DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statements
Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed on 08/04/2025 and 02/18/2026 have been considered by the Examiner. A signed copy of the IDS is included with the present Office Action.
Claim Status
Examiner acknowledges the granting of the petition to make Special under Patent Prosecution Highway on 10/02/2025.
Applicant’s election of Group I (composition of claims 1-12) and the species of:
Wherein the inorganic UV filters are surface coated wherein there is titanium dioxide UV-filter and zinc oxide UV filter;
The zinc oxide is coated with triethoxycaprylylsilane and titanium dioxide has an inner silica and outer dimethicone coating;
Potassium cetyl phosphate is the O/W emulsifier; and
Further ingredients: ethylhexylglycerin; xanthan gum; and glyceryl stearate in the reply filed on 2/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 5 and 13-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/18/2026. Examiner notes that since claim 5 is most preferably the micronized methylene bis-benzotriazylyl tetramethylbutylphenol, which is an unelected species, the claim is currently withdrawn with claims 13-14 which are directed to a method and a use of bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine.
Claims 1-4 and 6-12 are being examined to the extent of the species elections: uv filter substances (instant claims 1 and 4): titanium dioxide and zinc oxide UV filters (pigmentary filters); emulsifier: cetyl phosphate (instant claim 7); further ingredients present: caprylic/capric triglycerides, ethylhexylglycerin, xanthan gum and glyceryl stearate (instant claims 8-110); the zinc oxide is coated with triethoxycaprylylsilane and titanium dioxide has an inner silica and outer dimethicone coating (instant claim 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)-indefinite
Claims 1-4 and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “ A sunscreen composition containing as UV-filters solely a combination of the UV- filter substances i) bis ethyihexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine (BEMT) and (ii) two or more pigmentary UV-filters, wherein the inorganic UV-filters are surface coated”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim reciting “the inorganic UV-filters”. It is unclear if the inorganic UV filters is referring back to the two or more pigmentary UV filters, the BEMT or all UV filters earlier required by the claim. Claims 2-4 and 6-12 are rejected by virtue of their dependency to claim 1.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 2 recites the broad recitation from 0.4-10 wt %, and the claim also recites preferably from 0.8-5 wt%, most preferably from 1 to 5 wt% which are the narrower statements of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Here, it is unclear what range the ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine can be present in view of the multiple different ranges set forth in the claim.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 3 recites the broad recitation from 0.5-25 wt %, and the claim also recites preferably from 1-20 wt%, most preferably from 2 to 15 wt% which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Here, it is unclear what range the two or more pigmentary Uv-filters can be present in view of the multiple different ranges set forth in the claim.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 4 recites the broad recitation at least two inorganic UV filters and the claim also recites preferably at least one titanium dioxide UV- filter and at least one zinc oxide UV-filter which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Here, it is unclear whether titanium dioxide or zinc oxide are required by the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the inorganic UV-filters” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because claim 6 depends from claim 1 which recites BEMT, two more pigmentary filters and wherein the inorganic UV filters are surface coated. Claim 6 does not rectify the deficiency of claim 1 which is indefinite for the reason stated above. It is unclear if the inorganic UV filters of claim 6 is referring to the BEMT, the two or more pigmentary UV filters or all the filters required by claim 1.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 7 recites the broad recitation in the presence of an O/W emulsifier, and the claim also recites preferably in the presence of a cetyl phosphate emulsifier, most preferably in the presence of potassium cetyl phosphate which are the narrower statements of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Here, it is unclear whether potassium cetyl phosphate is required to meet the claim.