DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, each bracket of the plurality of brackets being comprised of a first panel and a second panel from claim 3 (Note: element 410 is disclosed as being a first panel, and element 412 is disclosed as being a second panel. Each bracket (406) only has a singular panel member as shown in Figure 3. How is bracket 406 viewed as having both element 410 and element 412?) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15, line 2, recites “the multidirectional wheel rotates” which should be changed to --the multidirectional wheel assembly rotates-- to maintain consistent claim terminology.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 11 further defines the mobile machine being a mobile robot which is not viewed as further defining claims 9 and/or 10 because claim 9 is directed to the apparatus of a multidirectional wheel. The multidirectional wheel only needs to be capable of connecting to a mobile machine to meet the claim limitation of claim 10.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bei et al. (WO 2018/014455 A1; see provided machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Bei et al. discloses a multidirectional wheel assembly, comprising:
a central hub (122, 132) configured to rotate about a first axis (the axial centerline of 122 and 132);
a frame (11) coupled to the central hub, the frame including a plurality of brackets (12, 13);
a plurality of rollers (16), wherein each roller, of the plurality of rollers, is connected to each bracket, of the plurality of brackets, and wherein each roller, of the plurality of rollers, rotates independently about a second axis (the axial centerline of each 16); and
wherein at least one roller, of the plurality of rollers, comprises a surface (the outer surface of 16) having a series of raised traction inducing elements (the projections of 182; see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 2, Bei et al. discloses that the central hub comprises an internal bore (the through hole in the viewed hub) **[configured to receive an axle rod of a mobile machine]**.
Regarding claim 3, Bei et al. discloses that each bracket, of the plurality of brackets, comprises a first panel (12) and a second panel (13).
Regarding claim 4, Bei et al. discloses that each roller, of the plurality of rollers, is mounted between the first panel and the second panel of each bracket, of the plurality of brackets (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Bei et al. discloses that the second axis forms an angle between 30-50 degrees relative to the first axis (see Page 7 / Lines 30-31 of the machine translation).
Regarding claim 7, Bei et al. discloses that the series of raised traction inducing elements comprises a pattern of raised projections (182 is a tread pattern thus meeting the claim limitation; see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 8, Bei et al. discloses that the pattern of raised projections comprises a plurality of dotted projections (the projections of 182 are viewed as being dotted because their sides do not directly connect with sides of an adjacent projection).
Regarding claim 9, Bei et al. discloses a multidirectional wheel, comprising:
a wheel axis of rotation (the axial centerline of 10) around which the multidirectional wheel is configured to rotate;
a plurality of rollers (16) that are each an integrated part of the multidirectional wheel, wherein each roller, of the plurality of rollers, rotates around a roller axis (the axial centerline of 16) that is not parallel to the wheel axis of rotation; and
wherein each roller, of the plurality of rollers, comprises a surface material (the material on the outer circumferential surface of 18; see Figure 3) having raised traction inducing elements (the projections of 182; see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 10, Bei et al. discloses an internal bore (the through hole in the viewed hub) configured to receive an axle rod (an axle; see Page 2 / Line 7 of the machine translation) of a mobile machine (a robot; see Page 2 / Lines 4-5 of the machine translation).
Regarding claim 11, Bei et al. discloses that the mobile machine is a mobile robot (the robot has an omnidirectional wheel attached to it thus it is viewed as being a mobile robot; the robot is movable as disclosed on Page 3 / Lines 1-2 of the machine translation) configured to perform multidirectional maneuvers across a surface (the surface that the bottom rollers contact when the robot moves).
Regarding claim 12, Bei et al. discloses that the plurality of rollers maintains continuous contact with the surface as the multidirectional wheel rotates around the wheel axis of rotation (the bottommost wheel would maintain contact with the surface as long as the machine is not lifted off the ground).
Regarding claim 13, Bei et al. discloses a plurality of rollers integrated into a multidirectional wheel assembly (10), wherein each roller in the plurality includes a repeated series of raised traction inducing elements (the projections of 182; see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 14, Bei et al. discloses that each roller of the plurality comprises a cylindrical body (18) having a tapered shape (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 15, Bei et al. discloses that each roller in the plurality rotates around a rotation axis (the axial centerline of each 16) independent from a wheel axis (the axial centerline of 122 and 132) in which the multidirectional wheel rotates around.
Regarding claim 16, Bei et al. discloses that the repeated series of raised traction inducing elements comprises a pattern of raised projections (projections of 182 are raised outwards thus meeting the claim limitation; see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 18, Bei et al. discloses that the pattern of raised projections a plurality of raised ridge elements (projections of 182 are raised outwards thus meeting the claim limitation; see Figure 3; as best understood, the sides of each protrusion forms a ridge).
