DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 1, 2, 1, 5, 5, 6, 5, 7, and 8, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12475815.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the claimed limitations of the present application are recited in copending U.S. Patent No. 12475815.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120263895 to Jeter, Jr. et al. (Jeter) in view of US 3380176 to Kling et al. (Kling).
Regarding claim 1, Jeter teaches an interchangeable accessory comprising: a marker plate (disc-like decorative element 50) comprising a metal and having a first side and a second side with at least one message (emblem 18) on at least one of the first side or the second side (¶0023 and 0031); a marker housing (20) that is attachable to a container, the marker housing (20) comprising a base (planar surface 56) and a marker receiving station (cavity 54; ¶0024); and a housing magnet (magnet 80) in the base (56) of the marker housing (20); and the marker plate (50) being removably insertable into the marker receiving station (54) of the marker housing (20) and held therein by the housing magnet (80) within the perimeter walls (cavity wall 58).
Jeter does not teach the marker plate comprises a protrusion on the first side and a formation of the protrusion on the opposite side of the marker plate forming an indentation.
Kling teaches an educational and game device (10) comprising base structure board 10 with a plurality of framed recesses 16, 17, 18 and 19 having a plurality of protuberances/pins (34) and a stack 25 of three loose panels 27-29 or 126, wherein each panel is adapted to be removable/magnetically secured within a recess. Each panel 126 may be in the form of a relatively thin sheet of molded plastic with a cavity (indentations) 135 on the rear side and a complementary projection (not labeled) on the front side (column 6, line 8-22).
Kling inherently teaches the projections (not labeled) identifies the front of the card and the cavity (indentations) 135 identifies the rear of the card since the cavity on the rear side must align with the protrusion (pins 24) within the recesses 16-19.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the marker plate (disc-like decorative element 50) taught by Jeter with protrusions on the front side and indentations on the rear side as taught by Kling with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means to secure the panel with in the recess for receptive inter-fitting and permit readily aligned stacking of similarly coded cards (panels) of different groups and to provide a means to distinguish the front of display panel/card (disc-like decorative element 50) from the back.
Regarding claim 4, Jeter does not teach the housing magnet having a magnetic field strength of between about 120 milli Tesla (mT) to about 140 mT.
Since the applicant does not disclose that the housing magnet having a magnetic field strength of between about 120 milli Tesla (mT) to about 140 mT solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, it appears that constructing the magnetic field strength of any suitable strength would perform equally well to retain the marker plate within the marker housing. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct magnet of the interchangeable accessory (marker device) taught by Jeter of a suitable strength with a reasonable expectation of success to provide means to retain the marker plate (disc-like decorative element) within the marker housing, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involve only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223.
Regarding claim 5, Jeter teaches the marker housing (20) comprises perimeter walls (58) extending upward from the base (56) to form the marker receiving station (58), the perimeter walls (58) have a height that is about equal to or greater than a thickness of the marker plate (50; ¶0035 and figure 9D).
Regarding claim 6, Jeter teaches the base (56) of the marker housing (20) comprises a first side (top side) and a second side (bottom side) with the perimeter walls (58) extending from the first side of the base (56).
Claims 7-9, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeter, Jr. et al. (Jeter) of US 3380176 to Kling et al. (Kling). and Wu, U.S. Patent 10009589.
Regarding claim 7, Jeter teaches an interchangeable accessory comprising: a marker plate (disc-like decorative element 50) comprising a metal and having a first side and a second side with at least one message (emblem 18) on at least one of the first side or the second side (¶0023 and 0031); a marker housing (20) that is attachable to a container, the marker housing (20) comprising a base (planar surface 56) and a marker receiving station (cavity 54; ¶0024); and a housing magnet (magnet 80) in the base (56) of the marker housing (20); and the marker plate (50) being removably insertable into the marker receiving station (54) of the marker housing (20) and held therein by the housing magnet (80) within the perimeter walls (cavity wall 58).
Jeter does not teach a removal tool comprising a handle portion and a puller magnet, the puller magnet having a magnetic field strength that is greater than the magnetic field strength of the housing magnet. Jeter does not teaches the marker plate comprises a protrusion on the first side and a formation of the protrusion on one side of the marker plate forming an indentation.
