DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument unless addressed below.
In regards to applicant’s argument that the secondary reference Stachowiak, JR. does not teach the claimed scallop cutouts, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The prior art reference Stachowiak, JR. and the new prior art reference Stachowiak, JR. et al. do teach scallop cutouts that functions in the same manner as applicant’s disclosed scallop cutouts by providing a more uniform flow area around the restriction element. The amended claim language limiting the scallop cutouts to extend through a majority of the axial length of the base ring is considered a design choice as is rejected below. The scallop cutouts of Stachowiak, JR. et al. do potentially extend a majority of the axial length of the base ring, since based on Figure 4B or 4C the cutouts appear to extend at least half or more than half of the axial length of the base ring, that albeit unknown axial length does not change the function of the cutouts.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the casing comprising a reduced diameter section that defines an inner aperture for the fluid flow that is substantially the same diameter as an inner diameter of the seat, as is recited in claims 1, 17, and 19 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10, 17, and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 17, and 19, each claim the similar language of “the casing comprising a reduced diameter section that defines an inner aperture for the fluid flow that is substantially the same diameter as an inner diameter of the seat”, which lacks any disclosure in the specification or drawings. Applicant cited paragraph 143 of the specification as support for the amended claim language, but paragraph 143 discloses “the casing may include a reduced diameter section that defines an inner aperture for fluid flow that is substantially similar to an inner aperture defined by the ring and/or the seat”, hence the term “substantially similar” is not equal to “substantially the same” as is currently recited in the claims.
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “the casing comprising a reduced diameter section that defines an inner aperture for the fluid flow that is substantially the same diameter as an inner diameter of the seat” is unclear what applicant is referring to since applicant provides no such disclosure to support the claim language, for the purpose of this examination it will be interpreted as is disclosed in paragraph 143 “the casing comprising a reduced diameter section that defines an inner aperture for the fluid flow that is substantially similar diameter as an inner diameter of the seat”; and the limitation “a seat” is introduced twice in the claim and it is unclear if applicant is referring to the same seat or another.
Regarding claim 11, the limitation “the base ring” has insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 17, the phrase “a reduced diameter section of the casing that defines an inner aperture for the fluid flow that is substantially the same diameter as an inner diameter of the seat” is unclear what applicant is referring to since applicant provides no such disclosure to support the claim language, for the purpose of this examination it will be interpreted as is disclosed in paragraph 143 “a reduced diameter section of the casing that defines an inner aperture for the fluid flow that is substantially similar diameter as an inner diameter of the seat”.
Regarding claim 19, the phrase “the casing comprises a reduced diameter section that defines an inner aperture for the fluid flow that is substantially the same diameter as an inner diameter of the seat” is unclear what applicant is referring to since applicant provides no such disclosure to support the claim language, for the purpose of this examination it will be interpreted as is disclosed in paragraph 143 “the casing comprises a reduced diameter section that defines an inner aperture for the fluid flow that is substantially similar diameter as an inner diameter of the seat”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ford (Pub. No. US 2021/0246992) in view of Stachowiak, Jr. et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0203913).
Regarding claim 1, Ford discloses a downhole pump (Figs. 1-13) comprising: a barrel comprising an interior cavity (paragraph 4); a plunger (paragraph 4); a valve rod mechanically connected to the plunger (paragraph 4) and configured to drive the plunger within the interior cavity of the barrel (paragraph 4); and at least one valve assembly (100) comprising: a restriction element (80); a seat (82); a casing (12) coupled to the barrel (paragraph 30), the casing (10) defining an internal flow path (18) through the casing (12) that is in communication with the interior cavity of the barrel (paragraph 30) or an interior cavity of the plunger (paragraph 32), the casing (10) comprising a reduced diameter section (24) that defines an inner aperture (Fig. 7) for fluid flow; and an insert (30) having an outer surface (Fig. 7) that is fixedly engaged (paragraph 34) with an inner surface the casing (12), the insert (30) comprising at least two ribs (40), each individually extending from a base portion (42) of the insert (30) to an apex (50) of the insert (30) where each of the at least two ribs (40) converge to define a cage (10) in which the restriction element (80) is configured to move (paragraphs 44-45) axially through the internal flow path (18) between the apex (50) and a seat (82) positioned (Fig. 7) in the casing (12) axially opposite the apex (50); wherein, in an open position (paragraphs 44-45), the restriction element (80) is configured to be displaced toward the apex (50) of the insert (30) to enable fluid flow through the internal flow path (18) of the casing (12) and through openings (68) defined between the at least two ribs (40); and wherein, in a closed position (paragraphs 44-45), the restriction element (80) is configured to engage with the seat (82) to restrict fluid flow through the internal flow path (18), but lacks disclosure wherein the reduced diameter section that defines an inner aperture for fluid flow is substantially similar as an inner diameter of the seat.
