DETAILED ACTION
This is a response to Application # 19/286,457 filed on July 31, 2025 in which claims 1-18 were presented for examination.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-18 are pending, which are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. § 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. §§ 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites a method claim including the limitation “when a match is determined, using the precision agriculture machine to take an action that impacts the at least one item of interest in the agricultural field.” (Emphasis added).
The broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation does not require the precision agricultural machine to take an action. See Ex parte Schulhauser, 2013-007847 (PTAB 2016) (precedential) where the board held that when method steps are to be carried out only upon the occurrence of a condition precedent, the broadest reasonable interpretation holds that those steps are not required to be performed. (id. at *7). See, e.g., Reactive Surfaces v. Toyota Motor Corp., IPR2016-01914 (PTAB 2018) (“[t]he use of ‘when’ instead of ‘if’ does not change whether the method step is conditional”) (citing Ex parte Kaundinya, No. 2016-000917, 2017 WL 5510012, at *5-6 (PTAB Nov. 14, 2017) ("when" may indicate a conditional method step); Ex parte Zhou, No. 2016-004913, 2017 WL 5171533, at *2 (PTAB Nov. 1, 2017) (same); Ex parte Lee, No. 2014-009364, 2017 WL 1101681, at *2 (PTAB Mar. 16, 2017) (same)).
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because it depends from claim 4, while intervening claim 5 depends from claim 1. A series of singular dependent claims is permissible in which a dependent claim refers to a preceding claim which, in turn, refers to another preceding claim.
A claim which depends from a dependent claim should not be separated by any claim which does not also depend from said dependent claim. It should be kept in mind that a dependent claim may refer to any preceding independent claim. In general, Applicants’ sequence will not be changed. See MPEP § 608.01(n).
This objection will be held in abeyance upon Applicant’s request.
Claims 17-18 are objected to because they depend from claim 11, while intervening claim 12 depends from claim 10. A series of singular dependent claims is permissible in which a dependent claim refers to a preceding claim which, in turn, refers to another preceding claim.
A claim which depends from a dependent claim should not be separated by any claim which does not also depend from said dependent claim. It should be kept in mind that a dependent claim may refer to any preceding independent claim. In general, Applicants’ sequence will not be changed. See MPEP § 608.01(n).
This objection will be held in abeyance upon Applicant’s request.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-6 and 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Bennet et al., US Publication 2023/0020432 (hereinafter Bennet) in view of Logie, US Patent 11,688,069 (hereinafter Logie).
Regarding claim 1, Bennet discloses a precision agriculture method, comprising: “capturing a current scene of an agricultural field using an on-platform scene capture system mounted on a precision agriculture machine located in the agricultural field, (Bennet ¶¶ 21-22) where a camera is mounted to spray assembly 101, shown in Fig. 1 to be “on-platform,” and those cameras capture the current information in the field. Additionally, Bennet discloses “the captured current scene including at least one item of interest” (Bennet ¶ 22) by detecting a weed as an item of interest. Further, Bennet discloses “the precision agriculture machine includes previously captured scenes … that are stored on the precision agriculture machine” (Bennet ¶¶ 19, 23) where previously captured images of weeds and crops are stored in library 108 (Bennet ¶ 23), which is disclosed to be on the tractor-pulled spreader. (Bennet ¶ 19). Moreover, Bennet discloses “providing the captured current scene to a computerized scene comparison system on the precision agriculture machine” (Bennet ¶ 23) where the captured images are provided to the object detection engine for comparison. Finally, Bennet discloses “when a match is determined, using the precision agriculture machine to take an action that impacts the at least one item of interest in the agricultural field” (Bennet ¶ 36) where the weed is sprayed in response to detecting a weed.
Bennet does not appear to explicitly disclose “the precision agriculture machine includes previously captured scenes of the agricultural field that are stored on the precision agriculture machine.”
However, Logie discloses a precision agriculture method, comprising “capturing a current scene of an agricultural field … the captured current scene including at least one item of interest, and … includes previously captured scenes of the agricultural field” (Logie col. 7, l. 57-col. 8, l. 19) where the images include vegetation properties that are examined, making them “of interest.” Additionally, Logie discloses “providing the captured current scene to a computerized scene comparison system … and using the computerized scene comparison system to compare the captured current scene to the previously captured scenes of the agricultural field to determine a match between the captured current scene and one of the previously captured scenes” (Logie col. 12, ll. 6-16) where the images are compared to determine changes, which necessarily as determines matching data.
