DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/10/2025.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 1 (claim 7) in the reply filed on 10/10/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claims 8 and 9 are not exclusive to claim 7. This is not found persuasive because claims 7-9 recite three different properties. A non-oriented steel having the recited amount of tensile strength may not meet the recited yield strength and elongation and therefore an art that is applied to claim 7 may not be used to reject claims 8 and 9. There is serious search burden. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claims 8-13 are withdrawn. Claims 1-7 and 14-15 are examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2023/0021153).
Regarding claims 1-6 and 16-17, Lee discloses (Abstract; [0033] to [0080]) a non-oriented electrical steel sheet with a composition that overlaps with the instant claimed composition and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected amounts of each element from the ranges disclosed in Lee to produce a steel sheet that meets the recited composition in claims 1-4. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Element
Claim 1
(mass %)
Lee
(mass %)
Overlap
(mass %)
C
0.0001-0.007
≤0.005
0.0001-0.005
Mn
0.15-0.25
0.05-1.5
0.15-0.25
Si
3.2-3.8
1.5-4.0
3.2-3.8
Al
0.9-1.0
0.1-1.5
0.9-1.0
P
≤0.15
0.005-0.05
0.005-0.05
S
≤0.006
≤0.005
≤0.005
N
≤0.09
≤0.005
≤0.005
Sn
0-0.2
0.015-0.1
0.015-0.1
Cu
0-1.0
0.001-0.05
0.001– 0.05
Ni
0.001-0.04
0.005-0.04
0.005-0.04
Fe + Impurities
Balance
Balance
Balance
Lee discloses several examples containing C, Si, Al, P, S and N within the recited ranges in claim 1 and containing Mn close to the recited Mn range in claim 1. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Lee discloses that the steel sheet has a thickness of 0.1 mm to 0.3 mm ([0099]), which overlap the recited thickness in claim 1. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Thus, the recited steel thickness is a prima facie case of obviousness over Lee. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Lee discloses that the steel has a grain size of 50-100 µm and the recrystallized structure is 99% or more ([0102]), which meets the structure limitation recited in claims 1 and 5-6. Lee discloses that the magnetic induction at 5000A/m is 1.65 T or more ([0090]), indicating that J50 is about 1.65 T or more.
Lee does not explicitly disclose that the structure is made of ferrite grains. However, non-oriented steel containing ultra-low carbon content, high silicon content and high aluminum content is made of ferrite grains is well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art. Since the steel disclosed by Lee contains ultra-low amount of carbon and high amount of silicon and aluminum, and silicon and aluminum are ferrite forming elements, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the steel disclosed by Lee consists of a ferrite microstructure as recited in claims 1, 16 and 17.
Lee does not explicitly disclose the percentage of eddy current loss in iron loss is less than 33%. However, this property limitation is determined by the steel composition and the structure of the steel. In view of the fact that Lee teaches a steel composition that meets the recited steel composition in claim 1 and a structure that meets the recited grain size and recrystallized structure in claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the steel sheet disclosed by Lee to meet the recited percentage of eddy current loss in iron loss in claim 1.
Further, Lee discloses a method of making the steel sheet, comprising: heating the slab to 1200° C or less such as 1150ºC, hot-rolling to manufacture the hot-rolled sheet with a finish rolling temperature of 800 to 1000° C, coiling the hot rolled steel sheet at temperatures of 700° C or less, annealing the hot-rolled-sheet at 850 to 1195° C for 100 seconds, then cold rolling with a rolling reduction of 85 to 95%, finally annealing the cold-rolled steel sheet at 400 to 1000° C for 88 seconds ([0096] to [0104]), which overlap the process temperature and time in claim 10.
In view of the fact that Lee teaches a steel composition that meets the recited composition in claim 1, a structure that meets the recited grain size and recrystallized structure in claim 1, and a method of making the steel sheet with processing temperature and time overlapping the recited temperature and time in claim 10, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the steel sheet disclosed by Lee to meet the limitation that the steel has the recited ferrite structure and the recited percentage of eddy current loss in iron loss in claim 1. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Regarding claims 7 and 14-15, Lee does not explicitly disclose the recited mechanical properties in claims 7 and 14-15. However, in view of the fact that Lee teaches a steel composition, a grain size and area fraction of recrystallized microstructure that meet the recited composition and structure in claim 1, and a method of making the steel sheet with processing temperature and time overlapping the recited temperature and time in claim 10, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the steel sheet disclosed by Lee to meet the recited mechanical properties in claims 7 and 14-15. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Claims 1-7 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2023/0021153), as evidenced by Okubo (US 2024/0271255).
