DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the depressible button, spring interlock, and magnet and pin system recited in claims 3, 9, and 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “lock mechanism” in claims 1 and 7 and “lighting element” in claims 2 and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tickner (US 5809850).
1. Tickner teaches an adapter (28) for joining a tool (30) having a tool stud (base 50) and a tool stud hole (base 50 is hollow, see Tickner figs. 3-8) to a threaded pole (22), said adapter comprising:
a body (32) having an internally threaded end (coupler 32 attaches to external threads of pole 22, which means it will have internal threads, see Tickner fig. 2 and 3:46-54),
an attachment end (tube 38) having a center hole opposite the internally threaded end (tube 38 is hollow and on an end distal from 32, see Tickner fig. 2 and 3:55-61);
a lock mechanism (34) entering the internally threaded end (screw 34 enters threaded end 32, Tickner fig. 2 and 3:46-54);
and an attachment lock (holes 42, see Tickner fig. 2) configured to interact with the tool stud and the attachment end when the tool stud is inserted into the center hole (base 50 includes detents 54 which interact with holes 42 to lock tool 30 in place when inserted into tube 38, see Tickner figs. 2, 4, and 9, and 4:12-18).
3. Tickner teaches the adapter of claim 1, further comprising a locking hole (holes 42) passing through the center hole (holes 42 are on opposing sides of tube 38, see Tickner figs. 2 and 13-14), and wherein the attachment lock is a depressible button configured to pass into at least a portion of the locking hole (detents 54 at least partly pass through holes 42, see Tickner figs. 2, 4, 9, and 13).
5. Tickner teaches the adapter of claim 1, wherein the internally threaded end of the body includes a first flat outer surface and a second flat outer surface with the first flat outer surface opposing the second flat outer surface (bottom portion of 40 is depicted has having flat surfaces corresponding to the opposing flat surfaces on tube 38, see Tickner fig. figs. 2-3).
6. Tickner teaches the adapter of claim 1, wherein the lock mechanism comprises a lock screw configured to pass into a threaded hole in a body sidewall at the internally threaded end (locking screw 34 is positioned at threaded end 32 and passes through a sidewall, see Tickner fig. 2 and 3:46-54).
7. Tickner teaches a kit for attaching a tool (30) to a threaded pole (22), said kit comprising:
an adapter (28) comprising
a body (32) having an internally threaded end (coupler 32 attaches to external threads of pole 22, which means it will have internal threads, see Tickner fig. 2 and 3:46-54),
an attachment end (tube 38) opposite the internally threaded end and comprising a center hole (tube 38 is hollow and on end distal from 32, see Tickner fig. 2 and 3:55-61),
a lock mechanism (34) for the internally threaded end (Tickner fig. 2 and 3:46-54),
an attachment lock (holes 42, see Tickner fig. 2) for the attachment end (holes 42 are on end of 38, see Tickner fig. 2);
the tool (30) having a tool stud (base 50) with a tool stud hole (base 50 is hollow, see Tickner figs. 3-8);
and wherein said attachment lock is configured to interact with the tool stud when the tool stud is inserted into the center hole (base 50 includes detents 54 which interact with holes 42 to lock tool 30 in place when inserted into tube 38, see Tickner figs. 2, 4, and 9, and 4:12-18).
9. Tickner teaches the kit of claim 7, further comprising a locking hole (holes 42) passing through the center hole (holes 42 are on opposing sides of tube 38, see Tickner figs. 2 and 13-14), and wherein the attachment lock is a depressible button configured to pass into at least a portion of the locking hole (detents 54 at least partly pass through holes 42, see Tickner figs. 2, 4, 9, and 13).
15. Tickner teaches the kit of claim 7, wherein the lock mechanism comprises a lock screw configured to pass into a threaded hole in a body sidewall at the internally threaded end (locking screw 34 is positioned at threaded end 32 and passes through a sidewall, see Tickner fig. 2 and 3:46-54).
