DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to application filed on 12-12-25. Claims 1-11 and 13-24 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted filed before the mailing of a first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(b) (3). Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 13-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over US 2023/0318435 to Yuan et al. (“Yuan”) in view of US 10,608,545 to Keister et al. (“Keister”) and further in view of US 2020/0103453 to Roxenborg et al. (“Roxenborg”).
Regarding claim 1, Yuan discloses a system for synchronizing multiple power sources (fig. 1, Wind, PV) and/or multiple demand loads (fig. 1), comprising: a central transformer (transformer unit); wherein each of the plurality of ports is galvanically isolated; one or more DC sources (Wind, PV) or loads connected (para; 0019, number of switches corresponds to the number of loads) to the central transformer via one or more DC bridges (MVDC/LVDC converter using ISOP according to the prior art based on the dual active bridge (DAB) converter is shown in FIG. 4); one or more AC sources or loads (LVDC) connected to the central transformer via one or more AC bridges (at least one AC/DC converter are configured to be connected to a transformer unit); and at least one master controller (fig. 16, 14) and transmit the synchronization signal to one or more distributed controllers (para; 0011, voltage control configured to control a voltage of the respective DC/DC converter);
But, Yuan does not disclose a plurality of ports and wherein the one or more distributed controllers are operable to determine minimum delay timing for each of the plurality of ports and further Yuan in view of Keister does not disclose the at least one master controller is operable to communicate via interfaces compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), American National Standards Institute (ANSI), and/or any other standard for grid interoperability and integration.
However, Keister discloses a plurality of ports (Co. 3, plurality of ports) and wherein the one or more distributed controllers are operable to determine minimum delay timing for each of the plurality of ports (Col. 3, lines 39-45, Control circuitry is utilized to control the flow of power between the first source/load port and the synchronous common coupling by switching the source/load bridge to synchronize power between the first source/load port and the DC bus and switching the flux bridge(s) to synchronize power between the DC bus and the electrically isolated windings of the synchronous common coupling) and further Roxenborg discloses the at least one master controller is operable to communicate via interfaces compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), American National Standards Institute (ANSI), and/or any other standard for grid interoperability and integration (para; 0053, transformer could thus be a low-power voltage transformer if the impedance is directly connected to the neutral point (IEC grounding) or a higher-powered distribution transformer if the impedance is connected to the low-voltage side of the transformer (ANSI grounding), where IEC grounding is a first type of connection scheme used for the first transformer and ANSI grounding is a second type of connection scheme used for the transformer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuan by adding plurality of ports as part of its configuration as taught by Keister, in order to manage multi-port power management system with a high-frequency pre-charge and power supply assembly connected to a power module with multiple stacks with multiple stages and further it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuan in view of Keister by adding transformer controller method using ANSI and IEC grounding schemes are
in many cases industry standard ways to ground the stator windings.
Regarding claim 2, Yuan discloses the one or more AC bridges (at least one AC/DC converter are configured to be connected to a transformer unit) include at least one or more back-to-back connected transistors (para; 0003, storage elements and energy sources converters based on SiC MOSFETs (Silicon Carbide Metal Oxide-Semiconductor Field-Effect Transistors) are preferably used) and/or one or more monolithic bidirectional switches.
Regarding claim 3, Yuan discloses the one or more DC bridges include at least one H bridge (MVDC/LVDC converter using ISOP according to the prior art based on the dual active bridge (DAB) converter is shown in FIG. 4) with inductive, capacitive (capacitor) or hybrid coupling to the central transformer.
Regarding claim 4, Yuan discloses the at least one master controller (fig. 16, 14) and/or the one or more distributed controllers utilize phase-locked loops (PLLs) to synchronize the plurality of ports (para; Power grid according to item 1, wherein each of the plurality of DC/DC converters comprises a plurality of DC/AC converters, a plurality of AC/DC converters, wherein the at least one DC/AC converter and the at least one AC/DC converter are configured to be connected to a transformer unit, the transformer unit comprising a plurality of transformers coupling the plurality of DC/ AC converters to the plurality of AC/DC converters).
