DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/31/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in regards to figure 1, lakehouse 122 is shown in App layer instead of storage layer 105 while paragraph [0015] states “The storage layer 106 typically comprises one or more datamarts and lakehouse 122”.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Throughout the specification the terms “datamart” and “data mart” are used. Examiner respectfully suggests the applicant to consider amending the specification for term use consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 3 recites “A computer layer implemented on hardware and software” the “A” should be lower case. Similar issue with “In lieu” of claim 20. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10, 11 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia Calatrava et al. (US 2023/0418800 A1) hereinafter “GC” in view of Graham et al. (US 11,016,946 B1).
Regarding claim 1, GC teaches a computing system operating in association with a cloud-based environment (Fig. 1, shows sensor readings from a cloud to a system; [0077] system), comprising:
a compute layer implemented on hardware and software and configured with multi-executor orchestration to provide ingestion, transformation and collation of time-series event data ([0055] a computer comprising hardware and software means adapted to perform a method according to any of the preceding claims; Fig. 6 Abstraction Layers; [0011] time-series record; [0025] Data (for instance, sensor readings) is ingested via the data pool(s) of the first step and keeps eventually cascading from one data pool to another, until reaching the last one. Each data pool is designed to keep the data that it holds in a specific manner, thanks to the data falls that move (and alter) the data from one data pool to another. Those data falls group, sort, or reduce the data that is being cascaded.; [0029] The different data fall operations are: [0030] Grouping; [0031] Sorting; [0032] Reducing), and;
a storage layer comprising a first data store, and a second data store, the first data store providing a system of record for harmonized data derived from the time-series event data, the harmonized data stored in an immutable, row-oriented data format, and the second data store providing an analytic environment and storing time-series event data in a column-oriented data format accessible utilizing columnar metadata (Abstract: A method is used for managing a flow of data in at least one database, wherein said database is configured with at least two data models of data storage. In said method, during a first period of time, a first data flow portion is received in a computer, and the first data flow portion is then stored in a first data pool of the database according to the first data model. Then, after the first period of time, a transformation is made on the first portion of the data and the transformed first data is assigned to a second data model, and the first data flow portion is then transferred from the first data pool to a second data pool.; [0007] Data models organize elements of data and define how they relate to each-other. Each data model has its own specific properties, performance, and may be preferred for different use cases. As data models vary, their properties and performance do too. Although the actual implementation might differ from one database to another, each data model follows some shared principles. Some of the most relevant data models, related to this time-series, are: [0009] Row oriented. A row, or tuple, represents a single data structure composed of multiple related data, such as sensor readings. Each row contains all the existing attributes that are closely related to the row primary key, the attribute that uniquely identifies the row. This makes it efficient to retrieve all attributes for a given primary key. All rows typically follow the same structure. [0010] Column oriented. Data is organized following a column fashion. Each column contains all the existing value related to the column identifier, for instance a sensorID. Column oriented data models are greatly efficient when performing historical queries.; [0048] Abstraction layers receive this query metadata, which is, in fact, a part of the query itself, known as where clause in traditional databases. Thanks to this hint, the abstractions layers evaluate which data should be selected and transformed, fitting the abstraction layers as much as possible with respect to the requested data.); and
wherein multi-executor orchestration splits a workload into a series of tasks ([0029] The different data fall operations are: [0030] Grouping; [0031] Sorting; [0032] Reducing), , and receives and aggregates results from execution of the tasks by the set of executors ([0030-31]; [0032] Reducing: Alters the data granularity by either filtering or aggregating data, being the origin source of another cascade-flow).
GC teaches a workload split into different tasks such as MapReduce tasks but does not explicitly teach assigns each task in the set of tasks to an executor of a set of executors
However, Graham teaches assigns each task in the set of tasks to an executor of a set of executors (Col. 7, lines 32-43: Hadoop MR is a software framework to facilitate developing applications that process vast amounts of data (e.g., multi-terabyte datasets) in parallel on large clusters (e.g., thousands of nodes) of commodity hardware in a reliable, fault-tolerant manner. An MR job determines how an input dataset should be split independent partitions (sometimes referred to as “splits”) which can be processed by so-called “map tasks” in a parallel manner. The MR framework sorts the outputs of the map tasks, which are then input to so-called “reduce tasks.” The final output of the job is based on the output of the reduce tasks.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Graham with the teachings of GC to divide tasks and allocating them across a plurality of worker nodes. The modification would have been motivated by the desire of increasing processing speeds by using parallelization.