Stachowiak, Jr. et al. teach a valve assembly (100) comprising a restriction element (130), a seat (140), a casing (110), and an insert (120), wherein the casing (110) has a reduced diameter section (114) that defines an inner aperture (Fig. 3A) for fluid flow and is substantially similar as an inner diameter (Fig. 3A) of the seat (140).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the casing of Ford, with a reduced diameter section as taught by Stachowiak, Jr. et al., for the advantage of increasing the flow coefficient through the casing, reducing fluid drag, providing a smooth transition of fluid flow, and reducing wear (paragraph 31).
Regarding claim 2, Ford discloses the downhole pump (Figs. 1-13), wherein the at least one valve assembly (100) connected to the barrel (paragraph 30) is a standing valve (paragraphs 4 or 44-45) or the at least one valve assembly (100) connected to the plunger is a traveling valve (paragraphs 4 or 44-45).
Regarding claim 3, Ford discloses the downhole pump (Figs. 1-13), wherein the insert (30) is secured to the casing (12) with a permanent joining or a temporary joining (paragraph 34).
Regarding claim 4, Ford discloses the downhole pump (Figs. 1-13), wherein the permanent joining comprising fusion welding, bracing, or interference fit (paragraph 34).
Regarding claim 5, Ford discloses the downhole pump (Figs. 1-13), wherein the temporary joining comprising a threaded connection (paragraph 61).
Regarding claim 6, Ford discloses the downhole pump (Figs. 1-13), wherein the at least two ribs (40) exhibit a spiral shape (Figs. 1-5, paragraphs 39-40) as the at least two ribs (40) extend from the base portion (42) of the insert (30) to the apex (50) of the insert (30), and/or (interpreted as “or”) wherein the at least two ribs exhibit a lateral width extending along a circumference of the insert that tapers as the at least two ribs extend from the base portion of the insert to the apex of the insert.
Regarding claim 7, Ford discloses the essential features of the claimed invention but lacks disclosure wherein the at least two ribs have a lateral width extending along a circumference of the insert that gradually reduces along substantially an entire length of the at least two ribs as the at least two ribs extend in a longitudinal direction along a spiral path toward the apex.
Stachowiak, Jr. et al. teach a valve assembly (100) comprising a restriction element (130), a seat (140), a casing (110), and an insert (120), wherein the insert (120) has at least two ribs (126) extending from a base portion (125) to an apex (128), wherein the at least two ribs (126) have a lateral width (Figs. 4A-D) extending along a circumference (paragraph 44) of the insert (120) that gradually reduces along substantially an entire length (paragraph 44) of the at least two ribs (126) as the at least two ribs (126) extend in a longitudinal direction along a spiral path (paragraph 40) toward the apex (128).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insert of Ford, with at least two ribs as taught by Stachowiak, Jr. et al., for the advantage of improving fluid flow (paragraphs 40-44), and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. Ford discloses in paragraph 40 that the form or shape of the ribs/protrusions are capable of being modified as desired. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 8, Ford discloses the downhole pump (Figs. 1-13), wherein the at least two ribs (40) extend in a spiral path (paragraphs 39-40) toward the apex (50) in order to impart a twisted flow (laminar flow through the angled/curved ribs, disclosed in paragraph 40) to the fluid flow.
Regarding claim 9, Ford discloses the downhole pump (Figs. 1-13), wherein the at least two ribs (40) exhibit a lateral width (Fig. 3) extending along a circumference of the insert (30) that tapers (paragraph 42) as the at least some of the at least two ribs (40) extend radially inward toward a longitudinal axis.
