DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Amendments
Applicants amendments to the claims filed 7/24/2026 have been entered. Any objection\rejections from the previous office action filed 2/24/2026 not addressed below has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6,8-16,18,20-23,28-29 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Nawaz et al. (US (2002/0058051).
Nawaz teaches skin care compositions with a pH of 4-9 (data point 9 is within claimed ranges) comprising silicone oil, an amphoteric surfactant in amounts of 0.1-10 wt%, including potassium oleate, a polyol moiety including sugar alcohols and glucose (reads on sugar based moisturizer) and several additional excipients including EDTA (meeting claims 15-16), Guar and Xanthan gum (meeting claims 18,20-21) and glycerin humectant (meeting claims 22-23). See entire disclosure, especially abstract, [0067], [0087], [0168], [0180],[0186] and claims, especially 1,15,18. Regarding the broadly recited viscosity ranges in claims 2-3, Nawaz teaches viscosity of at least about 4,000 mPa.s, the data point of 4,000 is within the claimed ranges. It also follows that since the composition of Nawaz is within the scope of the pending claims it will feature the same properties including viscosity. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2112.01 [R-3] II. Regarding the recitations in claims 5-6,13 and 27 on the amount of nonnatural detergents, percent of natural or naturally derived ingredients and amount of sulfates, the compositions of Mitchell contains only natural ingredients or naturally derived ingredients and detergents and does not require sulphates, therefore the recitation is considered met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nawaz et al. (US (2002/0058051), cited above in view of Kalahasti et al. (US 2019/0038689), in view of Park et al. (US 2018/0116937) in view of Cavaco Paulo et al. (US 2023/0414478).
Nawaz is disclosed above. Nawaz does not disclose use of some of the excipients recited in the claims including citric acid (claim 17), saccharide isomerate (in claims 24-25), ethylhexyl glycerin and hydroxypropyl guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride (claims 18-19 and 24-25) and trisodium dicarboxymethyl ananinate chelator.
Kalahasti is used for its disclosure that topical compositions were well known to contain citric acid pH adjuster, saccharide isomerate as well as ethylhexylglycerin. See abstract, [0050] and claims. The composition was used with other extracts to reduce erythema and cool the skin.
Park is used for its disclosure that use of hydroxypropyl guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride was well known to be useful as a thickening agent in topical cleansing compositions. See entire disclosure, especially abstract and claims, especially 1,17 and 20.
Cavaco Paulo is used for its disclosure that dicarboxymethyl ananinate chelator was well known to be useful in topical cleanser compositors. See entire disclosure, especially abstract and claims, especially 1,9 and 11.
It would have been prime facie obvious at the time of the invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the topical composition disclosed in Mitchell and add the skin care actives and excipients disclosed within Kalahasti, Park and Cavaco Paulo. It is generally considered to be prime facie obvious to combine compounds each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose in order to form a composition that is to be used for an identical purpose. The reason for combining them flows from their having been used individually in the prior art, and from them being recognized in the prior art as useful for the same purpose. As shown by the recited teachings, instant claims are no more than the combination of conventional components of topical skin or hair compositions. It therefore follows that the instant claims define prime facie obvious subject matter. Cf. In re Kerhoven, 626 F.2d 848, 205 USPQ 1069 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding the claimed amounts of ingredients recited in claims 10-11,24-26, 29 and 30, the prior art cited above is silent with respect to the amounts. However, the preparation of topical cleansing compositions having variable amount of actives and excipients is within the level of skill of one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. It has also been held that the mere selection of proportions and ranges is not patentable absent a showing of criticality. See In re Russell, 439 F.2d 1228 169 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1971).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6 and 8-31 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JAMES W ROGERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618