Regarding claim 5, Yuan discloses the plurality of ports are operable to connect to at least one medium-voltage load (fig. 1) and/or medium-voltage source.
Regarding claim 6, Yuan discloses the at least one medium-voltage load and/or medium-voltage source (fig. 1) is operable to comprise medium-voltage alternating current (MV AC) and/or medium-voltage direct current (MVDC).
Regarding claim 7, Yuan discloses the system utilizes look-up tables (LUTs), adaptive predictive methods, AI-driven algorithms, machine learning, or hybrid predictive techniques to provide feedforward control of the plurality of ports (para; 0006, typical MVDC/LVDC converter utilizing the ISOP topology and being based on the series resonant converter (SRC) is shown in FIGS. la to le. Typically, a post-regulation or pre-regulation stage is needed for the series resonant converter topology to control the output voltage needed. FIG. 1 shows a basic configuration having a MVDC input and a plurality of DC/ AC converters connected in series).
Regarding claim 8, Yuan discloses the at least one master controller (fig. 16, 14) or the one or more distributed controllers are operable to connect or disconnect individual ports through the use of AC/DC contactors (fig. 13, AC loads or source-1-to P) and/or vacuum circuit breakers on each of the plurality of ports.
Regarding claim 9, Yuan discloses the system utilizes intelligent adaptive management techniques using predictive analytics, machine learning, and/or artificial intelligence (AI) algorithms to synchronize and optimize energy demand and supply (para; 0006, typical MVDC/LVDC converter utilizing the ISOP topology and being based on the series resonant converter (SRC) is shown in FIGS. la to le. Typically, a post-regulation or pre-regulation stage is needed for the series resonant converter topology to control the output voltage needed. FIG. 1 shows a basic configuration having a MVDC input and a plurality of DC/ AC converters connected in series).
Regarding claim 10, Yuan discloses the system is operable to dynamically add or remove energy sources, storage devices, and/or loads without substantial redesign (paras; 0070-0079).
Regarding claim 11, Yuan discloses the at least one controller includes one or more automated cybersecurity modules and/or one or more fault protection modules for detecting threats, isolating affected modules, and autonomous restoration of operations (para; 0006).
Regarding claim 13, Yuan discloses a method for synchronizing multiple power sources (fig. 1, Wind, PV) and/or multiple demand loads, comprising: providing a power conversion system including: a central transformer (transformer unit), wherein each of the plurality of ports is galvanically isolated; one or more DC sources or loads connected (para; 0019, number of switches corresponds to the number of loads) to the central transformer via one or more DC bridges (fig. 6, 1); one or more AC sources or loads connected (para; 0019, number of switches corresponds to the number of loads) to the central transformer via one or more AC bridges (at least one AC/DC converter are configured to be connected to a transformer unit); at least one master controller (fig. 16, 14); and one or more distributed controllers;
But, Yuan does not disclose a plurality of ports, the at least one master controller generating a synchronization signal and transmitting the synchronization signal to the one or more distributed controllers; the one or more distributed controllers determining minimum delay timing for each of the plurality of ports and further Yuan in view of Keister does not disclose the at least one master controller is operable to communicate via interfaces compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), American National Standards Institute (ANSI), and/or any other standard for grid interoperability and integration.
