Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bromley et al (US 4,672,541).
As per claim 1 Bromley et al discloses: A position indicator for indicating a position in a three- dimensional space {Note: When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitations are not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. }, comprising:
a rod-shaped housing 41;
a position indicating part {figure 6, Note: the ball at the end of housing 41} provided at one end in an axial direction of the rod-shaped housing 41; and
a grip part 36 configured to be held by a palm of a user in a state in which a side of the rod- shaped housing, on which the position indicating part is provided, is gripped by a first finger and a second finger different from the first finger of the user, wherein the grip part 36 extends in a direction intersecting the axial direction of the rod- shaped housing {Note: part 36 has width, as a result, it extends in a direction intersecting the axial direction of housing 41}.
As per claim 2 Bromley et al discloses: The position indicator according to claim 1, comprising: an operation part 42 provided on the side of the rod-shaped housing 41, on which the position indicating part is provided, wherein the operation part 42 is operable by the first finger or the second finger when the grip part 36 is held by the palm of the user {figure 6}.
As per claim 3 Bromley et al discloses: The position indicator according to claim 2, comprising: a communication circuit 21 configured to communicate with an external device in response to an operation of the operation part 42 by the user {figure 3}.
As per claim 4 Bromley et al discloses: The position indicator according to claim 1, wherein the grip part 36 includes an operation part 42 operable by the user, the position indicator comprising: a communication circuit 21 configured to communicate with an external device in response to an operation of the operation part 42 by the user {figure 3}.
As per claim 9 Bromley et al discloses: The position indicator according to claim 1, wherein the rod-shaped housing 41 is integrally formed { Note: As the claims are directed to a position indicator, per se, the method limitation "integrally formed" only been accorded weight to the extent that it affects the structure of the completed position indicator. Note that "[d]etermination of patentability in 'product-by-process' claims is based on product itself, even though such claims are limited and defined by process [i.e., "integrally formed"], and thus product in such claim is unpatentable if it is the same as, or obvious form, product of prior art, even if prior product was made by a different process", In re Thorpe, et al., 227 USPQ 964 (CAFC 1985). Furthermore, note that a "[p]roduct-by-process claim, although reciting subject matter of claim in terms of how it is made [i.e., "integrally formed"] is still product claim; it is patentability of product claimed and not recited process steps that must be established, in spite of fact that claim may recite only process limitations", In re Hirao and Sato, 190 USPQ 685 (CCPA 1976) } with the grip part 36 {figure 6}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bromley et al (US 4,672,541) in view of Tamura et al (US 2017/0177099).
Regarding claim 6 Bromley et al is silent as to: the position indicator, in operation, indicates a position on an input surface of a position detection sensor, and the position indicating part is coupled to the position detection sensor by electromagnetic induction. With respect to claim 6 Tamura et al discloses: the position indicating part, in operation, couples to the position detecting sensor by an electromagnetic induction system. { [0198] However, the transmission-type electronic pen of the above-described embodiment can be similarly applied also to the case of a transmission-type electronic pen of the electromagnetic induction system. }
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the device of Bromley et al with the position indicating part, in operation, couples to the position detecting sensor by an electromagnetic induction system as taught by Tamura et al. The rationale is as follow: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a device, such as a pen or position indicator, with a position indicating part, in operation, couples to the position detecting sensor by an electromagnetic induction system so as to provide an intuitive interactive input system for an electronic device.
Claims 7-8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bromley et al (US 4,672,541) in view of Dai et al (US 2014/0354553).
Regarding claim 7 Bromley et al is silent as to: the position indicator, in operation, indicates a position on an input surface of a position detection sensor 29, and the position indicating part 7 is coupled to the position detection sensor 29 by capacitive coupling. With respect to claim 7 Dai et al discloses: [0090] For example, capacitive touchscreens detect touch input when an object (e.g., a fingertip or stylus) distorts or interrupts an electrical current running across the surface.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the device of Bromley et al the position indicator, in operation, indicates a position on an input surface of a position detection sensor, and the position indicating part is coupled to the position detection sensor by capacitive coupling as taught by Dai et al. The rationale is as follow: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a device, such as a pen or position indicator, with the position indicator, in operation, indicates a position on an input surface of a position detection sensor, and the position indicating part is coupled to the position detection sensor by capacitive coupling so as to provide an intuitive interactive input system for an electronic device.
Regarding claim 8 Bromley et al is silent as to: The position indicator according to claim 1, which is configured to input a position into a virtual reality (VR) space. With respect to claim 8 Dai et al discloses: The position indicator according to claim 1, which is configured to input a position into a virtual reality (VR) space. { [0086] Other examples of a NUI include motion gesture detection using accelerometers/gyroscopes, facial recognition, 3D displays, head, eye, and gaze tracking, immersive augmented reality and virtual reality systems, all of which provide a more natural interface, as well as technologies for sensing brain activity using electric field sensing electrodes (EEG and related methods). }
Regarding claim 12 Bromley et al is silent as to: The position detection system according to claim 10, comprising: a display configured to display a trajectory of a position indicated by the position indicator, wherein an image including the trajectory of the indicated position displayed on the display is a virtual reality (VR) image. With respect to claim 12 Dai et al discloses: The position detection system according to claim 10, comprising: a display configured to display a trajectory of a position indicated by the position indicator, wherein an image including the trajectory of the indicated position displayed on the display is a virtual reality (VR) image. {[0086] Other examples of a NUI include motion gesture detection using accelerometers/gyroscopes. facial recognition, 3D displays, head, eye, and gaze tracking, immersive augmented reality and virtual reality systems, all of which provide a more natural interface, as well as technologies for sensing brain activity using electric field sensing electrodes (EEG and related methods). }
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the position indicator of VEESER et al to input a position into a virtual reality (VR) space as taught by Dai et al. The rationale is as follow: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide the position indicator to input a position into a virtual reality (VR) space so as to provide the user with an immersive and realistic experience.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID D DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627
DDD