Claims 1-5, 7-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (US 2021/0379928 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a multidirectional wheel assembly, comprising:
a central hub (the center part of 12 and 13 that 15 is formed in) configured to rotate about a first axis (the axial centerline of 15);
a frame (12, 13) coupled to the central hub, the frame including a plurality of brackets (12, 13);
a plurality of rollers (20, 30), wherein each roller, of the plurality of rollers, is connected to each bracket, of the plurality of brackets, and wherein each roller, of the plurality of rollers, rotates independently about a second axis (the axial centerline of 20 and 30); and
wherein at least one roller, of the plurality of rollers, comprises a surface having a series of raised traction inducing elements (the protrusions of 50; see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 2, Lin discloses that the central hub comprises an internal bore (15) **[configured to receive an axle rod of a mobile machine]**.
Regarding claim 3, Lin discloses that each bracket, of the plurality of brackets, comprises a first panel (12) and a second panel (13).
Regarding claim 4, Lin discloses that each roller, of the plurality of rollers, is mounted between the first panel and the second panel of each bracket, of the plurality of brackets (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 5, Lin discloses that the second axis is perpendicular to the first axis (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 7, Lin discloses that the series of raised traction inducing elements comprises a pattern of raised projections (the protrusions of 50; see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 8, Lin discloses that the pattern of raised projections comprises a plurality of dotted projections (the projections of 50 are viewed as being dotted because their sides do not directly connect with sides of an adjacent projection).
Regarding claim 9, Lin discloses a multidirectional wheel, comprising:
a wheel axis of rotation (the axial centerline of 15) around which the multidirectional wheel is configured to rotate;
a plurality of rollers (20, 30) that are each an integrated part of the multidirectional wheel, wherein each roller, of the plurality of rollers, rotates around a roller axis (the axial centerline of 20 and 30) that is not parallel to the wheel axis of rotation; and
wherein each roller, of the plurality of rollers, comprises a surface material having raised traction inducing elements (the protrusions of 50; see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 10, Lin discloses an internal bore (15) [**configured to receive an axle rod of a mobile machine (300)]**.
Regarding claim 11, Lin discloses that the mobile machine is a mobile robot (300 has a plurality of wheels thus is viewed as being moveable) **[configured to perform multidirectional maneuvers across a surface (the surface that each wheel directly engages)]**.
Regarding claim 12, Lin discloses that the plurality of rollers maintains continuous contact with the surface as the multidirectional wheel rotates around the wheel axis of rotation (the bottommost wheel would maintain contact with the surface as long as the machine is not lifted off the ground).
Regarding claim 13, Lin discloses a plurality of rollers (20, 30) integrated into a multidirectional wheel assembly (100), wherein each roller in the plurality includes a repeated series of raised traction inducing elements (the protrusions of 50; see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 14, Lin discloses that each roller of the plurality comprises a cylindrical body (the body of each roller) having a tapered shape (see Figure 8).
Regarding claim 15, Lin discloses that each roller in the plurality rotates around a rotation axis (the axial centerline of 20 and 30) independent from a wheel axis (the axial centerline of 15) in which the multidirectional wheel rotates around.
Regarding claim 16, Lin discloses that the repeated series of raised traction inducing elements comprises a pattern of raised projections (see the pattern of 50 in Figure 4).
Regarding claim 18, Lin discloses that the pattern of raised projections a plurality of raised ridge elements (projections of 50 are raised outwards thus meeting the claim limitation; see Figure 4; as best understood, the sides of each protrusion forms a ridge).
Claims 1-4, 7-10, and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GOBILDA Non-Patent Literature (Waybackmachie.com publication date of October 13, 2024 which is prior to the effective filing date of July 31, 2025; as best understood, the Applicant and Inventors are a separate entity to GOBILDA because the Applicant is ROBOTZONE LLC).
Regarding claim 1, GOBILDA discloses a multidirectional wheel assembly, comprising:
a central hub (the black circular member at the center of the wheel) configured to rotate about a first axis (the axial centerline of the black circular member);
a frame (the yellow members that each roller connects to) coupled to the central hub, the frame including a plurality of brackets (each yellow member is viewed as being a bracket);
a plurality of rollers (the rollers of the wheel), wherein each roller, of the plurality of rollers, is connected to each bracket, of the plurality of brackets, and wherein each roller, of the plurality of rollers, rotates independently about a second axis (the axial centerline of each roller); and
wherein at least one roller, of the plurality of rollers, comprises a surface (the outer surface of each roller) having a series of raised traction inducing elements (the circular protrusions on each roller).
Regarding claim 2, GOBILDA discloses that the central hub comprises an internal bore (the through hole in the center of the hub) **[configured to receive an axle rod of a mobile machine]**.
Regarding claim 3, GOBILDA discloses that each bracket, of the plurality of brackets, comprises a first panel (the bracket on the left side of the wheel) and a second panel (the bracket on the right side of the wheel).
