DETAILED ACTION
The TrackOne Request, filed August 1, 2025, was granted July 28, 2026. Therefore, this application is accorded special status.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-18) in the reply filed on October 1, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on October 1, 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed October 1, 2026 (3) have been considered.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 15C-15D, 27A-27E, 28A-28E, 29A-29E, 30A-30D, 31A-31D, 32A, 33A-33B, 34A-34D, and 35B each include portions that are illegible. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The Tables are not numbered consecutively after Table 7. The Tables have a variety of numbering and lettering that are not consecutive in nature.
Appropriate correction is required.
The use of the terms POROS® at paragraph [1485]; GLUTAMAX® at paragraph [1488]; NORMOCIN® at paragraph [1488]; NUCLEOFECTOR® at paragraph [1488]; SUPERASE® at paragraph [1490]; TRIZOL® at paragraph [1490]; DIRECT-ZOL® at paragraph [1490]; NEBNEXT® at paragraphs [1493] and [1494]; RNACLEAN® at paragraph [1493]; NANOASSEMBLR® at paragraphs [1511] and [1520]; SLIDE-A-LYZER® at paragraph [1512]; ZETASIZER® at paragraphs [1515] and [1520]; TRITON® at paragraph [1517]; ZORBAX® at paragraphs [1541], [1546], 1547], 1549], [1551], [1552, [1554], {1555], and [1560]; HYPERSIL® at paragraph [1546]; COUNTBRIGHT® at paragraph [1582]; ULTRACOMP EBEADS® at paragraph [1582]; FLOWJO® at paragraph [1582]; GENTLEMACS® at paragraph [1584]; CELLACA® at paragraphs [1584] and [1592]; AUTOMACS® at paragraphs [1588] and [1590]; and ENDOFREE® at paragraph [1598]; which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized wherever they appear or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term. It is noted that the paragraph numbering for the above trademarks is that of U.S. Published Patent Application No. 2016/0315622.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horhota et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,679,120 issued June 20, 2023, and filed March 15, 2021) or Barnes et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0052049, published February 15, 2024 and filed June 29, 2022) in view of Johnson (PCT Patent Application Publication No. WO 2016/048938, published March 31, 2026).
Regarding claim 1, Horhota discloses circular RNA molecules that can include a variety of components, including internal ribosome entry sites (IRESs) and expression sequences (abstract). Horhota discloses that the circular RNA can include an expression sequence encoding a CD19 binding molecule (column 30, lines 1-26). Horhota discloses that the sequence of the IRES can be a sequence that is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 217 (SEQ ID NO: 678) (Appendix II).
Regarding claim 3, Horhota discloses that the CD19 binding molecule is an scFv (column 73, line 56 to column 74, line 57).
Regarding claim 5, Horhota discloses that the CD19 binding molecule isa a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) (column 73, line 56 to column 74, line 57).
Regarding claim 7, Horhota discloses that the circular RNA can include an miRNA site (column 39, lines 41-44 and column 780, line 64 to column 781, line 11).
Regarding claim 8, Horhota discloses that the circular RNA can include a segment that includes a 3’group I intron fragment that includes a 5’ proximal end of a natural group I intron, the splice sire dinucleotide and a stretch of natural exon sequence, which is interpreted as including a 5’ self-spliced exon segment (column 36, lines 6-10). Horhota discloses that the circular RNA can include a segment that includes a 3’group I intron fragment that includes a 3’ proximal end of a natural group I intron, the splice sire dinucleotide and a stretch of natural exon sequence, which is interpreted as including a 3’ self-spliced exon segment (column 36, lines 1-5). Horhota discloses that the circular RNA has, from 5’ to 3’: a 3’ group I intron fragment, and IRES, and expression sequence, and a 5’ group I intron fragment (column 23, lines 29-35).
Regarding claim 9, Horhota discloses that the circular RNA can include at least one modified A, C, G, or U nucleotide or nucleoside (column 54, line 41 to column 55, line 44).
Regarding claim 10, Horhota discloses the circular RNA having a variety of components, including internal ribosome entry sites (IRESs) and expression sequences (abstract). Horhota discloses that the circular RNA can include an expression sequence encoding a CD19 binding molecule (column 30, lines 1-26). Horhota discloses that the sequence of the IRES can be a sequence that is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 217 (SEQ ID NO: 678) (Appendix I). Horhota discloses that the circular RNA can be in a pharmaceutical composition that also includes a lipid nanoparticle (column 25, lines 47-62). Horhota discloses that the lipid nanoparticle can comprise ionizable lipids, phospholipids, structural lipids, and PEG lipids (column 31, lines 28-42, column 33, lines 31-41, and column 703, lines 3-12). Horhota discloses that the phospholipids can comprise between 20 mol% to about 60 mol% (Table 31b).
