DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-13, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (WO 2021/092780 A1) using US 2022/0395167 as an English equivalent.
In regard to claim 1, Zhang discloses a medical assembly component (1, Fig. 1), comprising:
a distal tip body (1) at a distal tip of a medical device (Fig. 1); and
a cavity (3) defined by the distal tip body and having a single distal opening (3) on a distal face of the distal tip body (Fig. 1),
wherein the cavity is configured to receive a substrate (2), the substrate including an imager (201) and a lighting device (202) mounted to the substrate (Fig. 1), and
wherein a shape of a surface of the single distal opening of the cavity is contoured to match a shape defined by outer surfaces of the imager and the lighting device (Figs. 1,4).
In regard to claim 12, Zhang discloses a medical assembly component (1, Fig. 1), comprising:
a distal tip body (1) at a distal tip of a medical device (Fig. 1); and
a unitary cavity (3) defined by the distal tip body and extending from a proximal end of the distal tip body to a distal end of the distal tip body, the unitary cavity having a distal opening on a distal face of the distal end of the distal tip body (Figs. 1,3),
wherein the unitary cavity is configured to receive an entirety of a substrate (2), the substrate including an imager (201) and a lighting device (202) mounted to the substrate (Figs. 1,4), and
wherein a shape of a surface of the distal opening of the unitary cavity is contoured to match a shape defined by outer surfaces of the imager and the lighting device (Figs. 1,4).
In regard to claim 2, Zhang teaches wherein the cavity extends from a proximal end of the distal tip body to a distal end of the distal tip body (Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 3, Zhang teaches wherein the cavity is a unitary cavity configured to receive an entirety of the substrate (Fig. 1).
In regard to claims 4 and 13, Zhang teaches wherein the cavity includes a proximal portion and a distal portion, wherein the distal portion has a smaller width than the proximal portion, and wherein the width is measured in a direction that is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the medical device (Fig. 3 illustrates the width being larger at the proximal end of the body).
In regard to claim 6, Zhang teaches wherein the distal portion of the cavity is configured to receive only distal portions of the imager and the lighting device that extend distally from a distal edge of the substrate (the cavity is capable of receiving distal portions of the imager and the lighting device, Fig. 1).
In regard to claims 8 and 16, Zhang teaches wherein a shape of a surface of an entirety of the cavity extending from a proximal end of the distal tip body to a distal end of the distal tip body, including the surface defining the single distal opening of the cavity, is contoured to match the shape defined by the outer surfaces of the imager and the lighting device (Figs. 1,4).
In regard to claim 9, Zhang teaches wherein the cavity defines a longitudinal axis, wherein the single distal opening of the cavity includes a first side extending in a first direction relative to the longitudinal axis and having a first portion and a second portion, wherein the first portion extends a greater radial distance from the longitudinal axis than the second portion does, and wherein the first portion accommodates the imager, and the second portion accommodates the lighting device (Fig. 4).
In regard to claim 10, Zhang teaches wherein the single distal opening of the cavity includes a second side extending in a second direction, opposite the first side in the first direction, relative to the longitudinal axis and having a third portion and a fourth portion, wherein the third portion extends a greater distance from the longitudinal axis than the fourth portion does, wherein the third portion accommodates the lighting device, and wherein the fourth portion accommodates the imager (Fig. 4).
In regard to claims 11 and 18, Zhang teaches further comprising: a distal portion (5) of a working channel, separate from the cavity, defined by the distal tip body and terminating at a working channel opening on the distal face of the distal tip body (Fig. 1).
In regard to claim 17, Zhang teaches wherein the unitary cavity defines a longitudinal axis, wherein the distal opening of the unitary cavity includes a first side extending in a first direction relative to the longitudinal axis and a second side extending in a second direction, opposite the first side in the first direction, relative to the longitudinal axis, and wherein each of the first side and the second side include at least two portions, the at least two portions each extending different radial distances from the longitudinal axis than one another to accommodate the imager and the lighting device (Fig. 4).
In regard to claim 19, Zhang teaches medical assembly component (1, Fig. 1), comprising:
a distal tip body (1) at a distal tip of a medical device (Fig. 1);
a distal portion (5) of a working channel defined by the distal tip body and terminating at a working channel opening on a distal face of the distal tip body (Fig. 1); and
a unitary cavity (3), separate from the distal portion of the working channel, defined by the distal tip body, the unitary cavity extending from a proximal end of the distal tip body to a distal end of the distal tip body and terminating at a distal opening on the distal face of the distal end of the distal tip body (Figs. 2,3),
wherein the unitary cavity is configured to receive an entirety of a substrate (2, Fig. 1).
In regard to claim 20, Zhang teaches wherein the distal opening of the unitary cavity is a single distal opening, and a shape of a surface of the single distal opening of the unitary cavity is contoured to match a shape defined by outer surfaces of an imaging element (201) and a lighting element (202) mounted on the substrate (Figs. 1,4).
Claims 1-8 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sorensen et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0060529, hereinafter Sorensen).