17. Tickner teaches the kit of claim 7, wherein the tool is a light bulb extractor (see Tickner figs. 9-11 and 5:36-66).
18. Tickner teaches the kit of claim 17, wherein the light bulb extractor is selected from the group consisting of a spring-loaded friction removal tool and a broken bulb removal tool (grippers 52 are capable of elastic deformation and engage at least partly by friction, see Tickner 4:6-11 and figs. 9-10; because the grippers engage with ballast on a bulb, they would also be capable of removing a broken light bulb so long as the ballast was not broken off).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tickner as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Morse (US 4864899).
2. Tickner teaches the adapter of claim 1, but does not teach that the attachment end comprises a lighting element electrically connected to a power supply, said lighting element is configured to turn on when a circuit between the lighting element and the power supply is closed by a switch.
However, Morse teaches a lightbulb changing tool (10, Morse fig. 2) wherein the tool includes a lighting element (28, Morse fig. 4 and 2:39-47) at the attachment end (28 is positioned at an end connected to removable tool 40, see Morse fig. 4) that is electrically connected to a power supply (28 is connected to batteries 26, see Morse figs. 3-4), with said lighting element configured to turn on when a circuit between the lighting element and the power supply is closed by a switch (illuminating means 28 are controlled by a switch 35, see Morse fig. 2 and 3:3-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary sill before the effective filing date to integrate the teachings of Morse regarding a lighting element and associated power and control means into the device of Tickner such that the adapter further comprised a lighting element at the attachment end that is electrically connected to a power supply, with said lighting element configured to turn on when a circuit between the lighting element and the power supply is closed by a switch, as doing so would allow for illumination of a light fixture in a darkened room during a bulb removal or changing process. (Morse 3:10-13).
Claims 8, 10, 16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tickner as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Morse.
8. Tickner teaches the kit of claim 7, but does not teach that the adapter further comprises a lighting element at the attachment end that is electrically connected to a power supply, with said lighting element configured to turn on when a circuit between the lighting element and the power supply is closed by a switch.
However, Morse teaches a lightbulb changing tool (10, Morse fig. 2) wherein the tool includes a lighting element (28, Morse fig. 4 and 2:39-47) at the attachment end (28 is positioned at an end connected to removable tool 40, see Morse fig. 4) that is electrically connected to a power supply (28 is connected to batteries 26, see Morse figs. 3-4), with said lighting element configured to turn on when a circuit between the lighting element and the power supply is closed by a switch (illuminating means 28 are controlled by a switch 35, see Morse fig. 2 and 3:3-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary sill before the effective filing date to integrate the teachings of Morse regarding a lighting element and associated power and control means into the device of Tickner such that the adapter further comprised a lighting element at the attachment end that is electrically connected to a power supply, with said lighting element configured to turn on when a circuit between the lighting element and the power supply is closed by a switch, as doing so would allow for illumination of a light fixture in a darkened room during a bulb removal or changing process. (Morse 3:10-13).
10. Tickner as modified teaches the kit of claim 8, further comprising a locking hole (holes 42) passing through the center hole (holes 42 are on opposing sides of tube 38, see Tickner figs. 2 and 13-14), and wherein the attachment lock is a depressible button configured to pass into at least a portion of the locking hole (detents 54 at least partly pass through holes 42, see Tickner figs. 2, 4, 9, and 13).
16. Tickner as modified teaches the kit of claim 8, wherein the lock mechanism comprises a lock screw configured to pass into a threaded hole in a body sidewall at the internally threaded end (locking screw 34 is positioned at threaded end 32 and passes through a sidewall, see Tickner fig. 2 and 3:46-54).
19. Tickner as modified teaches the kit of claim 8, wherein the tool is a light bulb extractor (see Tickner figs. 9-11 and 5:36-66).
20. Tickner as modified teaches the kit of claim 19, wherein the light bulb extractor is selected from the group consisting of a spring-loaded friction removal tool and a broken bulb removal tool (grippers 52 are capable of elastic deformation and engage at least partly by friction, see Tickner 4:6-11 and figs. 9-10; because the grippers engage with ballast on a bulb, they would also be capable of removing a broken light bulb so long as the ballast was not broken off).
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman et al. (US 5148723, "Newman") in view of Robinson (US 7234743).