However, Keister discloses a plurality of ports (Co. 3, plurality of ports), the at least one master controller generating a synchronization signal (Col. 6, lines 22-27, common synchronous signal from an isolated source and contains energy storage within each stage, where energy is regulated by a stage controller within each stage that sends and receives energy, and periodically supplies or receives energy to a large energy network) and transmitting the synchronization signal to the one or more distributed controllers; and the one or more distributed controllers determining minimum delay timing for each of the plurality of ports (Col. 3, lines 39-45, Control circuitry is utilized to control the flow of power between the first source/load port and the synchronous common coupling by switching the source/load bridge to synchronize power between the first source/load port and the DC bus and switching the flux bridge(s) to synchronize power between the DC bus and the electrically isolated windings of the synchronous common coupling) and further Roxenborg discloses the at least one master controller is operable to communicate via interfaces compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), American National Standards Institute (ANSI), and/or any other standard for grid interoperability and integration (para; 0053, transformer could thus be a low-power voltage transformer if the impedance is directly connected to the neutral point (IEC grounding) or a higher-powered distribution transformer if the impedance is connected to the low-voltage side of the transformer (ANSI grounding), where IEC grounding is a first type of connection scheme used for the first transformer and ANSI grounding is a second type of connection scheme used for the transformer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuan by adding plurality of ports as part of its configuration as taught by Keister, in order to manage multi-port power management system with a high-frequency pre-charge and power supply assembly connected to a power module with multiple stacks with multiple stages and further it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuan in view of Keister by adding transformer controller method using ANSI and IEC grounding schemes are
in many cases industry standard ways to ground the stator windings.
Regarding claim 14, Yuan discloses the one or more AC bridges (at least one AC/DC converter are configured to be connected to a transformer unit) include at least one or more back-to-back connected transistors (para; 0003, storage elements and energy sources converters based on SiC MOSFETs (Silicon Carbide MetalOxide- Semiconductor Field-Effect Transistors) and/or and or one or more monolithic bidirectional switches.
Regarding claim 15, Yuan discloses the one or more DC bridges include at least one H bridge (MVDC/LVDC converter using ISOP according to the prior art based on the dual active bridge (DAB) converter is shown in FIG. 4) with inductive, capacitive (capacitor) or hybrid coupling to the central transformer.
Regarding claim 16, Yuan discloses the at least one master controller (fig. 16, 14) and/or the one or more distributed controllers utilizing phase-locked loops (PLLs) to synchronize the plurality of ports (para; Power grid according to item 1, wherein each of the plurality of DC/DC converters comprises a plurality of DC/AC converters, a plurality of AC/DC converters, wherein the at least one DC/AC converter and the at least one AC/DC converter are configured to be connected to a transformer unit, the transformer unit comprising a plurality of transformers coupling the plurality of DC/ AC converters to the plurality of AC/DC converters).
Regarding claim 17, Yuan discloses the plurality of ports connecting to at least one medium-voltage load and/or medium-voltage source (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Yuan discloses utilizing look-up tables (LUTs), adaptive predictive methods, artificial intelligence (AI) algorithms, machine learning, or hybrid predictive techniques to provide feed-forward control of the plurality of ports (para; 0006, typical MVDC/LVDC converter utilizing the ISOP topology and being based on the series resonant converter (SRC) is shown in FIGS. la to le. Typically, a post-regulation or pre-regulation stage is needed for the series resonant converter topology to control the output voltage needed. FIG. 1 shows a basic configuration having a MVDC input and a plurality of DC/ AC converters connected in series).
Regarding claim 19, Yuan discloses the at least one master controller (fig. 16, 14)
But, Yuan does not discloses automatically dropping connections to one or more of the plurality of ports when the one or more of the plurality of ports is detected to have failed.
However, Keister discloses automatically dropping connections to one or more of the plurality of ports when the one or more of the plurality of ports is detected to have failed (Col. 10, lines 29-32 means of disconnecting the failed stage 430 from other parallel healthy stages 430 may be provided, such as a fuse, contact, semiconductor, and/or the like).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuan by adding plurality of ports as part of its configuration as taught by Keister, in order to manage multi-port power management system with a high-frequency pre-charge and power supply assembly connected to a power module with multiple stacks with multiple stages.
Regarding claim 20, Yuan discloses the at least one master controller (fig. 16, 14) or the one or more distributed controllers connecting or disconnecting individual ports through the use of AC/DC contactors (fig. 13, AC loads or source-1-to P) and/or vacuum circuit breakers on each of the plurality of ports.
