DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 9, 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng CN205977739U published 2017 in view of Stauffer US 20190334468 in further view of Lai WO 2016115830 in further view of Taniguchi JP 2014125886 A.
Zheng discloses:
A modular tower fan, comprising:
a fan module 2 having a fan housing 20, wherein the fan housing comprises a blower fan [see e.g. fan element in “As shown in Figs. 4 and 5, the wind drum assembly 2 includes a first housing 20 and a fan element (not shown) mounted in the first housing 20, the fan element having a rotation shaft 23 connected to the base 1” in paragraph 0005 of the detailed description in the translation], and a fan gear 23 provided at a bottom of the fan housing for rotating the blower fan; a drive module 1 having a drive housing, wherein the drive module comprises a drive motor, control circuity within the drive housing [see e.g. “As shown in Fig. 2, the base 1 includes a second housing 10 and a drive shaft 12 disposed within the second housing 10, a motor and a circuit control element (not shown)” in paragraph 0006 of the detailed description of the translation.], and a drive gear 12 at a top of the drive housing driven by the drive motor; wherein the fan housing of the fan module is removably/detachably attached to the drive housing of the drive module with the fan gear operationaly coupled to the drive gear for rotation (see Figs 1-5), and wherein the fan module is detachable from the drive module for cleaning mode, shipping or storage with the fan gear decoupled from the drive gear [see e.g. “The fastener 3 (shown in Figure 5) is detachably attached to the base 1 to facilitate the operator to remove the air drum assembly 2 from the base 1 for cleaning and to facilitate transport.” in paragraph 0002 of the detailed description in the translation].
Regarding the wiring and other electrical components in the drive housing, it is noted that the motor would require power to be supplied via wiring and associated electrical components such as electrical connections for the wiring. In any event, Stauffer discloses wiring 140 and other electrical components (144, 202 and other components in e.g. Fig 2) in the drive housing (158, 120, 118, 146). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize wiring and other electrical components as taught by Stauffer in the system of Zhang to gain the benefit of supplying power to the motor.
Additionally, regarding the bearings supporting the blower fan for rotation within the fan housing, as cited above Zheng discloses a rotating shaft 23 on which the fan element is rotated wherein the rotating shaft would require bearings. In any event, Lai discloses the use of bearings 26, 27 in Fig 7. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize bearings as taught by Lai in the system of Zhang to gain the benefit of supporting the shaft of the rotating fan element.
Zheng does not disclose a wireless control communicating wirelessly with a receiver provided in a control module provided within the drive housing of the drive module, providing a user interface to activate various tower fan operation control functions, wherein the wireless control is removably/detachably attached to a top surface of the fan housing without any hard wiring to communicate control signals between the wireless control and the receiver within the drive module, facilitating user control of operational functions of the drive module to control operations of the tower fan, wherein a docking recess is provided at the top surface of the fan housing, defining a docking location for placement of the wireless control, wherein the docking recess is sized to receive at least a portion of the wireless control, wherein the recess has a depth to accommodate at least a partial thickness of the wireless control; and wherein with the wireless control placed in the docking recess, a user can control the operations of the tower fan by activating buttons/switches on the wireless control.
Taniguchi discloses a wireless control 13 communicating wirelessly with a receiver 18 provided in a control module 19 provided within the drive housing of the drive module 14, providing a user interface 48 to activate various tower fan operation control functions, wherein the wireless control is removably/detachably attached to a top surface of the fan housing (see e.g. Fig 4) without any hard wiring to communicate control signals between the wireless control and the receiver within the drive module, facilitating user control of operational functions of the drive module to control operations of the tower fan, wherein a docking recess is provided at the top surface of the fan housing, defining a docking location for placement of the wireless control (see e.g. Fig 4), wherein the docking recess is sized to receive at least a portion of the wireless control (see e.g. Fig 5), wherein the recess has a depth to accommodate at least a partial thickness of the wireless control (see e.g. Fig 5); and wherein with the wireless control placed in the docking recess, a user can control the operations of the tower fan by activating buttons/switches on the wireless control (see e.g. the abstract including “To provide an air blowing device capable of rapidly and comfortably performing remote control operation. SOLUTION: A remote controller 13 includes a first transmitting part 44 and a second transmitting part 47 for transmitting a wireless signal when remotely operating an air blower 12, the first transmitting part 44 is disposed in one direction 42 side compared to a center of the remote controller 13, the second transmitting part 47 is disposed in the side opposite from the one direction 42 side compared to the center of the remote controller 13, and the wireless signal does not directly reach a receiving part 18 from the first transmitting part 44 and the wireless signal directly reaches the receiving part 18 from the second transmitting part 47 in the state that the remote controller 13 is installed in an installation part 41 when remotely operating the air blower 12. Thus, in an air blowing device 11 of this invention, operation of the air blower 12 can be operated by the remote controller 13 not only in the state that the remote controller 13 is detached from the installation part 41 but also in the state that the remote controller 13 is attached to the installation part 41.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a remote control and a corresponding docking recess as taught by Taniguchi in the system of Zheng as modified above to gain the benefit of allowing a user a convenient way to remotely control the tower fan and a convenient location to store the remote control.
