This action is in response to the communications filed on August 20, 2026.
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ amendment filed on August 20, 2026, with respect to claims 1-20 has been received, entered into the record and considered.
As a result of the amendment filed on August 20, 2026, claims 1 and 11 have been amended and claims 8-9 and 18-19 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-7, 10-17 and 20 remain pending in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant’s amended claims 1 and 11 to generating a new attribute indicating changes to the structured event data between the first-time range and the second time range by joining the structured event data retrieved from the first time range with the structured event data retrieved from the second time range.
In remarks filed on August 20, 2026, applicants argued that amended claims 1 and 11 are fully supported by the application as originally filed (e.g., in paragraphs [0017] and [0031], among other portions) and add no new matter.
Examiner disagrees and respectfully response that, neither Paragraph [0017], nor [0031], described added limitation … by joining the structured event data retrieved from the first time range with the structured event data retrieved from the second time range in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint invention, as examiner presented Para [0017], and [0031] bellow:
[0017] Implementations herein are directed toward systems and methods for enabling the indexing and joining of current and historic raw security data at-scale across previously disparate sources in-order to accelerate both programmatic and human analysis and their prioritization of the data to deliver insights and drive human understanding and prioritized response actions. In addition, implementations herein enable users to organize, manage, investigate, make informed decisions, and act based on abstractions of the user's assets, workloads and relevant threats, while further reducing the user's cognitive and effort load. These contributions reduce the time to detect and fix issues and minimizes the risks and blast radius of incidents by providing efficient ingestion and retrieval of structured time-stamped information about cloud resources and the security information associated with the cloud resources.
[0031] Referring now to FIG. 4, the retrieval interface 400 (i.e., a query interface) receives a retrieval request 410 for
structured data 162b stored in the data store 150. The retrieval request 410 may be substantially similar to the
eviction request 328 of FIG. 3 except that the retrieval request 410 is requesting retrieval of the structured data 162b as retrieval data 420 from the data store 150. Thus, the retrieval request 410 may request strnctured data 162b from
the data store 150 that is associated with at least one of: the time range 165 specified by the retrieval request 410, one or
more ingestion-attributes 166 specified by the retrieval request 410, or one or more custom indexing-attributes 168
specified by the retrieval request 410. The custom indexing attributes 168 specified by the retrieval request 410 may
include attributes generated by the data indexer 310 (e.g., the timeline attribute). In some examples, the retrieval request
410 includes a request retrieve data from a specific point in time or to compare data 162b between a first time range and
a second time range (also known as a "<lift''), where each time range is different. The diff may be between more than two time ranges. The comparison may produce additional attributes. For example, the comparison may produce an
attribute indicating whether data 162b existed at or both points in time or whether any of the data's 162b attributes,
properties, or augmentations have changed between two points in time. In another example, the retrieval request 410
may request all data 162b associated with a specific cloud resource 118. The retrieval interface 400 will fetch the
requested strnctured data 162b from the data store 150 and return the data 162b as retrieval data 420 to the requester
119. In some implementations, the retrieval interface 400 sorts and/or groups the retrieval data
As seen in these cited paragraphs or any other portion of the specification applicant does not described … by joining the structured event data retrieved from the first time range with the structured event data retrieved from the second time range in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint invention. Therefore, this amended limitation, by joining the structured event data retrieved from the first-time range with the structured event data retrieved from the second time range introduce new matter.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No.12,393,563 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are substantially similar in scope and they use the same limitations. Especially, the U.S. Patent No. 12,393,563 discloses more details in logic assets with the application scenario. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to realize that claims 1-20 of the instant application is fully disclosed by the U.S. Patent No. 12,393,563.
The following table shows the claims in Instant Application that are rejected by corresponding claim(s) in U.S. Patent No.12135756.
