DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. There are a total of 20 claims and claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/31/2025, 07/11/2026 and 01/02/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1, 13, 25 and 36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 12, 23 and 34 of U.S. Application No. 12774491. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1, 32,37 and 42 of US Pat. No. 12,407,817 B2
Claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 of current application – 19/286,983
1. A method for video decoding, comprising: obtaining an intra prediction mode for a block of a picture;
determining a straight line based on said intra prediction mode for said block, wherein said straight line is set to be parallel to a direction associated with said intra prediction mode for said block;
splitting said block of said picture into at least two partitions by a--said straight line, said straight line being different than a horizontal line or a vertical line, wherein said straight line is set to be parallel to a direction associated with said intra prediction mode for said block;
performing intra prediction with a first intra prediction mode to obtain prediction samples for a first partition of said at least two partitions, said first intra prediction mode corresponding to said intra prediction mode for said block;
performing intra prediction with a second intra prediction mode to obtain prediction
samples for a second partition of said at least two partitions; adjusting values of said prediction sample, of said first and second partitions, along said straight line using a blending process with adaptive weights; and decoding said block based on said prediction samples of said first and second partitions.
1. A method of video encoding, comprising: splitting a block of a picture into at least two partitions by a straight line; performing intra prediction with a first intra prediction mode on a first partition of said at least two partitions to obtain prediction samples for said first partition;
performing intra prediction with a second intra prediction mode on a second partition of said at least two partitions to obtain prediction samples for said second partition; and selecting one or more transforms for said block based on at least one of said first and second intra prediction modes.
32. A method for video encoding, comprising: obtaining an intra prediction mode for a block of a picture; determining a straight line based on said intra prediction mode for said block, wherein said
straight line is set to be parallel to a direction associated with said intra prediction mode for said block; splitting said block of said picture into at least two partitions by a--said straight line, said straight line being different than a horizontal line or a vertical line performing intra prediction with a first intra prediction mode to obtain prediction samples for a first partition of said at least two partitions, said first intra prediction mode corresponding to said intra prediction mode for said block; performing intra prediction with a second intra prediction mode to obtain prediction samples for a second partition of said at least two partitions; adjusting values of said prediction samples, of said first and second partitions, along said straight line using a blending process with adaptive weights; and
encoding said block based on said prediction samples of said first and second partitions.
6. A method of video decoding, comprising:
splitting a block of a picture into at least two partitions by a straight line; performing intra prediction with a first intra prediction mode on a first partition of said at least two partitions to obtain prediction samples for said first partition; performing intra prediction with a second intra prediction mode on a second partition of said at least two partitions to obtain prediction samples for said second partition; and selecting one or more transforms for said block based on at least one of said first and second intra prediction modes.
37. An apparatus for video decoding, comprising one or more processors and at least one memory, wherein said one or more processors are configured to: obtain an intra prediction mode for a block of a picture;
determine a straight line based on said intra prediction mode for said block, wherein said
straight line is set to be parallel to a direction associated with said intra prediction mode for said block; split said block of said picture into at least two partitions by a-said straight line, said straight line being different than a horizontal line or a vertical line perform intra prediction with a first intra prediction mode to obtain prediction samples for
a first partition of said at least two partitions, said first intra prediction mode corresponding to said intra prediction mode for said block; perform intra prediction with a second intra prediction mode to obtain prediction samples for a second partition of said at least two partitions; adjust values of said prediction sample, of said first and second partitions, along said straight line using a blending process with adaptive weights; and decode said block based on said prediction samples of said first and second partitions.
11. An apparatus for video encoding, comprising one or more processors and at least one memory, wherein said one or more processors are configured to: split a block of a picture into at least two partitions by a straight line; perform intra prediction with a first intra prediction mode on a first partition of said at least two partitions to obtain prediction samples for said first partition;
perform intra prediction with a second intra prediction mode on a second partition of said
at least two partitions to obtain prediction samples for said second partition; and
select one or more transforms for said block based on at least one of said first and second
intra prediction modes.
42. An apparatus for video encoding, comprising one or more
processors and at least one memory, wherein said one or more processors are configured to: obtain an intra prediction mode for a block of a picture; determine a straight line based on said intra prediction mode for said block, wherein said straight line is set to be parallel to a direction associated with said intra prediction mode for said
block; split said block of said picture into at least two partitions by a-said straight line, said straight line being different than a horizontal line or a vertical line perform intra prediction with a first intra prediction mode to obtain prediction samples for a first partition of said at least two partitions, said first intra prediction mode corresponding to said intra prediction mode for said block;
perform intra prediction with a second intra prediction mode to obtain prediction samples for a second partition of said at least two partitions; adjust values of said prediction samples, of said first and second partitions, along said straight line using a blending process with adaptive weights; and encode said block based on said prediction samples of said first and second partitions.
