DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,396,819. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The current claims require a base/lid, a latch, a mount body, a lever body, a clasp body and a deflector among other things.
These and other limitations are presented in the ‘819 patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 7,017,955 to Chiang in view of WO 2020198666 to Lynch et al (Lynch) and US Pat No D303,625 to Ryser et al (Ryser).
Regarding claims 1, and 18-20, Chiang discloses a container that comprises a base and a lid (90 and 91). The base and the lid collectively define a volume for receiving any desired object.
The container comprises a latch (fig 1) attached to one of the base and the lid. The latch comprises a mount body (10) that includes a back portion and two side portions, wherein the back portion is coupled to the lid or the base; a lever body (20) including two side portions (21), wherein the two side portions of the lever body are pivotably coupled to the two side portions of the mount body such that the lever body is movable about a pivot axis between a secured position and an unsecured position (figs 3 and 6 respectively, pivoting about pin 11), and wherein the lever body and the mount body cooperate to define an interior and further define an opening of the interior when the lever body is in the secured position (open space); and a deflector (30) positioned at least partially within the interior and movable with the lever body for concurrent movement about the pivot axis.
The lever body (20) defines a link axis (26) extending through the two side portions, and further comprising a clasp body (40, 50) at least partially disposed in the interior, the clasp body having an interface end (52) selectively engageable with the other one of the base and the lid (engaging 92), and a link end (41, 42), wherein the link end is rotatably supported on the link axis.
The clasp body defines an arcuate profile (at 50) between the interface end and the link end.
First, Chiang fails to disclose that the container is a sterilization container for medical instruments. Chiang container is capable of securing any instrument within the base and lid.
Lynch teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a similar latch (48) used on a container (12) that configured to be sterilize for accommodating medical instruments.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the latch described by Chiang into a sterilized container, as taught by Lynch, since a recitation with respect to the manner in which an apparatus is intended to be employed does not impose any structural limitation upon the claimed apparatus, which differentiates it from a prior art reference disclosing the structural limitations of the claim.
Second, Chiang fails to disclose that the deflector comprises a tab coupled to the hub portion and separate from the wing portion, wherein the tab is arranged to engage the mount body when the lever body is in the unsecured position for retaining the lever body in the unsecured position.
Ryser teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a tab connection to secure a lever body in an unsecured position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the latch described by Chiang with a tab connection, as taught by Ryser, in order to secure the lever body in an unsecured position and position the lever body away.
As to claim 2, Chiang discloses that the deflector comprises a hub portion (31) supported on the pivot axis (11); and a wing portion (32) extending from the hub portion to define an outer surface, wherein the outer surface is positioned adjacent to the opening of the interior when the lever body is in the secured position for preventing access to the interior through the opening.
Chiang, as modified by Ryser, will teach the tab is coupled to the hub portion and separate from the wing portion.
As to claim 4, Ryser illustrates that the tab is disengaged from the mount body when the lever body is in a secured position.
As to claim 5, Chiang discloses that the mount body is coupled to the lid and the clasp body is engageable with the base, and wherein the secured position of the lever body is further defined as the lever body being pivoted toward the base and the unsecured position of the lever body is further defined as the lever body being pivoted toward the lid.
As to claim 6, Chiang discloses that the wing portion defines an arc angle (at 34) and that the angle can be greater than 75 degrees (Chiang surface 34, not at scale).
As to claim 15, Chiang discloses that the clasp body comprises a first clasp portion (at 43) and a second clasp portion (at 42) with a pocket defined therebetween, and wherein the hub portion of the deflector is at least partially arranged in the pocket.
As to claim 17, Chiang is configured to have the interior defining an interior width, and the wing portion defining a deflector width, and wherein a ratio of the deflector width to the interior width is at least 0.65.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8-14 will also be allowed since the claims depends from claim 7.
Conclusion
/Carlos Lugo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3675
October 5, 2026