Detailed Action
2. In this Office Action (OA), claims 1-4 and 6-20 are currently pending. Claim 5 is cancelled.
Response to Arguments
3. In Remarks, applicant mainly argues for the amended claim limitations “receive, from the second terminal device, at least one sidelink transmission on at least one sidelink resource determined based on the transmitted information which is related to the consistent LBT failure, and which comprises the indication of the sidelink resource block set”.
Initially, it’s to note that claim does not specifically define what are involved in “the indication …”. See MPEP 2111. In fact, Lee explains a one-octet LBT failure MAC CE (par. 0290) and a 4-octet LBT failure MAC CE (par. 0291 and fig. 12). One of ordinary skill in the art could have included a one-octet or 4-octet LBT failure MAC CE in a feedback or a report or a transmission. The evidence could be found in newly cited prior art Alfarhan. See par. 0167-0170 and fig. 3 of Alfarhan as explained in the claim rejection set forth below.
Examiner notes recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4.Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
6. Claims 1-4 and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. Pub. No.: US 2024/0008077 A1 in view of Lee et al. Pub. No.: US 2025/0392932 A1 and Alfarhan et al. Pub No.: US 2024/0298350 A1.
Claim 1
Han discloses a first terminal device (terminal device 120-1 in fig. 1-2) comprising:
at least one processor (terminal device in fig. 1-2 for processor 410 in fig. 4); and
at least one memory (memory 420 in fig. 4) storing instructions (prog 430 in fig. 4) that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the first terminal device (processor in fig. 4 would be executing program in memory of fig. 4 for terminal in fig. 1 to perform the steps depicted in fig. 2) at least to:
determine that a consistent listen-before-talk, LBT, failure on a set of sidelink resource is detected (steps 220-240 in fig. 2); and
transmit, to at least one of a second terminal device or a network device, information related to the consistent LBT failure (par. 0057, if the sidelink consistent LBT failure is detected by the terminal device 120-1, the terminal device can transmit a report associated with the sidelink consistent LBT failure to the network device, the number of failure or BWP could be information related).
Although Han does not explicitly show: “a sidelink resource block set; and transmit, to at least one of a second terminal device or a network device, information related to the consistent LBT failure, wherein the information comprises an indication of the sidelink resource block set; and receive, from the second terminal device, at least one sidelink transmission on at least one sidelink resource determined based on the transmitted information which is related to the consistent LBT failure, and which comprises the indication of the sidelink resource block set”, the claim limitations are considered obvious by the following rationales.
Firstly, to address the obviousness of the claim limitation “a sidelink resource block set”, initially, it’s to note that claim does not specifically define what are required to be the sidelink resource block set. See MPEP 2111. In fact, Han discloses an LBT failure MAC CE for sidelink with one octet (par. 0097-0098 and fig. 3A) and with 2 octets (fig. 3B and par. 0101-0102). Hence, fig. 3A-B of Han would have rendered the claimed feature “a sidelink resource block set” unless claim further recites what are required to be the SL RB set. Given the prosecution history, applicant is encouraged to consider all the possibilities and further evidence is provided herein to advance the prosecution. In particular, Lee teaches a consistent SL LBT failure for at least one of the first RB set among the plurality of SL resource pools and the plurality of RB sets (S920 in fig. 9).
Secondly, to address the obviousness of the claim limitations “wherein the information comprises an indication of the sidelink resource block set”, recall that recall that Han discloses a MAC CE related to a consistent SL LBT failure for at least the SL RB set including an indication for resource pool with one octet for indicating the resource pool (fig. 3A-B and par. 0097-0098 & 0101-0102). Again, fig. 3A-B of Han would have rendered the addressing claim limitation obvious. Given the prosecution history, applicant is encouraged to consider all the possibilities and further evidence is provided herein to advance the prosecution. In particular, Lee teaches reporting a MAC CE related to a consistent SL LBT failure for the resource pool or the SL RB set among the plurality of RB sets (S1020 from fig. 10 and see par. 0195, 0197 & 0298).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify sidelink communication and terminal device of Han by providing sidelink communication in wireless communication system as taught in Lee. Such a modification would have provided a sidelink resource pool to configure a plurality of resource block sets so that a second SL resource could be effectively selected from a consistent SL LBT failure report as suggested in par. 0008-0009 of Lee.
