Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2,5-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (JP 2017151704 A).
In regards to claim 1, Suzuki teaches a vehicle function information providing system for providing a vehicle function description display to a user who is in a vehicle (Page 3, Paragraph 2; Page 5, Paragraph 8)
In the example shown in FIG. 1, the automatic driving device 100 includes an external sensor 1, a GPS (Global Positioning System) receiving unit 2, an internal sensor 3, a map database 4, a navigation system 5, an actuator 6, an HMI (Human Machine Interface) 7, A user state detection unit 8, a tutorial switch 9, an auxiliary device 50, and an ECU (Electronic Control Unit) 10 are provided.[Pg 3, P-2]
In the example shown in FIG. 1, the HMI 7 is an interface for outputting and inputting information between a passenger (including a driver) of the own vehicle and the automatic driving apparatus 100. The HMI 7 includes, for example, a display panel for displaying image information to the occupant, a speaker for audio output, and an operation button or a touch panel for the occupant to perform an input operation. The HMI 7 may output information to the occupant using a wirelessly connected portable information terminal, or may accept an input operation by the occupant using the portable information terminal.[Pg 5, P-8]
Suzuki does not verbatim teach the vehicle function information prohibiting the provision of the vehicle function description display when there is an obstacle approaching the vehicle among obstacles near the vehicle and permitting the provision of the vehicle function description display when there is no approaching obstacle among the obstacles near the vehicle.
However, Suzuki teaches an HMI display unit within a vehicle capable of displaying a tutorial via an visual interface, such that the vehicle uses object detection information regarding the surrounding environment of the vehicle, thereby, based on detected object(s) and hazardous relativity via the object detection unit, the HMI display prohibits or allows the operation of the tutorial to the driver (Page 3, Paragraph 5; Page 11, Paragraph 11; Page 11, Paragraph 6; Page 12, Paragraphs 3-6)
The radar detects obstacles outside the host vehicle using radio waves. The radio wave is, for example, a millimeter wave. The radar detects the obstacle by transmitting a radio wave to the surroundings of the host vehicle and receiving the radio wave reflected by the obstacle. For example, the radar can output the distance or direction to the obstacle as obstacle information regarding the obstacle. The radar outputs the detected obstacle information to the ECU 10. In addition, when performing sensor fusion, you may output the reception information of the reflected electromagnetic wave to ECU10.[Pg 3, P-5]
In the example illustrated in FIG. 1, the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 determines whether the tutorial can be started. That is, in the example illustrated in FIG. 1, the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 functions as a second determination unit that determines whether the tutorial can be started.[Pg 11, P-6]
Further, in step S100, for example, based on the surrounding environment of the host vehicle recognized by the recognition unit 12 (see FIG. 1), the risk of the surrounding environment of the host vehicle is low by the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 (see FIG. 1). It is determined whether or not. When the tutorial possibility estimation unit 20 determines that the risk of the surrounding environment of the host vehicle is high, it is determined that the tutorial cannot be started, and this routine is terminated.[Pg 11, P-11]
If there is a possibility that a dangerous situation will occur if the tutorial is executed, it is determined that the tutorial cannot be started, and NO is determined in step S100, and this routine is terminated.[Pg 12, P-3]
On the other hand, when the tutorial switch 9 is ON and there is no possibility that a dangerous situation will occur even if the tutorial is executed, YES is determined in step S100, and the process proceeds to step S101.[Pg 12, P-4]
Specifically, when the tutorial switch 9 is ON, and when the own vehicle is in a stable state and when it is determined by the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 that the parts of the own vehicle are not broken, When the tutorial possibility estimation unit 20 determines that the risk of the surrounding environment of the vehicle is low, and when it is determined by the tutorial possibility estimation unit 20 that the driver's driving awareness is high and the occupant's safety is high It is determined that the tutorial can be started, YES is determined in step S100, and the process proceeds to step S101. [Pg 12, P-5]
The scenario of the tutorial that the automatic driving apparatus 100 should display to the driver differs depending on the situation where switching from automatic driving control to manual driving is executed. Therefore, in the automatic driving device 100 of the first embodiment, a plurality of scenarios are determined in advance according to a situation where switching from automatic driving control to manual driving is executed. [Pg 12, P-6]
Based on Suzuki’s disclosure, where in one scenario, the radar detects obstacles outside the host vehicle using radio waves. The radio wave is, for example, a millimeter wave. The radar detects the obstacle by transmitting a radio wave to the surroundings of the host vehicle and receiving the radio wave reflected by the obstacle, i.e. the radar can output the distance or direction to the obstacle as obstacle information regarding the obstacle[Pg 3, P-5]. Furthermore, in another scenario, Suzuki teaches based on the surrounding environment of the host vehicle recognized by the recognition unit 12 (see FIG. 1), the risk of the surrounding environment of the host vehicle is low by the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 (see FIG. 1). It is determined whether or not. When the tutorial possibility estimation unit 20 determines that the risk of the surrounding environment of the host vehicle is high, it is determined that the tutorial cannot be started, and this routine is terminated.[Pg 11, P-11].
