DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 7, 8 and 16-18 are ejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 2, 7, 8 and 16-18 recite the broad recitation 0.2≤L₁/L≤1, 0.2 mm ≤ H₁ ≤ mm, 0.2 mm ≤ H₂ ≤ 5 mm, 0.3 ≤ (B₁ + B₂) / B₃ ≤ 2.5, 0.05 mm ≤ B₁ ≤ 20 mm and 0.1 mm ≤ B₂ ≤ 20 mm, respectively, and the claims also recite 0.5 ≤L₁/L≤1, 0.45 mm < H₁ ≤ 0.75 mm, 0.8 mm ≤ H₂ ≤ 3 mm, 0.8 ≤ (B₁ + B₂) / B₃ ≤ 1.5, 1.5 mm ≤ B₁ ≤ 10 mm and 2 mm ≤ B₂ ≤ 10 mm, respectively, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9-11, 15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP322333A1(Lee), which is listed in Applicant’s information disclosure statement.
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Lee teaches a battery comprise a battery cell comprising a case 10 comprising a first wall portion 20 (Fig. 1 and 2), the first wall portion being provided with a first groove 20a ([0064], Figs 2 and 6 and claim 11), the first groove comprising a groove side surface and a first groove bottom surface, and the groove side surface surrounding the first groove bottom surface (Figures 2 and 6).
Lee teaches that the first groove bottom surface being provided with a vent hole 24 ([0041] and Fig. 2), which meets a pressure relief hole; and a vent plate 50 disposed within the first groove abutting against the first groove bottom surface and covering the vent hole ([0042], Figs. 2 and 6), and wherein at least a portion of the groove side surface along a circumferential direction of the first groove forms a gap with the vent plate (Fig. 2 and 6).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Lee illustrates the entire grove side surface along the circumferential direction of the first groove forms a gap with the vent plater (Fig. 2 and 6), thus L1/L=1.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Lee discloses that the vent plate 50 can be welded to the bottom of the groove wall through connection portion 51([0052] and Fig. 3), which is entirely located within the vent plate (Figs. 3-6).
Regarding claims 9-11 and 15, Lee illustrates a gap is formed between a side surface of the groove and an end side surface of the vent plate along the direction intersecting with the thickness direction of the wall portion 20, wherein the side surface of the groove is parallel to the end surface of the vent plate, which is parallel to the thickness direction of the wall portion 20 (Figs 2 and 6).
Regarding claim 20, Lee teaches that the battery may be used for electronic devices ([0002]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee.
The teachings of Lee are set forth above.
Regarding claims 6-8, Lee illustrates that the vent plate 50 and the groove bottom wall have an overlapping region (Figs 2-6), wherein the vent plate and the groove bottom wall can be welded together([0052]), which meets a weld mark portion.
Lee does not teach the height of the weld portion relative to the combined height of the two weld regions at the vent plate and the groove bottom, neither the height of each weld region,
however, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the height of the welding portion as well as the height of the respective weld region in order to obtain a stable welding connection.
Regarding claims 16-18, Lee teaches that the vent plate has a rupture portion 52 disposed near the center of the vent plate ([0057] and Fig. 6), thus the weld portion 51 is located between the first side surface and the rupture portion 52.
Lee does not teach the distance between the weld portion and the rupture portion, i.e., B3 relative to the combined distance of the distance between the end side of the vent plate and the side of the groove B1, and the distance between the weld portion and the end side of the vent plate B2, neither the claimed range of B1 and B2, however, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the B1, B2 and B3 in order to obtain a workable product.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AIQUN LI/Ph.D., Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766