DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
in claim 11: media analysis module” and encoding module
in claim 15: deep learning model training module
in claim 16: entropy maximization module
in claim 17: a media analysis module
in claim 20: comprising a module
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,382,051. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the referenced patent recite the same subject matter presently claimed. Claims 1-10 of the present application recite broader limitations of the narrower combinations already claimed in the referenced patent. Claims 11-20 change the corresponding patented method operations as functional system modules, without reciting additional structure, function, or result sufficient to render the presently claimed systems patentably distinct from the patented methods. The correspondence between the present claims and the claims of the referenced patent is set forth below.
Present Application
(claims)
Referenced Patent
(claims)
1
1
2
1
3
2
4
2
5
2
6
3
7
6
8
7
9
7
10
7
11
1
12
1
13
2
14
3
15
5
16
6
17
1
18
4
19
1
20
1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the selected dimensional manifold”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 12, 14, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fejgin et al. (US20210082444A1), hereinafter referred to as Fejgin, in view of Bell et al. (US5706402), hereinafter referred to as Bell further, in view of Malamal Vadakital (US20190052937A1), hereinafter referred to as Malamal Vadakital.
.Regarding claim 11, Fejgin discloses system for compressing media content, comprising:
a media analysis module configured to perform analysis on input media (See ¶[004] and Fig. 2 disclosing that the machine learning module 210 performs analysis on the input audio signal);
a deep learning model training module (See ¶[0042] disclosing that the machine learning module 210 may be configured to implement one or more neural networks, such as the neural networks disclosed herein);
a compression application module (See ¶[0042] disclosing that block 550 involves encoding, via the audio encoder, the currently-input audio signal in a compressed audio format)
Fejgin does not explicitly disclose an entropy maximization module; and an encoding module configured to package the compressed media into standard format containers.
However, Bell from the same or similar endeavor of data compression discloses an entropy maximization module (See Col. 1:7-23 disclosing maximizing joint input/output entropy through gradient ascent to minimize mutual information in the outputs.).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Fejgin to add the teachings of Bell as above, in order to minimize mutual information in the outputs (Bell, Col. 1:7-23).
Furthermore, Malamal Vadakital from the same or similar endeavor of data compression discloses an encoding module configured to package the compressed media into standard format containers (See ¶[0153] disclosing pack at least one coded media stream into a container file; and ¶[0069] disclosing media file format standard).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Fejgin and Bell to add the teachings of Malamal Vadakital as above, in order to facilitate the interchanging and editing of the media, as well as the recording of received real-time streams to a file (Malamal Vadakital, [0003]).
Regarding claim 12, Fejgin, Bell and Malamal Vadakital disclose all the limitations of claim 11, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Fejgin discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the analysis includes spectral analysis, statistical analysis, perceptual analysis, and/or temporal-spatial correlation analysis (See ¶¶ [0059] and [0066]).
Regarding claim 14, Fejgin, Bell and Malamal Vadakital disclose all the limitations of claim 12, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Fejgin discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the perceptual analysis includes implementation of psychoacoustic models based on critical bands and masking effects for audio content, application of visual saliency models to identify perceptually important regions in video content, and/or incorporation of Just Noticeable Difference (JND) models to determine perceptual thresholds for different media components (See ¶[0066]).
Regarding claim 16, Fejgin, Bell and Malamal Vadakital disclose all the limitations of claim 11, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Fejgin does not explicitly disclose the system of claim 11, wherein the entropy maximization module is operable to: compute Shannon entropy for each dimension or feature in the representation of the selected dimensional manifold, apply Independent Component Analysis (ICA) to separate statistically independent components, implement the Principle of Maximum Entropy to optimize distribution of information across the selected dimensional manifold, and/or
develop an adaptive quantization scheme that allocates more bits to high-entropy components.