Hence, by combining the two scenarios of the radar detecting objects around the vehicle, and the scenario of determining the vehicle’s surrounding environment being a risk, and configuring whether or not to terminate the display tutorial. Then one of ordinary skill in the art could therefore define the risk surrounding environment as a detected object approaching or nearby the travelling vehicle, and thereafter, based on this definition permit of terminate the displayed tutorial accordingly. Thereby, elevating the safe operation of the vehicle.
In regards to claim 2, Suzuki teaches suggesting to the user to start the vehicle function description display when there is an obstacle moving near the vehicle but there is no approaching obstacle among the obstacles near the vehicle, i.e. the HMI display tutorial determines whether it is safe to operate or be prohibited based on the determination of surrounding object(s) around the vehicle, and determining if they are of a high level risk or low level risk(Page 3, Paragraph 5; Page 11, Paragraph 11; Page 11, Paragraph 6; Page 12, Paragraphs 3-6; Pag 18, Paragraph 3)
The radar detects obstacles outside the host vehicle using radio waves. The radio wave is, for example, a millimeter wave. The radar detects the obstacle by transmitting a radio wave to the surroundings of the host vehicle and receiving the radio wave reflected by the obstacle. For example, the radar can output the distance or direction to the obstacle as obstacle information regarding the obstacle. The radar outputs the detected obstacle information to the ECU 10. In addition, when performing sensor fusion, you may output the reception information of the reflected electromagnetic wave to ECU10.[Pg 3, P-5]
In the example illustrated in FIG. 1, the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 determines whether the tutorial can be started. That is, in the example illustrated in FIG. 1, the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 functions as a second determination unit that determines whether the tutorial can be started.[Pg 11, P-6]
Further, in step S100, for example, based on the surrounding environment of the host vehicle recognized by the recognition unit 12 (see FIG. 1), the risk of the surrounding environment of the host vehicle is low by the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 (see FIG. 1). It is determined whether or not. When the tutorial possibility estimation unit 20 determines that the risk of the surrounding environment of the host vehicle is high, it is determined that the tutorial cannot be started, and this routine is terminated.[Pg 11, P-11]
If there is a possibility that a dangerous situation will occur if the tutorial is executed, it is determined that the tutorial cannot be started, and NO is determined in step S100, and this routine is terminated.[Pg 12, P-3]
On the other hand, when the tutorial switch 9 is ON and there is no possibility that a dangerous situation will occur even if the tutorial is executed, YES is determined in step S100, and the process proceeds to step S101.[Pg 12, P-4]
Specifically, when the tutorial switch 9 is ON, and when the own vehicle is in a stable state and when it is determined by the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 that the parts of the own vehicle are not broken, When the tutorial possibility estimation unit 20 determines that the risk of the surrounding environment of the vehicle is low, and when it is determined by the tutorial possibility estimation unit 20 that the driver's driving awareness is high and the occupant's safety is high It is determined that the tutorial can be started, YES is determined in step S100, and the process proceeds to step S101. [Pg 12, P-5]
The scenario of the tutorial that the automatic driving apparatus 100 should display to the driver differs depending on the situation where switching from automatic driving control to manual driving is executed. Therefore, in the automatic driving device 100 of the first embodiment, a plurality of scenarios are determined in advance according to a situation where switching from automatic driving control to manual driving is executed. [Pg 12, P-6]
Specifically, for example, the moving speed of the obstacle recognized by the recognition unit 12 can be displayed in step S105. For example, the distance between the host vehicle recognized by the recognition unit 12 and the obstacle can be displayed in step S105. For example, the moving direction of the obstacle recognized by the recognition unit 12 can be displayed in step S105.[Pg 18, P-3]
Hence, obviously using element like an obstacle moving near the vehicle but there is no approaching obstacle among the obstacles near the vehicle to determine the risk level of safety to operate the display
In regards to claim 5, Suzuki teaches prohibiting the provision of the vehicle function description display in at least one of a case where the vehicle is not stopped and a case where the vehicle is not in automated driving (Page 6, Paragraphs 13-14; Page 7, Paragraphs 2-4)
In the example shown in FIG. 1, the ECU 10 includes an acquisition unit 11, a recognition unit 12, a travel plan generation unit 13, a calculation unit 14, a display unit 15, a control unit 16, a tutorial availability estimation unit 20, a tutorial determination unit 21, and a scenario generation unit. 22. In the ECU 10, a program stored in the ROM is loaded into the RAM and executed by the CPU, thereby executing control in the acquisition unit 11 and the like. The ECU 10 may be composed of a plurality of electronic control units.[Pg 6, P-13]
In the example shown in FIG. 1, the acquisition unit 11 is based on the information acquired by the internal sensor 3, the operation amount of the steering operation, the accelerator operation and the brake operation by the driver of the own vehicle during the automatic driving control, and the manual driving The operation amount of the steering operation, the accelerator operation, and the brake operation by the driver of the host vehicle is acquired. The operation amount is, for example, the steering angle of the steering wheel, the steering torque with respect to the steering wheel, the depression amount of the accelerator pedal, the depression amount of the brake pedal, the operation force of the brake pedal, and the like. Alternatively, the operation amount may be a duration of a state in which the steering angle of the steering wheel, the steering torque with respect to the steering wheel, the depression amount of the accelerator pedal, the depression amount of the brake pedal, the operation force of the brake pedal, and the like are equal to or greater than a set threshold value. [Pg 6, P-14]
