Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 states A method for display a card in a video stream, comprising: playing a target video in a first user page; receiving a first slide operation on the first user page, wherein the first slide operation is used for switching current display content of the first user page; in response to the first slide operation, displaying a card comprising a visual element and a text element in the first user page, wherein the card is inserted between the target video in the video stream of the first video play page and a next video of the target video; and after the card on the first user page is switched to the next video in the video stream of the first user page, in response to a switching back operation associated with the first slide operation, displaying the card on the first user page. The specification does not describe a card in a video stream, and further does not describe displaying a card comprising a visual element and a text element. Nowhere in the specification does it mention: the card is inserted between the target video in the video stream of the first video play page and a next video of the target video; and after the card on the first user page is switched to the next video in the video stream of the first user page, in response to a switching back operation associated with the first slide operation, displaying the card on the first user page. For this rejection, the references will teach the hotspot list not the card.
Claim 1, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 USC § 112(b) as indefinite because the claims recite “a first user page” but later refer to “the first video play page,” which lacks clear antecedent basis and renders unclear whether the first user page and first video play page are the same page.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as indefinite because the phrase “the preset video” lacks antecedent basis, as claim 1 does not previously recite a preset video.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as indefinite because “the hotspot list” and “the first video play page” lack clear antecedent basis in claim 1.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as indefinite because the phrases “the second user page” and “the hotspot video played on the second user page” lack antecedent basis in claim 10. Claim 12 is further objectionable or rejectable under 35 U.S.C. § 112(d) because it does not properly depend from a claim that recites the second user page and the hotspot video.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US
Patent NO. 20160300243 to Yu et al. ("Yu") and CN108228040 to Zhuang.
As to claim 1, Yu teaches a method for display a card in a video stream, comprising: playing a target video in a first user page; receiving a first operation on the first user page, wherein the first operation is used for switching current display content of the first user page (¶0033, ¶0036, When a user logs in to the mobile client of the application store through a mobile terminal to browse the application leaderboard, limited by the screen size of the smart terminal, usually only a small number of applications (such as 10) pushed by the service provider in the application leaderboard can be displayed. ), at this time, the user needs to continue to browse more applications by sliding the screen upwards, etc., and the service provider will respond to the user's actions and push a larger number of application lists to the user); in response to the first operation, displaying a hotspot list comprising a visual element and a text element in the first user page, wherein the hotspot list is inserted between the target video in the video stream of the first video play page and a next video of the target video (¶0037-0039, ranking of application in a player). Yu does not teach receiving a first sliding operation and
in response to the first sliding operation satisfying a trigger condition for displaying. Zhuang teaches
receiving a first sliding operation and in response to the first operation satisfying a trigger condition
for displaying (¶0018, ¶0071, trigger to display a window of content). In view of the teachings of
Zhuang, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the
teachings of Yu. The suggestion/modification would be to satisfy a user's requirement of watching
videos and browsing webpage content at the same time.
As to claim 2, Yu and Zhuang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the card comprises a plurality of card pages (Zhuang, ¶0101).
As to claim 3, Yu and Zhuang teaches the method of claim 2, wherein a current card page of the plurality of card pages is completely displayed in a first display area of the card, and a next card page of the plurality of card pages is partially displayed in a second display area of the card (Yu,
(¶0033, ¶0036, Zhuang, ¶0040)
As to claim 4, Yu and Zhuang teaches the method of claim 2, wherein in response to receiving a second slide operation on the card, switch the current card page of the card. (Yu, ¶0038, ¶0072).
As to claim 5, Yu and Zhuang teaches the method of claim1, wherein each video frame of the preset video contains a blurred area, and a display position of the blurred area on the first user page is the same as a display position of the card on the first user page (Yu, ¶0033, Zhuang, ¶0005).
As to claim 6, Yu and Zhuang teaches the method of 1, wherein a preset video of the hotspot list is played on the first video play page, and the hotspot list is displayed in a layer on the preset video (Zhuang, ¶0035).
As to claim 7, Yu and Zhuang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the card comprises a hotspot list, and video items of a plurality of hotspot videos are displayed in the hotspot list. (Zhuang, ¶0073).