Regarding claim 2, Graham teaches wherein the row-oriented data format is Avro, and wherein the column-oriented data format is Parquet (Col. 2, lines 4-11: Generating the metadata record from the corresponding object metadata may include generating a record in Apache Avro format, Apache Thrift format, Apache Parquet format, Simple Key/Value format, JSON format, Hadoop SequenceFile format, or Google Protocol Buffer format.).
Regarding claim 3, GC teaches wherein the cloud-based environment comprises a set of compute nodes, and cloud storage, the set of compute nodes accessible via a set of network connections (Fig. 1A and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, GC teaches wherein transformation and collation of time-series event data occurs following on-demand transfer of time-series event data from the first data store to the at least one compute node (Abstract; [0025] Data (for instance, sensor readings) is ingested via the data pool(s) of the first step and keeps eventually cascading from one data pool to another, until reaching the last one. Each data pool is designed to keep the data that it holds in a specific manner, thanks to the data falls that move (and alter) the data from one data pool to another. Those data falls group, sort, or reduce the data that is being cascaded.).
In addition, Graham teaches on a first compute node of the set of compute nodes (Col. 4, lines 15-24: Any one of the data nodes 102 may be capable of receiving and processing client requests)
Regarding claim 10, GC teaches wherein time-series event data is stored in a hybrid row-columnar format ([0082] “row” of short columns).
Regarding claim 11, GC teaches wherein the hybrid row-columnar format stores segmented embedded vectors ([0082] In this step, the transformed data is store in Pool 3.1. It receives the data grouped in the shape of daily columns, as the previous cascade is just sorting them, not altering its data structure. Sensor daily-columns or groups are sorted sensor-wise, as the example data fall is set to, meaning that all data from a given sensor, from the previous data pool flush, is stored adjacently in disk, forming an in-disk larger column. It is the stream data pool, as it is the last data pool. On this example, it will keep all historical data, except if manually removed. The horizontal “row” of short columns (or long column) represents, in this case, one month of data for a given sensor. As there are 4 sensors (3 sensors+1 synthetic timestamp), each for “row of groups” represents the total amount of data coming from the last data fall.).
Regarding claim 14, it is method type claim having similar limitations as claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above, as the citations encompass the limitations as claimed. The additional features are taught by GC wherein processing includes at least one executor applying a data processing primitive that is one of: a homogeneous collation primitive, a heterogeneous collation primitive for sort-merge joins ([0029] The different data fall operations are: [0030] Grouping; [0031] Sorting; [0032] Reducing; [0055] a computer comprising hardware and software means adapted to perform a method according to any of the preceding claims; Fig. 6 Abstraction Layers), a presorted record merge primitive, and a geospatial processing primitive.
Regarding claim 15, it is method type claim having similar limitations as claim 2 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Regarding claim 16, the combination teaches wherein the primitive is one of a set of primitives, the set of primitives are implemented across the one or more compute nodes using concurrent threads executing up to thousands of concurrent tasks per compute node (GC’s Abstract and [0052] This framework is typically intended to perform operation such as aggregations (MIN, AVG, etc.), but it is also able to alter the shape of data, or its structure, even being able to convert data from one data model to another, by using its powerful tools, such as aggregation pipelines or operations following the map-reduce paradigm, taking advantage of parallelism. Graham further teaches Col. 7, lines 28-42: A Hadoop cluster may provide both distributed processing capabilities and distributed data storage functionality. Distributed processing is typically provided by a MapReduce (MR) engine, which manages execution of MR jobs submitted by a job client (e.g., a user application). Hadoop MR is a software framework to facilitate developing applications that process vast amounts of data (e.g., multi-terabyte datasets) in parallel on large clusters (e.g., thousands of nodes) of commodity hardware in a reliable, fault-tolerant manner. An MR job determines how an input dataset should be split independent partitions (sometimes referred to as “splits”) which can be processed by so-called “map tasks” in a parallel manner. The MR framework sorts the outputs of the map tasks, which are then input to so-called “reduce tasks.” The final output of the job is based on the output of the reduce tasks.).