1. Newman teaches an adapter (10) for joining a tool (suction cup 12) having a tool stud (cylindrical base portion 22) with a tool stud hole (22 includes slots 38, see Newman figs. 3-4 and 2:3-23); to a threaded pole (70, see Newman fig. 1), said adapter comprising:
a body (18) having an internally threaded end (60, see Newman figs. 2-3 and 2:41-68),
an attachment end having a center hole opposite the internally threaded end (end including center hole 62 is distal to threaded bore 60, see Newman figs. 2-3 and 2:41-68); and
an attachment lock (combination of pin 16 and holes 64, see Newman figs. 2-4 and 2:31-41) configured to interact with the tool stud and the attachment end when the tool stud is inserted into the center hole (pin 16 extends through holes 64 and slots 38 in suction cup 12, see Newman fig. 3).
Newman does not teach the presence of a lock mechanism entering the internally threaded end.
However, Robinson teaches the concept of providing a lock mechanism (30) entering an internally threaded end (set screw 30 enters internally threaded end 46, see Robinson fig. 2) of an adapter (2) for attaching a tool (22) to a threaded pole (22, see Robinson figs. 1-2 and 3:8-47).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the adapter of Newman according to the teachings from Robinson such that it included a lock mechanism entering the internally threaded end, as doing so would secure the threaded connection against unwanted rotation (Robinson 3:45-47).
7. Newman teaches a kit (Newman fig. 1) for attaching a tool (12) to a threaded pole (70), said kit comprising:
an adapter (10) comprising a body (18) having an internally threaded end (60, see Newman figs. 2-3 and 2:41-68),
an attachment end opposite the internally threaded end and comprising a center hole (end including center hole 62 is distal to threaded bore 60, see Newman figs. 2-3 and 2:41-68),
an attachment lock (combination of pin 16 and holes 64, see Newman figs. 2-4 and 2:31-41) for the attachment end (pin 16 extends across bore 62, see Newman figs. 2-4);
the tool (suction cup 12) having a tool stud (cylindrical base portion 22) with a tool stud hole (22 includes slots 38, see Newman figs. 3-4 and 2:3-23);
and wherein said attachment lock is configured to interact with the tool stud when the tool stud is inserted into the center hole (pin 16 extends through holes 64 and slots 38 in suction cup 12, see Newman fig. 3).
Newman does not teach the presence of a lock mechanism for the internally threaded end.
However, Robinson teaches the concept of providing a lock mechanism (30) for an internally threaded end (set screw 30 enters internally threaded end 46, see Robinson fig. 2) of an adapter (2) for attaching a tool (22) to a threaded pole (22, see Robinson figs. 1-2 and 3:8-47).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the kit of Newman according to the teachings from Robinson such that it included a lock mechanism for the internally threaded end, as doing so would secure the threaded connection against unwanted rotation (Robinson 3:45-47).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman in view of Robinson as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Barron (US 6223628).
4. Newman as modified teaches the adapter of claim 1, further comprising a string having a string first end configured to connect to a portion of the tool (string connected to holes 32 of ears 30 on suction cup 12 and may be pulled to release pressure from the suction cup, see Newman 3:11-23 and fig. 1). Newman does not teach the presence of a spool located between the internally threaded end and the attachment end.
However, Barron teaches the concept of providing a light bulb changing tool (10) including a string (77, see Barron figs. 1-2) for releasing a light bulb and further providing a spool (48, see Barron fig. 1) for storing the string between ends of the tool.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the adapter of Newman as modified according to the teachings of Barron regarding the provision of storage on a lightbulb changing tool such that it included a spool located between the internally threaded end and the attachment end, as Newman teaches that a string must be long enough for use by a distant operator (Newman fig. 1 and 3:11-23), which one of ordinary skill would understand to have a significant risk of tangling if stored in a disorderly fashion. Modifying the device to include an integral storage device such as the spool taught by Barron would ensure that a very long cord could be stored in a fashion that reduces the risk of the cord tangling. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to position such a storage device between the ends of the adapter to ensure that it didn't interfere with the connection mechanisms on either and would ensure that the string stayed with the adapter even if it were used with different poles.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman in view of Robinson as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Barron.
