DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed on 10/12/2026. Claims 1-9 are currently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Amendment/Arguments
The amendment filed 10/12/2026 has been entered and applicant’s arguments filed 10/12/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding claim objection:
Applicant has argued that the objection to claim 2 is overcome by the filed amendment. The examiner agrees and has withdrawn the objection accordingly.
Regarding claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b):
Applicant has argued that the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) are overcome by the filed amendment. The examiner agrees and has withdrawn these rejections accordingly.
Regarding claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101:
Applicant has argued that the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101 are overcome by the filed amendment. The examiner agrees that the claims now recite a practical application and has withdrawn these rejections accordingly.
Regarding claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102:
Applicant’s arguments regarding the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102 are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection which are necessitated by the filed amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jardine et al. (US 2022/0135039 A1), hereinafter referred to as Jardine.
Regarding claim 1:
Jardine discloses the following limitations:
“A method for performing an automated driving operation of a vehicle, comprising: A) reading driving behavior recommendation data into the vehicle for at least one route sequence on which the vehicle is planned to travel, the driving behavior recommendation data comprising trajectory information indicating where within a lane the vehicle should position itself to follow the at least one route sequence.” (Jardine ¶ 11: “The control may cause the host vehicle to follow a curve-shaped planned path, wherein a first end of the curve is colinear with a lane position within the first lane and a second end of the curve is colinear with a lane position within one of the plurality of lanes.” Further, Jardine ¶ 266 and the top portion of FIG. 6 shown below: “An example path is shown in the top graph of FIG. 6. A first end of the curve may be colinear with a lane position within the first lane 301 such as the first target lane position. A second end of the curve may be colinear with a lane position within one of the plurality of lanes such as the second target lane position.”)
“and B) performing the automated driving operation of the vehicle based on the driving behavior recommendation data read according to step A), wherein performing the automated driving operation comprises causing the vehicle to move within the lane to a position indicated by the trajectory information.” (Jardine ¶ 14 and 16 disclose “a method for controlling a host vehicle operable in an autonomous mode, the method comprising: determining a bifurcation of a first lane into a plurality of lanes; and causing control of the speed and/or direction of the host vehicle as the host vehicle approaches the bifurcation, in dependence on the processing,” wherein “The control of the direction may comprise causing a steering subsystem of the host vehicle to control steering of the host vehicle to follow a planned path of the host vehicle determined in dependence on the processing.”)
Regarding claim 2:
Jardine discloses “The method according to claim 1,” and Jardine further discloses the following limitations:
“wherein the driving behavior recommendation data read in step A) was previously generated according to the following steps: a) collecting driving behavior data from a plurality of vehicles while they are in operation.” (Jardine ¶ 355: “The training phase may be performed on an ongoing basis during the service life of the host vehicle 10. The training phase may be performed on-board the host vehicle 10, or off-board in a cloud system, another vehicle, or any other server. Off-board training data may be acquired by the host vehicle 10 via V2V or V2I communication.” Also, Jardine ¶ 359: “The download information may be associated with the host vehicle 10 and/or with another vehicle which downloaded dynamic data. The use of information from other vehicles enables sharing of download statistics (training data of other vehicles), to provide better training data.”)
“b) defining predefined route sequences for which driving behavior data is to be generated, and c) generating driving behavior recommendation data for the predefined route sequences based on the driving behavior data.” (Jardine ¶ 355: “as new/updated download information is received, it may be binned into a location bin (position, area or route section) associated with the download information to update the training data.”)
Regarding claim 3:
Jardine discloses “The method according to claim 2,” and Jardine also discloses “wherein: for the execution of step c), a statistical evaluation is performed of driving behavior data collected in step a) from vehicles which have completely traveled the predefined route sequences during the acquisition of the respective driving behavior data.” (Jardine ¶ 359: “download information may be associated with the host vehicle 10 and/or with another vehicle which downloaded dynamic data. The use of information from other vehicles enables sharing of download statistics (training data of other vehicles), to provide better training data.”)