Instant Application: 19287979
Patent: 12393563
1. A computer-implemented method executed by data processing hardware that causes the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising: receiving event data from a plurality of disparate computing resources, the event data comprising a timestamp, one or more ingestion-attributes, and one or more custom key-value pair indexing-attributes; indexing the event data into structured event data based on the timestamp, the one or more ingestion-attributes, and the one or more custom key-value pair indexing- attributes, the structured event data stored at a distributed data store; applying a first retention threshold of a multi-tiered retention policy to older versions of the structured event data; applying a second retention threshold of the multi-tiered retention policy to a latest version of the structured event data, the first retention threshold shorter than the second retention threshold; receiving a retrieval request requesting to compare the structured event data between a first time range and a second time range; based on the retrieval request, retrieving structured event data from both the first time range and the second time range from the distributed data store; and generating a new attribute indicating changes to the structured event data between the first time range and the second time range.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the event data from the plurality of disparate computing resources comprises receiving the event data via an application programming interface (API) from the plurality of disparate computing resources.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise, prior to indexing the event data into the structured event data, determining that the event data is valid based on ingestion rules.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving other event data from the plurality of disparate computing resources; determining that the other event data is invalid based on ingestion rules; and discarding the other event data.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein indexing the event data into the structured event data comprises adding a timeline attribute to the structured event data.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the timeline attribute comprises changes in attributes, properties, augmentations, or relationship structures of the event data over a specified period of time.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein applying the first retention threshold comprises: determining that an older version of the structured event data satisfies the first retention threshold; and based on determining that the older version of the structured event data satisfies the first retention threshold, evicting the older version of the structured event data.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the new attribute further indicates that the structured event data existed in both the first time range and the second time range.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the new attribute further indicates attributes, properties, or augmentations of the structured event data that changed between the first time range and the second time range.
10. The method of claim 1, wherein the event data represents a parent-child hierarchy of cloud resources.
1. A computer-implemented method executed on data processing hardware that causes the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising: receiving an event over a network obtained by a plurality of disparate computing resources in communication with the data processing hardware, the event comprising a corresponding ingestion-attribute associated with the event; determining that the corresponding ingestion-attribute associated with the event satisfies ingestion criteria; and in response to determining that the corresponding ingestion-attribute associated with the event satisfies the ingestion criteria: ingesting the event obtained by the one of the plurality of disparate computing resources for persistent storage in a data store by indexing, using the corresponding ingestion-attribute as an indexing-attribute, the event as structured data at the data store, the data store associated with an eviction time period threshold representing a maximum amount of time that an event may be stored at the data store and at least one attribute for determining whether the eviction time period threshold applies to a particular event stored in the data store based on a corresponding ingestion-attribute associated with the particular event; determining, based on the corresponding ingestion-attribute matching the at least one attribute, that the eviction time period threshold applies to the event; and based on determining that the eviction time period threshold applies to the event, applying the eviction time period threshold to the event by: determining that the event has been stored in the data store for a period of time that satisfies the eviction time period threshold; and in response to determining that the event has been stored in the data store for the period of time that satisfies the eviction time period threshold, evicting the event from the data store.
2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein ingesting the event is in response to at least one of: receiving an ingestion request; an indication from a time schedule; or an indication from an event.
3. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise, identifying whether the event is associated with any custom indexing-attributes defined by a user for indexing events.
4. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: applying a set of validity rules to the event; determining whether the event is valid based on the set of validity rules; and when the event is valid, indexing the event into the data store as structured data.
5. The computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein the set of validity rules comprises a set of priority rules to determine a priority of the event.
6. The computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein the operations further comprise, when the event is invalid, rejecting the event for indexing into the data store.
7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a retrieval request for data stored in the data store, wherein receiving the retrieval request comprises receiving a data retrieval offset, the data retrieval offset indicating a position in a list of data to be retrieved, and wherein only data after the position in the list of data is retrieved.
8. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the data store comprises a distributed storage system.
9. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein ingesting the event comprises obtaining the event by the one of the plurality of disparate computing resources via an application programming interface.
10. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the event is indicative of a measured characteristic of a corresponding one of the plurality of disparate computing resources.
Claims 11-20 are system claims corresponding to method claims 1-10 respectively and rejected under the same reason set forth to the rejection of claims 1-10 above.