Regarding claim 17, GC teaches wherein data stored in the given row-based file format and given column-based file format are accessed according to requests that conform to a procedural object-oriented language ([0047] In another preferred embodiment of the invention, wherein the first or the second data pool is configured with at least two polyglot abstraction layers. Polyglot abstraction layers consist of several data representations from which the user can access the very same data, but in different ways. This polyglot approach provides two additional main benefits: hybrid queries, since the abstraction layers enable data-model coexistence, and, thus, users are able to retrieve data independently from which data models it is stored in and are able to choose from which abstraction layer to query from, minimizing the data model transformation costs and final format consciousness, meaning that the method of the invention prevents a data transformation overhead, becoming more efficient and more resource-saving, accommodating itself to the final data format needed by the user.).
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GC and Graham, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Parcha et al. (US 2024/0061717 A1).
Regarding claim 5, GC nor Graham expressly teach wherein the first compute node of the set of compute nodes is a host machine on which a given number of virtual cores are configurable for execution.
However, Parcha teaches wherein the first compute node of the set of compute nodes is a host machine on which a given number of virtual cores are configurable for execution ([0002] Various cloud-based services may be scaled, as needed, to handle variable processing demands of preset processes. These scalable cloud-based services provide increased processing power to accommodate intervals when the demands are high, while reducing the available processing power when demands are low. To accommodate the fluctuating demand, scalable services may dynamically adjust a quantity of virtual processors available to existing quantity of processes.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Parcha with the teachings of GC and Graham to scale the instances dynamically based on workload requirement. The modification would have been motivated by the desire of ensuring the amount of processors is enough to meet processing demands thereby maintaining processing throughput.
Regarding claim 6, Parcha teaches wherein an executor executes on a virtual core of the host machine ([0002] Examiner Notes virtual processor are hosted in machines).
Regarding claim 7, Parcha teaches wherein multi-executor orchestration scales up one or more virtual cores on the first compute node as necessary to execute the workload ([0002]).
Regarding claim 8, Parcha teaches wherein multi-executor orchestration scales out to a second compute node when the given number of virtual cores in the first compute node are not sufficient to execute the workload ([0002]).
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GC and Graham, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Srinivasan et al. (US 2020/0195571 A1).
Regarding claim 9, GC nor Graham explicitly teach wherein the multi-execution orchestration splits the workload across a swarm of serverless functions associated with the cloud-based environment.
However, Srinivasan teaches wherein the multi-execution orchestration splits the workload across a swarm of serverless functions associated with the cloud-based environment ([0041] In some cases, the execution environment 300 may be a specially defined computational system deployed in a cloud platform. In some cases, the parameters defining the execution environment may be specified in a manifest for cloud deployment… The framework describes a series of the serverless tasks controlled via scripts. The serverless tasks overlap in execution to maintain continuity across the tasks. The computational task in divided into chunks that may be handled by individual serverless tasks. Accordingly, a complex analytic process, such as those describe in this disclosure, may be divided into chunks and executed over one or more overlapping serverless tasks.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Srinivasan with the teachings of GC and Graham to split tasks and execute them using serverless functions. The modification would have been motivated by the desire of faster development and ease of scaling.
Regarding claim 19, it is method type claim having similar limitations as claim 9 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GC and Graham, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Fan et al. (US 2022/0230227 A1).
Regarding claim 18, GC and Graham do not expressly teach wherein the procedural object-oriented language is GoLang, and wherein GoLang goroutines provide threads consuming less than ten (10) kilobytes of memory per thread to enable concurrent processing of data streams from the cloud storage without thread-switching overhead.
