DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to an application filed on 08/04/2025. The applicant submits an Information Disclosure Statement dated 11/03/2025. The applicant does not make a claim to Foreign priority. The applicant makes a claim to Domestic priority to applications filed on 03/31/2020 and 09/15/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claim 11 is directed to transitory signals such as computer readable media or a set of instructions (such as a game or software per se) and are not included in the four patent eligible subject matter categories, and needs to be amended to include "a non-transitory computer readable media" if covered by the specifications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Donahoe US 2019/0250601.
As per claim 1, A control method comprising:
displaying, on a control device of a movable platform, a mode interface corresponding to a target operating mode of the movable platform, the mode interface displaying at least two sub- modes of the target operating mode that are configured to control the movable platform to move based on a target object; (Donahoe paragraph 0027 discloses, “the GUI may also offer a selection of various different modes which can impact how user inputs are interpreted and translated into aircraft behavior. Such modes can offer additional interactive GUI elements that are specific to the mode.” And paragraph 0070 discloses, “The selected control mode may represent a combination of a mode of operation (e.g., normal vs. tracking) as well as a selected cinematic mode (e.g., orbit, tripod, follow, etc.).”)
obtaining a target sub-mode selected from the at least two sub-modes; (Donahoe paragraph 0070 discloses, “The selected control mode may represent a combination of a mode of operation (e.g., normal vs. tracking) as well as a selected cinematic mode (e.g., orbit, tripod, follow, etc.).”) and
controlling the movable platform to move based on the target object according to the target sub-mode. (Donahoe paragraph 0070 discloses, “step 406 may include identifying a current control mode and recognizing the detected user interaction as indicative of a particular user input, command, intention, etc. associated with that control mode.” And paragraph 0027 discloses, “the aircraft can be focused to follow subjects such as people, balls, cars, or any other objects, using a tracking system. When a user provides an input to follow a subject, the GUI may display a set of controls specific to a tracking mode. In such a tracking mode, the GUI may display interactive controls for maintaining a certain position and/or orientation relative to a tracked subject.)
As per claim 2, The method of claim 1, wherein the at least two sub-modes include a first sub- mode and: a second sub-mode configured to control the movable platform to surround the target object, or a third sub-mode configured to control the movable platform to follow the target object. (Donahoe paragraph 0070 discloses, “The selected control mode may represent a combination of a mode of operation (e.g., normal vs. tracking) as well as a selected cinematic mode (e.g., orbit, tripod, follow, etc.).”)
As per claim 3, The method of claim 2, wherein an operating mode of the movable platform includes an intelligent eye mode that includes the first sub-mode, the second sub-mode, and the third sub-mode. (Donahoe paragraph 0111 teaches, “A velocity slider can be implemented for the zoom control element 1910 to control the range or distance or zoom on the subject. Sliding element 1910 up moves the UAV 100 toward the subject or makes the subject larger in the recorded image or video (e.g., through optical or digital zoom).” And paragraph 0110 discloses, “The controls included in the GUI at any given time may depend on the selected cinematic mode, but may include, for example, zoom 1910,”)
As per claim 4, The method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to the movable platform entering one of the at least two sub-modes, adjusting a photographing device of the movable platform to point in a direction towards the target object. (Donahoe paragraph 0025 discloses, “In certain embodiments, the user's commands can be very general, such as a command to follow a particular person or object as it moves, or very specific, such as to go up or down.” And paragraph 0070 discloses, “The manner in which the UAV 100 responds to user interaction with the GUI will depend on which control mode it is in. The selected control mode may represent a combination of a mode of operation (e.g., normal vs. tracking) as well as a selected cinematic mode (e.g., orbit, tripod, follow, etc.). Accordingly, step 406 may include identifying a current control mode and recognizing the detected user interaction as indicative of a particular user input, command, intention, etc. associated with that control mode.” And paragraph 0110 discloses, “using the GUI, a user can select a subject in the physical environment to follow. In response to the selection, the controls displayed via the GUI may be defined relative to the selected subject. The controls included in the GUI at any given time may depend on the selected cinematic mode, but may include, for example, zoom 1910, height adjustment 1912, azimuth control 1914, etc., for example, as depicted in screen 1900 of FIG. 19. Some controls may be relative to the position, velocity, and/or acceleration depending on the specifications required by the current cinematic mode.”)