As to claim 8, Yu and Zhuang teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the hotspot list comprises a plurality of list pages, and displaying the video items of the plurality of hotspot videos in the hotspot list comprises:completely displaying, in a first display area of the hotspot list, a plurality of current video items on a current list page of the plurality of list pages and partially displaying, in a second display area of the hotspot list, a plurality of next video items on a next list page of the plurality of list pages. (Zhuang, ¶0073).
As to claim 9, Yu and Zhuang teaches the method of claim 4, further comprising: in response to
receiving a first trigger operation on a video item of the video items of the hotspot list, switching a
current display page from the first video play page to a second video play page and playing a hotspot
video corresponding to the first trigger operation on the second video play page (Zhuang, ¶0073).
As to claim 10, Yu and Zhuang teaches the method of claim 8, before displaying the video items of the plurality of hotspot videos in the hotspot list, the method further comprising: acquiring screen dimension information of an electronic device; and determining a target number of to-be-displayed video items on each of the plurality of list pages of the hotspot list according to the screen dimension information and determining the to- be-displayed video items on the each of the plurality of list pages according to the target number. (Zhuang, ¶0073).
As to claim 11, Yu and Zhuang teaches the method of claim 7, further comprising: in response to receiving a first trigger operation on a video item of the video items of the hotspot list, switching a current display page from the first user page to a second user page and playing a hotspot video corresponding to the first trigger operation on the second user page. (Zhuang, ¶0071).
As to claim 12, Yu and Zhuang teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising: in response to receiving a third slide operation on the second user page, switching, according to an order of the video items in the hotspot list, the hotspot video played on the second user page (Zhuang, ¶0071).
As to claim 14, Yu and Zhuang teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to the first slide operation satisfying a trigger condition for displaying the card, displaying the card in the first user page (Zhuang, ¶0071)..
As to claim 15, Yu and Zhuang teaches the method of claim 114, further comprising: in response to determining that the first slide operation is an ith first slide operation in a preset time period or that a next to-be-displayed content in the video stream of the first user page corresponding to the first slide operation is the card, determining that the first slide operation satisfies the trigger condition for displaying the card, wherein i is a positive integer. (Zhuang, ¶0086, ¶0089).
As to claim 16, Yu and Zhuang teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising: in response to receiving the first slide operation again, stopping displaying the card and playing, on the first user page, a video in the video stream corresponding to the first slide operation received again (Zhuang, ¶0124, ¶0127).
As to claim 17, see the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 18, see the rejection of claim 2.
As to claim 19, see the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 20, see the rejection of claim 2.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu and Zhuang as
applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20190342616 A1 to Domm.
As to claim 13, Yu and Zhuang teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to receiving a second trigger operation for displaying a control window of the card, displaying the control window of the card and displaying a Private Message control of at least one buddy and a No Interest control in the control window; in response to receiving a first click operation on the No Interest control, deleting the card from the video stream of the first user page and playing a next video in the video stream; or in response to receiving a second click operation on a Private Message control of a target buddy of the at least one buddy, sending the card to the target buddy, wherein the target buddy is a buddy corresponding to the Private Message control clicked through the second click operation. Domm teaches in response to receiving a second trigger operation for displaying a control window of the card, displaying the control window of the card and displaying a Private Message control of at least one buddy and a No Interest control in the control window; in response to receiving a first click operation on the No Interest control, deleting the card from the video stream of the first user page and playing a next video in the video stream; or in response to receiving a second click operation on a Private Message control of a target buddy of the at least one buddy, sending the card to the target buddy, wherein the target buddy is a buddy corresponding to the Private Message control clicked through the second click operation. (¶0186, ¶0089, ¶0090, available (e.g., available for purchase and/or download) on the electronic devices. For example, a user may browse content in a content delivery application for consuming content (e.g., music, videos, songs, podcasts, interviews, playlists, etc.) on an electronic device. However, in some circumstances, the number and the variety of the content available in the content delivery application makes it difficult for the user to find or identify content of potentially greater interest to the user. The embodiments described below provide ways in which an electronic device presents information about, and facilitates consumption of, content in a content delivery application, including utilizing content consumption activities of the user's friends to do so, thereby enhancing the user's interactions with the electronic device). In view of the teachings of Domm, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Yu and Zhuang. The suggestion/motivation would be to allow for browsing and consuming content in a content delivery application, and user interactions with such devices.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE A KURIEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2421 /NATHAN J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2421