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 8 recites the broad recitation one or more of butylene glycol, dicaprylate/dicaprate, phenethyl benzoate, C12-C15 alkyl benzoate, dibutyl adipate, diisopropyl sebacates, dicaprylyl carbonate, di-C12-13 alkyl tartrates, hydrogenated castor oil dimerates, triheptanoin, C12-13 alkyl lactates, C16-17 alkyl benzoates, propylheptyl caprylates, caprylic/capric triglycerides, diethylhexyl 2,6-naphthalate, octyldodecanol, ethylhexyl cocoatesdibutyl adipate, and the claim also recites preferably of butylene glycol, dicaprylyl carbonate phenethyl benzoate, C12-C15 alkylbenzoate, caprylyl carbonate, capric/caprylic triglyceride, and most preferably of butylene glycol, phenethyl benzoate, and C12-C15 alkylbenzoate which are the narrower statements of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims It is unclear which ingredients must be present in view of the broad recitation of one or more ingredients followed by preferably and most preferably.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 9 recites the broad recitation one or more of ethanol, phenoxyethanol, and ethylhexylglycerin, and the claim also recites preferably of phenoxyethanol and ethylhexylglycerin which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Here, it is unclear whether phenoxyethanol and ethylhexylglycerin are required by the claim or if the claim allows just one of ethanol, phenoxyethanol or ethylhexylglycerin.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 10 recites the broad recitation of one or more of xanthan gum, crosslinked acrylate/C10-C30 alkyl acrylate polymer, hydroxyethyl acrylate/sodium acryloyldimethyl taurate copolymer, and the claim also recites preferably xanthan gum which is the narrower statements of the range/limitation. Here, it is unclear whether xanthan gum is required by the claim or if the claim allows just one of xanthan gum, crosslinked acrylate/C10-C30 alkyl acrylate polymer, or hydroxyethyl acrylate/sodium acryloyldimethyl taurate copolymer.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 11 recites the broad recitation one or more of behenyl alcohol, cetyl alcohol, cetearyl alcohol, stearyl alcohol and glyceryl stearate, the claim also recites preferably of behenyl alcohol, stearyl alcohol and cetearyl alcohol which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims It is unclear whether all of behenyl alcohol, stearyl alcohol and ceteryl alcohol are required by the claim, or if the claim allows for a selection from behenyl alcohol, cetyl alcohol, cetearyl alcohol, stearyl alcohol and glyceryl stearate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlossman et al. (United States Patent Publication 20190183767).
Schlossman et al. teach sunscreen compositions which comprise bis ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine (BEMT), zinc oxide, xanthan gum, capric/capric triglycerides and glyceryl stearate, and silica at 3% by weight, see paragraph [0065] at Table 1. The BMET can comprise 1.4% by weight, see paragraph [0065] at Table 1. The SPF of the sunscreen product at Table 1 is 38.89, thus meets the limitation having an SPF of at least 20. The zinc oxide can be present at 7.15% by weight, see Table 1.
Schlossman at Table 1 does not expressly teach the inorganic UV filter of titanium dioxide.
However, although Table 1 does not contain titanium dioxide, Schlossman et al. teaches that to meet an SPF of 30 or higher ZnO is often used along with inorganic UV filters such as titanium dioxide, see paragraph [0005] and claims 23-24. Examples of inorganic UV filter compounds are silica or titanium dioxide, see paragraphs [0051]-[0052]. Table 1 of Schlossman teaches silica.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the silica inorganic UV filter at Table 1 for titanium dioxide.
One or ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Schlossman et al. teach that one or more inorganic filters can be added where suitable inorganic UV filters include titanium dioxide or silica and that to achieve an SPF of 30 or higher ZnO is mixed with titanium dioxide.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because both silica and titanium dioxide are taught as suitable UV filters, and Schlossman et al. teach that titanium dioxide is often combined with zinc oxide to increase the SPF of sunscreen formulations.
Regarding instant clam 2, BEMT is exemplified at 1.4% by weight, and Schlossman et al. teach that the BEMT can be present from 0.5-1.5% by weight which renders obvious the claimed range of from 0.4-10% by weight. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Regarding instant claim 3, the substitution of silica for titanium dioxide at Table 1 is 3% by weight, and the amount of BEMT is 1.4% by weight. This amount of 3% together with the ZnO present at 7.15% by weight overlaps and renders obvious the claimed range of from 0.5-25% by weight. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding instant claim 4, Schlossman et al. teach a combination of ZnO (zinc oxide) with titanium dioxide UV filters, see claims 1 and 24.
Accordingly, the teachings of Schlossman et al. render instant claims 1-4, 8 and 10-12 obvious.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlossman et al. (United States Patent Publication 20190183767) as applied to claims 1-4, 8 and 10-12 above, and further in view of Suma et al. (WO2021220453) and Deshayes et al. (United States Patent Publication 20190231669).
As noted above, the elected species for surface coatings of the zinc oxide is triethoxycaprylylsilane and titanium dioxide having silica and outer dimethicone coating.