In the example illustrated in FIG. 1, the internal sensor 3 and the acquisition unit 11 function as a vehicle information detection unit. Specifically, based on the vehicle information detected by the internal sensor 3 and the acquisition unit 11, for example, the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 determines whether the host vehicle is in a stable state, and a component of the host vehicle has failed. It is determined whether there is no.[Pg 7, P-2]
For example, when the internal sensor 3 and the acquisition unit 11 detect that VSC (Vehicle Stability Control) control is being executed, the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 determines that the host vehicle is in an unstable state.[Pg 7, P-3]
For example, when the internal sensor 3 and the acquisition unit 11 detect that ABS (anti-lock brake system) control is being executed, the tutorial propriety estimation unit 20 determines that the host vehicle is in an unstable state.[Pg 7, P-4]
Here, we see the scenario, where based on the vehicular operation in motion, the determination where the tutorial is displayed to the driver is based on how stable the vehicle is during motion (high risk or low risk). If the vehicle is deemed unstable during motion, the tutorial is prohibited from being displayed to the driver
In regards to claim 6, Suzuki teaches prohibiting the provision of the vehicle function description display in at least one of a case where the vehicle is not stopped and a case where the vehicle is not in automated driving (Page 6, Paragraphs 13-14; Page 7, Paragraphs 2-4)
In the example shown in FIG. 1, the ECU 10 includes an acquisition unit 11, a recognition unit 12, a travel plan generation unit 13, a calculation unit 14, a display unit 15, a control unit 16, a tutorial availability estimation unit 20, a tutorial determination unit 21, and a scenario generation unit. 22. In the ECU 10, a program stored in the ROM is loaded into the RAM and executed by the CPU, thereby executing control in the acquisition unit 11 and the like. The ECU 10 may be composed of a plurality of electronic control units.[Pg 6, P-13]
In the example shown in FIG. 1, the acquisition unit 11 is based on the information acquired by the internal sensor 3, the operation amount of the steering operation, the accelerator operation and the brake operation by the driver of the own vehicle during the automatic driving control, and the manual driving The operation amount of the steering operation, the accelerator operation, and the brake operation by the driver of the host vehicle is acquired. The operation amount is, for example, the steering angle of the steering wheel, the steering torque with respect to the steering wheel, the depression amount of the accelerator pedal, the depression amount of the brake pedal, the operation force of the brake pedal, and the like. Alternatively, the operation amount may be a duration of a state in which the steering angle of the steering wheel, the steering torque with respect to the steering wheel, the depression amount of the accelerator pedal, the depression amount of the brake pedal, the operation force of the brake pedal, and the like are equal to or greater than a set threshold value. [Pg 6, P-14]
In the example illustrated in FIG. 1, the internal sensor 3 and the acquisition unit 11 function as a vehicle information detection unit. Specifically, based on the vehicle information detected by the internal sensor 3 and the acquisition unit 11, for example, the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 determines whether the host vehicle is in a stable state, and a component of the host vehicle has failed. It is determined whether there is no.[Pg 7, P-2]
For example, when the internal sensor 3 and the acquisition unit 11 detect that VSC (Vehicle Stability Control) control is being executed, the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 determines that the host vehicle is in an unstable state.[Pg 7, P-3]
For example, when the internal sensor 3 and the acquisition unit 11 detect that ABS (anti-lock brake system) control is being executed, the tutorial propriety estimation unit 20 determines that the host vehicle is in an unstable state.[Pg 7, P-4]
Here, we see the scenario, where based on the vehicular operation in motion, the determination where the tutorial is displayed to the driver is based on how stable the vehicle is during motion (high risk or low risk). If the vehicle is deemed unstable during motion, the tutorial is prohibited from being displayed to the driver
In regards to claim 7, Suzuki teaches automatically starting the provision of the vehicle function description display for the user in at least one of a case where all obstacles near the vehicle are stopped and a case where there is no obstacle near the vehicle(Page 3, Paragraph 5; Page 11, Paragraph 11; Page 11, Paragraph 6; Page 12, Paragraphs 3-6; Pag 18, Paragraph 3)
The radar detects obstacles outside the host vehicle using radio waves. The radio wave is, for example, a millimeter wave. The radar detects the obstacle by transmitting a radio wave to the surroundings of the host vehicle and receiving the radio wave reflected by the obstacle. For example, the radar can output the distance or direction to the obstacle as obstacle information regarding the obstacle. The radar outputs the detected obstacle information to the ECU 10. In addition, when performing sensor fusion, you may output the reception information of the reflected electromagnetic wave to ECU10.[Pg 3, P-5]
In the example illustrated in FIG. 1, the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 determines whether the tutorial can be started. That is, in the example illustrated in FIG. 1, the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 functions as a second determination unit that determines whether the tutorial can be started.[Pg 11, P-6]
Further, in step S100, for example, based on the surrounding environment of the host vehicle recognized by the recognition unit 12 (see FIG. 1), the risk of the surrounding environment of the host vehicle is low by the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 (see FIG. 1). It is determined whether or not. When the tutorial possibility estimation unit 20 determines that the risk of the surrounding environment of the host vehicle is high, it is determined that the tutorial cannot be started, and this routine is terminated.[Pg 11, P-11]
