Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/18/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 11 of U.S. Patent Nos. 12,411,629, 11,829,629 and 11,169,727. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the patent would anticipate those of the current application.
19/286,828
12,411,629
11,829,629
11,169,727
1. A method comprising:
assigning a virtual volume datastore to a pod including a first storage system and a second
storage system configured for synchronous replication; and
replicating input/output (I/O) operations for a set of virtual volumes from the first storage
system to the second storage system, wherein the set of virtual volumes are accessible to a
virtual machine via the first storage system or the second storage system.
1. A method comprising:
assigning, to a pod that includes one or more management objects, a virtual
volume datastore that includes virtual machine data;
replicating I/O operations from a first storage system to a second storage system
to which the virtual machine data is copied, wherein a path to a copy of the virtual
machine data on the second storage system is created for a virtual machine
coupled to the first storage system, and wherein acknowledgement for a request to
write data to the virtual volume datastore is sent after copies of the virtual
machine data on the first storage system and the second storage system are
updated based on the request.
1. A method comprising:
establishing a virtual volume datastore and assigning the virtual volume datastore
to a pod, the pod comprising a management object, the virtual volume datastore
comprising virtual machine data;
stretching the pod from a first storage system to a second storage system,
including copying the virtual machine data from the first storage system to the
second storage system; and
synchronously replicating access operations of the virtual machine data of the pod
between the first and second storage systems, wherein access operations include
I/O operations and management operations and acknowledgement for a request to
write data to the virtual volume datastore is sent after the virtual machine data
stored on both the first storage system and the virtual machine data stored on the
second storage system has been updated in accordance with the request to write
data.
1. A method comprising:
assigning, for a virtual volume datastore assigned to a management object that
specifies a first storage system to synchronously replicate the virtual volume
datastore, a first protocol endpoint to the virtual volume datastore on the first
storage system;
requesting, responsive to updating the management object to include a second
storage system to synchronously replicate the virtual volume datastore, creation of
a second protocol endpoint to the virtual volume datastore on the second storage
system, wherein each of the first and second protocol endpoints provide separate
active paths between a virtual machine and the virtual volume to allow the virtual
machine to access the datastore on any storage system associated with the
management object, and wherein the virtual machine can perform a multi-path
failover from a first active path to a second active path if the first active paths
becomes unavailable; and
synchronously replicating first access operations on the virtual volume datastore
between storage systems specified by the management object such that second
access operations received at either the first or second protocol endpoints produce
consistent results from the virtual volume datastore.
Claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 11 of U.S. Patent Nos. 12,411,629, 11,829,629 and 11,169,727 in view of Shetty et al. (US 2017/0154093).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Patents 12,411,629, 11,829,629 and 11,169,727 each individually disclose the method of claim 1, the system of claim 8 and the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15 as discussed above.
The patents do not expressly disclose assigning the virtual volume datastore to the pod includes selecting a synchronous replication policy that identifies the second storage system.
Shetty discloses that a plurality of replication techniques available, and synchronous replication is selected [see paragraphs 4 and 49].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the teachings of Shetty in the 12,411,629, 11,829,629 and 11,169,727 Patents.
The motivation for doing so would have been to achieve non-disruptive replication [see Shetty, paragraphs 4 and 49].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Shetty with Patents 12,411,629, 11,829,629 and 11,169,727 for the benefits listed above, to obtain the invention as specified in claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20.
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, the combination teaches the method of claim 1, the system of claim 8 and the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the set of virtual volumes are standard volumes differentiated by metadata indicating virtual volume status [see Shetty, paragraph 59; volumes are differentiated by ownership metadata (e.g. second storage node takes over after failure of first storage node)].
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, the combination teaches y discloses the method of claim 1, the system of claim 8 and the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, further comprising establishing a protocol endpoint on the second storage system for enabling access to the virtual volume datastore [see Shetty, paragraphs 4 & 62; endpoint established for second storage node].
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 18, the combination teaches discloses the method of claim 1, the system of claim 8 and the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the virtual machine accesses the set of virtual volumes through multiple protocol endpoints, one on each of the first storage system and second storage system [see Shetty, paragraphs 4 & 62; endpoints established for first and second storage nodes].
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 19, the combination teaches discloses the method of claim 1, the system of claim 8 and the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, further comprising automatically failing over access by the virtual machine from the first storage system to the second storage system in response to a path failure [see Shetty, paragraph 59; second storage node takes over after failure of first storage node].
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 20, the combination teaches discloses the method of claim 1, the system of claim 8 and the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the virtual volume datastore includes virtual machine data comprising virtual disks, configuration files, or file systems [see Shetty, paragraph 36; volumes store data including file systems].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shetty et al. (US 2017/0154093).
Regarding claim 1, Shetty discloses a method comprising:
assigning a virtual volume datastore to a pod including a first storage system and a second
storage system configured for synchronous replication [see paragraphs 32 and 48; first and second volumes from first and second storage systems are added to a consistency group (pod), and synchronous replication is set for the volumes]; and
replicating input/output (I/O) operations for a set of virtual volumes from the first storage
system to the second storage system, wherein the set of virtual volumes are accessible to a
virtual machine via the first storage system or the second storage system [see paragraphs 31-32 & 37; I/O is synchronously replicated between the first and second volume; hosts may access the volumes, and hosts may be implemented as virtual machines].
Regarding claim 2, Shetty discloses the method of claim 1, wherein assigning the virtual volume datastore to the pod includes selecting a synchronous replication policy that identifies the second storage system [see paragraphs 4 & 49; plurality of replication techniques available, synchronous replication is selected].
Regarding claim 3, Shetty discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the set of virtual volumes are standard volumes differentiated by metadata indicating virtual volume status [see paragraph 59; volumes are differentiated by ownership metadata (e.g. second storage node takes over after failure of first storage node)].
Regarding claim 4, Shetty discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising establishing a protocol endpoint on the second storage system for enabling access to the virtual volume datastore [see paragraphs 4 & 62; endpoint established for second storage node].
Regarding claim 5, Shetty discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the virtual machine accesses the set of virtual volumes through multiple protocol endpoints, one on each of the first storage system and second storage system [see paragraphs 4 & 62; endpoints established for first and second storage nodes].
Regarding claim 6, Shetty discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising automatically failing over access by the virtual machine from the first storage system to the second storage system in response to a path failure [see paragraph 59; second storage node takes over after failure of first storage node].
Regarding claim 7, Shetty discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the virtual volume datastore includes virtual machine data comprising virtual disks, configuration files, or file systems [see paragraph 36; volumes store data including file systems].
Claims 8-20 recite similar claim limitations to those of claim 1-7 and are rejected using the same interpretations and citations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Crable (US 8,898,507) – Generally teaches the concept of volumes in pods, and replicating data among volumes.
Piduri (US 2016/0179437) – Generally teaches replication among volumes of consistency groups.
Atia (US 10,528,374) – Generally teaches volume management by virtual machine affiliation in consistency groups.
/RYAN BERTRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2137