Schlossman et al. teach that the ZnO can be coated with silanes, see paragraph [0030], and claim 12
However, Schlossman et al. do not expressly teach wherein the inorganic UV filters of zinc oxide coated with triethoxycaprylylsilane and the titanium dioxide is coated with an inner silica and outer dimethicone coating.
However, Suma et al. teach the surface modification of zinc oxide with silanes, see abstract. The surface modification of zinc oxide renders the particles easily dispersible and provides transparency and uv shielding properties to the cosmetic product, see pages 3-5. Examples of silanes include triethoxycaprylylsilane, see page 11. Silanes such as triethoxycaprylylsilane are preferable due to the compatibility with oil phases with a wide range of polarity, see page 11.
Neither Schlossman et al nor Suma et al. teach double coatings of titanium dioxide having silica and an outer coating of dimethicone.
Deshayes et al. teach cosmetic sunscreen formulations having inorganic Uv filters, see paragraph [0018]. The inorganic filters are surface treated to render the particles more hydrophobic and thus more dispersible in their vehicle, see paragraphs [0016]-[0026]. The preferred coatings are double coated titanium dioxide having silica coating and an outer dimethicone, see paragraph [0028].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to coat the zinc oxide filters of Schlossman et al. with triethoxycaprylylsilane and titanium dioxide UV filters of Schlossman with an inner coating of silica and outer coating of dimethicone.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Suma recognize that surface coatings with triethoxycaprylylsilane enable the zinc oxide particles to have improved dispersion and Deshayes also recognizes that coating titanium dioxide with silica and dimethicone is advantageous as it makes the UV filter more dispersible in its vehicle.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Schlossman et al. teach formulating emulsions with the UV filter particles, see paragraph [0059].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlossman et al. (US 20190183767) as applied to claims 1-4, 8 and 10-12 above, and further in view of Takakura et al. (WO2012081446).
The teachings of Schlossman et al. are discussed above. Schlossman et al. teach that the composition can take the form of an emulsion (paragraph [0059]), however Schlossman et al. do not expressly teach an O/W emulsion having the emulsifier of potassium cetyl phosphate.
Takakura et al. teach that low viscosity oil in water emulsions (O/W) give the product a fresh feeling with no stickiness or oiliness which provides excellent feel and stability, see abstract and pages 3-6. The preferred anionic emulsifier is potassium cetyl phosphate (alkyl phosphate) and is an essential component, see paged 4-5 and 8.
It would have been prima facie obvious to provide the sunscreen product of Schlossman et al. as a low viscosity O/W emulsion having potassium cetyl phosphate emulsifier.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Takakura et al. teach that O/W emulsions having potassium cetyl phosphate with UV absorbers provide for emulsions which give a fresh feel when applied and no stickiness or oiliness, thus providing excellent feel and stability.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Schlossman et al. and Takakura et al. teach sunscreen formulations and Schlossman et al. teach that the sunscreen formulation includes emulsions.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlossman et al. (US 20190183767) as applied to claims 1-4, 8 and 10-12 above, and further in view of Kuttler et al. (United States Patent Publication 20220168209).
The teachings of Schlossman et al. are discussed above.
Schlossman et al. do not teach the presence of ethylhexylglycerin in the sunscreen product.
However, Kuttler et al. teach sunscreen compositions including emulsions which comprise preservatives that prolong the shelf life of the product including ethylhexylglycerin, see paragraph [0027]. The composition can take the form of an emulsion, see paragraph [0023].
It would have been prima facie obvious to provide ethylhexylglycerin as the preservative in the sunscreen formulation of Schlossman et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because ethylhexylglycerin is taught to prolong the shelf life of sunscreen products.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given Schlossman et al. teach that the sunscreen formulation can further contain preservatives, see paragraph [0060].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 6-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-6, 7-11 and 13 and 16-21 of copending Application No. 18/254537 (reference application) in view of Schlossman et al. (US 20190183767).
Claims 1-4 and 6-12 directed to an invention not patentably distinct from claims 1-2, 4-6, 7-11 and 13 and 16-21 of commonly assigned Application No. 18/254537.