Regarding claim 11, Horhota discloses that the lipid nanoparticle can comprise about 25 mol% to about 45 mol% ionizable lipids, about 30 mol% to about 60 mol% phospholipids, about 15 mol% to about 35 mol% structural lipids, and about 1 mol% to about 3 mol% PEG lipids (Table 31b).
Regarding claim 13, Horhota discloses that the phospholipid can be sphingomyelin or DSPC, the structural lipid can be cholesterol, the PEG lipid can be DSPE-PEG(2000) or DMG-PEG(2000) (column 20 line 7 to column 21, line 39,column 34, lines 47-65, and column 703, lines 3-30).
Regarding claim 14, Horhota discloses that the phospholipid can be sphingomyelin, the structural lipid can be cholesterol, the PEG lipid can be DMG-PEG(2000) (column 20 line 7 to column 21, line 39,column 34, lines 47-65, and column 703, lines 3-30).
Horhota fails to disclose or suggest the sequences of the CD19 binding molecule components.
Regarding claims 1-2, Johnson discloses monovalent diabodies that include a binding site for an epitope of CD19 (paragraph [0003]). Johnson discloses that the ability to bind an epitope of an antigen requires the VL and VH variable domains (paragraph [0014]). Johnson discloses that the sequences also include a CDR1, a CDR2, and a CDR3 sequence (paragraphs [00111]-[00112]). Johnson discloses nucleic acids that encode a CD19 diabody (paragraph [00174]). Johnson discloses a heavy chain domain that encodes a VH CDR1, a VH CDR2, and a VH CDR3 sequence that has a sequence that is the same sequence as instant SEQ ID NO: 375 (SEQ ID NO: 21) (Appendix III). Johnson discloses that SEQ ID NO: 21 includes the instant sequences of SEQ ID NO: 418 (positions 31-37 of SEQ ID NO: 21), SEQ ID NO: 419 (positions 54-58 of SEQ ID NO: 21), and SEQ ID NO: 420 (positions 100-109 of SEQ ID NO: 21). Johnson further discloses a light chain domain that encodes a VL CDR1, a VL CDR1, and a VL CDR3 sequence that has the same sequence as instant SEQ ID NO: 376 (SEQ ID NO: 17) (Appendix IV). Johnson discloses that SEQ ID NO: 17 includes the instant sequences of SEQ ID NO: 421 (positions 28-33 of SEQ ID NO: 17), SEQ ID NO: 422 (positions 49-55 of SEQ ID NO: 17), and SEQ ID NO: 423 (positions 88-97 of SEQ ID NO: 17).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the circular RNA encoding the CD19 binding molecule of Horhota to encode the CD19 diabody of Johnson because Johnson discloses the sequences that encode the molecule which is encoded by the circular RNA of Horhota. Because Johnson discloses the exact CD19 binding molecule, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a predictable and reasonable expectation of success in producing the desired CD19 binding molecule and pharmaceutical composition from the circular RNA of Horhota.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horhota in view of Johnson as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 7-11, and 13-14 above, and further in view of Chaudhary (PCT Patent Application Publication No. WO 2019/232503, published December 5, 2019).
Horhota and Johnson disclose and suggest a circular RNA, as discussed above.
Horhota and Johnson fail to disclose or suggest the sequence of the scFv.
Chaudhary discloses a variety of antigen binding domains and platforms for construction of chimeric antigen receptors that can be used in therapies for cancer, infection, allergic degenerative, and immune disorders (abstract). Chaudhary discloses that the antigen binding domain can be a CD19 binding domain (paragraph [0023]). Chaudhary discloses that the CAR comprising the CD19 binding domain has a sequence that is the same as instant SEQ ID NO: 392 (SEQ ID NO: 4892) (Appendix V).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the CAR sequence of Chaudhary for the scFv sequence of Horhota and Johnson because both the CAR of Chaudhary and the scFV sequence of Horhota and Johnson encode the same CD19 binding domain. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a predictable and reasonable expectation of success in substituting one known CD19 binding molecule encoding sequence or another known CD19 binding molecule encoding sequence.