Regarding claim 4:
Jardine discloses “The method according to claim 2,” and Jardine also discloses “wherein the driving behavior data collected in step a) comprise at least one of the following data types: travel speed information; acceleration information; information about the behavior of a driver of the vehicle; distance information; time information; weather information; or brightness information.” (Jardine ¶ 351: “The information indicative of a pattern of use of the host vehicle 10 may comprise driving information associated with past driving of the host vehicle 10. Relevant driving information includes at least one of: past routes of the host vehicle 10; past locations at which the host vehicle 10 has previously been; past speeds of the host vehicle 10; the temporal pattern of use of the host vehicle 10; or the like. … Example temporal pattern information may record the times of past use of the host vehicle 10. The temporal pattern information may bin the times into distinct time bins (intervals).” Also, Jardine ¶ 359: “The download information may be associated with the host vehicle 10 and/or with another vehicle which downloaded dynamic data. The use of information from other vehicles enables sharing of download statistics (training data of other vehicles), to provide better training data.” Jardine at least teaches the driving behavior comprising “travel speed information” and/or “time information” as claimed.)
Note that under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of claim 4, consistent with the specification, the driving behavior data collected in step a) comprising “at least one of the following data types: travel speed information; acceleration information; information about the behavior of a driver of the vehicle; distance information; time information; weather information; or brightness information” is being treated as an alternative limitation. Applicant has elected to use the phrase “at least one” in the claim language, and therefore, the BRI covers the scenario in which only one of the limitations applies. Accordingly, while only the “travel speed information,” and “time information” have been addressed here, the claim is still rejected in its entirety.
Regarding claim 5:
Jardine discloses “The method according to claim 1,” and Jardine also discloses “wherein route sequences are defined such that traveling along a route sequence by a vehicle comprises performing at least one driving maneuver.” (Jardine ¶ 11: “The control may cause the host vehicle to follow a curve-shaped planned path, wherein a first end of the curve is colinear with a lane position within the first lane and a second end of the curve is colinear with a lane position within one of the plurality of lanes.”)
Regarding claim 6:
Jardine discloses “The method according to claim 1,” and Jardine additionally discloses “wherein route sequences comprise at least one of the following driving maneuvers: turning; driving straight ahead despite having the option to turn; changing lanes; merging; stopping; or accelerating.” (Jardine ¶ 13: “The control system may be configured to select a target one of the plurality of lanes and plan a path to enter the target lane.” Further, Jardine ¶ 48: “The overtake may be an overtake of a road user, wherein the control system may be configured to increase separation of the host vehicle from the road user to be overtaken in dependence on the determination; subsequently cause acceleration of the host vehicle towards the road user to be overtaken, such that the host vehicle achieves a higher speed than the road user to be overtaken; and manoeuvre the host vehicle into the second lane to perform the overtake.” Also, Jardine ¶ 61: “The one or more controllers may collectively comprise: at least one electronic processor having an electrical input for receiving information indicative that the host vehicle must stop at least partially within a lane.” Further, Jardine ¶¶ 90-91: “The one or more controllers may collectively comprise: at least one electronic processor having an electrical input for receiving information indicative that a steering manoeuvre is required… The control system may be configured to cause one or more turn signals located on a side of the host vehicle towards the direction of the required steering to illuminate in dependence on the required steering.” Also, Jardine ¶ 612: “The map data may indicate whether traffic on the on-ramp has to merge with traffic in an existing lane of the highway.” Jardine at least teaches the route sequences comprising “turning,” “changing lanes,” “merging,” “stopping,” and/or “accelerating” as claimed.)
Note that under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of claim 6, consistent with the instant specification, the route sequences comprising “at least one of the following driving maneuvers: turning; driving straight ahead despite having the option to turn; changing lanes; merging; stopping; or accelerating” is treated as an alternative limitation. Applicant has elected to use the phrase “at least one” in the claim language, and therefore, the BRI covers the scenario in which only one of the limitations applies. Accordingly, while only “turning,” “changing lanes,” “merging,” “stopping,” and/or “accelerating” have been addressed here, the claim is still rejected in its entirety.
Regarding claim 7:
Jardine discloses “The method according to claim 1,” and Jardine also discloses “wherein route sequences pass through at least one of the following route elements: intersection; fork; ramp; exit; curve; or roundabout.” (Jardine ¶ 8: “the control system comprising one or more controllers, the control system configured to: determine a bifurcation of a first lane into a plurality of lanes; and cause control of the speed and/or direction of the host vehicle as the host vehicle approaches the bifurcation, in dependence on the determined bifurcation,” where a bifurcation is synonymous with a fork. Also, Jardine ¶ 11: “The control may cause the host vehicle to follow a curve-shaped planned path.” Further, Jardine ¶ 21: “the control system may be configured to determine in dependence on navigation information whether the host vehicle is to exit the multi-lane highway at the junction,” where a junction is synonymous with an intersection. Additionally, Jardine ¶ 285: “The map data may comprise information on locations associated with junctions such as junction locations, on-ramp locations, off-ramp locations, or a combination thereof.” Also, Jardine ¶ 739: “The manoeuvre may be to change lanes, to drive around an obstacle such as a parked vehicle, to enter a junction such as a roundabout, to enter a road from a slip road, or the like.”)