As per claim 5, The method of claim 4, wherein adjusting the photographing device to point in the direction towards the target object includes:
adjusting an orientation of the movable platform or a gimbal of the movable platform that carries the photographing device, to adjust the photographing device to point in the direction towards the target object. (Donahoe paragraph 0034 discloses, “this adjustable mechanism may include a mechanical gimbal mechanism that rotates an attached image capture device about one or more axes. In some embodiments, the gimbal mechanism may be configured as a hybrid mechanical-digital gimbal system coupling the image capture device 115 to the body of the UAV 100.” And paragraph 0027 discloses, “the aircraft can be focused to follow subjects such as people, balls, cars, or any other objects, using a tracking system. When a user provides an input to follow a subject, the GUI may display a set of controls specific to a tracking mode. In such a tracking mode, the GUI may display interactive controls for maintaining a certain position and/or orientation relative to a tracked subject. For example, in such a tracking mode, the GUI may display controls for setting an azimuth, elevation, range, etc. relative to a tracked subject.”)
As per claim 6, The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a mode switching instruction sent by the control device; (Donahoe paragraph 0087 discloses, “the GUI may include mechanisms for switching back to a normal mode of operation from a subject-following mode. For example, a user may simply select an option presented in the GUI to cancel a selection of a particular subject to follow.”) and
controlling an operating mode of the movable platform to switch between two of the at least two sub-modes. (Donahoe paragraph 0087 discloses, “the GUI may include mechanisms for switching back to a normal mode of operation from a subject-following mode. For example, a user may simply select an option presented in the GUI to cancel a selection of a particular subject to follow.” And paragraph 0070 discloses, “The selected control mode may represent a combination of a mode of operation (e.g., normal vs. tracking) as well as a selected cinematic mode (e.g., orbit, tripod, follow, etc.).”)
As per claim 7, The method of claim 1, wherein the target object remains unchanged while an operating mode of the movable platform is being switched among the at least two sub-modes. (Donahoe paragraph 0087 discloses, “the GUI may include mechanisms for switching back to a normal mode of operation from a subject-following mode. For example, a user may simply select an option presented in the GUI to cancel a selection of a particular subject to follow.” And paragraph 0070 discloses, “The selected control mode may represent a combination of a mode of operation (e.g., normal vs. tracking) as well as a selected cinematic mode (e.g., orbit, tripod, follow, etc.).”)
As per claim 8, The method of claim 1, wherein controlling the movable platform to move based on the target object includes:
controlling the movable platform to move relative to the target object based on a connecting line between the movable platform and the target object. (Donahoe paragraph 0087 discloses, “the GUI may include mechanisms for switching back to a normal mode of operation from a subject-following mode. For example, a user may simply select an option presented in the GUI to cancel a selection of a particular subject to follow.” And paragraph 0070 discloses, “The selected control mode may represent a combination of a mode of operation (e.g., normal vs. tracking) as well as a selected cinematic mode (e.g., orbit, tripod, follow, etc.).”)
As per claim 9, The method of claim 1, wherein the movable platform includes an unmanned aerial vehicle. (Donahoe paragraph 0202 discloses, “A UAV 100, according to the present teachings, may be implemented as any type of UAV. A UAV, sometimes referred to as a drone, is generally defined as any aircraft capable of controlled flight without a human pilot onboard.”)