Lastly, to show the obviousness of the amended claim limitations “receive, from the second terminal device, at least one sidelink transmission on at least one sidelink resource determined based on the transmitted information which is related to the consistent LBT failure, and which comprises the indication of the sidelink resource block set”, initially, it’s to note that claim does not specifically define what are involved in the indication such as a bit, a required protocol, a frame format. Recall that Han discloses transmitting a the sidelink consistent LBT failure to the network device (par. 0057) and Lee discloses transmitting a MAC CE related to a consistent SL LBT failure for one of the first SL resource block RB set (S1020 in fig. 10) and a one-octet or 4-octet LBT failure MAC CE (par. 0290-0291). With these teachings from Han and Lee, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the combined teaching of Han and Lee to perform equally well to the amended claim limitations. See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F. To advance the prosecution, further evidence is provided herein. In particular, Alfarhan teaches reporting a consistent SL LBT failure CSLF (par. 0166 and 0308 of fig. 3) that may indicate the SL LBT failure MAC CE with the associated SL resource (par. 0167-0170).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify sidelink communication and terminal device of Han in view of Lee by providing sidelink communication in wireless communication system as taught in Alfarhan to obtain the claimed invention as specified in the claim. Such a modification would have provided a wireless transmission and receive unit WTRU a listen before talk LBT procedure to handle consistent sidelink SL listen-before-talk LBT failures so that the collision avoidance could not have wasted the resource block repetitively as suggested in par. 0002-0008 of Alfarhan.
Claim 2
Han, in view of Lee and Alfarhan, discloses the first terminal device of claim 1, wherein the first terminal device is caused to transmit the information to the second terminal device (Han, fig. 2-3) by:
based on determining that the first terminal device is out of coverage (Han, detecting energy level with a threshold in par. 0039) of the network device, transmit the information to the second terminal device (Lee, the communication range requirement to the longest communication range value in par. 0500-0501; since claim does not specifically define what are involved in out of coverage of the network device such as signal strength, no connection, ranging, distance measurement or GPS, it’ll be routine skill in the art to make UE in the combination of prior art to report including communication range instead of SL RB set or in addition to SL RB set; see MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale C; see out of coverage evidence in par. 0048 & 0053 Ganesan et al. Pub. No.: US 2022/0225290 A1).
Claim 3
Han, in view of Lee and Alfarhan, discloses the first terminal device of claim 1, wherein the first terminal device is caused to transmit the information to the network device by:
based on determining that the first terminal device is in coverage of the network device, transmit the information to the network device (Han, as depicted in fig. 1-2 and par. 0057-0058, the terminal device 120-1 will report to the network device; Lee, the communication range requirement to the longest communication range value in par. 0500-0501; accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the claim to perform equally well with the combined prior art).
Claim 4
Han, in view of Lee and Alfarhan, discloses the first terminal device of claim 1, wherein the information comprises at least one of the following:
an indication that the consistent LBT failure is detected on the sidelink resource block set (Han, fig. 3A-B; sidelink LBT failure indication is counted per resource pool or per BWP in par. 0157 and see par. 0058-0061 for report 1 in mode 1 for selecting resource in indication; Lee, fig. 3 & 9-11); or
an indication of a duration of the consistent LBT failure (Han, 240 in fig. 2 and par. 0106; Lee, COT duration for failing LBT in par. 0409; Alfarhan, a time duration associated with CSLF in par. 0094 & 0178 and CSLF counter and timer configuration in par. 0119; it’s to note that claim recites Markush Form for alternative limitations and thus, the combined prior art reads on the claim, see MPEP 2117 Markush Claim).
Claim 6
Han, in view of Lee and Alfarhan, discloses the first terminal device of claim 1, wherein the at least one sidelink resource is mapped to at least one physical sidelink feedback channel, PSFCH (Lee, PSFCH in fig. 11 and see fig. 6 also), resource different from the sidelink resource block set (Han fig. 3A-B; Lee, reselected resource sidelink in fig. 11), and the first terminal device is further caused to:
transmit a hybrid automatic repeat request, HARQ, feedback to the second terminal device for the at least one sidelink transmission (Lee, sidelink retransmission in fig. 11, HARQ in par. 0110 & 0114 and see fig. 7a; accordingly, the combined prior art renders the claim obvious).
Claim 7
Han, in view of Lee and Alfarhan, discloses the first terminal device of claim 1, wherein the at least one sidelink resource is mapped to at least one PSFCH resource in the sidelink resource block set (Lee, a PSFCH for feedback information in par. 0126, and par. 0136-0137 & 0140-0141 would compare the resource to know when to transmit PSFCH transmission and determine the number of available PSFCH), and the first terminal device is further caused to:
receive, from the second terminal device, an indication of disabling a HARQ feedback from the first terminal device to the second terminal device for the at least one sidelink transmission (Lee, par. 0139, the HARQ feedback enabled/disabled indicator field in par. 0139 and see par. 0211; for these reasons, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the combined prior art to perform equally well to the claim).