Note that under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of claim 7, consistent with the instant specification, the route sequences passing through “at least one of the following route elements: intersection; fork; ramp; exit; curve; or roundabout” is being treated as an alternative limitation. Applicant has elected to use the phrase “at least one” in the claim language, and therefore, the BRI covers the scenario in which only one of the limitations applies. Accordingly, while all six options have been addressed here, only one of the options is actually required by the claim.
Regarding claim 8:
Jardine discloses “The method according to claim 1,” and Jardine also discloses “wherein driving behavior recommendation data includes at least one of the following data for controlling the automated driving operation on the respective route sequence: travel speed information; acceleration information; or distance information.” (Jardine ¶ 8: “there is provided a control system for a host vehicle operable in an autonomous mode, the control system comprising one or more controllers, the control system configured to: determine a bifurcation of a first lane into a plurality of lanes; and cause control of the speed and/or direction of the host vehicle as the host vehicle approaches the bifurcation, in dependence on the determined bifurcation.” Also, Jardine ¶ 10: “The control system may be configured to determine a lateral distance from a lane position within the first lane to a lane position within at least one of the plurality of lanes. … The control system may be configured to determine a longitudinal distance to a start of at least one of the plurality of lanes. … The control may be dependent on the longitudinal distance and the lateral distance.” Additionally, Jardine ¶ 39 discloses “a control system for a host vehicle operable in an autonomous mode, the control system comprising one or more controllers, the control system configured to: determine a requirement for the host vehicle within a first lane to manoeuvre into a second lane to overtake a road user; cause an increase of separation of the host vehicle from the road user in dependence on the determination; subsequently cause acceleration of the host vehicle towards the road user, such that the host vehicle achieves a higher speed than the road user; and cause a manoeuvre of the host vehicle into the second lane to perform the overtake.”)
Note that under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of claim 8, consistent with the instant specification, the driving behavior recommendation data including “at least one of the following data for controlling the automated driving operation on the respective route sequence: travel speed information; acceleration information; or distance information” is being treated as an alternative limitation. Applicant has elected to use the phrase “at least one” in the claim language, and therefore, the BRI covers the scenario in which only one of the limitations applies. Accordingly, while all three options have been addressed here, only one of the three is actually required by the claim.
Regarding claim 9:
Jardine discloses “The method according to claim 1,” and Jardine also discloses “wherein the processing of driving behavior recommendation data for performing the automated driving operation in step B) is carried out depending on at least one of the following pieces of situational information: time information; weather information; brightness information; travel speed information; or acceleration information.” (Jardine ¶ 12: “A determination of a path associated with the control of the speed and/or direction may be constrained by at least one constraint associated with a derivative of lateral displacement of the host vehicle with respect to longitudinal displacement of the host vehicle or time.” Additionally, Jardine ¶ 23: “The determining and/or the associating may utilise at least one of: map data comprising information on junctions; road sign information comprising information on junctions; dynamic map data comprising information on lane closures; or dynamic traffic data comprising information on traffic conditions.” Additionally, Jardine 38: “The dynamic map data may comprise information on at least one of: roadworks; lane closures; speed limit changes; weather conditions; road surface conditions.” Also, Jardine ¶ 229: “The machine learning algorithm is for controlling one or more parameters of one or more of the other algorithms, in dependence on information indicative of past use of the host vehicle 10. The information may be indicative of past use of the host vehicle 10 in the autonomous mode and/or the non-autonomous mode. The information may be indicative of inputs such as steering inputs, acceleration inputs and braking inputs.” Accordingly, Jardine at least teaches the processing of driving behavior recommendation data being carried out depending on “time information,” “weather information,” “travel speed information,” and “acceleration information” as claimed.)
Note that under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of claim 9, consistent with the specification, the processing of driving behavior recommendation data for performing the automated driving operation in step B) being “carried out depending on at least one of the following pieces of situational information: time information; weather information; brightness information; travel speed information; or acceleration information” is treated as an alternative limitation. Applicant has elected to use the phrase “at least one” in the claim language, and therefore, the BRI covers the scenario in which only one of the limitations applies. Accordingly, while only the “time information,” “weather information,” “travel speed information,” and “acceleration information” have been addressed here, the claim is still rejected in its entirety.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Madison R. Inserra/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662