DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, “a corresponding second mating feature on the second endplate” is indefinite, as it is unclear how each of the first and second endplates can comprise a second mating feature configured to mate with a corresponding second mating feature on the second endplate. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed “a corresponding second mating feature on the second ramp” is intended.
Regarding claim 3, “an angle of the incline” is indefinite for having unclear antecedent basis, as both the second ramp wedge (in claim 1) and the expandable fusion device (claim 3) are recited as having an incline. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed the expandable fusion device incline is referred to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0277488 (Davenport) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0158664 (Palmatier).
Regarding claim 1, Davenport discloses an expandable fusion device (100) comprising: a first endplate (110); a second endplate (112); a first ramp comprising a wedge (168/168A) having an incline extending along a longitudinal axis of the expandable fusion device (see Figs. 4 and 8-10), the first ramp positioned between and configured to mate with the upper and lower endplates (see paragraph [0067] and Figs. 4 and 8-10); and a second ramp comprising a wedge (170/170A) having an incline extending along a lateral axis of the expandable fusion device (see paragraph [0109]; one lateral side of wedge 170/170A can be shorter than the other lateral side of wedge 170/170A, thus creating an incline extending along a lateral axis of the expandable fusion device), the second ramp positioned between and configured to mate with the upper and lower endplates (see paragraph [0067] and Figs. 4 and 8-10) and coupled to the first ramp by an actuating mechanism (154) (see Figs. 4 and 8-10), wherein each of the first endplate and second endplate comprise a first mating feature (ramps 166/166A) configured to mate with a corresponding first mating feature of the first ramp (ramps 166/166A mate with ramps 168/168A, see paragraph [0067] and Figs. 4 and 8-10), the first mating feature having a first angle relative to a vertical axis (see Figs. 8-10; angle of incline of ramps 166/166A relative to a vertical axis), and each of the first endplate and the second endplate comprise a second mating feature (164/164A) configured to mate with a corresponding second mating feature on the second ramp (ramps 164/164A mate with ramps 170/170A, see paragraph [0067] and Figs. 4 and 8-10), the second mating feature of the second ramp having a second angle relative to the vertical axis (see Figs. 8-10; angle of incline of ramps 164/164A relative to a vertical axis).
Further regarding claim 1, Davenport suggests wherein the ramps on the endplates and wedges can have different angles (see paragraph [0109]). Additionally, Palmatier suggests an expandable intervertebral implant in which wedges (116/122) have mating features (402/404) that form angles (beta1 and beta2), wherein one angle is greater than the other angle (see paragraphs [0037], [0070], [0074], and [0075]; the angles are shown in Figs. 12 and 13 relative to a horizontal axis, but one of ordinary skill in the art would understand they differ relative to a vertical axis as well). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the mating features of the endplates and ramps of Davenport such that a first angle formed by the first mating features is greater than the second angle formed by the second mating features in order to regulate the amount and rate of expansion to restore the proper lordosis in the vertebrae as needed (see Palmatier, paragraphs [0037], [0070], [0074], and [0075]).
Regarding claim 2, Davenport discloses wherein the expandable fusion device is movable between a collapsed configuration and an expanded configuration (see paragraphs [0063] and [0064] and Figs. 2, 3, 9 and 10, e.g.).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Davenport and Palmatier are silent regarding wherein the first angle is about 50-70°, wherein the first angle is about 60°, wherein the second angle is about 5-25°. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the first angle between 50 and 70 degrees and the second angle between 5 and 25 degrees, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the angles are result effective variables for determining the amount of vertebral height restoration and lordosis, and it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davenport in view of Palmatier, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0158663 (Miller).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Davenport is silent regarding wherein, as the expandable device moves from the collapsed configuration to the expanded configuration, both the upper endplate and the lower endplate are configured to pivotally expand about a pivot point located outside the expandable fusion device, and wherein the pivot point is located a distance of 17 millimeters from a closest location of the expandable fusion device. However, , Miller discloses an expandable intervertebral device (10) wherein an endplate (16) is configured to pivotally expand about a pivot point located outside the expandable fusion device (see marked-up Fig. 11 below). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the endplates of Davenport to pivotally expand about a pivot point outside the expandable fusion device in order to provide height restoration between adjacent vertebrae, decompression, restoration of sagittal balance and resistance of subsidence into the endplates of the vertebrae (see Miller, paragraph [0060], e.g.). Additionally, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the pivot point located at a distance of 17 mm from a closest location of the expandable fusion device, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the pivot point location is result effective variable that controls the pivot angle of the endplates, and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davenport in view of Palmatier, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0193158 (Lim).
Regarding claim 10, Davenport is silent regarding wherein the first ramp and the second ramp are configured to provide symmetrical expansion of the first endplate and the second endplate. However, Lim discloses an expandable intervertebral device (10) in which endplates (50 and 52) are symmetrically expanded (see paragraph [0034]). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the first and second ramps provide symmetrical expansion of the endplates in order to provide equal expansion of the endplates and separation of adjacent vertebrae as needed by the patient (see Lim, paragraph [0034]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davenport in view of Palmatier, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0211176 (Greenhalgh).
Regarding claim 11, Davenport is silent regarding wherein the first mating feature of the first ramp comprises one or more tongues that are configured to slide within one or more inwardly facing grooves formed by the first mating feature of the first endplate. However, Greenhalgh discloses an expandable intervertebral device (2) wherein a ramp (96/180 in the Figs.; 22 in the specification) comprises one or more tongues (100) that are configured to slide within one or more inwardly facing grooves (284) formed by a mating feature of an endplate (6) (see paragraph [0045]). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the ramp and endplate first mating features be tongue and grooves as suggested by Greenhalgh in order to allow for secure engagement between the ramp and endplate while still allowing for relative sliding movement (see Greenhalgh, paragraph [0045]).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 9,839,528 (Weiman).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the application claim and the patent claim lies in the fact that the patent claim includes the subject matter of the application claim, plus additional elements. Thus, the invention of the patent claim is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claim. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the application claim is anticipated by the patent claim, it is not patentably distinct from the patent claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS J PLIONIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773