Claim 8
Han, in view of Lee and Alfarhan, discloses the first terminal device of claim 1, wherein the sidelink resource bock set (Han, sidelink bandwidth part SL-BWP in par. 0047 & 0057 and fig. 3A-B) comprise at least one of the following:
at least one resource block, RB, set (Han, see fig. 3A-B and fig. 3 of Lee);
at least one resource pool (Han, fig. 3A-B for resource pool); or
at least one bandwidth part (Han, SL-BWP in par. 0051; changing SL BWP in S1140 in fig. 11 of Lee; therefore, the combined prior art meets the claim condition; see MPEP 2117 Markush claims).
Claim 9
Han disclose a network device (network device 110 in fig. 1-4) comprising:
at least one processor (processor 410 in fig. 4 in par. 0115-0016); and
at least one memory (memory 420 in fig. 4) storing instructions (prog 430 in fig. 4) that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the network device (network device in fig. 1-4 would perform by executing the program in memory with the processor) at least to:
receive, from a first terminal device (terminal device 120-1 in fig. 1-4), first information related to a consistent listen-before-talk, LBT, failure, which is detected by the first terminal device on a set of sidelink resources (240-260 in fig. 2; par. 0057, if the sidelink consistent LBT failure is detected by the terminal device 120-1, the terminal device can transmit a report associated with the sidelink consistent LBT failure to the network device, the number of failure or BWP could be information related).
Although Han does not explicitly show: “a sidelink resource block set; wherein the information comprises an indication of the sidelink resource block set; and transmit, to a second terminal device, second information determined based on the first information which is related to the consistent LBT failure detected by the first terminal device on the sidelink resource block set, and which comprises the indication of the sidelink resource block set”, the claim limitations are considered obvious by the following rationales.
Firstly, to address the obviousness of the claim limitation “a sidelink resource block set”, initially, it’s to note that claim does not specifically define what are required to be the sidelink resource block set. See MPEP 2111. In fact, Han discloses an LBT failure MAC CE for sidelink with one octet (par. 0097-0098 and fig. 3A) and with 2 octets (fig. 3B and par. 0101-0102). Hence, fig. 3A-B of Han would have rendered the claimed feature “a sidelink resource block set” unless claim further recites what are required to be the SL RB set. Given the prosecution history, applicant is encouraged to consider all the possibilities and further evidence is provided herein to advance the prosecution. In particular, Lee teaches a consistent SL LBT failure for at least one of the first RB set among the plurality of SL resource pools and the plurality of RB sets (S920 in fig. 9).
Secondly, to address the obviousness of the claim limitations “wherein the information comprises an indication of the sidelink resource block set”, recall that recall that Han discloses a MAC CE related to a consistent SL LBT failure for at least the SL RB set including an indication for resource pool with one octet for indicating the resource pool (fig. 3A-B and par. 0097-0098 & 0101-0102). Again, fig. 3A-B of Han would have rendered the addressing claim limitation obvious. Given the prosecution history, applicant is encouraged to consider all the possibilities and further evidence is provided herein to advance the prosecution. In particular, Lee teaches reporting a MAC CE related to a consistent SL LBT failure for the resource pool or the SL RB set among the plurality of RB sets (S1020 from fig. 10 and see par. 0195, 0197 & 0298).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify sidelink communication and terminal device of Han by providing sidelink communication in wireless communication system as taught in Lee. Such a modification would have provided a sidelink resource pool to configure a plurality of resource block sets so that a second SL resource could be effectively selected from a consistent SL LBT failure report as suggested in par. 0008-0009 of Lee.
Lastly, to address the obviousness of the claim limitations “transmit, to a second terminal device, second information determined based on the first information which is related to the consistent LBT failure detected by the first terminal device on the sidelink resource block set, and which comprises the indication of the sidelink resource block set”, initially, it’s to note that claim does not specifically define what are involved in the indication and what the second information is or are expect related to the first information. Han discloses transmitting a the sidelink consistent LBT failure to the network device (par. 0057) and Lee discloses transmitting a MAC CE related to a consistent SL LBT failure for one of the first SL resource block RB set (S1020 in fig. 10) and a one-octet or 4-octet LBT failure MAC CE (par. 0290-0291). With these teachings from Han and Lee, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the combined teaching of Han and Lee to perform equally well to the amended claim limitations. See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F. To advance the prosecution, further evidence is provided herein. In particular, Alfarhan teaches reporting a consistent SL LBT failure CSLF (par. 0166 and 0308 of fig. 3) that may indicate the SL LBT failure MAC CE with the associated SL resource (par. 0167-0170), relay the TB that failed LBT, the SL LBT failure MAC CE (par. 0167-0167, TB or SL channel that failed the SL LBT, out of network coverage in CSLF report may be reasonably interpreted as second information, see MPEP 2111).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify sidelink communication and terminal device of Han in view of Lee by providing sidelink communication in wireless communication system as taught in Alfarhan to obtain the claimed invention as specified in the claim. Such a modification would have provided a wireless transmission and receive unit WTRU a listen before talk LBT procedure to handle consistent sidelink SL listen-before-talk LBT failures so that the collision avoidance could not have wasted the resource block repetitively as suggested in par. 0002-0008 of Alfarhan.
