DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on 07/31/2025, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
The following is a Non-Final Office Action on the merits in response to applicant’s filing from 07/31/2025.
Claims 1-15 are pending and have been considered below.
Priority
The application claims foreign priority to CN 2024/22384653, filed on 09/27/2024. The priority is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “stator” (claims 5, 6), “rotor” (claims 5, 6), “housing” (claims 5, 6), “output shaft” (claims 5, 6), and “external component” (claims 5, 6) must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are the:
“first mechanism” in claims 1 and 8, because a) the word “mechanism” is used as a generic placeholder for “means”, since “mechanism” is a non-structural term having no specific meaning, B) the generic placeholder is modified by function language (“to be in transmission connection with” in claim 1, “for transmission connection” in claim 8), C) the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function;
“second mechanism” in claims 1 and 8, because a) the word “mechanism” is used as a generic placeholder for “means”, since “mechanism” is a non-structural term having no specific meaning, B) the generic placeholder is modified by function language (“to be in transmission connection with” in claim 1, “for transmission connection” in claim 8), C) the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function;
and “driver” in claims 1 and 8, because a) the word “driver” is used as a generic placeholder for “means”, since “driver” is a non-structural term having no specific meaning, B) the generic placeholder is modified by function language (“driver”, substitute for “means for driving”), C) the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The corresponding structure for the “first mechanism” will be interpreted as a steering assembly {“the first mechanism is a steering assembly 300” [0038]}.
The corresponding structure for the “second mechanism” will be described as a wheel assembly {“the second mechanism is a wheel assembly 400” [0038]}.
The corresponding structure for the “driver” will be interpreted as a driving motor {“the driver may be a driving motor 130” [0041]; “The driver is a driving motor 130 and includes a stator, a rotor, and a housing” [0053]}.
Claim Objections
Claim 8, lines 4-5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the first mechanism” should read, “a first mechanism”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8, lines 6-7 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the second mechanism” should read, “a second mechanism”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8, lines 9-10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a first mechanism” should read, “the first mechanism”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8, lines 11-12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a second mechanism” should read, “the second mechanism”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11, line 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the mounting bracket” should read, “a mounting bracket”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13, lines 7-8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the first axis” should read, “a first axis”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Menjak (US 2005/0288143).
Regarding claim 1, Menjak discloses a shaft assembly {10 (Fig. 1)}, comprising: a connecting shaft {190 (Fig. 6)}, wherein the connecting shaft {190} comprises:
a first shaft segment {192 (194): “a hand wheel 14 which may rotate an input shaft 192 when turned by a driver. The input shaft 192 may include a shaft portion 194” [0045]} configured to be in transmission connection with a first mechanism {14 (Fig. 6)},
a second shaft segment {portion of 218 outside of casing 210 (Fig. 6)} configured to be in transmission connection with a second mechanism {12+29+33+35+37+39 (Fig. 1)}, and
a connecting part {196+198+204+206+208+210+216+218 (portion of 218 inside casing 210)} located between the first shaft segment {192 (194)} and the second shaft segment {218 (portion outside casing 210)} to connect the first shaft segment {192 (194)} and the second shaft segment {218}, wherein
the connecting part {196+198+204+206+208+210+216+218} is provided with a mounting space {space inside of 196+198+204+206+208+210+216+218 where 202 is mounted (Fig. 6)} capable of accommodating a driver {202 (200+212)}, and configured to be in transmission connection with the driver {202: “Hollow rotating shaft 198 may rotate together with rotor 200 of motor 202” [0045]} such that the connecting shaft {190} transfers a power of the driver {202} to the first mechanism {14} and the second mechanism {12+29+33+35+37+39 (Fig. 1)} when the connecting part {196+198+204+206+208+210+216+218} is driven by the driver {202} to rotate {Fig. 6}.
