DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/1/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 12, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisense (CN 204855990 U; cited by Applicant IDS) in view of Sakai (CN 105474080 A; cited by Applicant IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Hisense discloses (Fig. 1) an LCD display comprising:
a side frame member 17/19 (pg. 2 – frame, shell);
a display panel 18 (pg. 2 – liquid crystal panel);
a diffuser plate 16 (pg. 2 – blooming piece); and
a backplane 11/12/13 (pg. 2 – base plate), wherein the diffuser plate is disposed between the backplane and the display panel in a thickness direction of the display panel (pg. 2; Fig. 1), and wherein the side frame member separately surrounds the display panel, the diffuser plate, and the backplane (Fig. 1; frame surrounds the display panel, the diffuser plate, and the backplane in the thickness direction), and wherein the backplane comprises a main body part 11/12 and a folded edge part 13 located at an edge of the main body part (Fig. 1), wherein
the folded edge part and the diffuser plate are respectively located on two opposite sides of the main body part in the thickness direction of the display panel (Fig. 1).
Hisense does not explicitly disclose an expansion gap is between the diffuser plate and the side frame member in a direction perpendicular to the thickness direction of the display panel.
Sakai teaches (Fig. 2) an LCD display comprising: Framework 25 has flexible resinous rectangular box-like parts, between itself and extension 21, cover extension 21 across diffuser plate 23. In addition, framework 25 is positioned at position spaced with the side of diffuser plate 23, and is provided with reinforcement 251, and this reinforcement 251 is relative with extension 21 (pg. 4-5). Thermal expansion is there in diffuser plate 23 because of the heat produced along with the luminescence of LED 22. [B]ecause of the heat produced along with the luminescence of LED 22, thermal expansion occurs, diffuser plate 23 expands to the right and abuts with reinforcement 251, and reinforcement 251 presses by the diffuser plate 23 of abutting to the right. Reinforcement 251 flexural deformation be to the right pressed (pg. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to provide the side frame member disclosed by Hisesnse with the reinforcement framework of Sakai, including the reinforcement as an expansion gap, in order to accommodate thermal expansion of the diffuser plate through deformation of the reinforcement framework (Sakai: pg. 5).
Regarding claim 2, Hisesnse modified by Sakai teaches the apparatus of claim 1 above and further teaches wherein the main body part comprises a first part 11 and a second part 22, and an included angle between the first part and the second part is an edge angle (Hisense: Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Hisesnse modified by Sakai teaches the apparatus of claim 1 above and further teaches wherein in the thickness direction of the display panel, the first part comprises a first surface and a second surface that are oppositely disposed, and the second part comprises a third surface and a fourth surface that are oppositely disposed, wherein the first surface intersects with the third surface, and the second surface intersects with the fourth surface; and at least one of an included angle between the first surface and the third surface and an included angle between the second surface and the fourth surface is an edge angle (Hisense: Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Hisesnse modified by Sakai teaches the apparatus of claim 1 above and further teaches an optical film 120 (Sakai: pg. 5 - optical sheet) and a fastener (Sakai: Fig. 2; the lateral tongue member of the framework 25/251), wherein the optical film is located between the diffuser plate and the display panel in the thickness direction of the display panel, and the fastener is configured to limit a movement range of the optical film relative to the diffuser plate (Sakai: Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Hisesnse modified by Sakai teaches the apparatus of claim 1 above and further teaches wherein a front surface of the side frame member is higher than a light-emitting surface of the display panel in the thickness direction of the display panel, and the display panel is located between the front surface of the side frame member and the diffuser plate in the thickness direction of the display panel (Hisesnse: Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Hisesnse modified by Sakai teaches the apparatus of claim 1 above and further teaches wherein the electronic device is a television (Sakai: pg. 4).
Regarding claim 15, Hisense discloses:
a side frame member 17/19 (pg. 2 – frame, shell);
a display panel 18 (pg. 2 – liquid crystal panel);
a diffuser plate 16 (pg. 2 – blooming piece); and
a backplane 11/12/13 (pg. 2 – base plate), wherein the diffuser plate is disposed between the backplane and the display panel in a thickness direction of the display panel (pg. 2; Fig. 1), and wherein the side frame member separately surrounds the display panel, the diffuser plate, and the backplane (Fig. 1; frame surrounds the display panel, the diffuser plate, and the backplane in the thickness direction), and wherein the backplane comprises a main body part 11/12 and a folded edge part 13 located at an edge of the main body part (Fig. 1), wherein
the folded edge part and the diffuser plate are respectively located on two opposite sides of the main body part in the thickness direction of the display panel (Fig. 1).