Zheng as modified above discloses:
3 (New) The modular tower fan as in claim 1, wherein with the wireless control received in the docking recess, the wireless control appears to be a built-in user control interface provided at the top of the fan module (see e.g. Fig 1 of Taniguchi).
4. (New) The modular tower fan as in claim 1, wherein there is no separate user control interface in the fan module other than the wireless control, and there is no electrically conductive interface between the fan module and the drive module (see e.g. Zheng which does not have any of these negatively claimed features).
5. (Previously presented) The modular tower fan as in claim 1, wherein the wireless
control is magnetically removably/detachably attached to the docking recess at the top of the fan housing (see e.g. 60 and 61 in Fig 5 of Taniguchi, and 0089 of the translation of Taniguchi).
9. (New) The modular tower fan as in claim 1, wherein with the wireless control placed in the docking recess, a user can control the operations of the tower fan by activating buttons/switches on the wireless control to communicate with the drive module by RF signals (see e.g. 0008 of the translation of Taniguchi including “The remote controller is provided on the opposite side of the one direction, and transmits a radio signal to the receiver while the remote controller is installed in the installation unit”).
12. (New) The modular tower fan as in claim 1, wherein the fan module comprises a fan shaft [Zheng discloses "As shown in Figs. 4 and 5, the wind drum assembly 2 includes a first housing 20 and a fan element (not shown) mounted in the first housing 20, the fan element having a rotation shaft 23 connected to the base 1".] supported by the bearings (26, 27 of Lai) for rotation within the fan housing (2 of Zheng), and wherein the blower fan is supported by the fan shaft for rotation about a vertical longitudinal axis in the fan housing (see 2 of Zheng).
Regarding claim 13, Zheng discloses a fan housing 2 and it would be understood that
Zheng would disclose the other limitations of claim 13, but Zheng does not illustrate these
details.
However, Lai discloses wherein the fan housing comprises an array of vented openings
212 to allow air to flow into the housing and to be blown out of the housing by the blower fan
22, and wherein the blower fan comprises an array of longitudinal blades arranged radially
about the fan shaft, each extending vertically parallel to the fan shaft to form a wheel shaped
blower fan (see 22).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art
would have found it obvious to utilize the fan and housing openings as taught by Lai in the
system of Zhang as modified above to gain the benefit of using allowing air to flow through the fan using a known tower fan configuration.
14. (New) The modular tower fan as in claim 12, wherein the fan gear is provided at the bottom end of the fan shaft outside the bottom of the fan housing for coupling to the drive gear of the drive module (see Figs 2-5 of Zheng).
15. (New) The modular tower fan as in claim 14, wherein the drive motor has a drive shaft [see "As shown in Fig. 2, the base 1 includes a second housing 10 and a driveshaft 12
disposed within the second housing 10, a motor and a circuit control element (not shown)" of
Zheng], extending to outside the top of the drive housing (see 12 in Fig 5 of Zheng), and wherein the drive gear is provided at the top end of the drive shaft outside the top of the drive housing for coupling to the fan gear below the bottom of the fan housing (see Figs 2-5 of Zheng). Regarding the limitations a drive shaft supported on a bearing for rotation, rotating shafts of motors include bearings for supporting the shaft. In any event, Stauffer discloses a drive shaft 112 supported on a bearing 114 for rotation (see e.g. Fig 1). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize bearings as taught by Stauffer for the motor shaft of Zheng as modified above to gain the benefit of supporting the motor shaft for rotation.
16. (New) The modular tower fan as in claim 1, wherein complementary interlocking features are provided at the interfacing fan housing bottom and drive housing top to removably/detachably engage the fan module to the drive module [see Figs 3 and 5 and
"As shown in Fig. 2, the base includes a second housing 10 and a driveshaft 12 disposed within
the second housing 10, a motor and a circuit control element (not shown). The hook groove 11
is provided on the outer side wall of the second housing 10. Preferably, the groove bottom of
the card slot11 is inclined (shown in Fig. 3) to facilitate the engagement of the catch 21 by
rotation groove 11. In the present embodiment, the rotation fastening includes two, and
correspondingly, the card slot 11 and the catch 21 also include two" of Zheng.].
