Detailed Action
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for excessive shading, see MPEP 1.84(m). New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because some of the drawings are shaded in black and grey, which reduces legibility. According to MPEP CFR 1.84(m), shading is only acceptable if it does not reduce legibility. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the light emitters remaining parallel to the planting walls when moved between the operating position and non-operating position of claim 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the plane with the light emitters being movable within the plane and the plane being at angles between 0 and 90 degrees to the planting wall of claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Additionally the planes are not given reference numbers in the specification or marked in the drawings. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “multiple planting walls, the planting walls are arranged parallel to each other, the planting walls are movable towards each other;” which should read “multiple planting walls, wherein the planting walls are arranged parallel to each other, and the planting walls are movable towards each other;”
Claim 1 recites “a lighting system that is directly or indirectly connected to the container ceiling, the lighting system comprises at least one light emitting element, particularly a controllable LED;” which should read either “a lighting system that is directly or indirectly connected to the container ceiling, wherein the lighting system comprises at least one light emitting element, particularly a controllable LED;” or “a lighting system that is directly or indirectly connected to the container ceiling, the lighting system comprising at least one light emitting element, particularly a controllable LED;”
Claim 9 recites “wherein the lighting system comprises a holding means, the holding means comprises a light emitting element, the light emitting element is movable relative to the holdings means” which should read “wherein the lighting system comprises a holding means, the holding means comprises a light emitting element, and the light emitting element is movable relative to the holdings means.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 2-3 are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth
paragraph. The claim language recites the term “holding means.” This limitation meets the three-prong test for 112f due to its use of “means” modified by functional language (configured to) and lack of sufficient structure in the claims or the specification. The specification states that the “holding means comprises an elongated portion, particularly a rail, bar, beam, column or cantilever, wherein the elongated portion comprises the multiple light emitting elements,” and therefore will be interpreted as an elongated portion that also includes multiple light emitters.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 4-8 are rejected for lack of antecedent basis as claim 1 recites “at least one light emitting element,” whereas claims 4-8 recite “multiple light emitting elements.” It is recommended to amend either claim 1 to recite “multiple light emitting elements” or amend the dependent claims to recite “wherein the at least one light emitting element comprises multiple light emitting elements.” Claims 2-3 and 9-10 are rejected by virtue of their dependency. Clarification and correction are required but no new matter may be added.
Claim 1 is rejected for lack of clarity in regards to the limitation “the lighting system comprises at least one light emitting element, particularly a controllable LED.” The term “particularly” renders this limitation indefinite as it is unclear if the controllable LED is the only option and therefore required by the claim or just one example. Claims 2-10 are rejected by virtue of their dependency. Clarification and correction are required but no new matter may be added.
Claim 5 is rejected for lack of clarity and inconsistency with the drawings. Firstly, claim 5 states that the light emitting elements pivot towards each other as they move from the operating to the non-operating position and away from each other as they move from the non-operating to the operating positions. Figure 1 does not show this, rather, in the figure 1, the light emitting elements would move in parallel with each other as they transfer from the operating and non-operating positions. The claimed configuration appears to be shown in figure 3, however, due to the excessive shading of the plane it is not clear. Clarification and correction are required but no new matter may be added.
Claim 5 is rejected for lack of clarity in regards to the limitation “such that two adjacent light emitting elements: ii) remain parallel to the planting walls and within the plane when moved between the operating position and the non-operating position.” Based on the figures, particularly figure 1,, the light emitting elements are hanging parallel to the planting walls when in their operating positions. However, based on the figures, it is clear that the light emitters are in fact perpendicular to the planting walls when they are arranged in their non-operating positions. Further, while in figure 3, the plane is oriented such that the light emitting elements can move within the vertical plane while moving between their operating and non-operating positions, it appears that for the horizontal plane of figure 4, they would be moving out of the plane as the pivot downwards to their operating positions. Clarification and correction are required but no new matter may be added.
Claim 6 is rejected for lack of clarity in regards to the limitations “wherein a first light emitting element is movable within a first plane and a second light emitting element is movable within a second plane, wherein a first angle is formed between the first plane and a planting wall, wherein a second angle is formed between the second plane and a planting wall, wherein the first angle and the second angle are: i) greater than zero degrees, and ii) less than or equal to ninety degrees.” Firstly, while in figure 3, the plane is oriented such that the light emitting elements can move within the vertical plane while moving between their operating and non-operating positions, it appears that for the horizontal plane of figure 4, they would be moving out of the plane as they pivot downwards to their operating positions. It is unclear whether the plane of figure 4 is meant to also be a vertical plane extending downwards from the ceiling. Additionally, the figures do not depict the plane having an angle greater than 0 and less than or equal to 90 degrees with the planting wall. Figure 4 depicts the planes as being parallel to the planting walls and therefore having an angle of 0 or 180 degrees relative to the planting wall. The angles depicted as α and β in figure 4 are the angles of the light emitting element. Clarification and correction are required but no new matter may be added.