Regarding claim 2, Menjak discloses the connecting part {196+198+204+206+208+210+216+218} comprises at least one connecting sub-part {part that connects gear housing 196 and motor casing 210: “The gear housing may be attached to the motor casing 210, and either or both of the gear housing and motor casing 210 may be fixedly attached to an element within the vehicle which does not rotate with the steering shaft” [0045]}, a first shoulder {196}, and a second shoulder {210};
the first shoulder {196} is connected with the first shaft segment {192 (194)};
the second shoulder {210} is connected with the second shaft segment {218 (via the at least one connecting sub part [0045], and via 196+198+204+206+208+216)};
the first shoulder {196} is spaced apart from the second shoulder {210} along a first axis {214} of the connecting shaft {190 (Fig. 6)} such that the mounting space {space where 202 is mounted (Fig. 6)} is formed between the first shoulder {196} and the second shoulder {210}; and
the at least one connecting sub-part {part that connects gear housing 196 and motor casing 210 [0045]} is connected between the first shoulder {196} and the second shoulder {210}.
Regarding claim 3, Menjak discloses the second shoulder {210} is provided with a mounting hole {hole in 210 that accommodates 202+218 (Fig. 6)} on a side facing the mounting space {space where 202 is mounted (Fig. 6)} and is fixedly connected with the driver {202} via the mounting hole {hole in 210 that accommodates 202+218 (Fig. 6)}.
Regarding claim 4, Menjak discloses the mounting hole {hole in 210 that accommodates 202+218 (Fig. 6)} penetrates the second shoulder {210} in a direction away from the mounting space {space where 202 is mounted (Fig. 6)}, and on a side of the second shoulder {210} away from the mounting space {space where 202 is mounted (Fig. 6)}, the mounting hole {hole in 210 that accommodates 202+218} is configured to avoid the second shaft segment {218 (so that 218 can freely rotate)}.
Regarding claim 8, Menjak discloses a vehicle {“a vehicle” [0026]}, comprising:
a body {18 (Fig. 1)};
a shaft assembly {10 (Fig. 1)} comprising a connecting shaft {190 (Fig. 6)};
a steering assembly {14} rotatably connected with the body {18: “Steering system 10 may connect a hand wheel 14 to a steering shaft 16 which may extend through a housing 18” [0027]} and serving as the first mechanism {14} for transmission connection with the shaft assembly {10}; and
a wheel assembly {12+29+33+35+37+39 (Fig. 1)} comprising at least one wheel {12} and serving as the second mechanism {12+29+33+35+37+39} for transmission connection with the shaft assembly {10}, wherein
the connecting shaft {190} comprises:
a first shaft segment {192 (194): “a hand wheel 14 which may rotate an input shaft 192 when turned by a driver. The input shaft 192 may include a shaft portion 194” [0045]} configured to be in transmission connection with a first mechanism {14 (Fig. 6)},
a second shaft segment {portion of 218 outside of casing 210 (Fig. 6)} configured to be in transmission connection with a second mechanism {12+29+33+35+37+39 (Fig. 1)}, and
a connecting part {198+204+206+208+210+216+218 (portion of 218 inside casing 210)} located between the first shaft segment {192} and the second shaft segment {218 (portion outside casing 210)} to connect the first shaft segment {192} and the second shaft segment {218}, wherein
the connecting part {198+204+206+208+210+216+218} is provided with a mounting space {space inside of 198+204+206+208+210+216+218 where 202 is mounted (Fig. 6)} capable of accommodating a driver {202 (200+212)}, and configured to be in transmission connection with the driver {202: “Hollow rotating shaft 198 may rotate together with rotor 200 of motor 202” [0045]} such that the connecting shaft {190} transfers a power of the driver {202} to the first mechanism {14} and the second mechanism {12+29+33+35+37+39 (Fig. 1)} when the connecting part {198+204+206+208+210+216+218} is driven by the driver {202} to rotate {Fig. 6}.
Regarding claim 9, Menjak discloses the shaft assembly {10 (33)} is connected with the steering assembly {14} via a universal joint structure {21 (Fig. 1): “As steering shaft 16 turns, an intermediate shaft portion 33, which may be connected through a universal joint 21, may rotate a pinion gear (not shown) located under a gear housing 35” [0029]}.
Regarding claim 10, Menjak discloses the steering assembly {14} comprises a steering column {Fig. 1: “steering column” [0038]}; and
the universal joint structure {21} comprises a first rotating part {top rotating portion of 21 (rotating by definition of a universal joint): “As steering shaft 16 turns, an intermediate shaft portion 33, which may be connected through a universal joint 21, may rotate a pinion gear (not shown) located under a gear housing 35” [0029]} and a second rotating part {bottom rotating portion of 21 (by definition of a universal joint)}, the first rotating part {top rotating portion of 21} is fixedly connected to the first shaft segment {input shaft 192 (194); Fig. 6 configuration’s substitute for input shaft 16 shown in Fig. 1}, the second rotating part {bottom rotating portion of 21} is fixedly connected to the steering column {“steering column” [0038], which includes intermediate shaft portion 33 (Fig. 1)}, and the first rotating part {top rotating portion of 21} and the second rotating part {bottom rotating portion of 21} are rotatably connected and are rotatable relative to each other in a plurality of directions {by definition of a universal joint}.