Bennet and Logie are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor,” namely that of agricultural image analysis methods.
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Bennet and Logie before him or her to modify the image recognition algorithm of Bennet to include the use of previously captured images of the agricultural field of Logie.
The motivation for doing so would have been that such considerations result in a significant improvement in the performance of the image analysis operation. (Logie col. 14, ll. 47-52).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses “wherein the on-platform scene capture system comprises a camera.” (Bennet ¶ 21). Further, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses “the captured current scene and the previously captured scenes are images” (Logie col. 10, ll. 15-35) where companion images are selected that are previous to the current master image.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses “wherein the previously captured scenes that are stored on the precision agriculture machine comprise one or more of: entire captured scenes; portions of captured scenes; a set or list of feature descriptors and their relative locations in captured scenes; or data that is a representation of captured scenes” (Logie col. 5, ll. 41-52) where all images, including the previously captured images include at least entire captured scenes.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses “wherein the captured current scene includes at least two additional features, and wherein comparing the captured current scene to the previously captured scenes of the agricultural field comprises locating the at least two additional features in at least one of the previously captured scenes” (Logie col. 7, l. 57-col. 8, l. 19) where the captured scenes include at biomass, photosynthetic activity, crop yield features that are used in the comparison process.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses “wherein comparing the captured current scene to the previously captured scenes of the agricultural field comprises: comparing a list of feature descriptors and feature locations of features in the captured scene to a list of feature descriptors and feature locations of features in the previously captured scenes” (Logie col. 9, ll. 49-63) by comparing the vegetative index values, which includes the list of features previously discussed, and their areas.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses “wherein the at least one item of interest comprises at least one weed, the precision agriculture machine comprises a herbicide sprayer, and the action comprises spraying the at least one weed with herbicide” (Bennet ¶ 36) where the agricultural machine comprises a herbicide spray that sprays the weed.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses “further comprising capturing the previously captured scenes using an off-platform scene capture system that is separate from the precision agriculture machine” (Logie col. 5, ll. 41-52) where the images may come from a drone, which is off-platform. Further, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses “storing the previously captured scenes on the precision agriculture machine” (Bennet ¶ 19) where the library of tagged objects is shown to be located on the tractor-puller spreader.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 10 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses “wherein the off-platform scene capture system is mounted on an unmanned aerial vehicle” (Logie col. 5, ll. 41-52) where the observation system is mounted on a drone.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses “wherein the capturing of the current scene occurs within 7 days or less of capture of the previously captured scenes” (Logie col. 10, ll. 15-35) where Logie discloses a range of 14 days or less, rendering a range of 7 days or less obvious. See MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 12 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses “wherein the capturing of the current scene occurs within 2 days or less of capture of the previously captured scenes” (Logie col. 10, ll. 15-35) where Logie discloses a range of 14 days or less, rendering a range of 2 days or less obvious. See MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 4 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses “determining a relative position of the at least one item of interest in the at least one previously captured scene and the at least two additional features in the at least one previously captured scene, and providing the relative positions to the precision agriculture machine prior to capturing the current scene” (Logie col. 7, l. 57-col. 8, l. 19; col. 10, ll. 36-54) where the change detection detects change regions in the master image relative to the companion images (Logie col. 10, ll. 36-54), making those positions “relative” as claimed. As discussed above in parent claim 4, Logie further discloses the use of two additional features. (Logie col. 7, l. 57-col. 8, l. 19).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses “providing positional information of each previously captured scene to the precision agriculture machine” (Bennet ¶ 19) where the library of tagged objects is shown to be located on the tractor-puller spreader.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses “providing positional information of the captured current scene to the precision agriculture machine” (Bennet ¶ 39) by detecting the position of the weeds, which is positional information of the scene.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 11 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses “further comprising detecting, in each of the previously captured scenes, the at least one item of interest and at least one additional feature using an off-platform captured scene analysis system on the unmanned aerial vehicle.” (Logie col. 5, ll. 41-52).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 11 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses “further comprising detecting, in each of the previously captured scenes, the at least one item of interest and at least one additional feature using an off-platform captured scene analysis system separate from the unmanned aerial vehicle and separate from the precision agriculture machine” (Logie col. 5, ll. 28-52) where the observation system may be distributed across several platforms.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Bennet in view of Logie, as applied to claim1 above, and in further view of Correns et al., US Publication 2021/0176981 (hereinafter Correns).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 5 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses “wherein the at least one item of interest comprises at least one weed” (Bennet ¶ 19; Logie col. 8, ll. 20-27) where the comparison of the vegetative indices may indicate the weeds.