Specifically, while the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Both the instant claims and that of Application ‘537 recite compositions which comprise bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine together with a UV filter that is inclusive of zinc oxide or titanium dioxide. The BMET of Application ‘537 is present in overlapping ranges to the instantly claimed range. Application ‘537 recites the inorganic filters can be present from 0.5-25% by weight which overlaps the instantly claimed ranges. Both Applications surface coat the inorganic UV filter compound including having zinc oxide coated with triethoxycaprylylsilane and titanium dioxide having inner silica and outer dimethicone coating. Both Applications further contain a potassium cetyl phosphate emulsifier for an O/W emulsion, caprylic/capric triglycerides, ethylhexylglycerin, xanthan gum and glyceryl stearate. Both the instant claims and that of Application ‘537 have an SPF that is at least 20.
The difference between the instant claims and that of Application ‘537 is that the instant claims contain two UV filters such as a mixture of zinc oxide and titanium dioxide whereas Application ‘537 claims them in the alternative.
However, Schlossman et al. teach that to meet the performance requirement of SPF, zinc oxide is often used along with other sunscreens such as titanium dioxide, see paragraph [0005].
It would have been obvious to combine both zinc oxide and titanium dioxide of Application ‘537 to impart the desired SPF properties of 30 or more to the sunscreen formulation with a reasonable expiation of success given Application ‘537 prefers an SPF of at least 20 (claim 13).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office may not institute a derivation proceeding in the absence of a timely filed petition. The USPTO normally will not institute a derivation proceeding between applications or a patent and an application having common ownership (see 37 CFR 42.411). Commonly assigned Application 18254537 discussed above, may form the basis for a rejection of the noted claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 if the commonly assigned case qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and the patentably indistinct inventions were not commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention.
In order for the examiner to resolve this issue the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(i) to the effect that the subject matter and the claimed invention, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person. Alternatively, the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(c) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(ii) to the effect that the subject matter was developed and the claimed invention was made by or on behalf of one or more parties to a joint research agreement that was in effect on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and the claimed invention was made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of the joint research agreement; the application must also be amended to disclose the names of the parties to the joint research agreement.
A showing that the inventions were commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention will preclude a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 based upon the commonly assigned case. Alternatively, applicant may take action to amend or cancel claims such that the applications, or the patent and the application, no longer contain claims directed to patentably indistinct inventions.
Claims 1-4 and 6-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4,7,8, 9,12 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 10709649 in view of Schlossman et al. (US 20190183767), Deshayes et al. (United States Patent Publication 20180110706), and Deshayes et al. (United States Patent Publication 20190231669) and Suma et al. (WO2021220453).
Claims 1-4 and 6-12 directed to an invention not patentably distinct from claims 1-4,7,8,9,12 and 13 of commonly assigned Patent No 10709649.
Specifically, both the instant claims and that of Patent ‘649 claim an emulsion oily phase in water phase (o/w) comprising Uv filter substances and cetyl phosphate emulsifier. The UV filter substance includes bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine and can be present from 1-40% by weight which overlaps the instantly claimed range. Both the instant claims and that of Patent ‘649 claim the presence of glyceryl stearate.
The difference between the instant claims and that of Patent ‘649 is the inclusion of zinc oxide and titanium dioxide with bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine, the presence of xanthan gum, ethylhexylglycerin, capric/caprylic glycerides, a triethoxycaprylylsilane coating of zinc oxide, silica and dimethicone coating of titanium dioxide and the SPF being at least 20.
Schlossman et al. teach that to meet the performance requirement of SPF, zinc oxide is often used along with other sunscreens such as titanium dioxide, see paragraph [0005]. From Table 1 the additional UV filters can be present at 10.15% by weight 3% by weight (silica or titanium dioxide), and ZnO present at 7.15% by weight.
Deshayes et al. teach o/w sunscreen formulations which comprise preservatives including ethylhexylglycerin, see paragraphs [0050]-[0053]. The formulation further comprises caprylic/capric triglycerides as a suitable cosmetic oils for the oily phase, see paragraph [0038]. The emulsion preferably contains xanthan gum with the ethylhexylglycerin, caprylic/capric triglycerides and cetearyl alcohol, see Table 7. Deshayes et al. teach cosmetic sunscreen formulations having inorganic Uv filters, see paragraph [0018]. The inorganic filters are surface treated to render the particles more hydrophobic and thus more dispersible in their vehicle, see paragraphs [0016]-[0026]. The preferred coatings are double coated titanium dioxide having silica coating and an outer dimethicone, see paragraph [0028].