Kling teaches an educational and game device (10) comprising base structure board 10 with a plurality of framed recesses 16, 17, 18 and 19 having a plurality of protuberances/pins (34) and a stack 25 of loose panels 27-29 or 126, wherein each panel is adapted to be removable/magnetically secured within a recess. Each panel 126 maybe in the form of a relatively thin sheet of molded plastic with a cavity (indentations) 135 on the rear side and a complementary projection (not labeled) on the front side (column 6, line 8-22). Kling inherently teaches the projections (not labeled) identifies the front of the card and the cavity (indentations) 135 identifies the rear of the card since the cavity on the rear side must align with the protrusion (pins 24) within the recesses 16-19.
Wu teaches a small spacing pre-maintenance LED display screen comprising a box 10, a plurality of LED modules 20 and display screen connecting units 30. Wherein, the box 10 is provided with a front face 11, a back face 12 and a side face 13 connected between the front face 11 and the back face 12 in a surrounding manner. The box 10 is provided with plurality of box magnetic elements 51. Each LED module 20 is provided with module magnetic elements 52 on the back. The plurality of LED modules 20 are magnetized on the front face 11 of the box by the box magnetic elements 51 and module magnetic elements 52 corresponding to each other. Each LED modules 20 is provided with detachment magnetic elements 53 corresponding to magnetic detachment assistors 54 producing magnetic suction to the elements 53. Worker uses the magnetic detachment assistors 54 by hand to get close to the corresponding LED modules 20, then, the LED modules 20 and the assistors 54 are connected together by the magnetic suction acted on the detachment magnetic elements by the assistors 54. At the same time, the worker applies an outward pull force on the magnetic detachment assistors 54, and this force can overcome the magnetic suction acted on the module magnetic unit 52 by the box magnetic unit 51, furthermore, the connecting between the magnetic units 51 and 52 is broken, so the LED modules 20 can be removed from the box 10, and convenient for the subsequent replacement, check and maintenance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the marker plate (disc-like decorative element 50) taught by Jeter with protrusions on the front side and indentations on the rear side as taught by Kling with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means to secure the panel with in the recess for receptive inter-fitting and permit readily aligned stacking of similarly coded cards (panels) of different groups and/or to indicate the front and rear surfaces of the plate and to provide a means to distinguish the front of display panel/card (disc-like decorative element 50) from the back.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing remove the disc-like decorative element 50 from the housing 20 of the interchangeable accessory taught by Jeter with the magnetic detachment assistors taught by Wu to provide a means to detach or remove the nameplate from the base.
Regarding claim 8, Jeter does not teach housing magnet having a magnetic field strength of between about 120 milli Tesla (mT) to about 140 mT.
Since the applicant does not disclose that housing magnet having a magnetic field strength of between about 120 milli Tesla (mT) to about 140 mT solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, it appears that constructing the magnetic field strength of any suitable strength would perform equally well to retain the marker plate within the marker housing. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the magnet of the interchangeable accessory (marker device) taught by Jeter of a suitable strength with a reasonable expectation of success to provide means to retain the marker plate (disc-like decorative element) within the marker housing, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involve only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223.
Regarding claim 9, Jeter teaches the marker housing (20) comprises perimeter walls (58) extending upward from the base (56) to form the marker receiving station (58), the perimeter walls (58) have a height that is about equal to or greater than a thickness of the marker plate (50; ¶0035 and figure 9D).
Regarding claim 11, Jeter teaches the housing magnet (80) is secured to the base (56) of the marker housing (20) and the first side (top side) of the marker housing comprises an indentation (see annotated figure below) that is shaped to receive a housing magnet (80) therein for holding the marker plate (50) within the marker receiving station (cavity 54) of the marker housing (20) with the indentation in the first side of the marker housing comprising a depth that corresponds to a thickness of the housing magnet.
Regarding claim 12, Jeter teaches the housing magnet (80) resides within the base on the marker housing (20) with an axis of the housing magnet (80) extending about perpendicular to the base (56) and the housing magnet (80) is axially magnetized along the axis.