Claims 12 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horhota in view of Johnson as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 7-11, and 13-14 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (121 Chemical Reviews 12181-12277 (2021), Liu et al. (46 European Journal of Medicinal Chemistry 1949-1963 (2011); and Štimac et al. 22 Molecules 297 (2017)).
Horhota and Johnson disclose and suggest a circular RNA, as discussed above.
Horhota and Johnson fail to disclose or suggest the structure of the ionizable lipids.
However, regarding claim 12, Horhota discloses formulas for synthesizing cationic ionizable lipids (column 167, lines 25-35). Horhota further discloses Z-L combination of Formula IV has structures encompassed by instant formula AX (column 184, lines 40-50). Horhota further discloses that X can be CRa , which can be H, C1-C2 alkyl, C1-C12 hydroxyalkyl, C1-C12 aminoalkyl (column 167, lines 58-62). Horhota teaches that X can also be CH (column 168, line 57 and column 176, line 20). Horhota further teaches bridged cyclic structures in the design of ionizable lipids (Table 11, columns 383-394). Horhota discloses adamantane moieties attached to hydrophobic groups (columns 721-724, Table 16, compounds 39, 165, and 172).
Regarding claims 15-18, Horhota discloses that the lipid nanoparticle can comprise about 25 mol% to about 45 mol% ionizable lipids, about 30 mol% to about 60 mol% phospholipids, about 15 mol% to about 35 mol% structural lipids, and about 1 mol% to about 3 mol% PEG lipids (Table 31b). Horhota discloses that the phospholipid can be sphingomyelin or DSPC, the structural lipid can be cholesterol, the PEG lipid can be DSPE-PEG(2000) or DMG-PEG(2000) (column 20 line 7 to column 21, line 39,column 34, lines 47-65, and column 703, lines 3-30). Horhota discloses that the phospholipid can be sphingomyelin, the structural lipid can be cholesterol, the PEG lipid can be DMG-PEG(2000) (column 20 line 7 to column 21, line 39,column 34, lines 47-65, and column 703, lines 3-30).
Zhang discloses a general formula for lipids, with DOTMA as an example (Figure 2, page 12187). Zhang discloses three essential parts to a lipid: a head group, a linker, and a hydrophobic tail (Figure 2, page 12187). Zhang discloses that an “N” can be a head group (i.e., a tertiary amine), an ester group can be a linker (Figure 2, page 12187, comparable to Horhota’s Z-L groups as shown above).
Figure 2. Chemical structures of the cationic lipid DOTMA and three segments of lipids.
Liu discloses the use of adamantly group in drug design (Title). Liu specifically discloses that attaching a linker and a head group can be performed (page 1952, Figure 1, Species 4, 6, and 7)
Štimac discloses the use adamantane in drug delivery systems (Title). Štimac discloses that an adamantane moiety is widely applied in design and synthesis of drug delivery systems to form liposomes because of the self-assembling properties of the moiety (abstract and Section 2, page 2). Štimac disclose an example of a dendrimer that can be synthesized using adamantane moieties attached to a triazole-type head group and an amide-type linker and having additional hydrophobic tails (Figure 10, page 10). Štimac disclose that adamantane-derived structures can mimic lipids in liposomes (Figure 10, page 10). Štimac discloses that two or three additional hydrophobic tails can be attached to one adamantane moiety using amide-type linkers similar to those present in a naturally occurring lipid Figure 10, page 10, see also Figure 2 of Zhang above).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to synthesize a dendrimer-type liposome for gene delivery having the structure of instant AX-6, motivated by the self-assembling properties of adamantane-derived structures. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to perform a substitution of the AX-6 structure disclosed and suggested by Zhang, Liu, and Štimac with a predictable and reasonable expectation of success for the ionizable lipids disclosed by Horhota and Johnson above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art fails to disclose or suggest a CAR amino acid sequence having the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 289.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Barnes et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0052049, published February 15, 2024, filed June 29, 2022, and cited in the Information Disclosure Statement filed October 1, 2026) disclose circular RNA molecules that can include a variety of components, including internal ribosome entry sites (IRESs) and expression sequences (abstract) and is deemed to be cumulative to the teachings of Horhota above, including disclose that the circular RNA can include an expression sequence encoding a CAR that includes a CD19 binding molecule (paragraph [0037]). However, Barnes et al. does disclose that the sequence of the IRES can be a sequence that is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 207 (SEQ ID NO: 1284) (Appendix I).
NANCY J. LEITH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1636
/NANCY J LEITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636