The combination of Bennet and Logie does not appear to explicitly disclose “the precision agriculture machine comprises an energy applicator, and the action comprises applying energy to the at least one weed using the energy applicator.”
However, Correns discloses a precision agricultural machine wherein “the precision agriculture machine comprises an energy applicator, and the action comprises applying energy to the at least one weed using the energy applicator” (Correns ¶ 17) where weeds are mitigated with the application of high voltage electricity.
Bennet, Logie, and Correns are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor,” namely that of weed recognition methods.
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Bennet, Logie, and Correns before him or her to modify the weed removal device of Bennet and Logie to further include an additional high voltage applicator of Correns.
The motivation/rationale for doing so would have been that of applying a known technique to a known device. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (U.S. 2007) and MPEP § 2143(I)(D). The combination of Bennet and Logie teaches the “base device” for detecting and eliminating weeds. Further, Correns teaches the “known technique” of using high voltage means for eliminating weeds that is applicable to the base device of Bennet and Logie. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Bennet, Logie, and Correns discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 7 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Bennet, Logie, Correns discloses “wherein the energy applicator comprises: a laser and the action comprises applying laser energy to the at least one weed; a voltage applicator and the action comprises applying a voltage to the at least one weed; a fire source and the action comprises applying fire to the at least one weed; or an oil source and the action comprises applying oil to the at least one weed” (Correns ¶ 17) where the energy applicator comprises “a voltage applicator and the action comprises applying a voltage to the at least one weed” in the form of a high voltage applicator.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Bennet and Logie discloses “ wherein the at least one item of interest comprises at least one weed” (Logie col. 8, ll. 20-27) where the comparison of the vegetative indices may indicate the weeds.
The combination of Bennet and Logie does not appear to explicitly disclose “the precision agriculture machine comprises a mechanical weed destruction system, and the action comprises removing or destroying the at least one weed using the mechanical weed destruction system.”
However, Correns discloses a precision agricultural machine wherein “the precision agriculture machine comprises a mechanical weed destruction system, and the action comprises removing or destroying the at least one weed using the mechanical weed destruction system” (Correns ¶ 43) where weeds are mitigated using a mower.
Bennet, Logie, and Correns are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor,” namely that of weed recognition methods.
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Bennet, Logie, and Correns before him or her to modify the weed removal device of Bennet and Logie to further include an additional mower of Correns.
The motivation/rationale for doing so would have been that of applying a known technique to a known device. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (U.S. 2007) and MPEP § 2143(I)(D). The combination of Bennet and Logie teaches the “base device” for detecting and eliminating weeds. Further, Correns teaches the “known technique” of using a mower for eliminating weeds that is applicable to the base device of Bennet and Logie. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure:
Hartman et al., US Publication 2019/0392211, System and method for performing precision agricultural tasks by comparing images.
Klein et al., US Patent 10,705,204, System and method for performing precision agricultural tasks by comparing images.
Cohen, US Patent 10,943,173, System and method for performing precision agricultural tasks by comparing images.
Adams et al., US Patent 11,010,608, System and method for performing precision agricultural tasks by comparing images.
Shoeb et al., US Patent 11,587,240, System and method for performing precision agricultural tasks by comparing images.
Guo et al., US Patent 11,676,244, System and method for performing precision agricultural tasks by comparing images.
Orgura et al., US Patent 11,699,286, System and method for performing precision agricultural tasks by comparing images.
King, US Patent 12,315,248, System and method for performing precision agricultural tasks by comparing images.
/ANDREW R DYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662