Claim 8 is rejected for lack of clarity in regards to the limitation “wherein the holding means comprises an elongated portion, particularly a rail, bar, beam, column or cantilever.” The term “particularly” renders this limitation indefinite as it is unclear if the listed options are the only options and therefore required by the claim or just some examples. Clarification and correction are required but no new matter may be added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Son (JP 2024521776 A, as cited by Applicant in IDS dated 12/11/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Son discloses a vertical farming container comprising:
multiple planting walls (vertical beds 100), the planting walls are arranged parallel to each other (see fig 1), the planting walls are movable towards each other (movable via wheels 140, see fig 1 and para 0075);
a container ceiling (ceiling structure 600, see figs 1 and 5-6); and
a lighting system (artificial lamp system 500, see figs 1 and 5-6) that is directly or indirectly connected to the container ceiling, the lighting system (lamp 520 on system 500) comprises at least one light emitting element (lamp 520 may include multiple LEDs, see para 0057), particularly a controllable LED (lamp 520 may include multiple LEDs, see para 0057);
wherein the light emitting element is pivotable relative to the container ceiling between an operating position and a non-operating position (see figs 5-6, light pivotable via pulley system 620).
Regarding claim 2, Son discloses the vertical farming container according to claim 1, wherein the lighting system comprises a holding means (510) with a free end section (see annotated fig 5 below) and a connecting end section ( see annotated fig 5 below), the holding means is connected to the container ceiling by the connecting end section (see fig 6 and annotated fig 5 below), the free end section comprises the at least one light emitting element (lamp 520), the holding means is pivotable relative to the container ceiling (see fig 6 and annotated fig 5 below).
Annotated fig 5
Regarding claim 4, Son discloses the vertical farming container according to claim 1,
wherein multiple light emitting elements are arranged between two adjacent planting walls (see fig 1).
Regarding claim 5, Son discloses the vertical farming container according to claim 1,
wherein multiple light emitting elements are arranged between two adjacent planting walls (see fig 1), wherein the multiple light emitting elements are arranged in a plane parallel to the planting walls (see fig 1), wherein the container ceiling is configured such that two adjacent light emitting elements: i) are pivoted towards each other when moving from the operating position to the non- operating position, and away from each other when moving from the non-operating position to the operating position (light elements move towards each other between figs 5 and 6), and away from each other when moving from the non-operating position to the operating position (light elements move away from each other between figs 6 and 5), and ii) remain parallel to the planting walls and within the plane when moved between the operating position and the non-operating position (see 112(b) rejection above).
Regarding claim 6, Son discloses the vertical farming container according to claim 1,
wherein multiple light emitting elements are arranged between two adjacent planting walls (see fig 1), wherein a first light emitting element is movable within a first plane and a second light emitting element is movable within a second plane (plane extending downward from the ceiling, see figs 5-6), wherein a first angle is formed between the first plane and a planting wall, wherein a second angle is formed between the second plane and a planting wall, wherein the first angle and the second angle are: i) greater than zero degrees, and ii) less than or equal to ninety degrees (see 112(b) rejection above).
Regarding claim 7, Son discloses the vertical farming container according to claim 1,
wherein the lighting system comprises a holding means that comprises multiple light emitting elements (lamp 520 may include multiple LEDs, see para 0057).
Regarding claim 8, Son discloses the vertical farming container according to claim 1,
wherein the lighting system comprises a holding means (510, see fig 6 and annotated fig 5 above), wherein the holding means comprises an elongated portion (elongated portion 520), particularly a rail, bar, beam, column or cantilever, wherein the elongated portion comprises multiple light emitting elements (elongated lamp 520 may include multiple LEDs, see para 0057).
Regarding claim 9, Son discloses the vertical farming container according to claim 1,
wherein the lighting system comprises a holding means (510, see fig 6 and annotated fig 5 above), the holding means comprises a light emitting element (lamp 520, see annotated fig 5 above), the light emitting element is movable relative to the holdings means (see figs 5-6).
Regarding claim 10, Son discloses the vertical farming container according to claim 1,
wherein the lighting system comprises a holding means (510, see fig 6 and annotated fig 5), the holding means comprises a light emitting element (lamp 520, see annotated fig 5 above), wherein the container ceiling comprises a two-dimensional surface or a two- dimensional surface portion (see annotated fig 5 above), wherein the light emitting element and/or the holding means is translationally movable along a direction perpendicular to the two-dimensional surface or the two- dimensional surface portion (see fig 6 and annotated fig 5 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son (JP 2024521776 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rajala (WO 2010089455 A1, as cited by Applicant in IDS dated 12/11/2025).
Regarding claim 3, Son discloses the vertical farming container according to claim 1,
wherein the lighting system comprises a holding means with a holding axis (see annotated fig 5 above and fig 6), wherein the container ceiling comprises a two-dimensional surface or a two-dimensional surface portion (see annotated fig 5 above), wherein, in the operating position, an angle is formed between the holding axis and the two-dimensional surface or the two-dimensional surface portion (see annotated fig 5, approximately 90 degree angle between ceiling and holding axis).
Son fails to disclose wherein, in the non-operating position, the holding axis is parallel to the two- dimensional surface or the two-dimensional surface portion.
Rajala teaches wherein, in the non-operating position, the holding axis is parallel to the two- dimensional surface or the two-dimensional surface portion (see figs 2-3, light folds up to be parallel to ceiling portion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the holding means and axis to be parallel to the two-dimensional surface portion of the ceiling as taught by Rajala with a reasonable expectation of success as this will ensure the holding means and light emitting elements are securely and compactly stowed away when not in use, providing a more space efficient lighting system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The art noted in the References Cited document is relevant as it pertains to similar lighting systems for plant cultivation. Specifically, Venkata discloses lights pivotable between an operating and a non-operating position.
/K.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA D HUSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642