DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 34, 35, 39 and 45-52 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on January 21, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 36-38 and 42-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018117160 A1 (Yusa) abstract and machine translation per IDS filed 9/12/2025.
Yusa discloses a method for producing a resin composition containing a thermoplastic resin (meets Applicant’s first polymer) and cellulose nanofibers (meets Applicant’s organic fiber) comprising kneading the thermoplastic resin and cellulose nanofibers in a multi-zoned extruder. Specifically, Yusa discloses an extruder (Fig. 2) having the configuration
with a “high pressure” zone 22 [0071] and a “reduced pressure” zone 23 [0071] (meets Applicant’s extruder with a plurality of pressure zones), wherein the pressure in the “high pressure” zone 22 is 3 to 20 MPa [0030] (meets Applicant’s pressure [P1] of 0.5 MPa or higher) and the pressure in the “reduced pressure” zone 23 is necessarily lower than that of zone 22 (e.g., abstract, [0008], [0010], [0016-0017], [0027-0030], [0062-0075], Example 1, Figures 2 and 3, claims). Specifically, Yusa discloses that the molten resin flowing into zone 23 experiences a slow and “gradual pressure reduction” and, as a result, a “rapid pressure reduction of the molten resin can be prevented” [0069].
In Example 1, Yusa discloses the production of a resin composition which comprises kneading (meets Applicant’s kneading step) an ABS resin (meets Applicant’s first polymer), a block copolymer of nylon and polyethylene oxide (meets Applicant’s first polymer or second polymer) and cellulose nanofibers (meets Applicant’s organic fiber) in the above-described multi-zoned extruder, wherein the pressure in the high pressure zone 22 is about 10 MPa [0081] and the pressure in the reduced pressure zone 23 is slowly and “gradually reduced” so as to prevent a sudden rapid pressure reduction [0069].
In essence, Yusa differs from claim 36 in neither explicitly disclosing the pressure in the reduced pressure zone 23 nor defining the ratio of the pressure in the high pressure zone 22 to the pressure in the reduced pressure zone 23. With respect to the first difference, Yusa clearly discloses that the molten resin flowing into zone 23 experiences a slow and “gradual pressure reduction” to prevent a rapid pressure reduction. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use a reduced pressure in zone 23 that is not drastically lower than the about 10 MPa pressure of zone 22 (e.g., 9 MPa), so as to maintain a slow and gradual pressure reduction and prevent a sudden and rapid pressure reduction. As to the second difference, since the pressure in zone 22 is about 10 MPa and the pressure in zone 23 would be slightly reduced, e.g., 9 MPa, the pressure ratio of zone 22/zone 23 [P1]/[P2] would be greater than 1 (e.g. 10/9) (meets Applicant’s [P1/P2] and [P1/P3] ratios of “greater than 1”). Accordingly, it is within the purview of Yusa’s inventive disclosure, and obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, to use an extruder having multiple pressure zones wherein zone 22 has a high pressure of about 10 MPa (meets Applicant’s first high pressure zone with the highest pressure [P1] of 0.5 MPa or higher) and zone 23 has similarly high pressure, e.g., 9 MPa (meets Applicant’s second high pressure zone with a pressure [P2] of 0.1 MPa or higher), giving rise to a ratio of zone 22 pressure/zone 23 pressure of greater than 1 (e.g. 10/9) (meets Applicant’s [P1/P2] and [P1/P3] ratios of “greater than 1”).
As to claim 37, the pressure of the outflow resin material in zone 22 is necessarily lower than its inflow and the pressure of the resin material outflow in zone 23 is lower than its inflow due to the gradual pressure reduction via vacuum pump P. It is within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art to determine the pressure drop in an extruder zone based on factors such as type of thermoplastic material, viscosity of the melt and screw geometry. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to appropriately determine a suitable inflow/outflow pressure drop (inclusive of that presently claimed) in accordance with the selected thermoplastic resin with the reasonable expectation of success
As to claim 38, Yusa’s compositions contain 0.1 to 50 wt.% carbon nanofibers, based on the thermoplastic resin [0021]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use a carbon nanofiber content falling within the presently claimed scope with the reasonable expectation of success in accordance with the desired properties.
As to claim 42, Yusa discloses cellulose nanofibers.
As to claim 43, Yusa’s cellulose nanofibers have a diameter of 4 to 100 nm and a length of 1 µm (1000 nm) or more [0017], which would necessarily engender a length/diameter ratio of greater than 30.