Hisense does not explicitly disclose an expansion gap is between the diffuser plate and the side frame member in a direction perpendicular to the thickness direction of the display panel.
Sakai teaches: A television (pg. 4). Framework 25 has flexible resinous rectangular box-like parts, between itself and extension 21, cover extension 21 across diffuser plate 23. In addition, framework 25 is positioned at position spaced with the side of diffuser plate 23, and is provided with reinforcement 251, and this reinforcement 251 is relative with extension 21 (pg. 4-5). Thermal expansion is there in diffuser plate 23 because of the heat produced along with the luminescence of LED 22. [B]ecause of the heat produced along with the luminescence of LED 22, thermal expansion occurs, diffuser plate 23 expands to the right and abuts with reinforcement 251, and reinforcement 251 presses by the diffuser plate 23 of abutting to the right. Reinforcement 251 flexural deformation be to the right pressed (pg. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to provide the side frame member disclosed by Hisesnse with the reinforcement framework of Sakai, including the reinforcement as an expansion gap, in order to accommodate thermal expansion of the diffuser plate through deformation of the reinforcement framework (Sakai: pg. 5).
Regarding claim 16-17, Hisense modified by Sakai teaches the apparatus of claim 15 above and claims 16-17 are directed to similar limitations as in claims 2-3 respectively and are therefore rejected by the same reasoning.
Regarding claim 18, Hisense discloses:
a side frame member 17/19 (pg. 2 – frame, shell);
a display panel 18 (pg. 2 – liquid crystal panel);
a diffuser plate 16 (pg. 2 – blooming piece); and
a backplane 11/12/13 (pg. 2 – base plate), wherein the diffuser plate is disposed between the backplane and the display panel in a thickness direction of the display panel (pg. 2; Fig. 1), and wherein the side frame member separately surrounds the display panel, the diffuser plate, and the backplane (Fig. 1; frame surrounds the display panel, the diffuser plate, and the backplane in the thickness direction), and wherein the backplane comprises a main body part 11/12 and a folded edge part 13 located at an edge of the main body part (Fig. 1), wherein
the folded edge part and the diffuser plate are respectively located on two opposite sides of the main body part in the thickness direction of the display panel (Fig. 1).
Hisense does not explicitly disclose an expansion gap is between the diffuser plate and the side frame member in a direction perpendicular to the thickness direction of the display panel.
Sakai teaches: A television (pg. 4). Framework 25 has flexible resinous rectangular box-like parts, between itself and extension 21, cover extension 21 across diffuser plate 23. In addition, framework 25 is positioned at position spaced with the side of diffuser plate 23, and is provided with reinforcement 251, and this reinforcement 251 is relative with extension 21 (pg. 4-5). Thermal expansion is there in diffuser plate 23 because of the heat produced along with the luminescence of LED 22. [B]ecause of the heat produced along with the luminescence of LED 22, thermal expansion occurs, diffuser plate 23 expands to the right and abuts with reinforcement 251, and reinforcement 251 presses by the diffuser plate 23 of abutting to the right. Reinforcement 251 flexural deformation be to the right pressed (pg. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to provide the side frame member disclosed by Hisesnse with the reinforcement framework of Sakai, including the reinforcement as an expansion gap, in order to accommodate thermal expansion of the diffuser plate through deformation of the reinforcement framework (Sakai: pg. 5) for an electronic device utilizing an LCD screen such as a tablet as is well known in the art.