Regarding claim 4, GOBILDA discloses that each roller, of the plurality of rollers, is mounted between the first panel and the second panel of each bracket, of the plurality of brackets (see the figures in the GOBILDA Non-Patent Literature document; it is noted that the website provides better views than the provided document).
Regarding claim 7, GOBILDA discloses that the series of raised traction inducing elements comprises a pattern of raised projections (the helical pattern of circular projections).
Regarding claim 8, GOBILDA discloses that the pattern of raised projections comprises a plurality of dotted projections (see the circular projections on the rollers).
Regarding claim 9, GOBILDA discloses a multidirectional wheel, comprising:
a wheel axis of rotation (the axial centerline of the black circular member) around which the multidirectional wheel is configured to rotate;
a plurality of rollers (the rollers of the wheel) that are each an integrated part of the multidirectional wheel, wherein each roller, of the plurality of rollers, rotates around a roller axis (the axial centerline of each roller) that is not parallel to the wheel axis of rotation; and
wherein each roller, of the plurality of rollers, comprises a surface material having raised traction inducing elements (the circular protrusions on each roller).
Regarding claim 10, GOBILDA discloses an internal bore (the through hole in the center of the hub) **[configured to receive an axle rod of a mobile machine]**.
Regarding claim 13, GOBILDA discloses a plurality of rollers (the rollers of the wheel) integrated into a multidirectional wheel assembly, wherein each roller in the plurality includes a repeated series of raised traction inducing elements (the circular protrusions on each roller).
Regarding claim 14, GOBILDA discloses that each roller of the plurality comprises a cylindrical body having a tapered shape (see the figures in the GOBILDA Non-Patent Literature document; it is noted that the website provides better views than the provided document).
Regarding claim 15, GOBILDA discloses that each roller in the plurality rotates around a rotation axis (the axial centerline of each roller) independent from a wheel axis (the axial centerline of the black circular member) in which the multidirectional wheel rotates around.
Regarding claim 16, GOBILDA discloses that the repeated series of raised traction inducing elements comprises a pattern of raised projections (see the circular protrusions on each roller).
Regarding claim 17, GOBILDA discloses that the pattern of raised projections comprises a helical pattern (the circular protrusions extend around the roller in an angled manner thus is viewed as being in a helical pattern) around a surface (the outer surface of each roller) of each roller in the plurality.
Regarding claim 18, GOBILDA discloses that the pattern of raised projections a plurality of raised ridge elements (the circular projections are viewed as being ridge element thus meeting the claim limitation; as best understood, the curved top edge of each protrusion forms a ridge).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bei et al. (WO 2018/014455 A1; see provided machine translation) in view of Youn (US 2020/0039287 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Bei et al. discloses that the pattern of raised projections are around a surface (the outer circumferential surface) of each roller in the plurality.
Bei et al. does not disclose that the pattern of raised projections comprise a helical pattern.
Youn teaches a pattern of raised projections (the protrusions on each 320) comprise a helical pattern (see Figure 6) for the purpose of increasing the grip force of the tire (see Paragraph 0050).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pattern of raised projections of Bei et al. to comprise a helical pattern for the purpose of increasing the grip force of the tire, as taught by Youn.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bei et al. (WO 2018/014455 A1; see provided machine translation) in view of Takenaka et al. (US 8,758,191 B2).
Regarding claim 19, Bei et al. discloses all of the claim limitations, see above, but does not disclose that the plurality of ridge elements are cross hatched ridge elements.
Takenaka et al. teaches wheels (52) that comprise a tread surface (the outer surface of each 52) that has a cross hatched pattern (see the diamond-like pattern on the outer surface of 52 in Figure 8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plurality of ridge elements of Bei et al. to be cross hatched ridge elements, as taught by Takenaka et al., for the purpose of providing a pattern that aids in directing fluid away from the center of the wheel thus aiding in increasing traction.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bei et al. (WO 2018/014455 A1; see provided machine translation) in view of McKinnon (US 8,556,279 B2).
Regarding claim 20, Bei et al. discloses all of the claim limitations, see above, but does not disclose that the repeated series of raised traction inducing elements comprises a plurality of raised linear bands.
McKinnon teaches a repeated series of raised traction inducing elements (17) comprises a plurality of raised linear bands (see the shape of 17 in Figure 1; Column 9 / Lines 51-54 discloses “ The roller tire 41 may have surface features 17, such as longitudinal or transverse grooves, ridges, treads, dimples, knobs or spiral ridges or grooves to assist in diminishing noise and/or providing better grip.”) for the purpose of diminishing noise and/or providing better grip (Column 9 / Lines 51-54).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the repeated series of raised traction inducing elements of Bei et al. to comprise a plurality of raised linear bands for the purpose of diminishing noise and/or providing better grip, as taught by McKinnon.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 2021/0379928 A1) in view of Youn (US 2020/0039287 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Lin discloses that the pattern of raised projections are around a surface (the outer circumferential surface) of each roller in the plurality.
