DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments that the art of record used in the non-final rejection fails to disclose the details regarding the back support is accurate, though Brackin (US 20080142271 A1) discloses this feature as discussed infra.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 14-18, 23, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (US 20080296070 A1) in light of Brackin (US 20080142271 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Shen discloses a fixed cutter drill bit for drilling an earthen formation, the drill bit comprising: a bit body having a central axis and a bit face, wherein the bit body is configured to rotate about the central axis in a cutting direction of rotation, wherein the bit face includes a concave cone region extending radially from the central axis, a convex shoulder region extending radially from the cone region, a nose at the intersection of the cone region and the shoulder region, and a gage region extending radially from the shoulder region to a full gage diameter of the drill bit; a cutting structure disposed on the bit face, wherein the cutting structure includes a primary blade extending radially from proximal the bit axis through the cone region and the shoulder region to the gage region, wherein the blade has a leading side relative to the cutting direction of rotation, a trailing side relative to the cutting direction of rotation, and a cutter-supporting surface extending from the leading side to the trailing side (clearly shown in figs. 5, 7); and a plurality of cutter elements (310, 371, 350) mounted to the cutter-supporting surface of the primary blade in the cone region, the shoulder region, and the gage region (shown in fig. 7A), high aspect ratio cutters in the cone region (fig. 7A shows this, pgph. 51) wherein the cutter elements are arranged in a row proximal the leading side of the primary blade and extending radially from the cone region proximal the bit axis to a gage area extending from the primary blade (shown in figs. 5, 7A); wherein each cutter element has an exposure H measured perpendicularly from the cutter-supporting surface of the primary blade to a cutting tip of the cutter element distal the primary blade (shown in fig. 7A); wherein the exposure H of one or more of the cutter elements in the cone region (310) is greater than the exposure H of one or more cutter elements in the shoulder region and the gage region (371) and a gage pad (pgph. 72), wherein each high-aspect ratio cutter element has a central axis, a leading end relative to the cutting direction of rotation, a trailing end relative to the cutting direction of rotation and opposite the leading end, and a cutting face at the leading end (shown in fig. 6); wherein a back support of the primary blade (portion of blade 308 encompassed in the extent of B in fig. 6) extends from the cutter-supporting surface of the primary blade in the cone region, wherein the back support has a central axis, a leading end that engages the trailing end of one of the high-aspect ratio cutter elements in the cone region, a trailing end opposite the leading end of the back support, and an outer surface extending along a path moving along the central axis of the back support from the leading end of the back support to the trailing end of the back support (shown in fig. 6).
However, Shen fails to disclose the back support extending along a helical path from the leading to the trailing end.
Nevertheless, Brackin discloses providing a back support (members 60, 60a-k) in a cone section of blades 18a-e (figs. 3A, 3B) which extend in a helical path (shown in figs. 3a, 3b, pgphs. 59, 60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided Shen with helically extending back supports as taught by Brackin (pgphs. 59, 60) in order to provide stabilizing contact with a portion of a bottomhole pattern form by a cutting element during drilling and to minimize vibration as taught by Brackin (pgphs. 45, 54, 55).
With respect to claim 2, Shen further discloses wherein each high-aspect ratio cutter element has a central axis, a leading end relative to the cutting direction of rotation, a trailing end relative to the cutting direction of rotation and opposite the leading end, a cutting face at the leading end, a longitudinal axis oriented perpendicular to the central axis, a length measured parallel to the longitudinal axis and a width measured perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, wherein the central axis intersects the leading end and the trailing end; wherein each high-aspect ratio cutter element has an aspect ratio equal to the ratio of the length of the high-aspect ratio cutter element to the width of the high- aspect ratio cutter element, wherein the aspect ratio of each high-aspect ratio cutter element is greater than 1.0 and less than or equal to 2.0 (pgph. 47).
With respect to claim 14, Shen further discloses wherein the plurality of cutter elements comprise the plurality of high-aspect ratio cutter elements arranged in the row extending radially from proximal the central axis (the rightmost instance of 310 in fig. 7A is proximal the axis 310, despite the presence of 350 which is more proximal the axis) of the drill bit through the cone region and into the shoulder region (fig. 7A shows this); and a low-aspect ratio cutter element (371) arranged in the row and extending radially from the plurality of high-aspect ratio cutter elements in the shoulder region through the shoulder region and the gage region (shown in fig. 7A).
However, Shen fails to disclose multiple elements 371 in the gage region.
Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used multiple low-aspect ratio cutters in the gage region extending to the gage pad of Shen since this is merely duplication of parts which would have resulted in a bit which functioned in the same way with predictable and obvious results and a reasonable expectation for success.
With respect to claim 15, Shen further discloses wherein the plurality of cutter elements comprise the plurality of high-aspect ratio cutter elements arranged in the row extending radially from proximal the central axis of the drill bit through the cone region and the shoulder region to the gage region a plurality of low-aspect ratio cutter elements arranged in the row and extending radially through the gage region to the gage pad (shown in fig. 7A, discussed supra with respect to the multiple low-aspect cutters).