11. Newman as modified teaches the kit of claim 7, and further teaches the presence of string (to release pressure from the suction cup, see Newman 3:11-23), but does not explicitly teach that the adapter further comprises a spool that houses a string located between the internally threaded end and the attachment end of the adapter.
However, Barron teaches the concept of providing a light bulb changing tool (10) including a string (77, see Barron figs. 1-2) for releasing a light bulb and further providing a spool (48, see Barron fig. 1) for storing the string between ends of the tool.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the adapter of Newman as modified according to the teachings of Barron regarding the provision of storage on a lightbulb changing tool such that it included a spool located between the internally threaded end and the attachment end, as Newman teaches that a string must be long enough for use by a distant operator (Newman fig. 1 and 3:11-23), which one of ordinary skill would understand to have a significant risk of tangling if stored in a disorderly fashion. Modifying the device to include an integral storage device such as the spool taught by Barron would ensure that a very long cord could be stored in a fashion that reduces the risk of the cord tangling. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to position such a storage device between the ends of the adapter to ensure that it didn't interfere with the connection mechanisms on either and would ensure that the string stayed with the adapter even if it were used with different poles.
12. Newman as modified teaches the kit of claim 11, wherein a string first end is configured to connect to a portion of the tool (string is connected to holes 32 of ears 30 on suction cup 12 and may be pulled to release pressure from the suction cup, see Newman 3:11-23 and fig. 1).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman in view of Robinson as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Morse (US 4864899).
8. Newman as modified teaches the kit of claim 7, the adapter further comprising a lighting element at the attachment end that is electrically connected to a power supply, with said lighting element configured to turn on when a circuit between the lighting element and the power supply is closed by a switch.
However, Morse teaches a lightbulb changing tool (10, Morse fig. 2) wherein the tool includes a lighting element (28, Morse fig. 4 and 2:39-47) at the attachment end (28 is positioned at an end connected to removable tool 40, see Morse fig. 4) that is electrically connected to a power supply (28 is connected to batteries 26, see Morse figs. 3-4), with said lighting element configured to turn on when a circuit between the lighting element and the power supply is closed by a switch (illuminating means 28 are controlled by a switch 35, see Morse fig. 2 and 3:3-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary sill before the effective filing date to integrate the teachings of Morse regarding a lighting element and associated power and control means into the device of Newman as modified such that the adapter further comprised a lighting element at the attachment end that is electrically connected to a power supply, with said lighting element configured to turn on when a circuit between the lighting element and the power supply is closed by a switch, as doing so would allow for illumination of a light fixture in a darkened room during a bulb removal or changing process. (Morse 3:10-13).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman in view of Robinson and Morse as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Barron.
13. Newman as modified teaches the kit of claim 8, and further teaches the presence of string (to release pressure from the suction cup, see Newman 3:11-23), but does not explicitly teach that the adapter further comprises a spool that houses a string located between the internally threaded end and the attachment end of the adapter.
However, Barron teaches the concept of providing a light bulb changing tool (10) including a string (77, see Barron figs. 1-2) for releasing a light bulb and further providing a spool (48, see Barron fig. 1) for storing the string between ends of the tool.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the adapter of Newman as modified according to the teachings of Barron regarding the provision of storage on a lightbulb changing tool such that it included a spool located between the internally threaded end and the attachment end, as Newman teaches that a string must be long enough for use by a distant operator (Newman fig. 1 and 3:11-23), which one of ordinary skill would understand to have a significant risk of tangling if stored in a disorderly fashion. Modifying the device to include an integral storage device such as the spool taught by Barron would ensure that a very long cord could be stored in a fashion that reduces the risk of the cord tangling. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to position such a storage device between the ends of the adapter to ensure that it didn't interfere with the connection mechanisms on either and would ensure that the string stayed with the adapter even if it were used with different poles.
14. Newman as modified teaches the kit of claim 13, wherein a string first end is configured to connect to a portion of the tool (string is connected to holes 32 of ears 30 on suction cup 12 and may be pulled to release pressure from the suction cup, see Newman 3:11-23 and fig. 1).2. Tickner teaches the adapter of claim 1, but does not teach that the attachment end comprises a lighting element electrically connected to a power supply, said lighting element is configured to turn on when a circuit between the lighting element and the power supply is closed by a switch.