If there is a possibility that a dangerous situation will occur if the tutorial is executed, it is determined that the tutorial cannot be started, and NO is determined in step S100, and this routine is terminated.[Pg 12, P-3]
On the other hand, when the tutorial switch 9 is ON and there is no possibility that a dangerous situation will occur even if the tutorial is executed, YES is determined in step S100, and the process proceeds to step S101.[Pg 12, P-4]
Specifically, when the tutorial switch 9 is ON, and when the own vehicle is in a stable state and when it is determined by the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 that the parts of the own vehicle are not broken, When the tutorial possibility estimation unit 20 determines that the risk of the surrounding environment of the vehicle is low, and when it is determined by the tutorial possibility estimation unit 20 that the driver's driving awareness is high and the occupant's safety is high It is determined that the tutorial can be started, YES is determined in step S100, and the process proceeds to step S101. [Pg 12, P-5]
The scenario of the tutorial that the automatic driving apparatus 100 should display to the driver differs depending on the situation where switching from automatic driving control to manual driving is executed. Therefore, in the automatic driving device 100 of the first embodiment, a plurality of scenarios are determined in advance according to a situation where switching from automatic driving control to manual driving is executed. [Pg 12, P-6]
Specifically, for example, the moving speed of the obstacle recognized by the recognition unit 12 can be displayed in step S105. For example, the distance between the host vehicle recognized by the recognition unit 12 and the obstacle can be displayed in step S105. For example, the moving direction of the obstacle recognized by the recognition unit 12 can be displayed in step S105.[Pg 18, P-3]
By Suzuki, teaching the prohibiting of the display tutorial based on detected object(s) surrounding the vehicle environment, the it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the absence of object(s) surrounding the vehicle would enable the tutorial display to the driver.
In regards to claim 8, Suzuki teaches automatically starting the provision of the vehicle function description display for the user in at least one of a case where all obstacles near the vehicle are stopped and a case where there is no obstacle near the vehicle(Page 3, Paragraph 5; Page 11, Paragraph 11; Page 11, Paragraph 6; Page 12, Paragraphs 3-6; Pag 18, Paragraph 3)
The radar detects obstacles outside the host vehicle using radio waves. The radio wave is, for example, a millimeter wave. The radar detects the obstacle by transmitting a radio wave to the surroundings of the host vehicle and receiving the radio wave reflected by the obstacle. For example, the radar can output the distance or direction to the obstacle as obstacle information regarding the obstacle. The radar outputs the detected obstacle information to the ECU 10. In addition, when performing sensor fusion, you may output the reception information of the reflected electromagnetic wave to ECU10.[Pg 3, P-5]
In the example illustrated in FIG. 1, the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 determines whether the tutorial can be started. That is, in the example illustrated in FIG. 1, the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 functions as a second determination unit that determines whether the tutorial can be started.[Pg 11, P-6]
Further, in step S100, for example, based on the surrounding environment of the host vehicle recognized by the recognition unit 12 (see FIG. 1), the risk of the surrounding environment of the host vehicle is low by the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 (see FIG. 1). It is determined whether or not. When the tutorial possibility estimation unit 20 determines that the risk of the surrounding environment of the host vehicle is high, it is determined that the tutorial cannot be started, and this routine is terminated.[Pg 11, P-11]
If there is a possibility that a dangerous situation will occur if the tutorial is executed, it is determined that the tutorial cannot be started, and NO is determined in step S100, and this routine is terminated.[Pg 12, P-3]
On the other hand, when the tutorial switch 9 is ON and there is no possibility that a dangerous situation will occur even if the tutorial is executed, YES is determined in step S100, and the process proceeds to step S101.[Pg 12, P-4]
Specifically, when the tutorial switch 9 is ON, and when the own vehicle is in a stable state and when it is determined by the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 that the parts of the own vehicle are not broken, When the tutorial possibility estimation unit 20 determines that the risk of the surrounding environment of the vehicle is low, and when it is determined by the tutorial possibility estimation unit 20 that the driver's driving awareness is high and the occupant's safety is high It is determined that the tutorial can be started, YES is determined in step S100, and the process proceeds to step S101. [Pg 12, P-5]
The scenario of the tutorial that the automatic driving apparatus 100 should display to the driver differs depending on the situation where switching from automatic driving control to manual driving is executed. Therefore, in the automatic driving device 100 of the first embodiment, a plurality of scenarios are determined in advance according to a situation where switching from automatic driving control to manual driving is executed. [Pg 12, P-6]
Specifically, for example, the moving speed of the obstacle recognized by the recognition unit 12 can be displayed in step S105. For example, the distance between the host vehicle recognized by the recognition unit 12 and the obstacle can be displayed in step S105. For example, the moving direction of the obstacle recognized by the recognition unit 12 can be displayed in step S105.[Pg 18, P-3]
By Suzuki, teaching the prohibiting of the display tutorial based on detected object(s) surrounding the vehicle environment, the it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the absence of object(s) surrounding the vehicle would enable the tutorial display to the driver.