With respect to claim 16, Shen further discloses wherein each high-aspect ratio cutter element has a central axis, a leading end relative to the cutting direction of rotation, a trailing end relative to the cutting direction of rotation and opposite the leading end, a cutting face at the leading end, a longitudinal axis oriented perpendicular to the central axis, wherein the central axis intersects the leading end and the trailing end; wherein one or more of the high-aspect ratio cutter element is oriented at a non- zero tilt angle a measured in a front view of the primary blade from the longitudinal axis of the high-aspect ratio cutter element to a reference axis A passing through a cutting tip of the high-aspect ratio cutter element and oriented perpendicular to a cutting profile of the plurality of cutter elements mounted to the primary blade (figs. 7B, 7C show this).
With respect to claim 23, Shen further discloses wherein each high-aspect ratio cutter element has an exposure H measured perpendicularly from the cutter-supporting surface of the corresponding primary blade to a cutting tip of the high-aspect ratio cutter element distal the corresponding primary blade; wherein each low-aspect ratio cutter element has an exposure H measured perpendicularly from the cutter-supporting surface of the corresponding primary blade to a cutting tip of the low-aspect ratio cutter element distal the corresponding primary blade; wherein the exposure H of one or more high-aspect ratio cutter elements is greater than the exposure H of each low-aspect ratio cutter element (fig. 7A shows this).
The limitations of claims 17, 18, and 26 are substantially similar to those of claims 1, 2, 14, 15, and 16, rejected supra.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10, 11, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vempati (US 20110073369 A1), hereinafter Vem, in light of Fuller (US 5649604 A) and Brackin (US 20080142271 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Vem discloses a fixed cutter drill bit for drilling an earthen formation, the drill bit comprising: a bit body having a central axis and a bit face, wherein the bit body is configured to rotate about the central axis in a cutting direction of rotation, wherein the bit face includes a concave cone region extending radially from the central axis, a convex shoulder region extending radially from the cone region, a nose at the intersection of the cone region and the shoulder region, and a gage region extending radially from the shoulder region to a full gage diameter of the drill bit; a cutting structure disposed on the bit face, wherein the cutting structure includes a primary blade extending radially from proximal the bit axis through the cone region and the shoulder region to the gage region, wherein the blade has a leading side relative to the cutting direction of rotation, a trailing side relative to the cutting direction of rotation, and a cutter-supporting surface extending from the leading side to the trailing side (clearly shown in figs. 1-3); and a plurality of cutter elements (135) mounted to the cutter-supporting surface of the primary blade in the cone region, the shoulder region, and the gage region (shown in fig. 3), wherein the cutter elements are arranged in a row proximal the leading side of the primary blade and extending radially from the cone region proximal the bit axis to a gage area extending from the primary blade (shown in figs. 1-3); wherein each cutter element has an exposure H measured perpendicularly from the cutter-supporting surface of the primary blade to a cutting tip of the cutter element distal the primary blade (pgph. 34); wherein the exposure H of one or more of the cutter elements in the cone region is greater than the exposure H of one or more cutter elements in the shoulder region and the gage region (pgphs. 34, 36), wherein each high-aspect ratio cutter element has a central axis, a leading end relative to the cutting direction of rotation, a trailing end relative to the cutting direction of rotation and opposite the leading end, and a cutting face at the leading end (shown in figs. 1, 2); wherein a back support of the primary blade (shown in figs. 1, 2) extends from the cutter-supporting surface of the primary blade in the cone region, wherein the back support has a central axis, a leading end that engages the trailing end of one of the high-aspect ratio cutter elements in the cone region, a trailing end opposite the leading end of the back support, and an outer surface extending along a path moving along the central axis of the back support from the leading end of the back support to the trailing end of the back support (shown in figs. 1, 2).
However, while Vem discloses a gage region and mentions a gage pad in pgph. 6, he fails to specifically disclose the use of a gage pad and fails to disclose the high-aspect cutters in the cone region.
Nevertheless, Fuller discloses using high-aspect ratio cutters in the cone region (figs. 1, 8, col. 8 ll. 6-10), Fuller also discloses a gage pad (col. 8 ll. 65-67). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used partial-circular cutters in the cone region of Vem and also to have included a gage pad in Vem as taught by Fuller since this is the application of a known technique in a similar device to improve it in the same way with predictable and obvious results and a reasonable expectation for success and in order to form an upstanding core which will enhance bit stability as taught by Fuller (col. 2 ll. 42-47, col. 4 ll. 29-32, col. 8 ll. 6-10). The partial circular cutters are high-aspect ratio since the height will be greater than the width.
Vem further fails to disclose the back support extending along a helical path from the leading to the trailing end.