Regarding claims 1-6 and 16-17, Lee discloses (Abstract; [0033] to [0080]) a non-oriented electrical steel sheet with a composition that overlaps with the instant claimed composition and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected amounts of each element from the ranges disclosed in Lee to produce a steel sheet that meets the recited composition in claims 1-4. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Element
Claim 1
(mass %)
Lee
(mass %)
Overlap
(mass %)
C
0.0001-0.007
≤0.005
0.0001-0.005
Mn
0.15-0.25
0.05-1.5
0.15-0.25
Si
3.2-3.8
1.5-4.0
3.2-3.8
Al
0.9-1.0
0.1-1.5
0.9-1.0
P
≤0.15
0.005-0.05
0.005-0.05
S
≤0.006
≤0.005
≤0.005
N
≤0.09
≤0.005
≤0.005
Sn
0-0.2
0.015-0.1
0.015-0.1
Cu
0-1.0
0.001-0.05
0.001– 0.05
Ni
0.001-0.04
0.005-0.04
0.005-0.04
Fe + Impurities
Balance
Balance
Balance
Lee discloses several examples containing C, Si, Al, P, S and N within the recited ranges in claim 1 and containing Mn close to the recited Mn range in claim 1. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Lee discloses that the steel sheet has a thickness of 0.1 mm to 0.3 mm ([0099]), which overlap the recited thickness in claim 1. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Thus, the recited steel thickness is a prima facie case of obviousness over Lee. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Lee discloses that the steel has a grain size of 50-100 µm and the recrystallized structure is 99% or more ([0102]), which meets the structure limitation recited in claims 1 and 5-6. Lee discloses that the magnetic induction at 5000A/m is 1.65 T or more ([0090]), indicating that J50 is about 1.65 T or more.
Lee does not explicitly disclose that the structure is made of ferrite grains. However, non-oriented steel containing ultra-low carbon content, high silicon content and high aluminum content is made of ferrite grains is well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art. Since the steel disclosed by Lee contains ultra-low amount of carbon and high amount of silicon and aluminum, and silicon and aluminum are ferrite forming elements, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the steel disclosed by Lee consists of a ferrite microstructure as recited in claims 1, 16 and 17. To further support this Official Notice, Okubo is used as an evidence reference. Okubo teaches a non-oriented electrical steel having major composition overlapping the composition disclosed by Lee (see Abstract; [0043] to [0081]). Okubo discloses that the steel is composed of ferrite grains ([0083] to [0084]). Thus, the steel disclosed by Lee is composed of ferrite as recited in claims 1, 16 and 17.
Lee does not explicitly disclose the percentage of eddy current loss in iron loss is less than 33%. However, this property limitation is determined by the steel composition and the structure of the steel. In view of the fact that Lee teaches a steel composition that meets the recited steel composition in claim 1 and a structure that meets the recited grain size and recrystallized structure in claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the steel sheet disclosed by Lee to meet the recited percentage of eddy current loss in iron loss in claim 1.
Further, Lee discloses a method of making the steel sheet, comprising: heating the slab to 1200° C or less such as 1150ºC, hot-rolling to manufacture the hot-rolled sheet with a finish rolling temperature of 800 to 1000° C, coiling the hot rolled steel sheet at temperatures of 700° C or less, annealing the hot-rolled-sheet at 850 to 1195° C for 100 seconds, then cold rolling with a rolling reduction of 85 to 95%, finally annealing the cold-rolled steel sheet at 400 to 1000° C for 88 seconds ([0096] to [0104]), which overlap the process temperature and time in claim 10.
In view of the fact that Lee teaches a steel composition that meets the recited composition in claim 1, a structure that meets the recited grain size and recrystallized structure in claim 1, and a method of making the steel sheet with processing temperature and time overlapping the recited temperature and time in claim 10, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the steel sheet disclosed by Lee to meet the limitation that the steel has the recited ferrite structure and the recited percentage of eddy current loss in iron loss in claim 1. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Regarding claims 7 and 14-15, Lee does not explicitly disclose the recited mechanical properties in claims 7 and 14-15. However, in view of the fact that Lee teaches a steel composition, a grain size and area fraction of recrystallized microstructure that meet the recited composition and structure in claim 1, and a method of making the steel sheet with processing temperature and time overlapping the recited temperature and time in claim 10, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the steel sheet disclosed by Lee to meet the recited mechanical properties in claims 7 and 14-15. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Claims 1-7 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yue (US 2025/0188557), as evidenced by Okubo (US 2024/0271255).