In regards to claim 9, Suzuki teaches determining whether or not a preset browsing prohibition condition is satisfied on the basis of at least one of a driving state of the vehicle and a state of an obstacle near the vehicle; and prohibiting the provision of the vehicle function description display for the user when it is determined that the browsing prohibition condition is satisfied(Page 6, Paragraphs 13-14; Page 7, Paragraphs 2-4)
In the example shown in FIG. 1, the ECU 10 includes an acquisition unit 11, a recognition unit 12, a travel plan generation unit 13, a calculation unit 14, a display unit 15, a control unit 16, a tutorial availability estimation unit 20, a tutorial determination unit 21, and a scenario generation unit. 22. In the ECU 10, a program stored in the ROM is loaded into the RAM and executed by the CPU, thereby executing control in the acquisition unit 11 and the like. The ECU 10 may be composed of a plurality of electronic control units.[Pg 6, P-13]
In the example shown in FIG. 1, the acquisition unit 11 is based on the information acquired by the internal sensor 3, the operation amount of the steering operation, the accelerator operation and the brake operation by the driver of the own vehicle during the automatic driving control, and the manual driving The operation amount of the steering operation, the accelerator operation, and the brake operation by the driver of the host vehicle is acquired. The operation amount is, for example, the steering angle of the steering wheel, the steering torque with respect to the steering wheel, the depression amount of the accelerator pedal, the depression amount of the brake pedal, the operation force of the brake pedal, and the like. Alternatively, the operation amount may be a duration of a state in which the steering angle of the steering wheel, the steering torque with respect to the steering wheel, the depression amount of the accelerator pedal, the depression amount of the brake pedal, the operation force of the brake pedal, and the like are equal to or greater than a set threshold value. [Pg 6, P-14]
In the example illustrated in FIG. 1, the internal sensor 3 and the acquisition unit 11 function as a vehicle information detection unit. Specifically, based on the vehicle information detected by the internal sensor 3 and the acquisition unit 11, for example, the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 determines whether the host vehicle is in a stable state, and a component of the host vehicle has failed. It is determined whether there is no.[Pg 7, P-2]
For example, when the internal sensor 3 and the acquisition unit 11 detect that VSC (Vehicle Stability Control) control is being executed, the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 determines that the host vehicle is in an unstable state.[Pg 7, P-3]
For example, when the internal sensor 3 and the acquisition unit 11 detect that ABS (anti-lock brake system) control is being executed, the tutorial propriety estimation unit 20 determines that the host vehicle is in an unstable state.[Pg 7, P-4]
Here, the preset driving state of the vehicle based on the vehicular operation in motion, the determination where the tutorial is displayed to the driver is based on how stable the vehicle is during motion (high risk or low risk). If the vehicle is deemed unstable during motion, based on a threshold, the tutorial is prohibited from being displayed to the driver
In regards to claim 10, Suzuki teaches determining that the browsing prohibition condition is satisfied in at least one of a case where the vehicle is in a reverse state and a case where there is a moving obstacle within a proximity determination distance from the vehicle(Page 3, Paragraph 5; Page 11, Paragraph 11; Page 11, Paragraph 6; Page 12, Paragraphs 3-6; Pag 18, Paragraph 3)
The radar detects obstacles outside the host vehicle using radio waves. The radio wave is, for example, a millimeter wave. The radar detects the obstacle by transmitting a radio wave to the surroundings of the host vehicle and receiving the radio wave reflected by the obstacle. For example, the radar can output the distance or direction to the obstacle as obstacle information regarding the obstacle. The radar outputs the detected obstacle information to the ECU 10. In addition, when performing sensor fusion, you may output the reception information of the reflected electromagnetic wave to ECU10.[Pg 3, P-5]
In the example illustrated in FIG. 1, the recognition unit 12 functions as a surrounding environment recognition unit. Specifically, based on the surrounding environment of the host vehicle recognized by the recognizing unit 12, the tutorial possibility estimating unit 20 determines whether the risk of the surrounding environment of the host vehicle is low.[Pg 8, P-4]
For example, when the recognition unit 12 recognizes that the TTC (Time To Collation) between the rear vehicle, the front vehicle, or the side vehicle and the host vehicle is less than a predetermined value, the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 It is determined that the environmental risk is high. [Pg 8, P-5]
For example, when the recognition unit 12 recognizes that the distance between the pedestrian, the bicycle, the motorcycle, and the own vehicle is close and the pedestrian, the bicycle, the motorcycle, etc. may contact the own vehicle, for example, the tutorial availability estimation unit 20, it is determined that the risk of the surrounding environment of the host vehicle is high. [Pg 8, P-6]