However, Fan teaches wherein the procedural object-oriented language is GoLang, and wherein GoLang goroutines provide threads consuming less than ten (10) kilobytes of memory per thread to enable concurrent processing of data streams from the cloud storage without thread-switching overhead ([0130] The Golang-based POI service for the techniques disclosed herein will be described in details below; [0131] Go has goroutines that consume around 2 KB memory so that millions of goroutines can be spinned. Besides, goroutines come with channels to communicate safely between themselves and avoid the usage of mutex locking.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fan with the teachings of GC and Graham to utilize GoLang as it is very light-weighted and easy to start and stop, which makes GoLang outperform other languages in terms of stability as a backend language for various embodiments. See at least [0128]
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graham et al. (US 11,016,946 B1) in further view of Lee et al. (US 2017/0244650 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Graham teaches a method associated with a cloud-based infrastructure comprising a plurality of compute nodes, cloud storage distinct from the plurality of compute nodes, and network connections between the plurality of compute nodes and the cloud storage (Col. 3, lines 23-54: The phrases “computer,” “computing system,” “computing environment,” “processing platform,” “data memory and storage system,” and “data memory and storage system environment” as used herein with respect to various embodiments are intended to be broadly construed, so as to encompass, for example, private or public cloud computing or storage systems, or parts thereof, as well as other types of systems comprising distributed virtual infrastructure and those not comprising virtual infrastructure…As used herein, the term “storage device” refers to any non-volatile memory (NVM) device, including hard disk drives (HDDs), flash devices (e.g., NAND flash devices), and next generation NVM devices, any of which can be accessed locally and/or remotely (e.g., via a storage attached network (SAN)). The term “storage device” can also refer to a storage array comprising one or more storage devices.), the method comprising:
receiving event data to be processed by a first processing stage in the plurality of compute nodes, mapping operations on the event data using a plurality of executors of a set of executors (Col. 7, lines 28-43: A Hadoop cluster may provide both distributed processing capabilities and distributed data storage functionality. Distributed processing is typically provided by a MapReduce (MR) engine, which manages execution of MR jobs submitted by a job client (e.g., a user application). Hadoop MR is a software framework to facilitate developing applications that process vast amounts of data (e.g., multi-terabyte datasets) in parallel on large clusters (e.g., thousands of nodes) of commodity hardware in a reliable, fault-tolerant manner. An MR job determines how an input dataset should be split independent partitions (sometimes referred to as “splits”) which can be processed by so-called “map tasks” in a parallel manner. The MR framework sorts the outputs of the map tasks, which are then input to so-called “reduce tasks.” The final output of the job is based on the output of the reduce tasks.);
In lieu of transferring data between processing stages in the plurality of compute nodes, writing intermediate shuffle data generated by the plurality of executors directly to cloud object storage organized by one or more partition keys (Col. 7, lines 28-43 The MR framework sorts the outputs of the map tasks; Col. 7, lines 53-60: Typically, both a job's input and output are stored within a distributed file system. Intermediate results data (i.e., the output of individual map-reduce tasks) may be also be stored in a distributed file system. A single MR job can use multiple different file systems. For example, a job's input dataset could be read from an external HCFS, whereas the job's output data could be written to an HDFS instance local to the cluster 202.; Col. 5, lines 65 through Col. 6, line 4: To track the location of object data across the plurality of storage devices 112 and nodes 102, the system 100 may include mapping between object keys and storage locations, referred to herein as the “primary index.” In various embodiments, a primary index 104a is implemented using a key-value store 104 stored within the storage devices 112.); and
executing reduce operations by reading the intermediate shuffle data from the cloud object storage into a second processing stage distinct from the first processing stage (Col. 7, lines 28-43 The MR framework sorts the outputs of the map tasks, which are then input to so-called “reduce tasks.” The final output of the job is based on the output of the reduce tasks; Col. 7, lines 53-60 Typically, both a job's input and output are stored within a distributed file system. Intermediate results data (i.e., the output of individual map-reduce tasks) may be also be stored in a distributed file system. A single MR job can use multiple different file systems. For example, a job's input dataset could be read from an external HCFS, whereas the job's output data could be written to an HDFS instance local to the cluster 202.);
wherein the cloud object storage serves as a persistent shuffle medium enabling job recovery without re-execution of completed mapping tasks (Col. 7, lines 28-60 discuss that output obtained from mapping tasks are sorted and held in storage for reduce tasks. Therefore, the mapping tasks are not re-executed).
Graham teaches mapping, sorting and reducing but does not explicitly teach Shuffle.
However, Lee teaches shuffle ([0006] A MapReduce processing process involves a map calculation operation, a reduce calculation operation, and a shuffle and sort operation (referred to as a “shuffle operation” below) of moving data to reduce map calculation results. A map calculator reads a record and calculates a record having a new key and value by filtering the read record or converting the read record into another value. The calculated record is referred to as intermediate data and is stored in a local disk of the map calculator. A reduce calculator groups result values output through a map process based on the new key and then outputs a result of executing an aggregation operation. A shuffle operation involves a process of dividing a key bandwidth through partitioning, sorting and storing a map calculation result in the local disk, and then transferring the map calculation result as input data of reduce calculators via a network.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Graham as it is well-known in the art that MapReduce processing includes steps such as mapping, shuffling/sorting and reduce. The modification would have been motivated by the desire of combining known elements to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/JORGE A CHU JOY-DAVILA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195