Regarding claims 1-6 and 16-20, Yue discloses (Abstract; [0014] to [0039]) a non-oriented electrical steel sheet with a composition that overlaps with the instant claimed composition and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected amounts of each element from the ranges disclosed in Yue to produce a steel sheet that meets the recited composition in claims 1-4 and 18-20. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Element
Claim 1
(mass %)
Yue
(mass %)
Overlap
(mass %)
C
0.0001-0.007
0-0.002
0.0001-0.002
Mn
0.15-0.25
0.2-0.4
0.2-0.25
Si
3.2-3.8
3-3.4
3.2-3.4
Al
0.9-1.0
0.8-1.0
0.9-1.0
P
≤0.15
0.0-0.01
0.0-0.01
S
≤0.006
≤0.001
≤0.001
N
≤0.09
≤0.003
≤0.003
Fe + Impurities
Balance
Balance
Balance
Yue discloses several examples containing C, Si, Mn, Al, P, S and N within the recited ranges in claim 1 (see Examples 4-6 and 8). Yue discloses that Sn, Sb, Nb, V, Ti, Mo, Cr, Ni and Cu are not intentionally added ([0023]; [0024]), which meets the transitional phrase “consists of” recited in claims 18-21
Yue discloses that the steel sheet has a thickness of 0.25 mm ([0040]), which meets the recited thickness in claim 1.
Yue discloses that the steel has a grain size of 80-100 µm and the recrystallized structure is 100% (Abstract; Table 3), which meets the structure limitation recited in claims 1 and 5-6. Yue discloses that the magnetic induction at 5000A/m is 1.65 T or more ([0040]), indicating that J50 is about 1.65 T or more.
Yue does not explicitly disclose that the structure is made of ferrite grains. However, non-oriented steel containing ultra-low carbon content, high silicon content and high aluminum content is made of ferrite grains is well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art. Since the steel disclosed by Yue contains ultra-low amount of carbon and high amount of silicon and aluminum, and silicon and aluminum are ferrite forming elements, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the steel disclosed by Yue consists of a ferrite microstructure as recited in claims 1, 16 and 17. To further support this Official Notice, Okubo is used as an evidence reference. Okubo teaches a non-oriented electrical steel having major composition overlapping the composition disclosed by Yue (see Abstract; [0043] to [0081]). Okubo discloses that the steel is composed of ferrite grains ([0083] to [0084]). Thus, the steel disclosed by Yue is composed of ferrite as recited in claims 1, 16 and 17.
Yue does not explicitly disclose the percentage of eddy current loss in iron loss is less than 33%. However, this property limitation is determined by the steel composition and the structure of the steel. In view of the fact that Yue teaches a steel composition that meets the recited steel composition in claim 1 and a structure that meets the recited grain size and recrystallized structure in claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the steel sheet disclosed by Yue to meet the recited percentage of eddy current loss in iron loss in claim 1.
Further, Yue discloses a method of making the steel sheet, comprising: heating the slab to 1080-1100° C, hot-rolling to manufacture the hot-rolled sheet with a finish rolling temperature of 800 to 860° C, coiling the hot rolled steel sheet at temperatures of 600°-660 ºC, annealing the hot-rolled-sheet at 830 to 870° C for 3 minutes to 5 minutes, then cold rolling with a rolling reduction of 89 to 90%, finally annealing the cold-rolled steel sheet at 880 to 900° C for 120-150 seconds ([0096] to [0104]), which overlap the process temperature and time of slab heating step, hot rolling step, and the annealing step and meet the cold rolling reduction ratio recited in claim 10. The coiling temperature disclosed by Yue is higher than the temperature recited in claim 10. According to instant Specification, greater than 550 ºC coiling temperature will cause oxide layer to appear (see [0049] of instant Specification). Yue discloses performing shot blasting and pickling to remove the oxide layer. Thus, the final product disclosed by Yue is not affected by the higher coiling temperature.