“Omission of element and its function in combination is obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform same functions as before.” See In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184, decide Jan 16, 1963, Appl. No. 6857, U.S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuruvada et al (US 2019/0236149 A1), in view of Therrien et al (US 2007/0130232 A1), and further in view of Fujita et al (US 2018/0314238 A1).
As per claim 1, Kuruvada discloses:
- a computer-implemented method executed by data processing hardware that causes the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising (Para [0080] – [0082], Para [0441], a method implemented by combination of hardware and software component to perform operations),
- receiving event data from a plurality of disparate computing resources, the event data comprising a timestamp, one or more ingestion-attributes, and one or more custom key-value pair indexing-attributes (Fig. 2, 5, 13A – 13B, Para [0051], [0054], [0058], [0258], [0307],[0317]- [0318], receiving event data from different sources which includes timeseries data (i.e., time stamp), data ingestion protocol such as conversion, format (i.e., ingestion attribute) and key value pair),
- indexing the event data into structured event data based on the timestamp, the one or more ingestion-attributes, and the one or more custom key-value pair indexing- attributes, the structured event data stored at a distributed data store (Para [0061] – [0062], [0055], indexing event data into structured store based on time, ingestion attribute such as data format, type and key value pair, Para [0060], [0307], [0318]),
Kuruvada does not explicitly disclose applying a first retention threshold of a multi-tiered retention policy to older versions of the structured event data; applying a second retention threshold of the multi-tiered retention policy to a latest version of the structured event data, the first retention threshold shorter than the second retention threshold; receiving a retrieval request requesting to compare the structured event data between a first time range and a second time range; based on the retrieval request, retrieving structured event data from both the first time range and the second time range from the distributed data store. However, in the same field of endeavor Therrien in an analogous art disclose applying a first retention threshold of a multi-tiered retention policy to older versions of the structured event data (Fig. 15b, Para [0125], [0128] – [0130], retention policy is set to 7 months period (i.e., first retention threshold) in multi-tiered retention), applying a second retention threshold of the multi-tiered retention policy to a latest version of the structured event data, the first retention threshold shorter than the second retention threshold (Fig. 15-17, Para [0125], [0140], [0142], retention for number of years (i.e., second retention threshold) to a latest version of files, Fig. 6, item 6d, Para [0078], [0086], [0088]), receiving a retrieval request requesting to compare the structured event data between a first time range and a second time range (Para [0085], differences on changes are made to file A between 3:00 and 4:00 (i.e., comparing structured data between first and second time)), retrieving structured event data from both the first time range and the second time range from the distributed data store (claim 17, line 2-4, retrieving modified version of said original file (i.e., structured data from both first and second time range), using another modification of said original file and said another byte-level difference),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the first and second retention threshold to old and new version of structured data as taught by Therrien as the means to receiving, processing and indexing event data from various sources in Kuruvada. Kuruvada and Therrien are analogous prior art since they both deal with processing structured data such as event, filed and applying retention based on retention policies. A person of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make aforementioned modification to efficiently storing and managing version of data, (Therrien, Para [0023]).
Combined method of Kuruvada and Therrien does not explicitly disclose generating a new attribute indicating changes to the structured event data between the first time range and the second time range by joining the structured event data retrieved from the first time range with the structured event data retrieved from the second time range, the new attribute indicating whether the structured event data existed in both the first time range and the second time range and indicating one or more attributes, properties, or augmentations of the structured event data that changed between the first time range and the second time range. However, in the same field of endeavor Fujita in an analogous art discloses generating a new attribute indicating changes to the structured event data between the first time range and the second time range by joining the structured event data retrieved from the first time range with the structured event data retrieved from the second time range, the new attribute indicating whether the structured event data existed in both the first time range and the second time range and indicating one or more attributes, properties, or augmentations of the structured event data that changed between the first time range and the second time range (Abstract, line 1-15, Para [0019], [0044]-[0046], [0108], Fig. 2, extracting time series data for an observed value (i.e., new attribute) indicating change trend between first time range and second time range and indication that new value is previously stored (i.e., existed in both first and second time range).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kuruvada, as previously modified with Therrien, with the teaching of Fujita by modifying Kuruvada such that change of events are detected between different time ranges in time-series data. The motivation for doing so would be analyzing time-series data and find abnormality of an event the time-series data, (Fujita, Para [0003], [0024]).