Claim 10
Han, in view of Lee and Alfarhan, discloses the network device of claim 9, wherein the first information comprises at least one of the following:
an indication that the consistent LBT failure is detected on the sidelink resource block set (Han, sidelink LBT failure indication is counted per resource pool or per BWP in par. 0157 and see par. 0058-0061 for report 1 in mode 1 for selecting resource in indication; fig. 9-11 of Lee); or
an indication of a duration of the consistent LBT failure ((Han, 240 in fig. 2 and par. 0106; Lee, COT duration for failing LBT in par. 0409; Alfarhan, a time duration associated with CSLF in par. 0094 & 0178 and CSLF counter and timer configuration in par. 0119; it’s to note that claim recites Markush Form for alternative limitations and thus, the combined prior art reads on the claim, see MPEP 2117 Markush Claim).
Claim 11
Han, in view of Lee and Alfarhan, discloses the network device of claim 10, wherein the sidelink resource block set (Han, fig. 3A-B, sidelink bandwidth part SL-BWP in par. 0047 & 0057; fig. 3 of Lee) comprise at least one of the following:
at least one resource block, RB, set (Han, see fig. 3A-B and fig. 3 of Lee);
at least one resource pool (Han, fig. 3A-B for resource pool); or
at least one bandwidth part (Han, SL-BWP in par. 0051; changing SL BWP in S1140 in fig. 11 of Lee; therefore, the combined prior art meets the claim condition; see MPEP 2117 Markush claims).
Claim 12
Han, in view of Lee and Alfarhan, discloses the network device of claim 10, wherein the first information is received from the first terminal device in the event that the first terminal device is in coverage (Han, detecting energy level with a threshold in par. 0039) of the network device (Han, as depicted in fig. 1-2 and par. 0057-0058, the terminal device 120-1 will report to the network device; Alfarhan, if it’s in coverage in par. 0169 in view of fig. 3-4; accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the claim to perform equally well with the combined prior art).
Claim 13
Han, in view of Lee and Alfarhan, discloses the network device of claim 10, wherein the network device is caused to transmit the second information to the second terminal device by:
based on determining that the second terminal device is in coverage of the network device (Han, as depicted in fig. 1-2 and par. 0057-0058, the terminal device 120-1 will report to the network device; Alfarhan, if it’s in coverage in par. 0169 in view of fig. 3-4;), transmit the second information to the second terminal device (Han, as depicted in fig. 1, the network device may communicate with the second terminal; Alfarhan, see fig. 3-4 in view of par. 0167-0170; accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the claim to perform equally well with the combined prior art).
Claim 14
Han, in view of Lee and Alfarhan, discloses the network device of claim 10, wherein the second information comprises at least one of the following:
an indication that the consistent LBT failure is detected on the sidelink resource block set (Han, sidelink LBT failure indication is counted per resource pool or per BWP in par. 0157 and see par. 0058-0061 for report 1 in mode 1 for selecting resource in indication; fig. 9-11 of Lee);
an indication of a duration of the consistent LBT failure (Han, 240 in fig. 2 and par. 0106; Lee, COT duration for failing LBT in par. 0409; Alfarhan, a time duration associated with CSLF in par. 0094 & 0178 and CSLF counter and timer configuration in par. 0119); or
an indication of the sidelink resource block set (Han, par. 0106; it’s to note that claim recites Markush Form for alternative limitations and thus, the combined prior art reads on the claim, see MPEP 2117 Markush Claim).
Claim 15
Han, in view of Lee and Alfarhan, discloses the network device of claim 10, wherein the second information comprises an indication of at least one sidelink resource allocated for at least one sidelink transmission (Han fig. 3A-B; Lee, reselected resource sidelink in fig. 11) to be transmitted from the second terminal device to the first terminal device (fig. 11 of Lee.
the first terminal device of claim 1, wherein the first terminal device is further caused to:
receive, from the second terminal device (fig. 2 of Alfarhan), at least one sidelink transmission on at least one sidelink resource determined based on the information (Lee, S1130 & S1170 in fig. 11; for these reasons, the combined prior art renders the claim obvious).
Claim 16-20
Claims 16-20 are method claims corresponding to device claims 1-4 and 8. All of the limitations in claims 16-20 are found reciting the same scopes of the respective limitations of claims 1-4 and 8. Accordingly, claims 16-20 are considered obvious by the same rationales applied in the rejection of claims 1-4 and 8 respectively set forth above.
Contact Information
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jinsong Hu can be reached on 5712723965. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/SAN HTUN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643