17. (New) The modular tower fan as in claim 16, wherein to removably/detachably engage the fan module to the drive module, the bottom of the fan housing is rested over the top of the drive housing to interlock the complementary interlocking features provided at the interfacing fan housing bottom and drive housing top [see Figs 3 and 5 and "As shown in Fig. 2, the base includes a second housing 10 and a driveshaft 12 disposed within the second housing 10, a motor and a circuit control element (not shown). The hook groove 11 is provided on the outer side wall of the second housing 10. Preferably, the groove bottom of the card slot11 is inclined (shown in Fig. 3) to facilitate the engagement of the catch 21 by rotation groove 11. In the present embodiment, the rotation fastening includes two, and correspondingly, the card slot 11 and the catch 21 also include two" of Zheng.].
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng CN205977739U published 2017 in view of Stauffer US 20190334468 in further view of Lai WO 2016115830 in further view of Taniguchi JP 2014125886 A in further view of Boswell US D603036.
Regarding claim 6, Zheng as modified above does not disclose wherein the depth of the docking recess is sized to accommodate entire thickness of the wireless control such that top surface of the wireless control is substantially flush against the top of the fan housing and “matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art” (See MPEP 2144.04 I.). Additionally, Boswell discloses these limitations (see e.g. Figs 1, 3, 11 and 14 of Boswell).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize the esthetic design features of Boswell in the system of Zheng as modified above to gain the benefit of changing the esthetic look of the fan.
Zheng as modified above discloses:
7. (New) The modular tower fan as in claim 6, wherein the top surface of the wireless control blend in with the top surface of the wireless control to appear as if the wireless control is part of exterior of the fan housing to a casual viewer, with the wireless control appearing to be a built-in user control interface provided at the top of the fan module (see e.g. Figs 1, 3, 11 and 14 of Boswell).
8. (New) The modular tower fan as in claim 7, wherein the wireless control is magnetically attached to the top of the fan housing (see e.g. 60 and 61 in Fig 5 of Taniguchi, and 0089 of the translation of Taniguchi).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng CN205977739U published 2017 in view of Stauffer US 20190334468 in further view of Lai WO 2016115830 in further view of Taniguchi JP 2014125886 A in further view of Botkin US
20210262480.
Regarding claim 11, Zheng as modified above does not disclose wherein the drive module is configured to receive a wireless control signal generated from an application module installed in a mobile electronic device.
Botkin discloses wherein the drive module is configured to receive a wireless control signal generated from an application module installed in a mobile electronic device (see e.g. 0020).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a phone app as taught by Botkin to control the fan of Zhang as modified above to gain the benefit of enabling a used to control the fan using their phone for convenience.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng CN205977739U published 2017 in view of Stauffer US 20190334468 in further view of Lai WO 2016115830 in further view of Taniguchi JP 2014125886 A in further view of Chen CN 209414225 U.
Regarding claims 18-19, Zheng as modified above does not disclose an oscillation support located outside the bottom end of the drive housing, wherein a separate oscillation drive motor is provided in the drive housing to rotate the drive housing in relation to the oscillation support in an oscillating or swinging manner.
Chen discloses wherein the drive module further comprises an oscillation support 2, wherein the oscillation support 2 located outside the bottom end of the drive housing (3 in which motor 4 is housed), wherein a separate oscillation drive motor 124 is provided in the drive housing to rotate the drive housing in relation to the oscillation support in an oscillating or swinging manner (see e.g. “With continued reference to FIG. 1, tower fan further comprises a chassis 2 housing 3, a chassis 2 for supporting the whole tower fan, the shell 3 connected with the oscillating mechanism 12, the base 11 fixedly connected with the chassis 2. can be understood, tower fan further comprises a wind wheel motor for driving the wind wheel (4), an oscillating device 1 comprises driving the oscillating mechanism 12 of oscillating motor 124, wind wheel electric motor 4 can be asynchronous motor and the head-shaking electric motor 124 can be a stepping motor or synchronous motor. When working, oscillating motor 124 the oscillating mechanism 12 rotate so as to drive the shell 3 relative to the base 11 (or 2) to rotate relative to the chassis so as to realize sweeping.” at page 4 paragraph 6 of the translation).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize an oscillating mechanism as taught by Chen in the system of Zheng as modified above to gain the benefit of enabling the changing of the direction of the airflow from the tower fan.