However, Morse teaches a lightbulb changing tool (10, Morse fig. 2) wherein the tool includes a lighting element (28, Morse fig. 4 and 2:39-47) at the attachment end (28 is positioned at an end connected to removable tool 40, see Morse fig. 4) that is electrically connected to a power supply (28 is connected to batteries 26, see Morse figs. 3-4), with said lighting element configured to turn on when a circuit between the lighting element and the power supply is closed by a switch (illuminating means 28 are controlled by a switch 35, see Morse fig. 2 and 3:3-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to integrate the teachings of Morse regarding a lighting element and associated power and control means into the device of Tickner such that the adapter further comprised a lighting element at the attachment end that is electrically connected to a power supply, with said lighting element configured to turn on when a circuit between the lighting element and the power supply is closed by a switch, as doing so would allow for illumination of a light fixture in a darkened room during a bulb removal or changing process. (Morse 3:10-13).
Claims 8, 10, 16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tickner as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Morse.
8. Tickner teaches the kit of claim 7, but does not teach that the adapter further comprises a lighting element at the attachment end that is electrically connected to a power supply, with said lighting element configured to turn on when a circuit between the lighting element and the power supply is closed by a switch.
However, Morse teaches a lightbulb changing tool (10, Morse fig. 2) wherein the tool includes a lighting element (28, Morse fig. 4 and 2:39-47) at the attachment end (28 is positioned at an end connected to removable tool 40, see Morse fig. 4) that is electrically connected to a power supply (28 is connected to batteries 26, see Morse figs. 3-4), with said lighting element configured to turn on when a circuit between the lighting element and the power supply is closed by a switch (illuminating means 28 are controlled by a switch 35, see Morse fig. 2 and 3:3-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to integrate the teachings of Morse regarding a lighting element and associated power and control means into the device of Tickner such that the adapter further comprised a lighting element at the attachment end that is electrically connected to a power supply, with said lighting element configured to turn on when a circuit between the lighting element and the power supply is closed by a switch, as doing so would allow for illumination of a light fixture in a darkened room during a bulb removal or changing process. (Morse 3:10-13).
10. Tickner as modified teaches the kit of claim 8, further comprising a locking hole (holes 42) passing through the center hole (holes 42 are on opposing sides of tube 38, see Tickner figs. 2 and 13-14), and wherein the attachment lock is a depressible button configured to pass into at least a portion of the locking hole (detents 54 at least partly pass through holes 42, see Tickner figs. 2, 4, 9, and 13).
16. Tickner as modified teaches the kit of claim 8, wherein the lock mechanism comprises a lock screw configured to pass into a threaded hole in a body sidewall at the internally threaded end (locking screw 34 is positioned at threaded end 32 and passes through a sidewall, see Tickner fig. 2 and 3:46-54).
19. Tickner as modified teaches the kit of claim 8, wherein the tool is a light bulb extractor (see Tickner figs. 9-11 and 5:36-66).
20. Tickner as modified teaches the kit of claim 19, wherein the light bulb extractor is selected from the group consisting of a spring-loaded friction removal tool and a broken bulb removal tool (grippers 52 are capable of elastic deformation and engage at least partly by friction, see Tickner 4:6-11 and figs. 9-10; because the grippers engage with ballast on a bulb, they would also be capable of removing a broken light bulb so long as the ballast was not broken off).
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman et al. (US 5148723, "Newman") in view of Robinson (US 7234743).
1. Newman teaches an adapter (10) for joining a tool (suction cup 12) having a tool stud (cylindrical base portion 22) with a tool stud hole (22 includes slots 38, see Newman figs. 3-4 and 2:3-23); to a threaded pole (70, see Newman fig. 1), said adapter comprising:
a body (18) having an internally threaded end (60, see Newman figs. 2-3 and 2:41-68),
an attachment end having a center hole opposite the internally threaded end (end including center hole 62 is distal to threaded bore 60, see Newman figs. 2-3 and 2:41-68); and
an attachment lock (combination of pin 16 and holes 64, see Newman figs. 2-4 and 2:31-41) configured to interact with the tool stud and the attachment end when the tool stud is inserted into the center hole (pin 16 extends through holes 64 and slots 38 in suction cup 12, see Newman fig. 3).
