DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the original filing of August 4, 2025. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending and have been considered as follows.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/12/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by John et al. (US 2021/0337166 A1, hereinafter John).
As to Claim 1, John discloses a network voice call method performed by a computer device and the method comprising:
in response to a call trigger operation triggered by a first communication user in a first instant messaging application, creating a virtual room configured for a network voice call and adding the first communication user to the virtual room ((John; Figs. 2, 4, 9; [abs, 0045-0046, 0115]), where John discloses creating a room for a voice call.);
transmitting a child application card indicating the virtual room to a second instant messaging application used by a second communication user; the second instant messaging application and the first instant messaging application being different types of applications ((John; Figs. 3, 9B, 13; [0045-0046, 0048, 0119]), where John discloses transmitting an card (i.e. invitation link) for users to join the virtual room.);
enabling the second communication user to participate in the network voice call in the virtual room by using a network call engine integrated in the second instant messaging application ((John; Figs. 13, 17-18; [0141-0142]), where John discloses enable the participants to participate in the call from the room.); and
enabling the first communication user to participate in the network voice call in the virtual room by using the network call engine integrated in the first instant messaging application ((John; Figs. 13, 17-18; [0141-0142]), where John discloses enable the participants to participate in the call from the room.).
As to Claim 2, John discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the creating a virtual room configured for a network voice call and adding the first communication user to the virtual room comprises:
in response to a call trigger operation triggered by the first communication user on an interworking group existing in the first instant messaging application, creating a virtual room configured for a network voice call, and adding the first communication user to the virtual room ((John; Figs. 2-4, 9, 13; [abs, 0045-0046, 0115, 0119]), where John discloses creating a room for a voice call, the users can be added to the room.);
the interworking group comprising the first communication user and the second communication user (John; Figs. 1, 4-5; [0106-01089).
As to Claim 3, John discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the interworking group further comprises a third communication user who logs into a third instant messaging application; the third instant messaging application is a same type of application as the first instant messaging application; and the method further comprises:
displaying, when the first communication user is outside the created virtual room, call invitation information transmitted by the third instant messaging application on a group session page of the interworking group ((John; Figs. 9b, 13-14; [0129-0131]), where John discloses providing an invitation to another user to join the group session.); and
in response to a trigger operation performed by the first communication user on the call invitation information displayed on the group session page, enabling the first communication user to participate in the network call in the virtual room designated by the third communication user ((John; Figs. 13, 17-18; [0141-0142]), where John discloses enable the participants to participate in the call from the room.).
As to Claim 4, John discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the method further comprises:
displaying at least one outside-group communication user in response to a sharing operation triggered for the virtual room ((John; Figs. 9b, 13-14; [0129-0131]), where John discloses providing an invitation to another user to join the group session.); and
in response to a selection operation on displayed at least one outside-group communication user, transmitting join-group call invitation information to the outside-group communication user selected by the selection operation ((John; Figs. 3, 9B, 13; [0045-0046, 0048, 0119]), where John discloses transmitting an card (i.e. invitation link) for users to join the virtual room.).
As to Claim 5, John discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
displaying a call interface of the network voice call, the call interface comprising a member region and a control region that are displayed on a same screen ((John; Fig. 22; [0218-0227]), where John discloses determining users based off of affinity, location, geography, etc.); and
adjusting an area of the member region when a quantity of communication users participating in the network call exceeds a quantity of identification images to be accommodated in the member region ((John; Fig. 22; [0202, 0227]), where John discloses considering users based on geography.).
As to Claim 6, John discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein a quantity of lines formed by arranging control controls in the control region with a decreased area is smaller than a quantity of lines formed by arranging control controls accommodated before the area of the control region is decreased ((John; Fig. 22; [0218-0227]), where John discloses determining users based off of affinity, location, geography, etc.).
As to Claim 7, John discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
displaying a screen sharing control for the network voice call ((John; Figs. 13, 17-18; [0141-0142]), where John discloses enable the participants to participate in the call from the room.);
in response to a trigger operation for the screen sharing control, establishing a screen presentation connection to the network voice call engine integrated in the second instant messaging application by using the network call engine integrated in the first instant messaging application ((John; Figs. 13, 17-18; [0141-0142]), where John discloses enable the participants to participate in the call from the room.); and
transmitting, based on the screen presentation connection, a screen picture collected by the first instant messaging application ((John; Figs. 13, 17-18; [0141-0142]), where John discloses enable the participants to participate in the call from the room.).