Lin does not disclose that the pattern of raised projections comprise a helical pattern.
Youn teaches a pattern of raised projections (the protrusions on each 320) comprise a helical pattern (see Figure 6) for the purpose of increasing the grip force of the tire (see Paragraph 0050).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pattern of raised projections of Lin to comprise a helical pattern for the purpose of increasing the grip force of the tire, as taught by Youn.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 2021/0379928 A1) in view of Takenaka et al. (US 8,758,191 B2).
Regarding claim 19, Lin discloses all of the claim limitations, see above, but does not disclose that the plurality of ridge elements are cross hatched ridge elements.
Takenaka et al. teaches wheels (52) that comprise a tread surface (the outer surface of each 52) that has a cross hatched pattern (see the diamond-like pattern on the outer surface of 52 in Figure 8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plurality of ridge elements of Lin to be cross hatched ridge elements, as taught by Takenaka et al., for the purpose of providing a pattern that aids in directing fluid away from the center of the wheel thus aiding in increasing traction.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 2021/0379928 A1) in view of McKinnon (US 8,556,279 B2).
Regarding claim 20, Lin discloses all of the claim limitations, see above, but does not disclose that the repeated series of raised traction inducing elements comprises a plurality of raised linear bands.
McKinnon teaches a repeated series of raised traction inducing elements (17) comprises a plurality of raised linear bands (see the shape of 17 in Figure 1; Column 9 / Lines 51-54 discloses “ The roller tire 41 may have surface features 17, such as longitudinal or transverse grooves, ridges, treads, dimples, knobs or spiral ridges or grooves to assist in diminishing noise and/or providing better grip.”) for the purpose of diminishing noise and/or providing better grip (Column 9 / Lines 51-54).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the repeated series of raised traction inducing elements of Lin to comprise a plurality of raised linear bands for the purpose of diminishing noise and/or providing better grip, as taught by McKinnon.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOBILDA Non-Patent Literature (Waybackmachie.com publication date of October 13, 2024 which is prior to the effective filing date of July 31, 2025; as best understood, the Applicant and Inventors are a separate entity to GOBILDA because the Applicant is ROBOTZONE LLC) in view of Takenaka et al. (US 8,758,191 B2).
Regarding claim 19, GOBILDA discloses all of the claim limitations, see above, but does not disclose that the plurality of ridge elements are cross hatched ridge elements.
Takenaka et al. teaches wheels (52) that comprise a tread surface (the outer surface of each 52) that has a cross hatched pattern (see the diamond-like pattern on the outer surface of 52 in Figure 8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plurality of ridge elements of GOBILDA to be cross hatched ridge elements, as taught by Takenaka et al., for the purpose of providing a pattern that aids in directing fluid away from the center of the wheel thus aiding in increasing traction.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOBILDA Non-Patent Literature (Waybackmachie.com publication date of October 13, 2024 which is prior to the effective filing date of July 31, 2025; as best understood, the Applicant and Inventors are a separate entity to GOBILDA because the Applicant is ROBOTZONE LLC) in view of McKinnon (US 8,556,279 B2).
Regarding claim 20, GOBILDA discloses all of the claim limitations, see above, but does not disclose that the repeated series of raised traction inducing elements comprises a plurality of raised linear bands.
McKinnon teaches a repeated series of raised traction inducing elements (17) comprises a plurality of raised linear bands (see the shape of 17 in Figure 1; Column 9 / Lines 51-54 discloses “ The roller tire 41 may have surface features 17, such as longitudinal or transverse grooves, ridges, treads, dimples, knobs or spiral ridges or grooves to assist in diminishing noise and/or providing better grip.”) for the purpose of diminishing noise and/or providing better grip (Column 9 / Lines 51-54).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the repeated series of raised traction inducing elements of GOBILDA to comprise a plurality of raised linear bands for the purpose of diminishing noise and/or providing better grip, as taught by McKinnon.
**The above statements in brackets are instances of intended use and functional language. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does, see MPEP 2114. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schlee et al. (US 8,960,339 B2), cited by the Applicant in the information disclosure statement filed on November 26, 2025, discloses a mecanum wheel that consists of a central hub, a plurality of frames, a plurality of rollers located between the frames, and a central axis of each roller being at angle of 45 degrees to an axial centerline of a bore through the central hub. The structure of the mecanum wheel (see Figure 8) of Schlee et al. appears to be very similar to the wheel structure of Applicant’s invention except for the track element on each wheel of Applicant’s invention.
Ilon (US 3,876,255 A) discloses a wheel of a self-propelling vehicle, each wheel is comprised of a plurality of rollers, and an outer surface of each roller has a linear band protrusion structure.
/ADAM D ROGERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617