Claim(s) 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng CN205977739U published 2017 in view of Stauffer US 20190334468 in further view of Lai WO 2016115830 in further view of Chen CN 209414225 U in further view of Taniguchi JP 2014125886 A.
Zheng discloses:
20. A modular tower fan, comprising: a fan module 2 having a fan housing 20, wherein the fan housing comprises a blower fan [see e.g. fan element in “As shown in Figs. 4 and 5, the wind drum assembly 2 includes a first housing 20 and a fan element (not shown) mounted in the first housing 20, the fan element having a rotation shaft 23 connected to the base 1” in paragraph 0005 of the detailed description in the translation], and a fan gear 23 provided at a bottom of the fan housing for rotating the blower fan; a drive module 1 having a drive housing, wherein the drive module comprises a drive motor, control circuity within the drive housing [see e.g. “As shown in Fig. 2, the base 1 includes a second housing 10 and a drive shaft 12 disposed within the second housing 10, a motor and a circuit control element (not shown)” in paragraph 0006 of the detailed description of the translation.], and a drive gear 12 at a top of the drive housing driven by the drive motor; wherein the fan housing of the fan module is removably/detachably attached to the drive housing of the drive module with the fan gear operational coupled to the drive gear for rotation (see Figs 1-5), and wherein the fan module is detachable from the drive module for cleaning mode, shipping or storage with the fan gear decoupled from the drive gear [see e.g. “The fastener 3 (shown in Figure 5) is detachably attached to the base 1 to facilitate the operator to remove the air drum assembly 2 from the base 1 for cleaning and to facilitate transport.” in paragraph 0002 of the detailed description in the translation]; wherein the drive motor has a drive shaft [see "As shown in Fig. 2, the base 1 includes a second housing 10 and a driveshaft 12 disposed within the second housing 10, a motor and a circuit control element (not shown)" of Zheng], extending to outside the top of the drive housing (see 12 in Fig 5 of Zheng), and wherein the drive gear is provided at the top end of the drive shaft outside the top of the drive housing for coupling to the fan gear below the bottom of the fan housing (see Figs 2-5 of Zheng); wherein to removably/detachably engage the fan module to the drive module, the bottom of the fan housing is rested over the top of the drive housing, interlocking fan housing bottom and drive housing top, and wherein to disengage the fan module from the drive module, the fan housing bottom is detached from the drive housing top [see Figs 3 and 5 and "As shown in Fig. 2, the base includes a second housing 10 and a driveshaft 12 disposed within the second housing 10, a motor and a circuit control element (not shown). The hook groove 11 is provided on the outer side wall of the second housing 10. Preferably, the groove bottom of the card slot11 is inclined (shown in Fig. 3) to facilitate the engagement of the catch 21 by rotation groove 11. In the present embodiment, the rotation fastening includes two, and correspondingly, the card slot 11 and the catch 21 also include two"].
Regarding the wiring and other electrical components in the drive housing, it is noted that the motor would require power to be supplied via wiring and associated electrical components such as electrical connections for the wiring. In any event, Stauffer discloses wiring 140 and other electrical components (144, 202 and other components in e.g. Fig 2) in the drive housing (158, 120, 118, 146). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize wiring and other electrical components as taught by Stauffer in the system of Zhang to gain the benefit of supplying power to the motor.
Regarding the limitations a drive shaft supported on a bearing for rotation, rotating shafts of motors include bearings for supporting the shaft. In any event, Stauffer discloses a drive shaft 112 supported on a bearing 114 for rotation (see e.g. Fig 1). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize bearings as taught by Stauffer for the motor shaft of Zheng as modified above to gain the benefit of supporting the motor shaft for rotation.
Additionally, regarding the bearings supporting the blower fan for rotation within the fan housing, as cited above Zheng discloses a rotating shaft 23 on which the fan element is rotated wherein the rotating shaft would require bearings. In any event, Lai discloses the use of bearings 26, 27 in Fig 7. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize bearings as taught by Lai in the system of Zhang as modified above to gain the benefit of supporting the shaft of the rotating fan element.
Zheng does not disclose an oscillation support located outside the bottom end of the drive housing, wherein a separate oscillation drive motor is provided in the drive housing to rotate the drive housing in relation to the oscillation support in an oscillating or swinging manner.
