as those features claimed by Claim 1 thus the rationales for rejecting Claim 1 are incorporated herein.
As per Claim 9, it recites features that are substantially same as those features claimed by Claim 2 thus the rationales for rejecting Claim 2 are incorporated herein.
As per Claim 10, it recites features that are substantially same as those features claimed by Claim 3 thus the rationales for rejecting Claim 3 are incorporated herein.
As per Claim 11, it recites features that are substantially same as those features claimed by Claim 4 thus the rationales for rejecting Claim 4 are incorporated herein.
As per Claim 12, it recites features that are substantially same as those features claimed by Claim 5 thus the rationales for rejecting Claim 5 are incorporated herein.
As per Claim 13, it recites features that are substantially same as those features claimed by Claim 6 thus the rationales for rejecting Claim 6 are incorporated herein.
As per Claim 14, it recites features that are substantially same as those features claimed by Claim 7 thus the rationales for rejecting Claim 7 are incorporated herein.
As per Claim 15, it recites features that are substantially same as those features claimed by Claim 1 thus the rationales for rejecting Claim 1 are incorporated herein.
As per Claim 16, it recites features that are substantially same as those features claimed by Claim 2 thus the rationales for rejecting Claim 2 are incorporated herein.
As per Claim 17, it recites features that are substantially same as those features claimed by Claim 3 thus the rationales for rejecting Claim 3 are incorporated herein.
As per Claim 18, it recites features that are substantially same as those features claimed by Claim 4 thus the rationales for rejecting Claim 4 are incorporated herein.
As per Claim 19, it recites features that are substantially same as those features claimed by Claim 5 thus the rationales for rejecting Claim 5 are incorporated herein.
As per Claim 20, it recites features that are substantially same as those features claimed by Claim 6 thus the rationales for rejecting Claim 6 are incorporated herein.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Hua Lu whose telephone number is 571-270-1410 and fax number is 571-270-2410. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri 7:30 am to 5:00 pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Scott Baderman can be reached on 571-272-3644. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 703-273-8300.
/HUA LU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118