In view of the fact that Yue teaches a steel composition that meets the recited composition in claim 1, a structure that meets the recited grain size and recrystallized structure in claim 1, and a method of making the steel sheet with processing parameters overlapping the process temperature and time of slab heating step, hot rolling step, and annealing step and meet the cold rolling reduction ratio recited in claim 10, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the steel sheet disclosed by Yue to meet the limitation that the steel has the recited ferrite structure and the recited percentage of eddy current loss in iron loss in claim 1. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Regarding claims 7 and 14-15, Yue discloses that the steel has a yield strength of 565-588 MPa (Table 9). Yue does not explicitly disclose all the recited mechanical properties in claims 7 and 14-15. However, in view of the fact that Yue teaches a steel composition, a grain size and area fraction of recrystallized microstructure that meet the recited composition and structure in claim 1, and a method of making the steel sheet with processing parameters overlapping the process temperature and time of slab heating step, hot rolling step, and annealing step and meet the cold rolling reduction ratio recited in claim 10, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the steel sheet disclosed by Yue to meet the recited mechanical properties in claims 7 and 14-15. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Claims 1-4 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’653 (US 2023/0021153), and further in view of Okubo (US 2024/0271255).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 16-21, JP’653 discloses (Abstract; [0007] to [0012]) a non-oriented electrical steel sheet with a composition that overlaps with the instant claimed composition and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected amounts of each element from the ranges disclosed in JP’653 to produce a steel sheet that meets the recited composition in claims 1-4 and 18-21. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Element
Claim 1
(mass %)
JP’653
(mass %)
Overlap
(mass %)
C
0.0001-0.007
≤0.005
0.0001-0.005
Mn
0.15-0.25
0.07-1.5
0.15-0.25
Si
3.2-3.8
2.2-4.0
3.2-3.8
Al
0.9-1.0
0.1-1.5
0.9-1.0
P
≤0.15
---
0.005-0.05
S
≤0.006
0.0007-0.0008
0.0007-0.0008
N
≤0.09
0.0008-0.0009
0.0008-0.0009
Fe + Impurities
Balance
Balance
Balance
JP’653 is silent on the P amount. Okubo teaches a non-oriented electrical steel having major composition overlapping the composition disclosed by JP’653 (see Abstract; [0043] to [0081]). Okubo discloses that when the amount of P is 0.02-0.1 wt%, the steel has good strength and easy to roll ([0050]). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control the amount of P in the range of 0.02-0.1 wt% as taught by Okubo in the steel of JP’653 in order to make a steel having good strength as disclosed by Okubo.
JP’653 discloses that the essential elements are C, Si, Al, Mn and P, S and N are impurities (Abstract; [0011]), which meet the transitional phrase “consists of” as recited in claims 18-21.
JP’653 discloses that the steel sheet has a thickness of 0.25 mm to 0.4 mm (Abstract), which overlap the recited thickness in claim 1. JP’653 discloses that the steel has a grain size of 70-125 µm ([0017]), which overlaps the recited grain size in claim 1. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Thus, the recited steel thickness and grain size is a prima facie case of obviousness over JP’653. See MPEP 2144.05 I. JP’653 discloses that the magnetic induction at 5000A/m is 1.69 T or more ([0040]), indicating that J50 is about 1.69 T or more.
JP’653 does not explicitly disclose that the structure is made of ferrite grains. However, non-oriented steel containing ultra-low carbon content, high silicon content and high aluminum content is made of ferrite grains is well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art. Since the steel disclosed by JP’653 contains ultra-low amount of carbon and high amount of silicon and aluminum, and silicon and aluminum are ferrite forming elements, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the steel disclosed by JP’653 consists of a ferrite microstructure as recited in claims 1, 16 and 17. Further, Okubo teaches a non-oriented electrical steel having major composition overlapping the composition disclosed by Lee (see Abstract; [0043] to [0081]). Okubo discloses that the steel is composed of ferrite grains ([0083] to [0084]). Thus, the steel disclosed by JP’653 is composed of ferrite as recited in claims 1, 16 and 17.