As per claim 10, A control method comprising:
controlling a movable platform to switch among at least two sub-modes of a target operating mode of the movable platform, the at least two sub-modes being configured to control the movable platform to move based on a target object, the target object remaining unchanged while the movable platform is being switched among the at least two sub-modes;(Donahoe paragraph 0070 discloses, “The manner in which the UAV 100 responds to user interaction with the GUI will depend on which control mode it is in. The selected control mode may represent a combination of a mode of operation (e.g., normal vs. tracking) as well as a selected cinematic mode (e.g., orbit, tripod, follow, etc.). Accordingly, step 406 may include identifying a current control mode and recognizing the detected user interaction as indicative of a particular user input, command, intention, etc. associated with that control mode.” And paragraph 0027 discloses, “the aircraft can be focused to follow subjects such as people, balls, cars, or any other objects, using a tracking system. When a user provides an input to follow a subject, the GUI may display a set of controls specific to a tracking mode. In such a tracking mode, the GUI may display interactive controls for maintaining a certain position and/or orientation relative to a tracked subject.) and
controlling the movable platform to move based on the target object according to a target sub-mode selected from the at least two sub-modes. (Donahoe paragraph 0070 discloses, “step 406 may include identifying a current control mode and recognizing the detected user interaction as indicative of a particular user input, command, intention, etc. associated with that control mode.” And paragraph 0027 discloses, “the aircraft can be focused to follow subjects such as people, balls, cars, or any other objects, using a tracking system. When a user provides an input to follow a subject, the GUI may display a set of controls specific to a tracking mode. In such a tracking mode, the GUI may display interactive controls for maintaining a certain position and/or orientation relative to a tracked subject.)
As per claim 11, A control device comprising:
a memory storing a computer program; (Donahoe paragraph 0209 discloses, “The one or more processors 4112 run or execute various software programs and/or sets of instructions stored in memory 4116 to perform various functions for the UAV 100 and to process data. In some embodiments, processors 4112 may include general central processing units (CPUs), specialized processing units such as graphical processing units (GPUs) particularly suited to parallel processing applications, or any combination thereof.”) and
a processor configured to execute the computer program to perform the method of claim 10. (Donahoe paragraph 0209 discloses, “The one or more processors 4112 run or execute various software programs and/or sets of instructions stored in memory 4116 to perform various functions for the UAV 100 and to process data. In some embodiments, processors 4112 may include general central processing units (CPUs), specialized processing units such as graphical processing units (GPUs) particularly suited to parallel processing applications, or any combination thereof.”)
As per claim 12, A movable platform comprising:
a body; (Donahoe paragraph 0034 discloses, “In some embodiments, the image capture device 115 is coupled to the body of the UAV 100 via an adjustable mechanism that allows for one or more degrees of freedom of motion relative to a body of the UAV 100.”)
a power system mounted at the body to provide power for movement; (Donahoe paragraph 0214 discloses, “UAV system 4100 also includes a power system 4118 for powering the various components. The power system 4118 may include a power management system, one or more power sources (e.g., battery, alternating current (AC), etc.), a recharging system, a power failure detection circuit, a power converter or inverter, a power status indicator (e.g., a light-emitting diode (LED)) and any other components associated with the generation, management and distribution of power in computerized device.”) and
the control device of claim 11. (Donahoe paragraph 0035 discloses, “Mobile device 104 may include any type of mobile device such as a laptop computer, a table computer (e.g., Apple iPad™), a cellular telephone, a smart phone (e.g., Apple iPhone™), a handled gaming device (e.g., Nintendo Switch™), a single-function remote control device, or any other type of device capable of receiving user inputs, transmitting signals for delivery to the UAV 100 (e.g., based on the user inputs), and/or presenting information to the user (e.g., based on sensor data gathered by the UAV 100).”)
As per claim 13, A control device comprising:
a memory storing a computer program; (Donahoe paragraph 0209 discloses, “The one or more processors 4112 run or execute various software programs and/or sets of instructions stored in memory 4116 to perform various functions for the UAV 100 and to process data. In some embodiments, processors 4112 may include general central processing units (CPUs), specialized processing units such as graphical processing units (GPUs) particularly suited to parallel processing applications, or any combination thereof.”) and
a processor configured to execute the computer program to: (Donahoe paragraph 0209 discloses, “The one or more processors 4112 run or execute various software programs and/or sets of instructions stored in memory 4116 to perform various functions for the UAV 100 and to process data. In some embodiments, processors 4112 may include general central processing units (CPUs), specialized processing units such as graphical processing units (GPUs) particularly suited to parallel processing applications, or any combination thereof.”)