In regard to claim 1, Sorensen discloses a medical assembly component (5, Figs. 6a-6d), comprising:
a distal tip body (5) at a distal tip of a medical device (Figs. 6a-6d); and
a cavity (interior of tip body (5)) defined by the distal tip body and having a single distal opening (11) on a distal face of the distal tip body (Figs. 6a-6d),
wherein the cavity is configured to receive a substrate, the substrate including an imager and a lighting device mounted to the substrate (the cavity is shown housing imaging and illumination components and would be capable of receiving a substrate as claimed, Figs. 6a-6d), and
wherein a shape of a surface of the single distal opening of the cavity is contoured to match a shape defined by outer surfaces of the imager and the lighting device (the single distal opening is configured to match a shape of vision receptor (6) and would therefore also be capable of matching a shape of an imager of a substrate, Figs. 6a-6d).
In regard to claim 12, Sorensen discloses a medical assembly component (5, Figs. 6a-6d), comprising:
a distal tip body (5) at a distal tip of a medical device (Figs. 6a-6d); and
a unitary cavity (interior of tip body (5)) defined by the distal tip body and extending from a proximal end of the distal tip body to a distal end of the distal tip body (Figs. 6a-6d), the unitary cavity having a distal opening (11) on a distal face of the distal end of the distal tip body (Figs. 6a-6d),
wherein the unitary cavity is configured to receive an entirety of a substrate, the substrate including an imager and a lighting device mounted to the substrate (the cavity is shown housing imaging and illumination components and would be capable of receiving a substrate as claimed, Figs. 6a-6d), and
wherein a shape of a surface of the distal opening of the unitary cavity is contoured to match a shape defined by outer surfaces of the imager and the lighting device (the distal opening is configured to match a shape of vision receptor (6) and would therefore also be capable of matching a shape of an imager of a substrate, Figs. 6a-6d).
In regard to claim 2, Sorensen teaches wherein the cavity extends from a proximal end of the distal tip body to a distal end of the distal tip body (Figs. 6a-6d).
In regard to claim 3, Soresen teaches wherein the cavity is a unitary cavity configured to receive an entirety of the substrate (Figs. 6a-6d, the cavity is capable of receiving an entirety of a substrate).
In regard to claims 4 and 13, Sorensen teaches wherein the cavity includes a proximal portion (5a) and a distal portion (5b), wherein the distal portion has a smaller width than the proximal portion, and wherein the width is measured in a direction that is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the medical device (the cavity has a smaller width at the distal portion (5b) than the proximal portion (5a), Figs. 6a-6d).
In regard to claim 5, Sorensen teaches wherein the width of the distal portion of the cavity is smaller than a width of the substrate to be received (the width is capable of being smaller than a portion of the substrate, particularly a portion of the substrate which aligns the illumination components with the lens (9a, 9b), Figs. 6a-6d).
In regard to claim 6, Sorensen teaches wherein the distal portion of the cavity is configured to receive only distal portions of the imager and the lighting device that extend distally from a distal edge of the substrate (the distal portion (5b) receives a vision receptor and therefore is capable of receiving a distal portion of the imager of a substrate, Figs. 6a-6d).
In regard to claim 7, Sorensen teaches wherein the cavity includes a shoulder portion (via proximally facing that defines collar (11))) extending between the proximal portion of the cavity and the distal portion of the cavity, and wherein the shoulder portion is configured to abut a surface of the distal edge of the substrate when the substrate is received within the cavity (the shoulder portion is capable of abutting a distal edge of a substrate, Figs. 6a-6d).
In regard to claim 8, Sorensen teaches wherein a shape of a surface of an entirety of the cavity extending from a proximal end of the distal tip body to a distal end of the distal tip body, including the surface defining the single distal opening of the cavity, is contoured to match the shape defined by the outer surfaces of the imager and the lighting device (the cavity is capable of matching a contoured shape defined by the outer surfaces of the imager and lighting device, Figs. 6a-6d).
In regard to claim 14, Sorensen teaches wherein the width of the distal portion (5b) of the unitary cavity is smaller than a width of the substrate to be received (Figs. 6a-6d, the opening defined by collar (11) is capable of having a smaller width than a substrate), and wherein the distal portion of the unitary cavity is configured to receive distal portions of the imager and the lighting device that extend distally from a distal edge of the substrate (Figs. 6a-6d, the distal portion of the substrate is capable of receiving distal portions of the imager).
In regard to claim 15, Sorensen teaches wherein the unitary cavity includes a shoulder portion (via proximally facing that defines collar (11))) extending between the proximal portion of the unitary cavity and the distal portion of the unitary cavity, and wherein the shoulder portion is configured to abut a surface of the distal edge of the substrate when the substrate is received within the unitary cavity (the shoulder portion is capable of abutting a distal edge of a substrate, Figs. 6a-6d).
In regard to claim 16, Sorensen teaches wherein a shape of a surface of an entirety of the unitary cavity, including the surface defining the distal opening of the unitary cavity, is contoured to match a shape defined by the outer surfaces of the imager and the lighting device (Figs. 6a-6d, the shape of the unitary cavity is capable of matching a shaped defined by the outer surfaces of the imager and lighting device).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,396,801 (hereinafter ‘801). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they define all the structural features of the medical assembly component with only minor differences in claim language.
Conclusion
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795 October 31, 2026