Claims 13, 15, 16, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9990867 to Shiao in view of US 3380176 to Kling et al. (Kling) and Wu, U.S. Patent 10009589.
Regarding claim 13, Shiao teaches nameplate assembly (marker device) for a bag comprising; one or more container walls forming a cavity of the container (bag 91, figures 3-5) into which items can be placed; and a marker device for displaying personalized information on the container, the marker device comprising: a metal marker plate comprising a first side and a second side with at least one message on at least one of the first side or the second side (nameplate 20, column 2, lines 49-53); a marker housing (base 10) that is attachable to a container (bag 91), the marker housing (10) comprising a base (bottom surface of recess 14) and a marker receiving station (recess 14); and a housing magnet (magnetic connecting units 30; column 2, lines 49-53) positioned relative to the base (bottom surface of recess 14) of the marker housing (10) to hold the marker plate (20) in the marker receiving station (recess 14).
Shiao does not teach a removal tool comprising a handle portion and a puller magnet, the puller magnet having a magnetic field strength that is greater than the magnetic field strength of the housing magnet. Shiao does not teaches the marker plate comprises a protrusion on the first side and a formation of the protrusion on one side of the marker plate forming an indentation.
Kling teaches an educational and game device (10) comprising base structure board 10 with a plurality of framed recesses 16, 17, 18 and 19 having a plurality of protuberances/pins (34) and a stack 25 of loose panels 27-29 or 126, wherein each panel is adapted to be removable/magnetically secured within a recess. Each panel 126 may be in the form of a relatively thin sheet of molded plastic with a cavity (indentations) 135 on the rear side and a complementary projection (not labeled) on the front side (column 6, line 8-22). Kling inherently teaches the projections (not labeled) identifies the front of the card and the cavity (indentations) 135 identifies the rear of the card since the cavity on the rear side must align with the protrusion (pins 24) within the recesses 16-19.
Wu teaches a small spacing pre-maintenance LED display screen comprising a box 10, a plurality of LED modules 20 and display screen connecting units 30. Wherein, the box 10 is provided with a front face 11, a back face 12 and a side face 13 connected between the front face 11 and the back face 12 in a surrounding manner. The box 10 is provided with plurality of box magnetic elements 51. Each LED module 20 is provided with module magnetic elements 52 on the back. The plurality of LED modules 20 are magnetized on the front face 11 of the box by the box magnetic elements 51 and module magnetic elements 52 corresponding to each other. Each LED modules 20 is provided with detachment magnetic elements 53 corresponding to magnetic detachment assistors 54 producing magnetic suction to the elements 53. Worker uses the magnetic detachment assistors 54 by hand to get close to the corresponding LED modules 20, then, the LED modules 20 and the assistors 54 are connected together by the magnetic suction acted on the detachment magnetic elements by the assistors 54. At the same time, the worker applies an outward pull force on the magnetic detachment assistors 54, and this force can overcome the magnetic suction acted on the module magnetic unit 52 by the box magnetic unit 51, furthermore, the connecting between the magnetic units 51 and 52 is broken, so the LED modules 20 can be removed from the box 10, and convenient for the subsequent replacement, check and maintenance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct embossed emblem on the marker plate (nameplate) taught by Shiao with protrusions on the front side and indentations on the rear side as taught by Kling with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means to secure the panel with in the recess for receptive inter-fitting and permit readily aligned stacking of similarly coded cards (panels) of different groups and/or to indicate the front and rear surfaces of the plate and to provide a means to distinguish the front of display panel/card (disc-like decorative element 50) from the back.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing remove the nameplate 20 from the base 10 of the assembly taught by Shiao with the magnetic detachment assistors taught by Wu to provide a means to detach or remove the nameplate from the base.
Regarding claim 15, Shiao does not teach the housing magnet having a magnetic field strength of between about 120 milli Tesla (mT) to about 140 mT.
