DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,407,888. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 8 and 15 of the instant application broadly capture the elements already patented in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,407,888.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,958,960. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 8 and 15 of the instant application broadly capture the elements already patented in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,958,960.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,631,033. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 8 and 15 of the instant application broadly capture the elements already patented in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,631,033.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,571,875. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 8 and 15 of the instant application broadly capture the elements already patented in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,571,875.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,924,215. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 8 and 15 of the instant application broadly capture the elements already patented in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,924,215.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McDevitt (Pub No US 2012/0183229). Hereinafter, referenced as McDevitt.
Regarding claim 1, McDevitt discloses a method comprising:
receiving, from a primary content source (e.g. content source 110), based on a request from a user device, first primary content (Paragraph [0033] figure 1; content source 110, e.g. streaming live or recorded content), wherein the first primary content comprises one or more objects (Paragraphs [0008] [0011] figure 1; recognizing items in the media content from content source 110. Wherein the process may alternatively be performed at the viewing device 145, paragraph [0025]);
comparing the first primary content with stored primary content (Paragraphs [0011] [0012] figures 1 and 2; reference content database 115);
determining, based on the comparison, the stored primary content comprises the one or more objects (Paragraphs [0011]-[0013] figures 1 and 2; determining that a match exists between the compared recognized item and reference content database 115 in order to merge data about the item with the video stream 225, paragraph [0030]);
and launching, based on the one or more objects, one or more applications (Paragraph [0031] figures 1 and 2; launching electronic shopping interaction 240).
Regarding claim 2, McDevitt discloses the method of claim 1; moreover, McDevitt discloses that one or more of the first primary content or the stored primary content comprises one or more of: streaming content, on-demand content, live television content, audio content, video content, augmented reality content, or virtual reality content (Paragraph [0033] figure 1; content source 110, e.g. streaming live or recorded content).
Regarding claim 3, McDevitt discloses the method of claim 1; moreover, McDevitt discloses that the one or more applications comprise one or more e-commerce applications (Paragraph [0031] figures 1 and 2; launching electronic shopping interaction 240).
Regarding claim 4, McDevitt discloses the method of claim 1; moreover, McDevitt discloses that launching the one or more applications comprises accessing one or more external databases (Paragraphs [0016]; e.g. product website).
Regarding claim 6, McDevitt discloses the method of claim 1; moreover, McDevitt discloses performing, on the first primary content, at least one of: object detection, object recognition, facial recognition, digital signature analysis, digital fingerprint analysis, or processing metadata (Paragraphs [0010] [0011]; item recognition, fingerprint, etc.).
Regarding claim 7, McDevitt discloses the method of claim 1; moreover, McDevitt discloses determining product information associated with the one or more objects (Paragraphs [0016]; e.g. price information, product description, etc.).
Regarding claims 8-11 and 13-14, McDevitt discloses all the limitations of claims 8-11 and 13-14; therefore, claims 8-11 and 13-14 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claims 1-4 and 6-7, respectively.
Regarding claims 15-18 and 20, McDevitt discloses all the limitations of claims 15-18 and 20; therefore, claims 15-18 and 20 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claims 1-4 and 7, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McDevitt in view of Choe et al. (KR 20130053616A). Hereinafter, referenced as Choe.
Regarding claim 5, McDevitt discloses the method of claim 1; moreover, McDevitt discloses determining the one or more objects (Paragraphs [0010] [0011]; item recognition, fingerprint, etc.).
However, it is noted that McDevitt is silent to explicitly disclose determining, based on the one or more objects, one or more local RFID enabled devices.
Nevertheless, in a similar field of endeavor Choe discloses determining, based on the one or more objects (Page 2; detect food-related object included in the played content), one or more local RFID enabled devices (Page 3; the smart TV presenting a cooking show, detecting food-related objects in a recipe, figure 3, and communicating with the refrigerator to check for a food wish list based on the food stock lists stored in the smart refrigerator; page 6. Wherein the short range communication may be RFID; page 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McDevitt by specifically providing the elements mentioned above, as taught by Choe, for the predictable result of providing food information in a smart television so that the information of the home electronic device, e.g. refrigerator, can be efficiently transmitted through the smart TV (Choe – page 3).
Regarding claim 12, McDevitt and Choe disclose all the limitations of claim 12; therefore, claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 5.
Regarding claim 19, McDevitt and Choe disclose all the limitations of claim 19; therefore, claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 5.
Conclusion
JUNIOR O. MENDOZA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2424
/JUNIOR O MENDOZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424