Newman does not teach the presence of a lock mechanism entering the internally threaded end.
However, Robinson teaches the concept of providing a lock mechanism (30) entering an internally threaded end (set screw 30 enters internally threaded end 46, see Robinson fig. 2) of an adapter (2) for attaching a tool (22) to a threaded pole (22, see Robinson figs. 1-2 and 3:8-47).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the adapter of Newman according to the teachings from Robinson such that it included a lock mechanism entering the internally threaded end, as doing so would secure the threaded connection against unwanted rotation (Robinson 3:45-47).
7. Newman teaches a kit (Newman fig. 1) for attaching a tool (12) to a threaded pole (70), said kit comprising:
an adapter (10) comprising a body (18) having an internally threaded end (60, see Newman figs. 2-3 and 2:41-68),
an attachment end opposite the internally threaded end and comprising a center hole (end including center hole 62 is distal to threaded bore 60, see Newman figs. 2-3 and 2:41-68),
an attachment lock (combination of pin 16 and holes 64, see Newman figs. 2-4 and 2:31-41) for the attachment end (pin 16 extends across bore 62, see Newman figs. 2-4);
the tool (suction cup 12) having a tool stud (cylindrical base portion 22) with a tool stud hole (22 includes slots 38, see Newman figs. 3-4 and 2:3-23);
and wherein said attachment lock is configured to interact with the tool stud when the tool stud is inserted into the center hole (pin 16 extends through holes 64 and slots 38 in suction cup 12, see Newman fig. 3).
Newman does not teach the presence of a lock mechanism for the internally threaded end.
However, Robinson teaches the concept of providing a lock mechanism (30) for an internally threaded end (set screw 30 enters internally threaded end 46, see Robinson fig. 2) of an adapter (2) for attaching a tool (22) to a threaded pole (22, see Robinson figs. 1-2 and 3:8-47).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the kit of Newman according to the teachings from Robinson such that it included a lock mechanism for the internally threaded end, as doing so would secure the threaded connection against unwanted rotation (Robinson 3:45-47).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman in view of Robinson as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Barron (US 6223628).
4. Newman as modified teaches the adapter of claim 1, further comprising a string having a string first end configured to connect to a portion of the tool (string connected to holes 32 of ears 30 on suction cup 12 and may be pulled to release pressure from the suction cup, see Newman 3:11-23 and fig. 1). Newman does not teach the presence of a spool located between the internally threaded end and the attachment end.
However, Barron teaches the concept of providing a light bulb changing tool (10) including a string (77, see Barron figs. 1-2) for releasing a light bulb and further providing a spool (48, see Barron fig. 1) for storing the string between ends of the tool.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the adapter of Newman as modified according to the teachings of Barron regarding the provision of storage on a lightbulb changing tool such that it included a spool located between the internally threaded end and the attachment end, as Newman teaches that a string must be long enough for use by a distant operator (Newman fig. 1 and 3:11-23), which one of ordinary skill would understand to have a significant risk of tangling if stored in a disorderly fashion. Modifying the device to include an integral storage device such as the spool taught by Barron would ensure that a very long cord could be stored in a fashion that reduces the risk of the cord tangling. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to position such a storage device between the ends of the adapter to ensure that it didn't interfere with the connection mechanisms on either and would ensure that the string stayed with the adapter even if it were used with different poles.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman in view of Robinson as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Barron.
11. Newman as modified teaches the kit of claim 7, and further teaches the presence of string (to release pressure from the suction cup, see Newman 3:11-23), but does not explicitly teach that the adapter further comprises a spool that houses a string located between the internally threaded end and the attachment end of the adapter.