Since the applicant does not disclose that housing magnet having a magnetic field strength of between about 120 milli Tesla (mT) to about 140 mT solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, it appears that constructing the magnetic field strength of any suitable strength would perform equally well to retain the marker plate within the marker housing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct magnet of the nameplate assembly (marker device) taught by Shiao of a suitable strength with a reasonable expectation of success to provide means to retain the marker plate (nameplate 20) within the marker housing, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involve only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223.
Regarding claim 16, Shiao teaches the marker plate (nameplate 20) has a thickness and the marker housing (base 10) comprises perimeter walls (see outer surface 11) extending upward from the base (bottom surface of recess 14) to form the marker receiving station (recess 14), the perimeter walls (11) of the marker housing (10) have a height that is about equal to or greater than the thickness of the marker plate (20, figure 3).
Regarding claim 18, Shiao teaches the housing magnet (30) is secured to the base (bottom surface of recess 14) of the marker housing (10) and the first side of the marker housing comprises an indentation (recess 15) that is shaped to receive the housing magnet therein (figure 3) for holding the marker plate (20) within the marker receiving station (recess 14) of the marker housing (10) with the indentation in the first side of the marker housing comprising a depth that corresponds to a thickness of the housing magnet.
Regarding claim 19, Shiao teaches the housing magnet (30) resides within the base (bottom surface of recess 14) on the marker housing (10) with an axis of the housing magnet (30) extending about perpendicular to the base and the housing magnet is axially magnetized along the axis.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9990867 to Shiao in view of US 3380176 to Kling et al. (Kling) and Wu, U.S. Patent 10009589 as applied to claim 13 above and in further view of US 20130087424 to Pratt.
Regarding claim 14, Shiao teaches the marker housing (base 10) is secured to at least one layer of the one or more layers (outer surface 92 of the wall of the bag 91). Shiao also teaches the bag can be a “traveling bags, golf bags or other kinds of sport bags”. Shiao teaches does not teach the container being a softwalled travel bag comprising one or more fabric layers.
Pratt teaches a foldable easy-access bag (container) comprises a soft-sided (softwalled) bag (10) and the one or walls (12) of the bag comprise one or more fabric layers (¶0031).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct walls of the bag taught by Shiao of fabric material as taught by Pratt with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a light-weight bag.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 1, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of clams 1, 4-9 and 11-16, 18, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103, the applicant argues “that Jeter, Klinq, Shiao, Wu and/or Pratt, either alone or in combination, do not render obvious independent claims 1, 7 and 13 or the claims that depend therefrom, respectively”. The applicant contends “Jeter, Klinq, Shiao, Wu and/or Pratt do not disclose, teach, or suggest that the marker plate comprises a protrusion on the first side and an indention on the second side to identify the first side from the second side of the marker plate, so that both the first side and the second side of the marker plate are usable to display a message as recited in claims 1, 7 and 13”. In addition, the applicant argues “neither Jeter nor Klinq teaches or suggests the claimed dual-sided marker plate structure (protrusion and corresponding indentation used to enable dual-sided messaging)”.
The examiner disagrees.
As stated above, Jeter does not teach the marker plate comprises a protrusion on the first side and a formation of the protrusion on the opposite side of the marker plate forming an indentation. Nevertheless, Kling is cited to teach a panel 126 may be in the form of a relatively thin sheet of molded plastic with a cavity (indentations) 135 on the rear side and a complementary projection (not labeled) on the front side (column 6, line 8-22) to permit readily aligned stacking of similarly coded cards of different groups and to provide an alignment means for proper seating of the cards within the recesses. Kling inherently teaches the projections (not labeled) identifies the front of the card and the cavity (indentations) 135 identifies the rear of the card since the cavity on the rear side must align with the protrusion (pins 24) within the recesses 16-19.
Both Jeter and Kling teaches a display panel/card having indicia on at least one side and adapted to magnetically supported within a recess of a support structure. The examiner maintains that providing the display panel/card (disc-like decorative element 50) with a protrusion on the first side and a formation of the protrusion on the opposite side of the marker plate forming an indentation is obvious to provide a means to align the display panel/card (disc-like decorative element 50) within the recess and/or to distinguish the front of display panel/card (disc-like decorative element 50) from the back.
The rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
/CASSANDRA DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631