display, on a display interface of the control device, a mode interface corresponding to a target operating mode of a movable platform, the mode interface displaying at least two sub-modes of the target operating mode that are configured to control the movable platform to move based on a target object; (Donahoe paragraph 0027 discloses, “the GUI may also offer a selection of various different modes which can impact how user inputs are interpreted and translated into aircraft behavior. Such modes can offer additional interactive GUI elements that are specific to the mode.” And paragraph 0070 discloses, “The selected control mode may represent a combination of a mode of operation (e.g., normal vs. tracking) as well as a selected cinematic mode (e.g., orbit, tripod, follow, etc.).”)
obtain a target sub-mode selected from the at least two sub-modes; (Donahoe paragraph 0070 discloses, “The selected control mode may represent a combination of a mode of operation (e.g., normal vs. tracking) as well as a selected cinematic mode (e.g., orbit, tripod, follow, etc.).”) and
control the movable platform to move based on the target object according to the target sub-mode. (Donahoe paragraph 0070 discloses, “step 406 may include identifying a current control mode and recognizing the detected user interaction as indicative of a particular user input, command, intention, etc. associated with that control mode.” And paragraph 0027 discloses, “the aircraft can be focused to follow subjects such as people, balls, cars, or any other objects, using a tracking system. When a user provides an input to follow a subject, the GUI may display a set of controls specific to a tracking mode. In such a tracking mode, the GUI may display interactive controls for maintaining a certain position and/or orientation relative to a tracked subject.)
As per claim 14, The control device of claim 13, wherein the at least two sub-modes include a first sub-mode and: a second sub-mode configured to control the movable platform to surround the target object, or a third sub-mode configured to control the movable platform to follow the target object. (Donahoe paragraph 0070 discloses, “The selected control mode may represent a combination of a mode of operation (e.g., normal vs. tracking) as well as a selected cinematic mode (e.g., orbit, tripod, follow, etc.).”)
As per claim 15, The control device of claim 14, wherein an operating mode of the movable platform includes an intelligent eye mode that includes the first sub-mode, the second sub-mode, and the third sub-mode. (Donahoe paragraph 0111 teaches, “A velocity slider can be implemented for the zoom control element 1910 to control the range or distance or zoom on the subject. Sliding element 1910 up moves the UAV 100 toward the subject or makes the subject larger in the recorded image or video (e.g., through optical or digital zoom).” And paragraph 0110 discloses, “The controls included in the GUI at any given time may depend on the selected cinematic mode, but may include, for example, zoom 1910,”)
As per claim 16, The control device of claim 13, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer program to:
in response to the movable platform entering one of the at least two sub-modes, adjust a photographing device of the movable platform to point in a direction towards the target object. (Donahoe paragraph 0025 discloses, “In certain embodiments, the user's commands can be very general, such as a command to follow a particular person or object as it moves, or very specific, such as to go up or down.” And paragraph 0070 discloses, “The manner in which the UAV 100 responds to user interaction with the GUI will depend on which control mode it is in. The selected control mode may represent a combination of a mode of operation (e.g., normal vs. tracking) as well as a selected cinematic mode (e.g., orbit, tripod, follow, etc.). Accordingly, step 406 may include identifying a current control mode and recognizing the detected user interaction as indicative of a particular user input, command, intention, etc. associated with that control mode.” And paragraph 0110 discloses, “using the GUI, a user can select a subject in the physical environment to follow. In response to the selection, the controls displayed via the GUI may be defined relative to the selected subject. The controls included in the GUI at any given time may depend on the selected cinematic mode, but may include, for example, zoom 1910, height adjustment 1912, azimuth control 1914, etc., for example, as depicted in screen 1900 of FIG. 19. Some controls may be relative to the position, velocity, and/or acceleration depending on the specifications required by the current cinematic mode.”)