JP’653 does not explicitly disclose that the percentage of eddy current loss in iron loss is less than 33%. However, this structure and property limitation is determined by the steel composition and the structure of the steel. In view of the fact that JP’653 in view of Okubo teaches a steel composition that meets the recited steel composition in claim 1 and a structure that meets the recited ferrite grain size in claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the steel sheet disclosed by JP’653 in view of Okubo to meet the recited percentage of eddy current loss in iron loss in claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 and 14-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/323,081. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/323,081 teach the composition, structure and property limitations that overlap the recited composition, structure and property limitations in claims 1-7 and 14-15. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Thus, claims 1-7 and 14-15 are a prima facie case of obviousness over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/323,081. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 and 14-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/287,878. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/287,878 teach the composition, structure and property limitations that overlap the recited composition, structure and property limitations in claims 1-7 and 14-15. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Thus, claims 1-7 and 14-15 are a prima facie case of obviousness over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/287,878. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 and 14-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/266,237. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/266,237 teach the composition, structure and property limitations that overlap the recited composition, structure and property limitations in claims 1-7 and 14-15. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Thus, claims 1-7 and 14-15 are a prima facie case of obviousness over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/266,237. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 and 14-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/266,226. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/266,226 teach the composition, structure and property limitations that overlap the recited composition, structure and property limitations in claims 1-7 and 14-15. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Thus, claims 1-7 and 14-15 are a prima facie case of obviousness over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/266,226. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 and 14-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/265,120. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/265,120 teach the composition, structure and property limitations that overlap the recited composition, structure and property limitations in claims 1-7 and 14-15. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Thus, claims 1-7 and 14-15 are a prima facie case of obviousness over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/265,120. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 and 14-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/246,103. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/246,103 teach the composition, structure and property limitations that overlap the recited composition, structure and property limitations in claims 1-7 and 14-15. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Thus, claims 1-7 and 14-15 are a prima facie case of obviousness over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/246,103. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 and 14-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/289,141. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/289,141 teach the composition, structure and property limitations that overlap the recited composition, structure and property limitations in claims 1-7 and 14-15. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Thus, claims 1-7 and 14-15 are a prima facie case of obviousness over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/289,141. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, the applicants argued: “With respect to the claimed ferrite, the Office Action states “non-oriented steel is made of ferrite grains is well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art.” Applicant submits that this is an unsupported assertion that amounts to a statement of Official Notice. First, steel making is an esoteric technology and not capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well known. (MPEP 2144.03(A): “It would not be appropriate for the examiner to take official notice of facts without citing a prior art reference where the facts asserted to be well known are not capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known. For example, assertions of technical facts in the areas of esoteric technology or specific knowledge of the prior art must always be supported by citation to some reference work recognized as standard in the pertinent art.”). Second, the line of reasoning is conclusory and is not clear and unmistakable. (MPEP 2144.03(B): “If Official Notice Is Taken of a Fact, Unsupported by Documentary Evidence, the Technical Line of Reasoning Underlying a Decision To Take Such Notice Must Be Clear and Unmistakable.”)”.
In response, since the steel disclosed by Lee contains ultra-low amount of carbon and high amount of silicon and aluminum, and silicon and aluminum are ferrite forming elements, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the steel disclosed by Lee consists of a ferrite microstructure as recited in claims 1, 16 and 17. To further support this Official Notice, Okubo is used as an evidence reference. Okubo teaches a non-oriented electrical steel having major composition overlapping the composition disclosed by Lee (see Abstract; [0043] to [0081]). Okubo discloses that the steel is composed of ferrite grains ([0083] to [0084]). Thus, the steel disclosed by Lee is composed of ferrite as recited in claim 1.
Second, the applicants argued that Lee does not teach a process that is “identical or substantially identical” to the process as described in the present specification for achieving the claimed microstructure and mechanical characteristics. Lee lacks cooling rate from finish rolling temperature to coiling temperature, heating rate from room temperature to annealing temperature and cooling rate after the annealing. Thus, Lee does not meet the feature a percentage of eddy current losses in total iron losses, measured at 1T and 400 Hz according to IEC 60404-2 standards, less than 33 % when calculated in accordance with Bertotti method and simultaneously having a magnetic polarization at 5000A/m (J50) from 1.630T to 1.65T” as recited in claim 1.
In response, instant Specification discloses that a percentage of eddy current losses in total iron losses depends on the Si amount. Instant Specification has not disclosed the effect of cooling rate from finish rolling temperature to coiling temperature, heating rate from room temperature to annealing temperature and cooling rate after the annealing have an effect on percentage of eddy current losses in total iron losses. In view of the fact that Lee teaches many examples containing Si amount that meets the recited Si range, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the steel disclosed by Lee to meet the recited percentage of eddy current losses in total iron losses.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIAOWEI SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733