As per claim 2, rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and further Kuruvada discloses:
- wherein receiving the event data from the plurality of disparate computing resources comprises receiving the event data via an application programming interface (API) from the plurality of disparate computing resources (Fig. 8A, 11D, Para [0026], [0140] - [0141], [0207], API to receive and search event data collected from various sources).
As per claim 3, rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and further Kuruvada discloses:
- prior to indexing the event data into the structured event data, determining that the event data is valid based on ingestion rules (Para [0288], [0366], validating event before indexing based on policy).
As per claim 4, rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and further Kuruvada discloses:
- receiving other event data from the plurality of disparate computing resources (Para [0104], receiving data from variety of sources (i.e., receiving event form disparate resources),
- determining that the other event data is invalid based on ingestion rules (Para [0057], [0060], [0135], pre-processing (i.e., in validating) raw data into various rules),
- and discarding the other event data (Para [0057], [0206], discarding event data).
As pe claim 5, rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and further Kuruvada discloses:
- wherein indexing the event data into the structured event data comprises adding a timeline attribute to the structured event data (Para [0061], [0062], indexing event by timestamps (i.e., adding timeline)).
As per claim 6, rejection of claim 5 is incorporated, and further Kuruvada discloses:
- wherein the timeline attribute comprises changes in attributes, properties, augmentations, or relationship structures of the event data over a specified period of time (Para [0117] – [0118], determining timestamps for each event associated with the data to locate one or more properties (i.e., timeline attribute with properties) that indicate instructions for determining a timestamp for each event).
As per claim 7, rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and further Therrien discloses:
- determining that an older version of the structured event data satisfies the first retention threshold (Para [0142], retention period for 7 years (i.e., retention threshold) for certain keyword related data (i.e., structured event)
- based on determining that the older version of the structured event data satisfies the first retention threshold, evicting the older version of the structured event data (Fig. 16, deleting (i.e., evict$3) after retention period (i.e., retention threshold)).
As per claim 10, rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and further Kuruvada discloses:
- wherein the event data represents a parent-child hierarchy of cloud resources (Para [0146], Objects in data models can be arranged hierarchically in parent/child relationships. Each child object represents a subset of the dataset covered by its parent object).
As per claims 11-17 and 20,
Claims 11-17 and 20 are system claims corresponding to method claims 1-7, and 10 respectively and rejected under the same reason set forth to the rejection of claims 1-7 and 10 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on August 20, 2026, with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection necessitated by the amendment to the claims.
In response to the applicant’s argument in page 6-7, applicants argued that, neither Kuruvada nor Therrien, whether taken alone or in combination, teaches or suggests generating a new attribute ... by joining the structured event data retrieved from the first time range with the structured event data retrieved from the second time range, the new attribute indicating whether the structured event data existed in both the first time range and the second time range and indicating one or more attributes, properties, or augmentations of the structured event data that changed between the first time range and the second time range, as recited by claims 1 and 11 as amended.
Examiner respectfully response that, after an updated search examiner found Fujita et al, reasonably teaches generating a new attribute indicating changes to the structured event data between the first time range and the second time range by joining the structured event data retrieved from the first time range with the structured event data retrieved from the second time range, the new attribute indicating whether the structured event data existed in both the first time range and the second time range and indicating one or more attributes, properties, or augmentations of the structured event data that changed between the first time range and the second time range in Abstract, line 1-15, Para [0019], [0044]-[0046], [0108], Fig. 2, extracting time series data for an observed value (i.e., new attribute) indicating change trend between first time range and second time range and indication that new value is previously stored (i.e., existed in both first and second time range).
Therefore, examiners firmly believe that Kuruvada, Therrien and Fujita alone or in combination reasonably teaches the argued limitation and claim 1 and 11 as claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Nojima US 2014/0297685 A1: Data management apparatus, data management method and data management program (Title)
Noel et al US 2018/0024702 A1: Concurrent display of search results from differing time-based search queries executed across event data (Title).
Contact Information
/MOHAMMED R UDDIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2161