For example, when the recognition unit 12 recognizes that the host vehicle is traveling on a low μ road, the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 determines that the risk of the surrounding environment of the host vehicle is high. [Pg 8, P-7]
In the example illustrated in FIG. 1, the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 determines whether the tutorial can be started. That is, in the example illustrated in FIG. 1, the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 functions as a second determination unit that determines whether the tutorial can be started.[Pg 11, P-6]
Further, in step S100, for example, based on the surrounding environment of the host vehicle recognized by the recognition unit 12 (see FIG. 1), the risk of the surrounding environment of the host vehicle is low by the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 (see FIG. 1). It is determined whether or not. When the tutorial possibility estimation unit 20 determines that the risk of the surrounding environment of the host vehicle is high, it is determined that the tutorial cannot be started, and this routine is terminated.[Pg 11, P-11]
If there is a possibility that a dangerous situation will occur if the tutorial is executed, it is determined that the tutorial cannot be started, and NO is determined in step S100, and this routine is terminated.[Pg 12, P-3]
On the other hand, when the tutorial switch 9 is ON and there is no possibility that a dangerous situation will occur even if the tutorial is executed, YES is determined in step S100, and the process proceeds to step S101.[Pg 12, P-4]
Specifically, when the tutorial switch 9 is ON, and when the own vehicle is in a stable state and when it is determined by the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 that the parts of the own vehicle are not broken, When the tutorial possibility estimation unit 20 determines that the risk of the surrounding environment of the vehicle is low, and when it is determined by the tutorial possibility estimation unit 20 that the driver's driving awareness is high and the occupant's safety is high It is determined that the tutorial can be started, YES is determined in step S100, and the process proceeds to step S101. [Pg 12, P-5]
The scenario of the tutorial that the automatic driving apparatus 100 should display to the driver differs depending on the situation where switching from automatic driving control to manual driving is executed. Therefore, in the automatic driving device 100 of the first embodiment, a plurality of scenarios are determined in advance according to a situation where switching from automatic driving control to manual driving is executed. [Pg 12, P-6]
Specifically, for example, the moving speed of the obstacle recognized by the recognition unit 12 can be displayed in step S105. For example, the distance between the host vehicle recognized by the recognition unit 12 and the obstacle can be displayed in step S105. For example, the moving direction of the obstacle recognized by the recognition unit 12 can be displayed in step S105.[Pg 18, P-3]
The recognition unit recognizes that the TTC ( Time To Collision ) between the rear vehicle, the front vehicle, or the side vehicle and the own vehicle is less than a certain value (corresponding to within the proximity determination distance), it is determined that the risk of the surroundings of the own vehicle is high (corresponding to the preset viewing prohibition condition), and the tutorial possibility estimation unit determines that the tutorial cannot be started
In regards to claim 11, Suzuki teaches a vehicle function information providing method for providing a vehicle function description display to a user who is in a vehicle(Page 3, Paragraph 2; Page 5, Paragraph 8)
In the example shown in FIG. 1, the automatic driving device 100 includes an external sensor 1, a GPS (Global Positioning System) receiving unit 2, an internal sensor 3, a map database 4, a navigation system 5, an actuator 6, an HMI (Human Machine Interface) 7, A user state detection unit 8, a tutorial switch 9, an auxiliary device 50, and an ECU (Electronic Control Unit) 10 are provided.[Pg 3, P-2]
In the example shown in FIG. 1, the HMI 7 is an interface for outputting and inputting information between a passenger (including a driver) of the own vehicle and the automatic driving apparatus 100. The HMI 7 includes, for example, a display panel for displaying image information to the occupant, a speaker for audio output, and an operation button or a touch panel for the occupant to perform an input operation. The HMI 7 may output information to the occupant using a wirelessly connected portable information terminal, or may accept an input operation by the occupant using the portable information terminal.[Pg 5, P-8]
Suzuki does not verbatim teach the vehicle function information providing method comprising: prohibiting, by a vehicle function information providing system, the provision of the vehicle function description display when there is an obstacle approaching the vehicle among obstacles near the vehicle; and permitting the provision of the vehicle function description display when there is no approaching obstacle among the obstacles near the vehicle.