Nevertheless, Brackin discloses providing a back support (members 60, 60a-k) in a cone section of blades 18a-e (figs. 3A, 3B) which extend in a helical path (shown in figs. 3a, 3b, pgphs. 59, 60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided Vem with helically extending back supports as taught by Brackin (pgphs. 59, 60) in order to provide stabilizing contact with a portion of a bottomhole pattern form by a cutting element during drilling and to minimize vibration as taught by Brackin (pgphs. 45, 54, 55).
With respect to claim 2, Fuller further discloses wherein each high-aspect ratio cutter element has a central axis, a leading end relative to the cutting direction of rotation, a trailing end relative to the cutting direction of rotation and opposite the leading end, a cutting face at the leading end, a longitudinal axis oriented perpendicular to the central axis, a length measured parallel to the longitudinal axis and a width measured perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, wherein the central axis intersects the leading end and the trailing end; wherein each high-aspect ratio cutter element has an aspect ratio equal to the ratio of the length of the high-aspect ratio cutter element to the width of the high- aspect ratio cutter element, wherein the aspect ratio of each high-aspect ratio cutter element is greater than 1.0 and less than or equal to 2.0 (a partial circle that is greater than a half circle as shown in Fuller in fig. 8 will have an aspect ratio between 1 and 2).
With respect to claim 10, Fuller further discloses wherein each cutter element in the cone region is a high-aspect ratio cutter element (shown in fig. 1).
With respect to claim 11, Vem and Fuller further disclose wherein the plurality of cutter elements comprises a plurality of low-aspect ratio cutter elements in the shoulder region or the gage region (col. 8 ll. 44-63, Fuller, pgph. 29 Vem).
With respect to claim 16, Fuller further discloses wherein each high-aspect ratio cutter element has a central axis, a leading end relative to the cutting direction of rotation, a trailing end relative to the cutting direction of rotation and opposite the leading end, a cutting face at the leading end, a longitudinal axis oriented perpendicular to the central axis, wherein the central axis intersects the leading end and the trailing end; wherein one or more of the high-aspect ratio cutter element is oriented at a non- zero tilt angle a measured in a front view of the primary blade from the longitudinal axis of the high-aspect ratio cutter element to a reference axis A passing through a cutting tip of the high-aspect ratio cutter element and oriented perpendicular to a cutting profile of the plurality of cutter elements mounted to the primary blade (shown in fig. 8, the cutters are tilted downwardly relative to perpendicular the bit face since the flats would be angled inwardly if they were not tilted as claimed).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vem, Brackin, and Fuller as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Welch (US 20100089661 A1).
With respect to claim 5, Vem seems to disclose a greater spacing in the cone region in fig. 3, but this is not explicitly stated.
Nevertheless, Welch discloses wherein each pair of radially adjacent cutter elements is spaced apart a minimum distance D measured parallel to the cutter-supporting surface of the primary blade between the pair of radially adjacent cutter elements; wherein the minimum distance D between each pair of radially adjacent high- aspect ratio cutter elements in the cone region is greater than the minimum distance D between each pair of radially adjacent cutter elements in the shoulder region and the gage region (pgph. 93, Welch).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have made the spacing of the cutters in the cone region greater than the spacing in other regions in order to allow the bit to continue to provide and efficient ROP in the event of the failure of one or several cutting elements as taught by Welch (pgph. 93).
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vem, Brackin, and Fuller as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Dubose (US 20250369291 A1).
With respect to claims 12 and 13, Vem fails to disclose even spacing.
Nevertheless, Dubose discloses wherein each pair of radially adjacent cutter elements is spaced apart a minimum distance D measured parallel to the cutter-supporting surface of the primary blade between the pair of radially adjacent cutter elements; wherein the minimum distance D between each pair of radially adjacent cutter elements is substantially the same as the minimum distance D between each pair of radially adjacent other cutter elements (pgph. 208).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have made the spacing of the cutters in the cone region of Vem equal to the spacing in other regions as taught by Dubose (pgph. 208) since this is the application of a known technique in a similar device to improve it in the same way with predictable and obvious results and a reasonable expectation for success.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen and Brackin as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Dubose (US 20250369291 A1).
With respect to claims 22, Shen fails to disclose even spacing.
Nevertheless, Dubose discloses wherein each pair of radially adjacent cutter elements is spaced apart a minimum distance D measured parallel to the cutter-supporting surface of the primary blade between the pair of radially adjacent cutter elements; wherein the minimum distance D between each pair of radially adjacent cutter elements is substantially the same as the minimum distance D between each other pair of radially adjacent cutter elements (pgph. 208).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have made the spacing of the cutters in the cone region of Shen equal to the spacing in other regions as taught by Dubose (pgph. 208) since this is the application of a known technique in a similar device to improve it in the same way with predictable and obvious results and a reasonable expectation for success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 6-9, 19-21 are allowed.
Claims 24 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIPP C WALLACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674 04/28/2026