Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 19-20 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lui (US 20160091722).
Regarding claim 1 Lui teaches a biometric system for an extended reality head-mounted device ([0029]), comprising:
an imaging optical unit (fig. 3-4, [0033] Camera 224 captures an image of eye 190), a illumination optical unit (fig.3-4, IR illumination module 222), and an imaging control unit (fig.4, control module 380), wherein the imaging optical unit is configured to image near-infrared incident light of an eye ([0033] Camera 224 captures an image of eye 190 based upon reflected IR light 276),
the illumination optical unit (fig.4, IR illumination module 222) is configured to emit related near-infrared light for illuminating the eye ([0033]), and
the imaging control unit (fig.3-4, control module 380) is configured to control the imaging optical unit and the illumination optical unit to generate the eye image in a joint imaging mode (fig. 3-4, fig. 11,[0074][0075] since a joint imaging mode is not defined in the claim therefore examiner interpret fig.11 step 1120 and step 1130 capturing image of the eye by these 2 steps are joint imaging mode).
Regarding claim 2 Lui teaches wherein the imaging optical unit includes an image sensor ([0032] Camera 224 may include an IR-sensitive image sensor), an imaging lens ([0108]), and a near-infrared optical filter; the imaging optical unit is configured to directly or indirectly image from a predetermined imaging region of the eye ([0032] IR illumination module 222 may include one or more light-emitting diodes and, optionally, other optical components such as one or more lenses and/or optical filters).
Regarding claim 3 Lui teaches wherein the imaging optical unit is configured with an angular conversion optical element to convert an angular range of incidence into corresponding an angular range of emergence within a predetermined imaging field of view; the angular range of incidence and the angular range of emergence is configured with a predetermined angular conversion relation ([0140]).
Regarding claim 6 Lui teaches wherein the joint imaging mode is configured with the angular conversion optical element (fig. 17, 1731) and the imaging lens (fig. 17, 1732) in a cascaded arrangement (fig. 17).
Regarding claim 7 Lui teaches wherein, the angular range of emergence (fig. 17, the imaging optics unit 1713 is disposed downstream to the illumination optics unit 1712 along the optical axis 1790. Additionally, the eye tracker module 1714 is disposed on a first side of the illumination optics unit 1712, and the visible light source 1711 on a second side of the illumination optics unit 1712 that is opposite to the first side. Moreover, the illumination optics unit 1712 includes a first beamsplitter 1721 that is arranged with an angle of about 45 degrees relative to the optical axis 1790) is configured as a field of view of the imaging lens in the joint imaging mode ([0171]).
Regarding claim 19 Lui teaches an XR head-mounted device, being applied to biometrics of at least one of an eye/iris, a retina, subcutaneous tissue of eyes, an ophthalmic artery/vein, and a sclera in the biometric system for an XR head-mounted device ([0029]).
Regarding claim 20 Lui teaches an head-mounted device, being multiplexed for eye tracking by the biometric system for an XR head-mounted device (fig.1, [0108])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Lui (US 20160091722) in view of Fan (US 20150331305).
Regarding claim 11 Lui is silent on wherein the imaging lens is configured with a metalens or a wafer-level optics imaging lens.
However, Fan teaches wherein the imaging lens is configured with a metalens or a wafer-level optics imaging lens ([0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine Lui in light of Fan teaching so that it may include wherein the imaging lens is configured with a metalens or a wafer-level optics imaging lens.
The motivation is to provide a wafer-level LCOS projection assembly to achieve the precise alignment tolerances.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 8-10, 12-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-US 20160085300
/TOWFIQ ELAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625