16. An apparatus for video decoding, comprising one or more processors and at least one memory, wherein said one or more processors are configured to: split a block of a picture into at least two partitions by a straight line; perform intra prediction with a first intra prediction mode on a first partition of said at least two partitions to obtain prediction samples for said first partition;
perform intra prediction with a second intra prediction mode on a second partition of said
at least two partitions to obtain prediction samples for said second partition; and
select one or more transforms for said block based on at least one of said first and second
intra prediction modes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2, 5-7,10-12 and 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Jaery Choe et al.( NPL-VVC Intra Triangular Partitioning Prediction for Screen Contents; Pub. May 03, 2020; given by the applicant in the IDS; hereinafter as Choe) in view of SHASHIDHAR et al. ( US 2020/0404271A1).
Regarding claim 1, Choe discloses a method for video encoding([see in pg.1, line 1-5, section III]- intra-picture coding method generates one prediction block by selecting one optimal intra-prediction mode in terms of coding efficiency based on a rectangular block, thus to be applied in lockstep at the encoding and decoding side ), comprising: splitting a block of a picture into at least two partitions by a straight line([see in Fig. 7]- Figure 7: the diagonal of the block), performing intra prediction with a first intra prediction mode on a first partition of said at
5 least two partitions to obtain prediction samples for said first partition ([see in Fig. 6-7]- Figure 7, top triangular block; page 330, paragraph 2: the prediction in said top block is in vertical angular mode; according to said paragraph 2 and Figure 6, further angular modes may be used, as shown in Figure 6); performing intra prediction with a second intra prediction mode on a second partition of said at least two partitions to obtain prediction samples for said second partition ([see in Fig. 7]- Figure 7, bottom triangular block; page 330, paragraph 2: the prediction in said bottom block is in horizontal angular mode; according to said paragraph 2 and Figure 6, further angular modes may be used).
However, Choe does not explicitly selecting one or more transforms for said block based on at least one of said first and second intra prediction modes.
In an analogous art, SHASHIDHAR discloses selecting one or more transforms for said block based on at least one of said first and second intra prediction modes ([see in Fig. 3]- selection of a transform type from among the plurality of transform types may depend on the prediction type (intra prediction and inter prediction), and may depend on intra prediction mode). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of SHASHIDHAR to the modified system of Choe there is no need to encode a split direction at some specific block sizes, and this improves coding efficiency. The present disclosure also reduces the total number of partition structure candidates at an encoder side and thus reduces encoding complexity [ SHASHIDHAR; para 0289].
Regarding claim 2, SHASHIDHAR discloses wherein said selection of transforms is based on a difference of said first intra prediction mode and said second intra prediction mode([para 0090]- selection of a transform type from among the plurality of transform types may depend on the prediction type (intra prediction and inter prediction), and may depend on intra prediction mode).
Regarding claim 5, SHASHIDHAR discloses wherein whether multiple transform selection is used or not is not signaled explicitly([see in Fig. 3]- selection of a transform type from among the plurality of transform types may depend on the prediction type (intra prediction and inter prediction), and may depend on intra prediction mode).
Regarding claim 6, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for claim 6 have been met in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for claim 11 have been met in claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for claim 16 have been met in claim 1.\
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Claims 3-4,8-9, 13-14 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Choe in view of SHASHIDHAR as applied to claim 1 and 2 above and further in view of CHOI et al.( US 2022/0182663 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Choe and SHASHIDHAR do not explicitly disclose wherein DCT2 is applied to said block responsive to said difference being smaller than a threshold.
In an analogous art, CHOI discloses wherein DCT2 is applied to said block responsive to said difference being smaller than a threshold([para 0241]- when the intra prediction mode of the current block is determined as the DC intra prediction mode, DCT2 may be used as a vertical transformation kernel for transform/inverse transform for the residual of the current block, and DCT2 may be used as a horizontal transform kernel). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of CHOI to the modified system of Choe and SHASHIDHAR an image decoding method and apparatus based on intra prediction using a plurality of intra prediction types in an image coding system for improving image coding efficiency [CHOI; para 0001 ].
Regarding claim 4, CHOI disclose wherein DCT2 is applied to said block responsive to said second intra prediction mode being a DC mode([para 0241]- when the intra prediction mode of the current block is determined as the DC intra prediction mode, DCT2 may be used as a vertical transformation kernel for transform/inverse transform for the residual of the current block, and DCT2 may be used as a horizontal transform kernel).
Regarding claim 8, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art are made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
1. RACAPE et al., US 2022/0191474 A1, discloses for performing prediction for encoding or decoding uses intra prediction with sub-partitions.
2. Chien et. al., US 2012/0307894 A1, discloses determine a most probable mode for a block of video data using non-square partitions based on the direction of the non-square partitions.
3. Guo et al., US 2013/0003824 A1, discloses to transforming video data.
4. Furht et al., US 2021/0168409 A1, discloses determine whether a block level geometric partitioning mode is enabled, determine a partitioning of a block into a first region.
5. BLASI et al., US 2022/0103833 A1, discloses Decoding of a merge-predicted block is carried out, for triangular partitions of the block, using a combination of inter-prediction and intra-prediction.
Conclusion
/MD N HAQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487