Regarding claim 11, Menjak discloses the wheel assembly {12+29+33+35+37+39} comprises a base {29 (Fig. 1)}, the base {29} is fixedly connected with the body {18 (via 21+33+35)}, a mounting bracket {35} is fixedly connected with the base {29} outside the mounting space {space inside of 198+204+206+208+210+216+218 where 202 is mounted (Fig. 6)};
the at least one wheel {12} comprises a first wheel {12 (Fig. 1)} and a second wheel {12 (not shown in Fig. 1): “When tie rod 37 moves, it turns a steering knuckle 39, which steers road wheels 12” [0029]}; and
the first wheel {12} is rotatably connected with the base {29} about a second axis {central axis of wheel 12 that allows the wheel to rotate, and the vehicle to move (Fig. 1)} and pivotably connected with the base {29} about a third axis {vertical turning axis of steering knuckle 39 that allows wheel 12 to be steered [0029]},
wherein the second axis {central axis of wheel 12 that allows the wheel to rotate, and the vehicle to move} is a central axis of the first wheel {12}, and the third axis { vertical turning axis of steering knuckle 39 that allows wheel 12 to be steered} extends along a height direction of the vehicle {“When tie rod 37 moves, it turns a steering knuckle 39, which steers road wheels 12” [0029]}.
Regarding claim 12, Menjak discloses the wheel assembly {12+29+33+35+37+39 (Fig. 1)} comprises a steering mechanism {29+33+35+37+39}; the steering mechanism {29+33+35+37+39} is mechanically connected with the second shaft segment {portion of 218 outside of casing 210 (Fig. 6)} and is rotatably connected with the first wheel {12} and the second wheel {12} respectively {“When tie rod 37 moves, it turns a steering knuckle 39, which steers road wheels 12” [0029]}; and the shaft assembly {10} is configured to drive the first wheel {12} and the second wheel {12} to steer respectively via the steering mechanism {29+33+35+37+39 [0029]}.
Regarding claim 13, Menjak discloses the wheel assembly {12+29+33+35+37+39} comprises a suspension mechanism {39}, the suspension mechanism {39} is rotatably connected with the base {29 [0029]} and further rotatably connected with the first wheel {12} about the third axis {vertical turning axis of steering knuckle 39 that allows wheel 12 to be steered}; and the suspension mechanism {39}, the base {29}, the shaft assembly {10}, the steering mechanism {29+33+35+37+39}, and the first wheel {12} form a multi-connecting rod structure {Fig. 1},
wherein the connecting shaft {190} is configured to, when driven to rotate about a first axis {214} relative to the base {29}, drive the first wheel {12} to rotate about the third axis {vertical turning axis of steering knuckle 39 that allows wheel 12 to be steered [0029]}.