However, Bell from the same or similar endeavor of data compression discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the entropy maximization module is operable to: compute Shannon entropy for each dimension or feature in the representation of the selected dimensional manifold, apply Independent Component Analysis (ICA) to separate statistically independent components, implement the Principle of Maximum Entropy to optimize distribution of information across the selected dimensional manifold, and/or develop an adaptive quantization scheme that allocates more bits to high-entropy components (See Abstract).
The motivation for combining Fejgin, Bell and Malamal Vadakital has been discussed in connection with claim 11, above.
Regarding claim 20, Fejgin and Bell disclose all the limitations of claim 17, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Fejgin does not explicitly disclose the system of claim 17, further comprising a module configured to package the compressed media into a standard format.
However, Malamal Vadakital from the same or similar endeavor of data compression discloses the system of claim 17, further comprising a module configured to package the compressed media into a standard format (See ¶[0153] disclosing pack at least one coded media stream into a container file; and ¶[0069] disclosing media file format standard)..
The motivation for combining Fejgin, Bell and Malamal Vadakital has been discussed in connection with claim 11, above.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fejgin, in view of Bell, and further, in view of Malamal Vadakital and Ekstrand et al. (US20240105191A1), hereinafter referred to as Ekstrand.
Regarding claim 13, Fejgin, Bell and Malamal Vadakital disclose all the limitations of claim 12, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Fejgin does not explicitly disclose the system of claim 12, wherein the spectral analysis includes application of a Short-Time Fourier Transform (STFT) with overlapping windows for audio content, employment of a 3D Fourier Transform on groups of frames for video content, and/or implementation of a Wavelet Transform for multi-resolution analysis of both audio and video content.
However, Ekstrand from the same or similar endeavor of data compression discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the spectral analysis includes application of a Short-Time Fourier Transform (STFT) with overlapping windows for audio content, employment of a 3D Fourier Transform on groups of frames for video content, and/or implementation of a Wavelet Transform for multi-resolution analysis of both audio and video content (See ¶[0057]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Fejgin, Bell and Malamal Vadakital to add the teachings of Ekstrand as above, in order to obtain a succession of overlapped spectral frames (Ekstrand, [0057]).
Claims 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fejgin, in view of Bell.
Regarding claim 17, Fejgin, discloses a system for compressing media content, comprising: a media analysis module configured to perform analysis on input media (See ¶[004] and Fig. 2 disclosing that the machine learning module 210 performs analysis on the input audio signal);
a deep learning model training module (See ¶[0042] disclosing that the machine learning module 210 may be configured to implement one or more neural networks, such as the neural networks disclosed herein);
a compression application module (See ¶[0042] disclosing that block 550 involves encoding, via the audio encoder, the currently-input audio signal in a compressed audio format)
Fejgin does not explicitly disclose an entropy maximization module;
However, Bell from the same or similar endeavor of data compression discloses an entropy maximization module (See Col. 1:7-23 disclosing maximizing joint input/output entropy through gradient ascent to minimize mutual information in the outputs.).
The motivation for combining Fejgin, and Bell has been discussed in connection with claim 11, above.
Regarding claim 19, Fejgin and Bell disclose all the limitations of claim 17, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Fejgin discloses the system of claim 17, wherein the analysis includes spectral analysis, statistical analysis, perceptual analysis, and/or temporal-spatial correlation analysis (See ¶¶[0059] and [0066]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fejgin, in view of Bell further, in view of Brehmer (US20230074979A1), hereinafter referred to as Brehmer.
Regarding claim 18, Fejgin, and Bell disclose all the limitations of claim 17, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Fejgin does not explicitly disclose the system of claim 17, further comprising a manifold selection and optimization module.
However, Ekstrand from the same or similar endeavor of data compression discloses the system of claim 17, further comprising a manifold selection and optimization module (See ¶¶[0041], [0045] and [0046]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Fejgin and Bell to add the teachings of Brehmer as above, in order to minimize the average rate-distortion loss over a dataset of datapoints, such as image and/or video datapoints and reduce the size of the subspace of model parameters (Brehmer, ¶¶ [0041] and [0045]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for additional references.
/FABIO S LIMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486