DETAILED ACTION
1. This is in response to communication filed on 7/31/25 in which claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 12,483495 to Henkel et al..
a. As per claim 1, Henkel et al teaches a deployment into a cloud-provided host network, the deployment comprising: an underlay network, the underlay network being formed of one or more routers of the cloud-provided host network (See col. 9, line 61, The underlay physical routers) and the underlay network forming an isolated namespace that is distinct from namespaces of the cloud-provided host network (See col. 14, lines 44-46, Each namespace of a Kubernetes cluster is isolated from other namespaces of the Kubernetes cluster); a container-attached storage module that is situated within the underlay network, wherein container-attached storage module operates within the isolated namespace (See col. 10, lines 42-53, … using namespace isolation functionality that allows complete isolation of an application's (e.g., a given container) view of the operating environment, including process trees, networking, user identifiers and mounted file systems. In some examples, containers may be deployed according to Linux Containers (LXC), an operating-system-level virtualization method for running multiple isolated Linux systems (containers) on a control host using a single Linux kernel);
and a network interface component that facilitates network access to the container- attached storage module via a static IP address that is configured into the network interface component (See col. 19, lines 53-67).
b. As per claim 9, Henkel et al teaches teaches a method for forming an underlay onto a cloud-provided host network, the method comprising: establishing an underlay network, the underlay network being formed of one or more routers of the cloud-provided host network (See col. 9, line 61, The underlay physical routers) and the underlay network forming an isolated namespace that is distinct from namespaces of the cloud-provided host network (See col. 14, lines 44-46, Each namespace of a Kubernetes cluster is isolated from other namespaces of the Kubernetes cluster);
instantiating a container-attached storage module that is situated within the underlay network, wherein container-attached storage module operates within the isolated namespace (See col. 10, lines 42-53, …using namespace isolation functionality that allows complete isolation of an application's (e.g., a given container) view of the operating environment, including process trees, networking, user identifiers and mounted file systems. In some examples, containers may be deployed according to Linux Containers (LXC), an operating-system-level virtualization method for running multiple isolated Linux systems (containers) on a control host using a single Linux kernel); and configuring a network interface component that facilitates network access to the container-attached storage module via a static IP address that is configured into the network interface component (See col. 19, lines 53-67).
c. As per claim 15, Henkel et al teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon a sequence of instructions which, when stored in memory and executed by one or more processors causes the one or more processors to perform a set of acts for forming an underlay onto a cloud- provided host network (See col. 38, lines 42-52), the set of acts comprising: establishing an underlay network, the underlay network being formed of one or more routers of the cloud-provided host network (See col. 9, line 61, The underlay physical routers ) and the underlay network forming an isolated namespace that is distinct from namespaces of the cloud-provided host network (See col. 14, lines 44-46, Each namespace of a Kubernetes cluster is isolated from other namespaces of the Kubernetes cluster); instantiating a container-attached storage module that is situated within the underlay network, wherein container-attached storage module operates within the isolated namespace namespace (See col. 10, lines 42-53, …using namespace isolation functionality that allows complete isolation of an application's (e.g., a given container) view of the operating environment, including process trees, networking, user identifiers and mounted file systems. In some examples, containers may be deployed according to Linux Containers (LXC), an operating-system-level virtualization method for running multiple isolated Linux systems (containers) on a control host using a single Linux kernel); and configuring a network interface component that facilitates network access to the container-attached storage module via a static IP address that is configured into the network interface component (See col. 19, lines 53-67).
d. As per claims 2, 10 and 16, Henkel et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Henkel et al teaches wherein communication between components within the namespaces of the cloud-provided host network communicate with components within the isolated namespace via a pair of virtual ethernet interfaces (veth) (See col. 18, lines 59-67 and col. 1-18).
e. As per claims 3, 11 and 17, Henkel et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Henkel et al teaches The deployment of claim 1, wherein communication between a first operating system pod of a first worker node and a second operating system pod of a second worker node communicate over the underlay network without incurring a network address translation by the one or more routers of the cloud-provided host network (See col. 15, lines 57-59, In Kubernetes, by default all pods can communicate with all other pods without using network address translation).
f. As per claims 4, 12 and 18, Henkel et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Henkel et al teaches wherein the underlay network is a cloud-provided subnet that hosts operating system pods and wherein the cloud-provided host network hosts application pods (See col. 31, lines 63-67 and col. 32, lines 1-15).
g. As per claims 5, 13 and 19, Henkel et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Henkel et al teaches wherein the container-attached storage module is implemented as a Kubernetes pod (See col. 6, lines 1-19 and col. 7, lines 59-67 and col. 8, lines 1-6, col. 15, lines 9-32).
h. As per claims 6, 14 and 20, Henkel et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Henkel et al teaches wherein the underlay network is configured using a container networking interface plug-in that includes both a native configuration path as well as a custom container-attached storage module configuration path (See col. 26, lines 49-57, Instantiated resources (whether native or custom) may be referred to as objects or as instances of the resource, which are persistent entities in SDN architecture 200 that represent an intent (desired state) and the status (actual state) of the SDN architecture 200. Configuration nodes 230 provide an aggregated API for performing operations on (i.e., creating, reading, updating, and deleting) configuration resources of SDN architecture 200 in configuration store).
i. As per claim 7, Henkel et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Henkel et al teaches wherein the cloud-provided host network is hosted on a public cloud (See col. 9, lines 49-53).
j. As per claim 8, Henkel et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Henkel et al teaches wherein the cloud-provided host network is hosted on an on- prem private cloud (See col. 9, lines 49-52).
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 2020/0076685 to Vaidya et al teaches Multiple Networks for virtual Execution Elements.
U.S. Publication No. 2020/0314015 to Mariappan et al teaches Configuring Service Load Balancers with Specified Backetn Virtual Networks.
/DJENANE M BAYARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444