DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dahan (US 20230073453 A1) in view of Yueh (US 20040099302 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dahan discloses (Fig. 9) a solar coach light comprising:
a power supply circuit 176 (¶72);
a light source housing 120 (¶54) including:
a light source 90 (¶60); the photo-voltaic module 135 is secured to a top wall of the light source housing (¶70), and
a mounting bracket 112/116 extending outwardly and away from the light source housing (¶52).
Dahan does not explicitly disclose an outwardly extending plateau, that extends from a top wall of the light source housing, and that the detachable photo-voltaic module is removably secured to, the photo-voltaic module having a pocket, that removably receives the outwardly extending plateau extending from the top wall of the light source housing and which is in electrical connection with the power supply circuit, wherein the detachable photo-voltaic module is stowed in a first position in which the outwardly extending plateau of the top wall of the light source housing is received within the pocket of the photo-voltaic module and securely affixes the detachable photo-voltaic module to the light source housing, and wherein the detachable photo-voltaic module is deployed in a second position in which the detachable photo-voltaic module is displaced from the outwardly extending plateau of the top wall of the light source housing.
Yueh teaches (Fig. 7) a separable solar energy storage device comprising: an outwardly extending plateau 36, that extends from a top wall of the light source housing, and that the detachable photo-voltaic module 2 is removably secured to (¶34),
the photo-voltaic module having a pocket, that removably receives the outwardly extending plateau extending from the top wall of the light source housing (¶34) and which is in electrical connection 4 with the power supply circuit (¶25),
wherein the detachable photo-voltaic module is stowed in a first position in which the outwardly extending plateau of the top wall of the light source housing is received within the pocket of the photo-voltaic module and securely affixes the detachable photo-voltaic module to the light source housing (¶34; Fig. 9), and
wherein the detachable photo-voltaic module is deployed in a second position in which the detachable photo-voltaic module is displaced from the outwardly extending plateau of the top wall of the light source housing (Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the solar powered lamp of Dahan with the removable solar panel of Yueh in order to enable the solar panel to be positioned at the optimal location for absorbing solar energy (Yueh: ¶25).
Regarding claim 2, Dahan modified by Yueh teaches the apparatus of claim 1 above and further teaches wherein the photo-voltaic module has a configuration which matches the configuration of the top wall and sits on the top wall of the light source housing when stowed in the first position, and retained on the outwardly extending plateau of the light source housing (Yueh: ¶34, Figs. 7 & 9).
Regarding claim 12, Dahan modified by Yueh teaches the apparatus of claim 1 above and further teaches an annular light source diffuser which surrounds the light source and which is translucent (Yueh: ¶29).
Regarding claim 13, Dahan modified by Yueh teaches the apparatus of claim 12 above and further teaches wherein the light source housing includes four columns extending below the top wall of the light source housing, and a bottom wall connected to the four columns (Dahan: ¶60).
Regarding claim 14, Dahan modified by Yueh teaches the apparatus of claim 13 above and further teaches wherein the annular light source diffuser is at least partially surrounded by the light source housing (Dahan: ¶61-¶62; protective frame would surround shade/diffuser).
Regarding claim 15, Dahan modified by Yueh teaches the apparatus of claim 14 above but does not explicitly teach wherein the annular light source diffuser is cylindrical.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the shade of Dahan modified by Yueh as a cylinder or other well known geometric shape suitable for diffusing light known in the art by choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, as the court has “held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant” (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)). See MPEP 2144.04 (IV) (B).
Regarding claim 16, Dahan modified by Yueh teaches the apparatus of claim 15 above and further teaches wherein the annular light source diffuser extends below the top wall of the light source housing, and the four columns extend further below the top wall of the light source housing than the annular light source diffuser (Dahan: Fig. 9; frame exists further from top than shade).
Regarding claim 17, Dahan modified by Yueh teaches the apparatus of claim 1 above and further teaches wherein the photo-voltaic module is secured to the light source housing by one or more of a mechanical lock 32 (Yueh: ¶31).
Regarding claim 18, Dahan modified by Yueh teaches the apparatus of claim 1 above and further teaches wherein the photo-voltaic module is secured to the light source housing by a tongue and groove lock (Yueh: Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 19, Dahan discloses:
a light source housing 120 (¶54) that the photo-voltaic module 135 secures to (¶70), and
a mounting bracket 112/116 that affixes the light source housing to a surface (¶52).
Dahan does not explicitly disclose an outwardly extending plateau that extends from a top wall of the light source housing, and that the detachable photo-voltaic module secures to and detaches from, and a pocket, of the photo-voltaic module, that removably receives the outwardly extending plateau extending from the top wall of the light source housing.