As to Claim 8, John discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
displaying, when the second communication user is in a permission limited state and when receiving a permission limitation release request transmitted by the second instant messaging application, a floating bubble that indicates the permission limitation release request (John; [0036, 0069, 0089, 0125-0126]);
displaying, in response to a trigger operation for the floating bubble, a request processing page for the permission limitation release request (John; [0036, 0069, 0089, 0125-0126]); and
displaying a permission management option for the permission limitation release request on the request processing page; the permission management option being configured for triggering permission processing on the permission limitation release request (John; [0036, 0069, 0089, 0125-0126]).
As to Claim 9, John discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the virtual room comprises a logical room maintained on a first communication platform, and a multimedia room maintained on a second communication platform; the first communication platform is configured to support remote interaction with the first instant messaging application, and the second communication platform is configured to support remote interaction with the second instant messaging application; and the logical room is configured to support interaction logic of the virtual room, and the multimedia room is configured to support multimedia interaction of the virtual room (John; Figs. 1, 2, 18-19; [0143-0151]).
As to Claim 10, John discloses a computer device, comprising a memory and a processor, the memory storing a computer program therein, and the computer program, when executed by the processor, causing the computer device to implement a network voice call method including:
in response to a call trigger operation triggered by a first communication user in a first instant messaging application, creating a virtual room configured for a network voice call and adding the first communication user to the virtual room ((John; Figs. 2, 4, 9; [abs, 0045-0046, 0115]), where John discloses creating a room for a voice call.);
transmitting a child application card indicating the virtual room to a second instant messaging application used by a second communication user; the second instant messaging application and the first instant messaging application being different types of applications ((John; Figs. 3, 9B, 13; [0045-0046, 0048, 0119]), where John discloses transmitting an card (i.e. invitation link) for users to join the virtual room.);
enabling the second communication user to participate in the network voice call in the virtual room by using a network call engine integrated in the second instant messaging application ((John; Figs. 13, 17-18; [0141-0142]), where John discloses enable the participants to participate in the call from the room.); and
enabling the first communication user to participate in the network voice call in the virtual room by using the network call engine integrated in the first instant messaging application ((John; Figs. 13, 17-18; [0141-0142]), where John discloses enable the participants to participate in the call from the room.).
As to Claim 11, John discloses the computer device according to claim 10, wherein the creating a virtual room configured for a network voice call and adding the first communication user to the virtual room comprises:
in response to a call trigger operation triggered by the first communication user on an interworking group existing in the first instant messaging application, creating a virtual room configured for a network voice call, and adding the first communication user to the virtual room ((John; Figs. 2-4, 9, 13; [abs, 0045-0046, 0115, 0119]), where John discloses creating a room for a voice call, the users can be added to the room.);
the interworking group comprising the first communication user and the second communication user (John; Figs. 1, 4-5; [0106-01089).
As to Claim 12, John discloses the computer device according to claim 11, wherein the interworking group further comprises a third communication user who logs into a third instant messaging application; the third instant messaging application is a same type of application as the first instant messaging application; and the method further comprises:
displaying, when the first communication user is outside the created virtual room, call invitation information transmitted by the third instant messaging application on a group session page of the interworking group ((John; Figs. 9b, 13-14; [0129-0131]), where John discloses providing an invitation to another user to join the group session.); and
in response to a trigger operation performed by the first communication user on the call invitation information displayed on the group session page, enabling the first communication user to participate in the network call in the virtual room designated by the third communication user ((John; Figs. 13, 17-18; [0141-0142]), where John discloses enable the participants to participate in the call from the room.).
As to Claim 13, John discloses the computer device according to claim 11, wherein the method further comprises:
displaying at least one outside-group communication user in response to a sharing operation triggered for the virtual room ((John; Figs. 9b, 13-14; [0129-0131]), where John discloses providing an invitation to another user to join the group session.); and
in response to a selection operation on displayed at least one outside-group communication user, transmitting join-group call invitation information to the outside-group communication user selected by the selection operation ((John; Figs. 3, 9B, 13; [0045-0046, 0048, 0119]), where John discloses transmitting an card (i.e. invitation link) for users to join the virtual room.).