Regarding claim 10, Ford discloses the downhole pump (Figs. 1-13), wherein the openings (68) defined between the at least two ribs (40) are laterally inward quartic lima bean-shaped openings (68, as illustrated in Figures 3-4) positioned about the apex (50).
Regarding claim 11, Ford discloses a method of operating a valve assembly (100), the method comprising: directing a fluid (paragraphs 44-45) through the valve assembly (100) comprising: directing the fluid through a seat (82); lifting a restriction element (80) off of the seat (82) with the fluid and displacing the restriction element (80) away from the seat (82); directing the fluid into an insert (30) located at least partially within a casing (10) comprising at least three axially extending protrusions (40), each of the at least three axially extending protrusions (40) individually extending inward into an internal flow path (18) and converging with at least another of the at least three axially extending protrusions (40) at an apex (50) of the insert (30) to define a cage (30) in which a restriction element (80) is configured to move axially through the internal flow path (18); displacing the restriction element (18) to the apex (50) of the insert (30); and directing the fluid (paragraphs 44-45) through the internal flow path (18) and through openings (68) defined between the at least three axially extending protrusions (40) of the insert (30); and inhibiting the fluid (paragraphs 44-45) from flowing through the valve assembly (100) comprising: directing fluid through the openings (68) defined between the at least three axially extending protrusions (40) of the insert (30) and into the internal flow path (18); displacing the restriction element (80) from the apex (50) of the insert (30); and positioning the restriction element (80) onto the seat (82) to inhibit the fluid from flowing through the seat (82), but lacks disclosure of diverging flow of the fluid through scallop cutouts extending through a majority of the axial length of the base ring and leading into the openings defined between the at least three axially extending protrusions of the inert.
Stachowiak, Jr. et al. teach a valve assembly (100) comprising a restriction element (130), a seat (140), a casing (110), and an insert (120), wherein the insert (120) has at least three axially extending protrusions (126) extending from a base ring (125) to an apex (128), wherein the base ring (125) has scallop cutouts (123) extending through a majority (Figs. 4B-C) of the axial length (clearance can be increased as is disclosed in paragraph 45) of the base ring (125) and leading into openings (121) defined between the at least three axially extending protrusions (126) of the inert (120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insert of Ford, with scallop cutouts as taught by Stachowiak, Jr. et al., for the advantage of reducing ball chatter, and improving the flow coefficient through the insert (paragraphs 31 and 45).
Regarding claim 12, Ford discloses the method, further comprising directing fluid flow through the openings (68) comprising quartic bean-shaped openings (68, as illustrated in Figures 3-4) positioned about the apex (50) of the insert (30).
Regarding claim 13, Ford discloses the method further comprising imparting a twisted flow (laminar flow through the angled/curved ribs, disclosed in paragraph 40) to the fluid as the fluid travels through the insert (30) with the at least three axially extending protrusions (30) having a spiral configuration (paragraphs 39-40).
Regarding claim 14, Ford discloses the method, further comprising decreasing fluid turbulence in the fluid with the twisted flow (laminar flow through the angled/curved ribs, disclosed in paragraph 40) imparted to the fluid by the at least three axially extending protrusions (40) having the spiral configuration (paragraphs 39-40).
Regarding claim 15, Ford discloses the method, further comprising reducing flow restriction and pressure drop in the fluid with the twisted flow (laminar flow through the angled/curved ribs, disclosed in paragraph 40) imparted to the fluid by the at least three axially extending protrusions (40) having the spiral configuration (paragraphs 39-40).
Regarding claim 16, Ford discloses the essential features of the claimed invention but lacks disclosure of directing the fluid along a spiral path defined by the at least three axially extending protrusions having a lateral width extending along a circumference of the insert that gradually reduces along substantially an entire length as the at least three axially extending protrusions extend in a longitudinal direction along a spiral path toward the apex.