As per claim 17, The control device of claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer program to, when adjusting the photographing device to point in the direction towards the target object:
adjust an orientation of the movable platform or a gimbal of the movable platform that carries the photographing device, to adjust the photographing device to point in the direction towards the target object. (Donahoe paragraph 0034 discloses, “this adjustable mechanism may include a mechanical gimbal mechanism that rotates an attached image capture device about one or more axes. In some embodiments, the gimbal mechanism may be configured as a hybrid mechanical-digital gimbal system coupling the image capture device 115 to the body of the UAV 100.” And paragraph 0027 discloses, “the aircraft can be focused to follow subjects such as people, balls, cars, or any other objects, using a tracking system. When a user provides an input to follow a subject, the GUI may display a set of controls specific to a tracking mode. In such a tracking mode, the GUI may display interactive controls for maintaining a certain position and/or orientation relative to a tracked subject. For example, in such a tracking mode, the GUI may display controls for setting an azimuth, elevation, range, etc. relative to a tracked subject.”)
As per claim 18, The control device of claim 13, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer program to:
receive a mode switching instruction sent by the control device; (Donahoe paragraph 0035 discloses, “Mobile device 104 may include any type of mobile device such as a laptop computer, a table computer (e.g., Apple iPad™), a cellular telephone, a smart phone (e.g., Apple iPhone™), a handled gaming device (e.g., Nintendo Switch™), a single-function remote control device, or any other type of device capable of receiving user inputs, transmitting signals for delivery to the UAV 100 (e.g., based on the user inputs), and/or presenting information to the user (e.g., based on sensor data gathered by the UAV 100).”) and
control an operating mode of the movable platform to switch between two of the at least two sub-modes. (Donahoe paragraph 0070 discloses, “step 406 may include identifying a current control mode and recognizing the detected user interaction as indicative of a particular user input, command, intention, etc. associated with that control mode.” And paragraph 0027 discloses, “the aircraft can be focused to follow subjects such as people, balls, cars, or any other objects, using a tracking system. When a user provides an input to follow a subject, the GUI may display a set of controls specific to a tracking mode. In such a tracking mode, the GUI may display interactive controls for maintaining a certain position and/or orientation relative to a tracked subject.)
As per claim 19, The control device of claim 13, wherein the target object remains unchanged while an operating mode of the movable platform is being switched among the at least two sub- modes. (Donahoe paragraph 0087 discloses, “the GUI may include mechanisms for switching back to a normal mode of operation from a subject-following mode. For example, a user may simply select an option presented in the GUI to cancel a selection of a particular subject to follow.” And paragraph 0070 discloses, “The selected control mode may represent a combination of a mode of operation (e.g., normal vs. tracking) as well as a selected cinematic mode (e.g., orbit, tripod, follow, etc.).”)
As per claim 20, A movable platform comprising:
a body; (Donahoe paragraph 0034 discloses, “In some embodiments, the image capture device 115 is coupled to the body of the UAV 100 via an adjustable mechanism that allows for one or more degrees of freedom of motion relative to a body of the UAV 100.”)
a power system mounted at the body to provide power for movement; (Donahoe paragraph 0214 discloses, “UAV system 4100 also includes a power system 4118 for powering the various components. The power system 4118 may include a power management system, one or more power sources (e.g., battery, alternating current (AC), etc.), a recharging system, a power failure detection circuit, a power converter or inverter, a power status indicator (e.g., a light-emitting diode (LED)) and any other components associated with the generation, management and distribution of power in computerized device.”) and
the control device of claim 13. (Donahoe paragraph 0035 discloses, “Mobile device 104 may include any type of mobile device such as a laptop computer, a table computer (e.g., Apple iPad™), a cellular telephone, a smart phone (e.g., Apple iPhone™), a handled gaming device (e.g., Nintendo Switch™), a single-function remote control device, or any other type of device capable of receiving user inputs, transmitting signals for delivery to the UAV 100 (e.g., based on the user inputs), and/or presenting information to the user (e.g., based on sensor data gathered by the UAV 100).”)
Conclusion
/TYLER D PAIGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664