Regarding claim 19-20, Hisense modified by Sakai teaches the apparatus of claim 18 above and claims 19-20 are directed to similar limitations as in claims 2-3 respectively and are therefore rejected by the same reasoning.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-11 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited prior art of record does not teach, fairly suggests or make obvious an electronic device, comprising: a side frame member; a display panel; a diffuser plate; a backplane, wherein the diffuser plate is disposed between the backplane and the display panel in a thickness direction of the display panel, and wherein the side frame member separately surrounds the display panel, the diffuser plate, and the backplane, and wherein the backplane comprises a main body part and a folded edge part located at an edge of the main body part, wherein the folded edge part and the diffuser plate are respectively located on two opposite sides of the main body part in the thickness direction of the display panel, and an expansion gap is between the diffuser plate and the side frame member in a direction perpendicular to the thickness direction of the display panel; and an optical film and a fastener, wherein the optical film is located between the diffuser plate and the display panel in the thickness direction of the display panel, and the fastener is configured to limit a movement range of the optical film relative to the diffuser plate, wherein an inner surface of the side frame member comprises a first avoidance groove, and a part of the fastener is disposed in the first avoidance groove, wherein the inner surface of the side frame member faces the diffuser plate in the direction perpendicular to the thickness direction of the display panel (claims 1 & 4-5); nor an electronic device, comprising: a side frame member; a display panel; a diffuser plate; a backplane, wherein the diffuser plate is disposed between the backplane and the display panel in a thickness direction of the display panel, and wherein the side frame member separately surrounds the display panel, the diffuser plate, and the backplane, and wherein the backplane comprises a main body part and a folded edge part located at an edge of the main body part, wherein the folded edge part and the diffuser plate are respectively located on two opposite sides of the main body part in the thickness direction of the display panel, and an expansion gap is between the diffuser plate and the side frame member in a direction perpendicular to the thickness direction of the display panel; and an optical film and a fastener, wherein the optical film is located between the diffuser plate and the display panel in the thickness direction of the display panel, and the fastener is configured to limit a movement range of the optical film relative to the diffuser plate, wherein the fastener comprises a first mounting bracket, one end of the first mounting bracket comprises a clamping slot accommodating the folded edge part, and another end of the first mounting bracket is disposed in a clamping hole of the optical film and is clamped to the optical film (claims 1, 4 & 6); nor an electronic device, comprising: a side frame member; a display panel; a diffuser plate; a backplane, wherein the diffuser plate is disposed between the backplane and the display panel in a thickness direction of the display panel, and wherein the side frame member separately surrounds the display panel, the diffuser plate, and the backplane, and wherein the backplane comprises a main body part and a folded edge part located at an edge of the main body part, wherein the folded edge part and the diffuser plate are respectively located on two opposite sides of the main body part in the thickness direction of the display panel, and an expansion gap is between the diffuser plate and the side frame member in a direction perpendicular to the thickness direction of the display panel; an optical film and a fastener, wherein the optical film is located between the diffuser plate and the display panel in the thickness direction of the display panel, and the fastener is configured to limit a movement range of the optical film relative to the diffuser plate; and a film buffer member which is connected to the side frame member and is located between the optical film and the display panel in the thickness direction of the display panel; and in the direction perpendicular to the thickness direction of the display panel, the film buffer member is spaced apart from one end that is of the fastener and that is connected to the optical film (claims 1, 4 & 8); nor an electronic device, comprising: a side frame member; a display panel; a diffuser plate; and a backplane, wherein the diffuser plate is disposed between the backplane and the display panel in a thickness direction of the display panel, and wherein the side frame member separately surrounds the display panel, the diffuser plate, and the backplane, and wherein the backplane comprises a main body part and a folded edge part located at an edge of the main body part, wherein the folded edge part and the diffuser plate are respectively located on two opposite sides of the main body part in the thickness direction of the display panel, and an expansion gap is between the diffuser plate and the side frame member in a direction perpendicular to the thickness direction of the display panel, wherein the side frame member comprises a plurality of subframe members and a plurality of connectors, wherein in a circumferential direction of the display panel, two adjacent subframe members correspond to one of the plurality of connectors, and two ends of each of the plurality of connectors are respectively connected to the two corresponding subframe members; and in the direction perpendicular to the thickness direction of the display panel, each of the plurality of connectors is located between the diffuser plate and a corresponding one of the plurality of subframe members (claims 1 & 9); nor an electronic device, comprising: a side frame member; a display panel; a diffuser plate; a backplane, wherein the diffuser plate is disposed between the backplane and the display panel in a thickness direction of the display panel, and wherein the side frame member separately surrounds the display panel, the diffuser plate, and the backplane, and wherein the backplane comprises a main body part and a folded edge part located at an edge of the main body part, wherein the folded edge part and the diffuser plate are respectively located on two opposite sides of the main body part in the thickness direction of the display panel, and an expansion gap is between the diffuser plate and the side frame member in a direction perpendicular to the thickness direction of the display panel; and a plurality of buffer protection members that are spaced apart in a circumferential direction of the display panel, wherein a part of each buffer protection member is detachably inserted into a gap that is between the side frame member and the display panel that is in the direction perpendicular to the thickness direction of the display panel (claims 1 & 13).
Conclusion
/TOAN C LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876