Stachowiak, Jr. et al. teach a valve assembly (100) comprising a restriction element (130), a seat (140), a casing (110), and an insert (120), wherein the insert (120) has at least three axially extending protrusions (126) extending from a base portion (125) to an apex (128), wherein the at least three axially extending protrusions (126) have a lateral width (Figs. 4A-D) extending along a circumference (paragraph 44) of the insert (120) that gradually reduces along substantially an entire length (paragraph 44) of the at least three axially extending protrusions (126) as the at least three axially extending protrusions (126) extend in a longitudinal direction along a spiral path (paragraph 40) toward the apex (128).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insert of Ford, with at least three axially extending protrusions as taught by Stachowiak, Jr. et al., for the advantage of improving fluid flow (paragraphs 40-44), and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. Ford discloses in paragraph 40 that the form or shape of the ribs/protrusions are capable of being modified as desired. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 17, Ford discloses the essential features of the claimed invention but lacks disclosure of directing the fluid flow through a reduced diameter section of the casing that defines an inner aperture for fluid flow that is substantially similar diameter as an inner diameter of the seat.
Stachowiak, Jr. et al. teach a valve assembly (100) comprising a restriction element (130), a seat (140), a casing (110), and an insert (120), wherein the casing (110) has a reduced diameter section (114) that defines an inner aperture (Fig. 3A) for fluid flow and is substantially similar as an inner diameter (Fig. 3A) of the seat (140).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the casing of Ford, with a reduced diameter section as taught by Stachowiak, Jr. et al., for the advantage of increasing the flow coefficient through the casing, reducing fluid drag, providing a smooth transition of fluid flow, and reducing wear (paragraph 31).
Regarding claim 18, Stachowiak, Jr. et al. (modified above) teach converging flow of the fluid after the flow of the fluid (paragraph 45) is diverged by the scallop cutouts (123).
Regarding claim 19, Ford discloses a method of forming a valve assembly (100), the method comprising: positioning (Fig. 7) a restriction element (80) within a casing (12) between an insert (30) and a seat (82), positioning the restriction element (80), the insert (30), and the seat (82) in an internal flow path (18) through the casing (12); the casing (10) comprising a reduced diameter section (24) that defines an inner aperture (Fig. 7) for fluid flow; engaging an outer surface (Fig. 7) of the insert (30) with an inner surface the casing (12); defining openings (68) in the internal flow path (18) with at least three protrusions (40) of the insert (30) that extend through the internal flow path (18) of the casing (12) and converge with at least another of the at least three protrusions (40) at an apex (50) of the insert (30) to define a cage (10) in which the restriction element (80) is configured to move axially (paragraphs 44-45) through the internal flow path (18); in an open position, enabling the restriction element (80) to be displaced toward the apex (50) of the insert (30) to enable fluid flow through the internal flow path (18) and through the openings (68) defined between the at least three protrusions (40); and in a closed position, enabling the restriction element (80) to engage with the seat (82) to restrict fluid flow through the internal flow path (18), but lacks disclosure wherein the reduced diameter section that defines an inner aperture for fluid flow is substantially similar as an inner diameter of the seat.
Stachowiak, Jr. et al. teach a valve assembly (100) comprising a restriction element (130), a seat (140), a casing (110), and an insert (120), wherein the casing (110) has a reduced diameter section (114) that defines an inner aperture (Fig. 3A) for fluid flow and is substantially similar as an inner diameter (Fig. 3A) of the seat (140).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the casing of Ford, with a reduced diameter section as taught by Stachowiak, Jr. et al., for the advantage of increasing the flow coefficient through the casing, reducing fluid drag, providing a smooth transition of fluid flow, and reducing wear (paragraph 31).
Regarding claim 20, Ford discloses the method, further comprising securing of the insert (30) in the casing by a permanent joining or a temporary joining (paragraph 34).
Regarding claim 21, Ford discloses the method, wherein the permanent joining comprising welding, bracing, or interference fit (paragraph 34).
Regarding claim 22, Ford discloses the method, wherein the temporary joining comprises a threading (paragraph 61).
Regarding claim 23, Ford discloses the method, wherein defining the openings (68) in the internal flow path (18) with at least three protrusions (40) further comprises defining quartic lima bean-shaped openings (68, as illustrated in Figures 3-4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Coyes et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,173,705) disclose a similar insert having spiral fluid channels opening towards quartic lima bean-shaped openings.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REINALDO SANCHEZ-MEDINA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753