As to Claim 14, John discloses the computer device according to claim 10, wherein the method further comprises:
displaying a call interface of the network voice call, the call interface comprising a member region and a control region that are displayed on a same screen ((John; Fig. 22; [0218-0227]), where John discloses determining users based off of affinity, location, geography, etc.); and
adjusting an area of the member region when a quantity of communication users participating in the network call exceeds a quantity of identification images to be accommodated in the member region ((John; Fig. 22; [0202, 0227]), where John discloses considering users based on geography.).
As to Claim 15, John discloses the computer device according to claim 14, wherein a quantity of lines formed by arranging control controls in the control region with a decreased area is smaller than a quantity of lines formed by arranging control controls accommodated before the area of the control region is decreased ((John; Fig. 22; [0218-0227]), where John discloses determining users based off of affinity, location, geography, etc.).
As to Claim 16, John discloses the computer device according to claim 10, wherein the method further comprises:
displaying a screen sharing control for the network voice call ((John; Figs. 13, 17-18; [0141-0142]), where John discloses enable the participants to participate in the call from the room.).
in response to a trigger operation for the screen sharing control, establishing a screen presentation connection to the network voice call engine integrated in the second instant messaging application by using the network call engine integrated in the first instant messaging application ((John; Figs. 13, 17-18; [0141-0142]), where John discloses enable the participants to participate in the call from the room.); and
transmitting, based on the screen presentation connection, a screen picture collected by the first instant messaging application ((John; Figs. 13, 17-18; [0141-0142]), where John discloses enable the participants to participate in the call from the room.).
As to Claim 17, John discloses the computer device according to claim 10, wherein the method further comprises:
displaying, when the second communication user is in a permission limited state and when receiving a permission limitation release request transmitted by the second instant messaging application, a floating bubble that indicates the permission limitation release request (John; [0036, 0069, 0089, 0125-0126]);
displaying, in response to a trigger operation for the floating bubble, a request processing page for the permission limitation release request (John; [0036, 0069, 0089, 0125-0126]); and
displaying a permission management option for the permission limitation release request on the request processing page; the permission management option being configured for triggering permission processing on the permission limitation release request (John; [0036, 0069, 0089, 0125-0126]).
As to Claim 18, John discloses the computer device according to claim 10, wherein the virtual room comprises a logical room maintained on a first communication platform, and a multimedia room maintained on a second communication platform; the first communication platform is configured to support remote interaction with the first instant messaging application, and the second communication platform is configured to support remote interaction with the second instant messaging application; and the logical room is configured to support interaction logic of the virtual room, and the multimedia room is configured to support multimedia interaction of the virtual room (John; Figs. 1, 2, 18-19; [0143-0151]).
As to Claim 19, John discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having a computer program stored therein, the computer program, when executed by a processor of a computer device, causing the computer device to implement a network voice call method including:
in response to a call trigger operation triggered by a first communication user in a first instant messaging application, creating a virtual room configured for a network voice call and adding the first communication user to the virtual room ((John; Figs. 2, 4, 9; [abs, 0045-0046, 0115]), where John discloses creating a room for a voice call.);
transmitting a child application card indicating the virtual room to a second instant messaging application used by a second communication user; the second instant messaging application and the first instant messaging application being different types of applications ((John; Figs. 3, 9B, 13; [0045-0046, 0048, 0119]), where John discloses transmitting an card (i.e. invitation link) for users to join the virtual room.);
enabling the second communication user to participate in the network voice call in the virtual room by using a network call engine integrated in the second instant messaging application ((John; Figs. 13, 17-18; [0141-0142]), where John discloses enable the participants to participate in the call from the room.); and
enabling the first communication user to participate in the network voice call in the virtual room by using the network call engine integrated in the first instant messaging application ((John; Figs. 13, 17-18; [0141-0142]), where John discloses enable the participants to participate in the call from the room.).
As to Claim 20, John discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 19, wherein the virtual room comprises a logical room maintained on a first communication platform, and a multimedia room maintained on a second communication platform; the first communication platform is configured to support remote interaction with the first instant messaging application, and the second communication platform is configured to support remote interaction with the second instant messaging application; and the logical room is configured to support interaction logic of the virtual room, and the multimedia room is configured to support multimedia interaction of the virtual room (John; Figs. 1, 2, 18-19; [0143-0151]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892
The examiner also requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
/BENJAMIN M THIEU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453
9.15.2026