Yueh teaches:
an outwardly extending plateau 36 that extends from a top wall of the light source housing, and that the detachable photo-voltaic module 2 secures to and detaches from (¶34; Fig. 7), and
a pocket, of the photo-voltaic module, that removably receives the outwardly extending plateau extending from the top wall of the light source housing (¶34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the solar powered lamp of Dahan with the removable solar panel of Yueh in order to enable the solar panel to be positioned at the optimal location for absorbing solar energy (Yueh: ¶25).
Regarding claim 20, Dahan discloses:
a light source housing 120 (¶54) that the photo-voltaic module 135 secures to (¶70).
Dahan does not explicitly disclose an outwardly extending plateau that extends from a portion of the light source housing, and that the detachable photo-voltaic module secures to and detaches from, and a pocket, of the photo-voltaic module, that removably receives the outwardly extending plateau extending from the portion of the light source housing
Yueh teaches:
an outwardly extending plateau 36 that extends from a top wall of the light source housing, and that the detachable photo-voltaic module 2 secures to and detaches from (¶34; Fig. 7), and
a pocket, of the photo-voltaic module, that removably receives the outwardly extending plateau extending from the top wall of the light source housing (¶34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the solar powered lamp of Dahan with the removable solar panel of Yueh in order to enable the solar panel to be positioned at the optimal location for absorbing solar energy (Yueh: ¶25).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dahan modified by Yueh in view of Delap et al. (US 20170331267 A1).
Regarding claims 10-11, Dahan modified by Yueh teaches the apparatus of claim 1 above but does not explicitly teach a post extending outwardly from within the pocket of the photo-voltaic module, wherein a cable electrically connecting the photo- voltaic module to the power supply circuit wraps around the post based on the detachable photo-voltaic module being stowed in the first position, and unwraps around the post based on the detachable photo-voltaic module being deployed in the second position (claim 10) nor a coil that is secured within the pocket of the photo-voltaic module, wherein a cable electrically connecting the photo-voltaic module to the light source housing retracts around the coil based on the photo-voltaic module being repositioned from the deployed second position to the stowed first position (claim 11).
Delap teaches: A method for facilitating a solar electricity installation, comprising: producing a cable harness, including: pulling one or more solar power cables from a cable source by a turning spool; cutting each of the pulled solar power cables at a desired length; labeling each of the solar power cables; coiling the solar power cables suitably for the cable harness; and applying a respective connector to at least one end of at least one of the solar power cables in the coil (claim 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the power cable of Dahan modified by Yueh as wound or coiled around a spool as taught by Delap, while the power cable is stowed in the solar panel module pocket.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited prior art of record does not teach, fairly suggests or make obvious the specific combination of a light fixture with a securable and detachable photo-voltaic module, comprising: a power supply circuit; a light source housing including: a light source; an outwardly extending plateau, that extends from a top wall of the light source housing, and that the detachable photo-voltaic module is removably secured to, and a mounting bracket extending outwardly and away from the light source housing; the photo-voltaic module having a pocket, that removably receives the outwardly extending plateau extending from the top wall of the light source housing and which is in electrical connection with the power supply circuit, wherein the detachable photo-voltaic module is stowed in a first position in which the outwardly extending plateau of the top wall of the light source housing is received within the pocket of the photo-voltaic module and securely affixes the detachable photo-voltaic module to the light source housing, and wherein the detachable photo-voltaic module is deployed in a second position in which the detachable photo-voltaic module is displaced from the outwardly extending plateau of the top wall of the light source housing, wherein the photo-voltaic module has a configuration which matches the configuration of the top wall and sits on the top wall of the light source housing when stowed in the first position, and retained on the outwardly extending plateau of the light source housing, wherein the photo-voltaic module has a predefined height when on the top wall of the light source housing which matches the height of the mounting bracket based on the photo-voltaic module being secured to the outwardly extending plateau of the light source housing (claims 1-3); nor a light fixture with a securable and detachable photo-voltaic module, comprising: a power supply circuit; a light source housing including: a light source; an outwardly extending plateau, that extends from a top wall of the light source housing, and that the detachable photo-voltaic module is removably secured to, and a mounting bracket extending outwardly and away from the light source housing; the photo-voltaic module having a pocket, that removably receives the outwardly extending plateau extending from the top wall of the light source housing and which is in electrical connection with the power supply circuit, wherein the detachable photo-voltaic module is stowed in a first position in which the outwardly extending plateau of the top wall of the light source housing is received within the pocket of the photo-voltaic module and securely affixes the detachable photo-voltaic module to the light source housing, and wherein the detachable photo-voltaic module is deployed in a second position in which the detachable photo-voltaic module is displaced from the outwardly extending plateau of the top wall of the light source housing, wherein the photo-voltaic module comprises: a photo-voltaic cell; a photo-voltaic cell frame that at least partially surrounds the photo-voltaic cell; and a photo-voltaic module mounting bracket that is secured to, and detaches from, the photo-voltaic cell frame (claims 1 & 4).
Conclusion
/TOAN C LY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876