Chen discloses an oscillation support 2 located outside the bottom end of the drive housing (3 in which motor 4 is housed), wherein a separate oscillation drive motor 124 is provided in the drive housing to rotate the drive housing in relation to the oscillation support in an oscillating or swinging manner [see e.g. “With continued reference to FIG. 1, tower fan further comprises a chassis 2 housing 3, a chassis 2 for supporting the whole tower fan, the shell 3 connected with the oscillating mechanism 12, the base 11 fixedly connected with the chassis 2. can be understood, tower fan further comprises a wind wheel motor for driving the wind wheel (4), an oscillating device 1 comprises driving the oscillating mechanism 12 of oscillating motor 124, wind wheel electric motor 4 can be asynchronous motor and the head-shaking electric motor 124 can be a stepping motor or synchronous motor. When working, oscillating motor 124 the oscillating mechanism 12 rotate so as to drive the shell 3 relative to the base 11 (or 2) to rotate relative to the chassis so as to realize sweeping.” at page 4 paragraph 6 of the translation].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize an oscillating mechanism as taught by Chen in the system of Zheng as modified above to gain the benefit of enabling changing of the direction of the airflow from the tower fan.
Zheng as modified above does not disclose a wireless control that communicates wirelessly with a receiver provided in a control module provided within the drive housing of the drive module, providing a user interface to activate various tower fan operation control functions, wherein the wireless control is removably/detachably attached to a top surface of the fan housing without any hard wiring to communicate control signals between the wireless control and the drive module, facilitating user control of operational functions of the drive module to control operations of the tower fan.
Taniguchi discloses a wireless control 13 that communicates wirelessly with a receiver 18 provided in a control module 19 provided within the drive housing of the drive module 14, providing a user interface 48 to activate various tower fan operation control functions, wherein the wireless control is removably/detachably attached to a top surface of the fan housing (see e.g. Fig 4) without any hard wiring to communicate control signals between the wireless control and the drive module, facilitating user control of operational functions of the drive module to control operations of the tower fan (see e.g. the abstract including “To provide an air blowing device capable of rapidly and comfortably performing remote control operation. SOLUTION: A remote controller 13 includes a first transmitting part 44 and a second transmitting part 47 for transmitting a wireless signal when remotely operating an air blower 12, the first transmitting part 44 is disposed in one direction 42 side compared to a center of the remote controller 13, the second transmitting part 47 is disposed in the side opposite from the one direction 42 side compared to the center of the remote controller 13, and the wireless signal does not directly reach a receiving part 18 from the first transmitting part 44 and the wireless signal directly reaches the receiving part 18 from the second transmitting part 47 in the state that the remote controller 13 is installed in an installation part 41 when remotely operating the air blower 12. Thus, in an air blowing device 11 of this invention, operation of the air blower 12 can be operated by the remote controller 13 not only in the state that the remote controller 13 is detached from the installation part 41 but also in the state that the remote controller 13 is attached to the installation part 41.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a remote control and a corresponding docking recess as taught by Taniguchi in the system of Zheng as modified above to gain the benefit of allowing a user a convenient way to remotely control the tower fan and a convenient location to store the remote control.
Zheng as modified above discloses:
21. (New) The modular tower fan as in claim 20, wherein a docking recess is provided at the top surface of the fan housing, defining a docking location for placement of the wireless control, wherein the docking recess is sized to receive at least a portion of the wireless control, wherein the recess has a depth to accommodate at least a partial thickness of the wireless control (see e.g. Figs 1 and 4 of Taniguchi).
22. (New) The modular tower fan as in claim 21, wherein with the wireless control placed in the docking recess, a user can control the operations of the tower fan by activating buttons/switches on the wireless control to communicate with the drive module by RF signals (see e.g. the abstract of Taniguchi including “To provide an air blowing device capable of rapidly and comfortably performing remote control operation. SOLUTION: A remote controller 13 includes a first transmitting part 44 and a second transmitting part 47 for transmitting a wireless signal when remotely operating an air blower 12, the first transmitting part 44 is disposed in one direction 42 side compared to a center of the remote controller 13, the second transmitting part 47 is disposed in the side opposite from the one direction 42 side compared to the center of the remote controller 13, and the wireless signal does not directly reach a receiving part 18 from the first transmitting part 44 and the wireless signal directly reaches the receiving part 18 from the second transmitting part 47 in the state that the remote controller 13 is installed in an installation part 41 when remotely operating the air blower 12. Thus, in an air blowing device 11 of this invention, operation of the air blower 12 can be operated by the remote controller 13 not only in the state that the remote controller 13 is detached from the installation part 41 but also in the state that the remote controller 13 is attached to the installation part 41.” and see e.g. 0008 of the translation of Taniguchi including “The remote controller is provided on the opposite side of the one direction, and transmits a radio signal to the receiver while the remote controller is installed in the installation unit”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Thomas Fink/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746