However, Suzuki teaches an HMI display unit within a vehicle capable of displaying a tutorial via an visual interface, such that the vehicle uses object detection information regarding the surrounding environment of the vehicle, thereby, based on detected object(s) and hazardous relativity via the object detection unit, the HMI display prohibits or allows the operation of the tutorial to the driver (Page 3, Paragraph 5; Page 11, Paragraph 11; Page 11, Paragraph 6; Page 12, Paragraphs 3-6)
The radar detects obstacles outside the host vehicle using radio waves. The radio wave is, for example, a millimeter wave. The radar detects the obstacle by transmitting a radio wave to the surroundings of the host vehicle and receiving the radio wave reflected by the obstacle. For example, the radar can output the distance or direction to the obstacle as obstacle information regarding the obstacle. The radar outputs the detected obstacle information to the ECU 10. In addition, when performing sensor fusion, you may output the reception information of the reflected electromagnetic wave to ECU10.[Pg 3, P-5]
In the example illustrated in FIG. 1, the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 determines whether the tutorial can be started. That is, in the example illustrated in FIG. 1, the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 functions as a second determination unit that determines whether the tutorial can be started.[Pg 11, P-6]
Further, in step S100, for example, based on the surrounding environment of the host vehicle recognized by the recognition unit 12 (see FIG. 1), the risk of the surrounding environment of the host vehicle is low by the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 (see FIG. 1). It is determined whether or not. When the tutorial possibility estimation unit 20 determines that the risk of the surrounding environment of the host vehicle is high, it is determined that the tutorial cannot be started, and this routine is terminated.[Pg 11, P-11]
If there is a possibility that a dangerous situation will occur if the tutorial is executed, it is determined that the tutorial cannot be started, and NO is determined in step S100, and this routine is terminated.[Pg 12, P-3]
On the other hand, when the tutorial switch 9 is ON and there is no possibility that a dangerous situation will occur even if the tutorial is executed, YES is determined in step S100, and the process proceeds to step S101.[Pg 12, P-4]
Specifically, when the tutorial switch 9 is ON, and when the own vehicle is in a stable state and when it is determined by the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 that the parts of the own vehicle are not broken, When the tutorial possibility estimation unit 20 determines that the risk of the surrounding environment of the vehicle is low, and when it is determined by the tutorial possibility estimation unit 20 that the driver's driving awareness is high and the occupant's safety is high It is determined that the tutorial can be started, YES is determined in step S100, and the process proceeds to step S101. [Pg 12, P-5]
The scenario of the tutorial that the automatic driving apparatus 100 should display to the driver differs depending on the situation where switching from automatic driving control to manual driving is executed. Therefore, in the automatic driving device 100 of the first embodiment, a plurality of scenarios are determined in advance according to a situation where switching from automatic driving control to manual driving is executed. [Pg 12, P-6]
Based on Suzuki’s disclosure, where in one scenario, the radar detects obstacles outside the host vehicle using radio waves. The radio wave is, for example, a millimeter wave. The radar detects the obstacle by transmitting a radio wave to the surroundings of the host vehicle and receiving the radio wave reflected by the obstacle, i.e. the radar can output the distance or direction to the obstacle as obstacle information regarding the obstacle[Pg 3, P-5]. Furthermore, in another scenario, Suzuki teaches based on the surrounding environment of the host vehicle recognized by the recognition unit 12 (see FIG. 1), the risk of the surrounding environment of the host vehicle is low by the tutorial availability estimation unit 20 (see FIG. 1). It is determined whether or not. When the tutorial possibility estimation unit 20 determines that the risk of the surrounding environment of the host vehicle is high, it is determined that the tutorial cannot be started, and this routine is terminated.[Pg 11, P-11].
Hence, by combining the two scenarios of the radar detecting objects around the vehicle, and the scenario of determining the vehicle’s surrounding environment being a risk, and configuring whether or not to terminate the display tutorial. Then one of ordinary skill in the art could therefore define the risk surrounding environment as a detected object approaching or nearby the travelling vehicle, and thereafter, based on this definition permit of terminate the displayed tutorial accordingly. Thereby, elevating the safe operation of the vehicle
Claim(s) 3, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (JP 2017151704 A) in view of Sugimoto et al. (JP 2021012035 A).
In regards to claim 3, Suzuki fails to teach acquiring a past browsing history of the vehicle function description display for the user on the basis of a personal authentication result of the user; and preventing the vehicle function description display from being provided to the user in at least one of a case where the number of times the user has previously browsed the vehicle function description display is greater than or equal to a determination threshold value and a case where the user has browsed the vehicle function description display within a set period.
Sugimoto on the other hand teaches acquiring a past browsing history of the vehicle function description display for the user on the basis of a personal authentication result of the user; and preventing the vehicle function description display from being provided to the user in at least one of a case where the number of times the user has previously browsed the vehicle function description display is greater than or equal to a determination threshold value and a case where the user has browsed the vehicle function description display within a set period (Claims 1, 2)
An in-vehicle information display device mounted on a vehicle traveling in a plurality of driving modes. An input device that accepts a selection operation for selecting one of the plurality of driving modes by the driver who drives the vehicle. An identification information acquisition device that acquires identification information for identifying the driver, and A plurality of tutorial screens for executing each of the plurality of tutorials corresponding to each of the plurality of driving modes, a plurality of identification information for identifying each of the plurality of drivers who have driven the vehicle in the past, and the plurality of. A storage device that stores the number of executions of each of the plurality of tutorials collected for each driver, With the selection operation as an opportunity, the activation control of the tutorial corresponding to the selected driving mode is executed, and after the activation of the tutorial, the tutorial screen for executing the activated tutorial is read from the storage device. A control device that executes display control to be displayed on the display device, and The control device identifies and identifies the driver who has performed the selection operation by collating the identification information acquired by the identification information acquisition device with the identification information stored in the storage device. It is determined whether or not the number of executions of the tutorial corresponding to the driving mode selected by the driver has reached the preset number of executions, and the number of executions of the tutorial has reached the preset number of executions. In the case, in-vehicle information that does not execute the activation control of the tutorial when the driving mode corresponding to the tutorial whose execution count has reached the preset number of executions is selected after the next driving mode selection. Display device. If the driver has set not to display the tutorial in the future via the input device, the control device does not execute the activation control of the tutorial set not to display the tutorial. Item 1. The in-vehicle information display device according to item 1. [Cl 1]
Further provided with a vehicle condition information acquisition device for acquiring vehicle condition information regarding at least the periphery of the vehicle and the position of the vehicle. The control device is based on the vehicle condition information, it is determined whether or not the vehicle is in a place where the tutorial can be safely performed. If the vehicle is in a location where the tutorial cannot be safely performed, the activation control of the tutorial will not be executed. If the vehicle is in a location where the tutorial can be safely performed, the activation control of the tutorial is executed.[Cl-2]
Here we see Sugimoto illustrate an in-vehicle information display device that identifies a driver who has performed a selection operation by compiling identification information acquired by an identification information acquisition device with identification information stored in a storage device. Thereafter, determining whether or not the number of executions/applications (based on browsing history) of a tutorial corresponding to a driving mode selected by the identified driver has reached a preset number of executions, and does not execute start-up control of the tutorial when a driving mode corresponding to the tutorial whose number of executions has reached the preset number of executions, is selected after the next driving mode is selected when the number of executions of the tutorial has reached the preset number of executions.