However, Barron teaches the concept of providing a light bulb changing tool (10) including a string (77, see Barron figs. 1-2) for releasing a light bulb and further providing a spool (48, see Barron fig. 1) for storing the string between ends of the tool.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the adapter of Newman as modified according to the teachings of Barron regarding the provision of storage on a lightbulb changing tool such that it included a spool located between the internally threaded end and the attachment end, as Newman teaches that a string must be long enough for use by a distant operator (Newman fig. 1 and 3:11-23), which one of ordinary skill would understand to have a significant risk of tangling if stored in a disorderly fashion. Modifying the device to include an integral storage device such as the spool taught by Barron would ensure that a very long cord could be stored in a fashion that reduces the risk of the cord tangling. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to position such a storage device between the ends of the adapter to ensure that it didn't interfere with the connection mechanisms on either and would ensure that the string stayed with the adapter even if it were used with different poles.
12. Newman as modified teaches the kit of claim 11, wherein a string first end is configured to connect to a portion of the tool (string is connected to holes 32 of ears 30 on suction cup 12 and may be pulled to release pressure from the suction cup, see Newman 3:11-23 and fig. 1).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman in view of Robinson as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Morse (US 4864899).
8. Newman as modified teaches the kit of claim 7, the adapter further comprising a lighting element at the attachment end that is electrically connected to a power supply, with said lighting element configured to turn on when a circuit between the lighting element and the power supply is closed by a switch.
However, Morse teaches a lightbulb changing tool (10, Morse fig. 2) wherein the tool includes a lighting element (28, Morse fig. 4 and 2:39-47) at the attachment end (28 is positioned at an end connected to removable tool 40, see Morse fig. 4) that is electrically connected to a power supply (28 is connected to batteries 26, see Morse figs. 3-4), with said lighting element configured to turn on when a circuit between the lighting element and the power supply is closed by a switch (illuminating means 28 are controlled by a switch 35, see Morse fig. 2 and 3:3-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary sill before the effective filing date to integrate the teachings of Morse regarding a lighting element and associated power and control means into the device of Newman as modified such that the adapter further comprised a lighting element at the attachment end that is electrically connected to a power supply, with said lighting element configured to turn on when a circuit between the lighting element and the power supply is closed by a switch, as doing so would allow for illumination of a light fixture in a darkened room during a bulb removal or changing process. (Morse 3:10-13).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman in view of Robinson and Morse as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Barron.
13. Newman as modified teaches the kit of claim 8, and further teaches the presence of string (to release pressure from the suction cup, see Newman 3:11-23), but does not explicitly teach that the adapter further comprises a spool that houses a string located between the internally threaded end and the attachment end of the adapter.
However, Barron teaches the concept of providing a light bulb changing tool (10) including a string (77, see Barron figs. 1-2) for releasing a light bulb and further providing a spool (48, see Barron fig. 1) for storing the string between ends of the tool.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the adapter of Newman as modified according to the teachings of Barron regarding the provision of storage on a lightbulb changing tool such that it included a spool located between the internally threaded end and the attachment end, as Newman teaches that a string must be long enough for use by a distant operator (Newman fig. 1 and 3:11-23), which one of ordinary skill would understand to have a significant risk of tangling if stored in a disorderly fashion. Modifying the device to include an integral storage device such as the spool taught by Barron would ensure that a very long cord could be stored in a fashion that reduces the risk of the cord tangling. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to position such a storage device between the ends of the adapter to ensure that it didn't interfere with the connection mechanisms on either and would ensure that the string stayed with the adapter even if it were used with different poles.
14. Newman as modified teaches the kit of claim 13, wherein a string first end is configured to connect to a portion of the tool (string is connected to holes 32 of ears 30 on suction cup 12 and may be pulled to release pressure from the suction cup, see Newman 3:11-23 and fig. 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Harrington et al. (US 11081309), O'Banion et al. (US 10818487), Gurwicz et al. (US 10429040), Groves et al. (US 10332737), Shaps et al. (US 9070544), Gatski (US 8555749), Johnson et al. (US 8516925), Orr (US 8281470), Johnson et al. (US 7856907), Saunders (US 7131352), Tse et al. (US 6553872), Marinescu (US 5317939), Metzler et al. (US 1541839), and Simms (US 0636229) teach relevant to the field of kits for changing lightbulbs
/JONATHAN R ZAWORSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3723