Regarding claim 15, Menjak discloses the steering mechanism {29+33+35+37+39 (Fig. 1)} comprises a steering rocker arm {35 (pinion gear, not shown): “As steering shaft 16 turns, an intermediate shaft portion 33, which may be connected through a universal joint 21, may rotate a pinion gear (not shown) located under a gear housing 35. Rotation of such a pinion gear (not shown) moves a rack 29, which moves a tie rod 37. When tie rod 37 moves, it turns a steering knuckle 39, which steers road wheels 12” [0029]}, a first connecting rod {37}, a second connecting rod {37 (on opposite side of 29+35, not shown in Fig. 1)}, and a connecting base {29}, an end of the steering rocker arm {35 (pinion gear, not shown)} is fixedly connected with the second shaft segment {portion of 218 outside of casing 210 (via 21+33)}, another end of the steering rocker arm {35 (pinion gear, not shown)} is rotatably connected with the connecting base {29} about a fourth axis {steering column axis shown in Fig. 1}, an end of the first connecting rod {37} is mechanically connected with the connecting base {29}, another end of the first connecting rod {37} is rotatably connected with the first wheel {12} about a fifth axis {axis where 37+39 join (Fig. 1)}; and the second connecting rod {37 (not shown in Fig. 1)} is connected with the second wheel {12 (not shown in Fig. 1)} and the connecting base {29} respectively {“intermediate shaft portion 33, which may be connected through a universal joint 21, may rotate a pinion gear (not shown) located under a gear housing 35. Rotation of such a pinion gear (not shown) moves a rack 29, which moves a tie rod 37. When tie rod 37 moves, it turns a steering knuckle 39, which steers road wheels 12” [0029]}.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, Menjak discloses the driver {202}, which is a driving motor {202}, comprising a stator {212}, a rotor {200}, and a housing {210: “The motor 202 may include a casing 210” [0045]}, wherein the stator {212} is fixedly connected with the housing {210: “The motor… is detached from the gearing system, such that the casing 210 and the stator 212 remain unaffected by rotation of the gearing system including the planet and ring gears as well as the input shaft 192” [0045]}, and the rotor {200} is rotatably connected with the housing {210}.
However, Menjak does not explicitly disclose the rotor comprises an output shaft; and a mounting bracket comprising a fixed part and at least one support part, wherein the fixed part is disposed in the mounting space and fixedly connected with the housing, and the at least one support part is connected with the fixed part and at least partially located outside the mounting space for connection with an external component.
Bae (US 2025/0214645) is the closest to teaching this {see Fig. 7}, but for a reducer in the mounting space, not for a motor. The motor is outside the mounting space.
Therefore, regarding claim 5, none of the prior art of record, either alone or in obvious combination discloses the shaft assembly according to claim 1, further comprising: the driver, which is a driving motor, comprising a stator, a rotor, and a housing, wherein the stator is fixedly connected with the housing, and the rotor comprises an output shaft and is rotatably connected with the housing; and a mounting bracket comprising a fixed part and at least one support part, wherein the fixed part is disposed in the mounting space and fixedly connected with the housing, and the at least one support part is connected with the fixed part and at least partially located outside the mounting space for connection with an external component.
Accordingly, claim 7 is allowable by virtue of dependence from claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Menjak discloses the driver {202}, which is a driving motor {202}, comprising a stator {212}, a rotor {200}, and a housing {210: “The motor 202 may include a casing 210” [0045]}, wherein the stator {212} is fixedly connected with the housing {210}, and the rotor {200} is rotatably connected with the housing {210}.
However, Menjak does not explicitly disclose the rotor comprises an output shaft;
a mounting bracket comprising a fixed part and at least one support part, wherein the fixed part is disposed in the mounting space and fixedly connected with the housing, and the at least one support part is connected with the fixed part and at least partially located outside the mounting space for connection with an external component; and
along a circumferential direction of the connecting shaft, the at least one support part and the at least one connecting sub-part are alternately arranged to avoid each other.
Bae (US 2025/0214645) is the closest to teaching this {see Fig. 7}, but for a reducer in the mounting space, not for a motor. The motor is outside the mounting space.
Therefore, regarding claim 6, none of the prior art of record, either alone or in obvious combination discloses the shaft assembly according to claim 2, further comprising: the driver, which is a driving motor, comprising a stator, a rotor, and a housing, wherein the stator is fixedly connected with the housing, and the rotor comprises an output shaft and is rotatably connected with the housing; a mounting bracket comprising a fixed part and at least one support part, wherein the fixed part is disposed in the mounting space and fixedly connected with the housing, and the at least one support part is connected with the fixed part and at least partially located outside the mounting space for connection with an external component; and along a circumferential direction of the connecting shaft, the at least one support part and the at least one connecting sub-part are alternately arranged to avoid each other.
Regarding claim 14, Menjak discloses all the aspects of claim 13. However, Menjak does not explicitly disclose the vehicle according to claim 13, wherein the suspension mechanism comprises a shock absorber, an upper fork arm, and a lower fork arm; and the first wheel, the upper fork arm, the lower fork arm and the base form a planar four-connecting rod structure.
Weiss (US 2020/0262266) discloses this limitation. However, this would not be obvious to combine, as such a modification would require a substantial re-design of Menjak.
Conclusion
/Daniel M. Keck/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614