As to claim 44, Yusa discloses [0029] the form of the cellulose nanofibers “is not particularly limited and, may be, for example, a dry powdered” material, thus rendering obvious the use of cellulose nanofibers in dry form.6. Claims 40 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018117160 A1 (Yusa) described hereinabove in view of JP 2018009095 A (Yamada) abstract and machine translation per IDS filed 9/12/2025.
It is within the purview of Yusa’s inventive disclosure [0016], and obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, to prepare resin compositions wherein the cellulose nanofibers are uniformly dispersed in a polyamide as the thermoplastic resin. Yusa discloses that the method for producing the resin composition “is not particularly limited” [0027], thus implying that any suitable method that achieves a uniform cellulose nanofiber dispersion can be satisfactorily used. In this respect, Yamada discloses a method for producing similar-such resin compositions wherein the dispersed cellulose nanofibers are made finer by using a masterbatch technique. Specifically, Yamada’s examples expressly show a production process which includes a first step in which polyamide is mixed with raw cellulose chips in an extruder to form a polyamide/cellulose nanofiber masterbatch wherein the cellulose chips form nanosized fibers (meets Applicant’s dispersive mixing step wherein the size of the organic fibers changes) and a second step in which the polyamide/cellulose nanofiber masterbatch is further diluted with additional polyamide (meets Applicant’s distributive mixing step), wherein the cellulose nanofiber content in the masterbatch is 31.6 wt.% (meets Applicant’s [CA] concentration), the cellulose nanofiber content in the final composition is 10 wt.% (meets Applicant’s [CB] concentration), and the ratio of the cellulose nanofiber content in the masterbatch relative to final composition is ~3 (meets Applicant’s [CA]/[CB] ratio). Thus, it would have been within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a masterbatch technique as taught by Yamada to produce Yusa’s resin compositions comprising a uniform dispersion of cellulose nanofibers in polyamide.
As to claim 41, Yamada clearly discloses that the kneading/mixing temperature “is more than the melting fusing point (or softening point) of resin (polyamide resin and 2nd resin” (page 12). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to add the cellulose material to a polyamide melt with the reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments filed June 17, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in overcoming the 35 USC 103 rejections over WO 2018117160 A1 (Yusa).
Applicant’s argument that Yasu’s reduced pressure zone 23 does not correspond to the claimed “high-pressure” zone and that Yasu does not expressly or inherently disclose that the reduced-pressure zone satisfies the claimed minimum pressure of 0.1 MPa or higher is not agreed with. Yusa clearly discloses that the molten resin flowing into zone 23 experiences a slow and “gradual pressure reduction” and, as a result, a “rapid pressure reduction of the molten resin can be prevented”. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use a reduced pressure in zone 23 of the extruder per Example 1 that is not drastically lower than the about 10 MPa pressure of zone 22 (e.g., 9 MPa), so as to maintain a slow and gradual pressure reduction and prevent a sudden and rapid pressure reduction. To the extent that the reduced pressure in zone 23 would not be drastically different from the about 10 MPa pressure in zone 22, such would satisfy the claimed minimum pressure of 0.1 MPa or higher. That is, since zone 22 and zone 23 each necessarily have a pressure of 0.1 MPa or higher, said zones meet the “plurality of high-pressure zones at a pressure of 0.1 MPa or higher” required by claim 36.
Applicant asserts that since Yusa uses zone 23 to remove solvent and water, it would be expected that the pressure in zone 23 would be sufficiently reduced to less than atmospheric pressure, i.e., 0.1 MPa. Yusa, however, clearly counsels against a sudden and rapid pressure reduction in zone 23 [0069] and instead mandates that the pressure in zone 23 be slowly and “gradually reduced”. Thus, having the pressure in zone 23 below 0.1 Mpa, as asserted by Applicant, would constitute a drastic and sudden rapid pressure reduction, which is a complete departure from Yusa’s aim to prevent a rapid pressure reduction. That is, while Yusa does not explicitly disclose the pressure in zone 23, given that zone 23 experiences a “gradual” reduction in pressure from the 3-20 MPa pressure used in zone 22, it is reasonably presumed that said gradually reduced pressure would be slightly lower than 3-20 MPa and ≥ 0.1 MPa.
8. Applicant's arguments filed June 17, 2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive in overcoming the 35 USC 112 rejection
Conclusion
9. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANA L. WOODWARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765