When combining these teachings with Suzuki’s tutorial estimation unit, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt a configuration in which the start-up control of the tutorial is not executed according to the number of executions of the tutorial with respect to the browsing history.
Therefore, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the time of the filing date of the said invention to combine Sugimoto’s teaching with Suzuki’s teaching in order to enable a more secure method for access and control of vehicular operations based on user specific operation.
In regards to claim 4, Suzuki fails to teach acquiring a past browsing history of the vehicle function description display for the user on the basis of a personal authentication result of the user; and preventing the vehicle function description display from being provided to the user in at least one of a case where the number of times the user has previously browsed the vehicle function description display is greater than or equal to a determination threshold value and a case where the user has browsed the vehicle function description display within a set period.
Sugimoto on the other hand teaches acquiring a past browsing history of the vehicle function description display for the user on the basis of a personal authentication result of the user; and preventing the vehicle function description display from being provided to the user in at least one of a case where the number of times the user has previously browsed the vehicle function description display is greater than or equal to a determination threshold value and a case where the user has browsed the vehicle function description display within a set period (Claims 1, 2)
An in-vehicle information display device mounted on a vehicle traveling in a plurality of driving modes. An input device that accepts a selection operation for selecting one of the plurality of driving modes by the driver who drives the vehicle. An identification information acquisition device that acquires identification information for identifying the driver, and A plurality of tutorial screens for executing each of the plurality of tutorials corresponding to each of the plurality of driving modes, a plurality of identification information for identifying each of the plurality of drivers who have driven the vehicle in the past, and the plurality of. A storage device that stores the number of executions of each of the plurality of tutorials collected for each driver, With the selection operation as an opportunity, the activation control of the tutorial corresponding to the selected driving mode is executed, and after the activation of the tutorial, the tutorial screen for executing the activated tutorial is read from the storage device. A control device that executes display control to be displayed on the display device, and The control device identifies and identifies the driver who has performed the selection operation by collating the identification information acquired by the identification information acquisition device with the identification information stored in the storage device. It is determined whether or not the number of executions of the tutorial corresponding to the driving mode selected by the driver has reached the preset number of executions, and the number of executions of the tutorial has reached the preset number of executions. In the case, in-vehicle information that does not execute the activation control of the tutorial when the driving mode corresponding to the tutorial whose execution count has reached the preset number of executions is selected after the next driving mode selection. Display device. If the driver has set not to display the tutorial in the future via the input device, the control device does not execute the activation control of the tutorial set not to display the tutorial. Item 1. The in-vehicle information display device according to item 1. [Cl 1]
Further provided with a vehicle condition information acquisition device for acquiring vehicle condition information regarding at least the periphery of the vehicle and the position of the vehicle. The control device is based on the vehicle condition information, it is determined whether or not the vehicle is in a place where the tutorial can be safely performed. If the vehicle is in a location where the tutorial cannot be safely performed, the activation control of the tutorial will not be executed. If the vehicle is in a location where the tutorial can be safely performed, the activation control of the tutorial is executed.[Cl-2]
Here we see Sugimoto illustrate an in-vehicle information display device that identifies a driver who has performed a selection operation by compiling identification information acquired by an identification information acquisition device with identification information stored in a storage device. Thereafter, determining whether or not the number of executions/applications (based on browsing history) of a tutorial corresponding to a driving mode selected by the identified driver has reached a preset number of executions, and does not execute start-up control of the tutorial when a driving mode corresponding to the tutorial whose number of executions has reached the preset number of executions, is selected after the next driving mode is selected when the number of executions of the tutorial has reached the preset number of executions.
When combining these teachings with Suzuki’s tutorial estimation unit, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt a configuration in which the start-up control of the tutorial is not executed according to the number of executions of the tutorial with respect to the browsing history.
Therefore, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the time of the filing date of the said invention to combine Sugimoto’s teaching with Suzuki’s teaching in order to enable a more secure method for access and control of vehicular operations based on user specific operation.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY D AFRIFA-KYEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686