Regarding claim 21, Yuan discloses a system for synchronizing multiple power sources (fig. 1, Wind, PV) and/or multiple demand loads, comprising: a central transformer (transformer unit); wherein each of the plurality of ports is galvanically isolated; at least one controller (fig. 16, 14); one or more DC sources (fig. 1, Wind, PV) or loads connected (para; 0019, number of switches corresponds to the number of loads) to the central transformer via one or more DC bridges; and one or more AC sources or loads connected (para; 0019, number of switches corresponds to the number of loads) to the central transformer via one or more AC bridges (at least one AC/DC converter are configured to be connected to a transformer unit); wherein the one or more AC bridges (at least one AC/DC converter are configured to be connected to a transformer unit) include at least one or more back-to-back connected transistors (para; 0003, storage elements and energy sources converters based on SiC MOSFETs (Silicon Carbide MetalOxide-Semiconductor Field-Effect Transistors) and/or one or more monolithic bidirectional switches; wherein the one or more DC bridges include at least one H bridge (MVDC/LVDC converter using ISOP according to the prior art based on the dual active bridge (DAB) converter is shown in FIG. 4); and wherein the at least one controller is operable to communicate via interfaces compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), American National Standards Institute (ANSI), and/or any other standard for grid interoperability and integration.
But, Yuan does not disclose to a plurality of ports, and further Yuan in view of Keister does not disclose the at least one master controller is operable to communicate via interfaces compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), American National Standards Institute (ANSI), and/or any other standard for grid interoperability and integration.
However, Keister discloses a plurality of ports (Co. 3, plurality of ports), further Roxenborg discloses the at least one master controller is operable to communicate via interfaces compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), American National Standards Institute (ANSI), and/or any other standard for grid interoperability and integration (para; 0053, transformer could thus be a low-power voltage transformer if the impedance is directly connected to the neutral point (IEC grounding) or a higher-powered distribution transformer if the impedance is connected to the low-voltage side of the transformer (ANSI grounding), where IEC grounding is a first type of connection scheme used for the first transformer and ANSI grounding is a second type of connection scheme used for the transformer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuan by adding plurality of ports as part of its configuration as taught by Keister, in order to manage multi-port power management system with a high-frequency pre-charge and power supply assembly connected to a power module with multiple stacks with multiple stages and further it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuan in view of Keister by adding transformer controller method using ANSI and IEC grounding schemes are
in many cases industry standard ways to ground the stator windings.
Regarding claim 22, Yuan discloses at least one controller utilizes phase-locked loops (PLLs) to synchronize the phase of the plurality of ports (para; Power grid according to item 1, wherein each of the plurality of DC/DC converters comprises a plurality of DC/AC converters, a plurality of AC/DC converters, wherein the at least one DC/AC converter and the at least one AC/DC converter are configured to be connected to a transformer unit, the transformer unit comprising a plurality of transformers coupling the plurality of DC/ AC converters to the plurality of AC/DC converters).
Regarding claim 23, Yuan discloses the plurality of ports are operable to connect to at least one medium-voltage load and/or medium-voltage source (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 24, Yuan discloses at least one controller is operable to connect or disconnect individual ports through the use of AC/DC contactors (fig. 13, AC loads or source-1-to P) and/or vacuum circuit breakers on each of the plurality of ports power grid further comprises a DC current limiting and/or breaking unit (para; 0021, power grid further comprises a DC current limiting and/or breaking unit).
Response to argument
Applicant’s argument filed on 12-12-25 with respect to claims 1-11, 13-24 has been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Marzano et al. US 2022/0393505 Al- A system for uninterrupted power using an array of capacitive elements (e.g., ultra-capacitors). The system may include an input, which may receive power from a first power source. A direct current (DC) bus may be connected to the input and may receive power from the input. An array of capacitive elements (e.g., ultra-capacitors) may be connected to the DC bus. An output may be connected the DC bus. The output may include an alternating current (AC) power supply, which may supply power to at least one facility. At least one controller may control charging and discharging of the array of capacitive elements (e.g., ultracapacitors) connected to the DC bus to supply power from the DC bus to the output.
/ESAYAS G YESHAW/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2849