Suma et al. teach the surface modification of zinc oxide with silanes, see abstract. The surface modification of zinc oxide renders the particles easily dispersible and provides transparency and uv shielding properties to the cosmetic product, see pages 2 and 5. Examples of silanes include triethoxycaprylylsilane, see page 11. Silanes such as triethoxycaprylylsilane are preferable due to the compatibility with oil phases with a wide range of polarity, see page 11. Silanes such as triethoxycaprylylsilane are preferable due to the compatibility with oil phases with a wide range of polarity, see page 11.
Neither Schlossman et al nor Suma et al. teach double coatings of titanium dioxide having silica and an outer coating of dimethicone.
Deshayes ‘669 et al. teach cosmetic sunscreen formulations having inorganic Uv filters, see paragraph [0018]. The inorganic filters are surface treated to render the particles more hydrophobic and thus more dispersible in their vehicle, see paragraphs [0016]-[0026]. The preferred coatings are double coated titanium dioxide having silica coating and an outer dimethicone, see paragraph [0028].
It would have been obvious to combine the UV filter substance includes bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine of Patent ‘649 with zinc oxide and titanium dioxide present in about 10.15% by weight (Table 1 of Schlossman) to impart the desired SPF properties of above 30 to a sunscreen formulation. It would have additionally been obvious to coat the zinc oxide an titanium dioxide with triethoxycaprylylsilane and the titanium dioxide with silica and dimethicone to improve the dispersion of the UV filters.
It would have been obvious to include ethylhexylglycerin, caprylic/capric triglycerides and xanthan gum with the sunscreen emulsion of Patent ‘649. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Deshayes exemplifies such excipients for an O/W emulsion to impart preservative, thickening and suitable oils for the oily phase of a sunscreen emulsion.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Schlossman and Deshayes like Patent ‘649 are to sunscreen emulsions containing UV filter components.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in to coat zinc oxide filters with triethoxycaprylylsilane and titanium dioxide UV with an inner coating of silica and outer coating of dimethicone.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Suma recognize that surface coatings with triethoxycaprylylsilane enable the zinc oxide particles to have improved dispersion and Deshayes also recognizes that coating titanium dioxide with silica and dimethicone is advantageous as it makes the UV filter more dispersible in its vehicle.
The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office may not institute a derivation proceeding in the absence of a timely filed petition. The USPTO normally will not institute a derivation proceeding between applications or a patent and an application having common ownership (see 37 CFR 42.411). Commonly assigned Patent No 10709649 discussed above, may form the basis for a rejection of the noted claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 if the commonly assigned case qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and the patentably indistinct inventions were not commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention.
In order for the examiner to resolve this issue the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(i) to the effect that the subject matter and the claimed invention, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person. Alternatively, the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(c) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(ii) to the effect that the subject matter was developed and the claimed invention was made by or on behalf of one or more parties to a joint research agreement that was in effect on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and the claimed invention was made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of the joint research agreement; the application must also be amended to disclose the names of the parties to the joint research agreement.
A showing that the inventions were commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention will preclude a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 based upon the commonly assigned case. Alternatively, applicant may take action to amend or cancel claims such that the applications, or the patent and the application, no longer contain claims directed to patentably indistinct inventions.
Claims 1-4 and 6-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6-13 of copending Application No. 18263641 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: both the instant claims and that of Application ‘641 recite compositions which comprise bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine BEMT together with a UV filter that is inclusive of zinc oxide or titanium dioxide. The BMET of Application ‘641 is present in overlapping ranges to the instantly claimed range. Application ‘641 recites the inorganic filters can be present from 0.5-25% by weight which overlaps the instantly claimed ranges. Both Applications surface coat the inorganic UV filter compound including having zinc oxide coated with triethoxycaprylylsilane. Both Applications further contain a potassium cetyl phosphate emulsifier for an O/W emulsion, caprylic/capric triglycerides, ethylhexylglycerin, xanthan gum and glyceryl stearate. Both the instant claims and that of Application ‘641 have an SPF that is at least 20. In both Applications the titanium dioxide can be coated with silica and dimethicone.
It would have been obvious to combine both zinc oxide and titanium dioxide of Application ‘641 to impart the desired SPF properties of 30 or more to the sunscreen formulation with a reasonable expectation of success given Application ‘641 prefers an SPF of at least 20 (claim 13) and combines the same coated zinc oxide and titanium dioxide UV filters.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Currently, no claims are allowed and claims 1-4 and 6-12 are rejected.
Correspondence
/SARAH ALAWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619