DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “read recovery component” in claims 1-11, either explicitly recited or by virtue of dependency.
Claim 20 recites “means for” language and is also interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 11-15, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rayaprolu et al. (2021/0042181).
Regarding claims 1 and 20:
Rayaprolu teaches:
A memory device [Fig 1 – memory sub-system], comprising:
one or more memory arrays [Fig 1 – memory device; par 22 – memory components can be, for example, NAND]; and
a read recovery component coupled to the one or more memory arrays [par 27 – error control component], wherein the read recovery component is configured to:
reorder a first sequence of read recovery operations to generate a second sequence of the read recovery operations by moving a first read recovery operation in the first sequence to a different position in the second sequence [par 27, 30-32, 43, 44 – the order of the error control operations, which correspond to the read recovery operations of the claim, is changed to result in a second sequence by reordering the operations and/or removing operations from the prioritized sequence] based at least in part on:
whether a quantity of times that the first read recovery operation has resulted in successful read failure recovery satisfies a threshold [par 32, 43, 44 – recovery operation can be removed from the prioritized sequence of operations, thereby changing the sequence of operations, based on a success rate equals or exceeds a threshold rate. The plain meaning of a success rate is a quantity of successes in relation to total operations, thus meeting the broadest reasonable interpretation of the quantity of times of the claim] or
a flag associated with the first read recovery operation; and
perform a read recovery process based at least in part on the second sequence of the read recovery operations [par 32, 43, 44 – subsequent errors are recovery using the altered order of error control operations].
Regarding claim 2:
Rayaprolu teaches:
The memory device of claim 1, wherein each of the read recovery operations corresponds to a read reference voltage shift or an error correction algorithm [par 29 – can be any of a number of operations, including different read voltages and various correction algorithms].
Regarding claim 3:
Rayaprolu teaches:
The memory device of claim 2, wherein the error correction algorithm comprises a redundant array of independent NAND (RAIN) recovery process, a redundant array of independent disks (RAID) recovery process, a second sync byte pattern (SB2) decoding process, a low density parity check (LDPC) recovery process, a corrective read process, or an automatic calibration recovery process [par 29].
Regarding claim 4:
Rayaprolu teaches:
The memory device of claim 1, wherein the read recovery component is configured to perform the read recovery process to recover from a read failure [par 29].
Regarding claim 7:
Rayaprolu teaches:
The memory device of claim 1, wherein to reorder the first sequence, the read recovery component is configured to: move the first read recovery operation to an initial position in the second sequence based at least in part on the quantity of times that the first read recovery operation has resulted in the successful read failure recovery satisfying the threshold; or
move the first read recovery operation to a position in the second sequence other than the initial position based at least in part on the quantity of times that the first read recovery operation has resulted in the successful read failure recovery not satisfying the threshold [par 32, 43, 44 – removed from the prioritized sequence based on being below the threshold].
Regarding claim 11:
Rayaprolu teaches:
The memory device of claim 1, wherein to perform the read recovery process, the read recovery component is configured to perform one or more read recovery operations in an order that is defined by the second sequence of the read recovery operations [par 32, 43, 44].
Regarding claims 12-15 and 17:
The claims are rejected as the methods of using the systems of claims 1-4 and 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rayaprolu in view of Ren (2022/0148671).
Regarding claim 5:
See the teachings of Rayaprolu outlined above.
Rayaprolu does not explicitly teach the read failure comprising a page read error associated with a page type of the one or more memory arrays. Rayaprolu does, however, teach a read failure of a NAND memory and teaches applying different read voltages to correct read failures [par 22, 29].
Ren teaches a read failure comprising a page read error associated with a page type of one or more memory arrays [par 84 – there is a table of voltage shifts per page of the memory device, thus it is necessarily true that the voltage shifts are associated with a page type, as each page necessarily has a page type].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the page read error associated with a page type of Ren with the read recovery of Rayaprolu.
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would have been motivated to make the combination because Rayaprolu teaches applying different read voltages to mitigate a read failure but does not provide details regarding the operation, creating an implicit need for such details. Ren meets that implicit need.
Regarding claim 6:
The combination teaches:
The memory device of claim 5, wherein the page type comprises a lower page, an upper page, an extra page, or a top page of a memory cell that is configured to store multiple bits [Ren par 65, 81].
Regarding claim 16:
The claim is rejected as the method of using the device of claim 6.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7-13, and 15-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 12-18, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12386689. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘689 claims contain all teachings of the instant claims and thus anticipate the instant claims.
Claim 1 is exemplary:
Instant claim
‘689 claim language
Explanation, as needed
A memory device, comprising
A memory device
one or more memory arrays;
A memory device
Consulting the specification and drawings of the ‘689 patent, it is clear a memory device as defined by the patent contains one or more memory arrays (see at least fig 2)
and a read recovery component coupled to the one or more memory arrays, wherein the read recovery component is configured to:
one or more components configured to:
A component that is configured to perform the actions performed by the read recovery component of the instant claims is clearly a read recovery component, as a ”read recovery component” is defined solely by the actions it is configured to perform
reorder a first sequence of read recovery operations to generate a second sequence of the read recovery operations by moving a first read recovery operation in the first sequence to a different position in the second sequence based at least in part on:
reorder a first sequence of read reference voltage shifts to generate a second sequence of read reference voltage shifts by moving a first read reference voltage shift in the first sequence to a different position in the second sequence based at least in part on:
Read reference voltage shifts are read recovery operations. The instant claim has been broadened by removing the specific type of operation.
whether a quantity of times that the first read recovery operation has resulted in successful read failure recovery satisfies a threshold,
whether a quantity of times that the first read reference voltage shift has resulted in successful read failure recovery satisfies a threshold,
See above with respect the read reference voltage shift
or a flag associated with the first read recovery operation;
whether a flag that is associated with the first read reference voltage shift is set to an enabled state or a disabled state
Instant claim removes limitations from the patent claim
and perform a read recovery process based at least in part on the second sequence of the read recovery operations.
and perform one or more read reference voltage shifts to recover from a read failure, wherein the one or more read reference voltage shifts are performed in an order that is defined by the second sequence of read reference voltage shifts.
Instant claim removes limitations from the patent claim
Allowable Subject Matter
The examiner notes that claim 8-10, 18, and 19 are rejected solely under non-statutory double patenting. If the double patenting rejection were to be obviated, these claims would be objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Pertinent Prior Art
‘767 to Yang discloses reading from a NAND. If the read fails, access a read-retry table to determine read retry voltages to attempt recovery. If the recovery is successful, perform an adaptive sort of the read retry table based on statistical data of successful recoveries, where a success count is used to inform the adaptive sort.
Conclusion
/MARC DUNCAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2113