DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, 13-16 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12443099. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they include all of the same limitations of an image sensor, two lens groups and EFLMAX/EFLMIN expression.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-12, 14-15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Bachar et al. (WO2020141466, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Bachar discloses a camera, comprising:
a lens including a plurality of active optical surfaces, each active optical surface providing an optical power (103’), and an optical path folding element (OPFE); and
an image sensor (118),
wherein the active optical surfaces are divided into two lens groups marked G1 and G2 (at least G1, G2 and/or G3),
wherein active optical surfaces within a lens group do not move relative to each other (at least pages 13-14),
wherein a single active optical surface is located at an object side of the OPFE and has an associated first optical axis (object side surface of the OPFE),
wherein all other active optical surfaces are located at an image side of the OPFE and have an associated second optical axis (at least Fig. 2a),
wherein the lens has an effective focal length (EFL) <50 mm (see at least page 19 third paragraph),
wherein the EFL can be varied continuously between a minimal EFL (EFLMIN) and a maximal EFL (EFLMAX) by independent movement of G1 and G2 along the second optical lens axis, and wherein EFLMAX/EFLMIN is equal to or larger than 1.5 (at least page 19 where 30/15 = 2).
Regarding claim 2, Bachar discloses wherein EFLMAX/EFLMIN is equal to or smaller than 2 (Page 20).
Regarding claim 8, Bachar discloses wherein the camera has a f number f/#Min. at EFLMIN and a f number f/#MAX at EFLMAX, and wherein a ratio f/#MAX/f/#M<EFLMX/EFLMIN (Page 19).
Regarding claim 9, Bachar discloses wherein the camera has a f number f/#M' at EFLMIN is and a f number f/#MAx at EFLMAx, wherein f/#MI< 3 and f/#MAX<5 (Page 19).
Regarding claim 10, Bachar discloses wherein the lens is a cut lens (Page 4).
Regarding claim 11, Bachar discloses wherein a distance between the OPFE and a first active optical surface located at the image side of the OPFE is marked dM-L, and wherein dM-L doesnot change for the continuous variation of EFL (Page 13 where L1 does not change position).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Bachar discloses wherein the OPFE is a prism (Page 10 prism or mirror).
Regarding claim 14, Bachar discloses wherein 10mm<EFLMIN<30mm (Page 19).
Regarding claim 15, Bachar discloses wherein the image sensor has a sensor diagonal (SD) and wherein SD is in the range 3mm < SD <10mm (at least Page 13 Table 1).
Regarding claim 17, Bachar discloses wherein the camera is included in a smartphone (Page 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bachar in view of Dhanda et al. (USPAT 11202007, of record).
Regarding claim 4, Bachar does not disclose wherein the image sensor is operative to be moved with respect to both G1 and G2 for optical image stabilization (OIS) and for focusing.
However, Dhanda teaches an optical imaging system wherein the image sensor is configured to move for focusing and image stabilization (Col. 11 lines 25-43).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to combine Bachar and Dhanda such that the imaging sensor were movable motivated by improving image quality.
Regarding claim 5, modified Bachar discloses wherein the movement of the image sensor for OIS is performed in two directions, and wherein the two directions are perpendicular to a normal on the image sensor and perpendicular to each other (Col. 11 lines 25-43 of Dhanda).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s comments with respect to the double patenting rejection, the applicant states they have filed an eTerminal Disclaimer. The examiner does not see a filing or the office’s response to such a filing in the file wrapper at this time (2/23/2026). Therefore, the double patenting rejection remains in this final office action. It may be that filing has not yet been processed by the office. Please review and ensure that the eTerminal Disclaimer was properly filed and contact the Patent Electronic Business Center at 866-217-9197 if you have any issues with the process (https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer).
With respect to applicant’s remarks on page 6, the applicant claims Bachar does not include an active optical surface located at an object side of the OPFE. The office respectfully disagrees. Bachar states on page 10 that the OPFE may be made of glass or plastic, may be a mirror, have a varying refractive index or an OIS mechanism. In the case that the refractive index is varying, different from air or there is an OIS mechanism, the object side surface of the OPFE is an “active” surface. The surface is considered active when it makes any change to the optical path of the light passing through the system.
Further, applicant’s use of “at an object side” implies that the location of an active element would include the object side surface of the OPFE and any optically active element still closer to the object. Applicant may wish to amend the claim such that it is clear that there is a separate optically active element located on the object side of the OPFE. Such an amendment would overcome the rejection of record but require additional search and consideration to determine allowability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PGPUBs 20160202455, 20180059365, 20100214664 and 20110157430 – Similar optical systems with additional optical elements located on the object side of the OPFE.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRAVIS S FISSEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872