Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kazuyuki et al (JP 2010-204709A), hereinafter Kazuyuki. (Applicant’s cited prior art).
Regarding claim 1, Kazuyuki (Figures 9, 11 and 12) teaches an antenna module comprising:
an antenna (102, Figure 11) having a first feed point and a second feed point;
a first power amplifier (Tr2, Figure 12) and a second power amplifier (Tr1, Figure 12);
a first transformer (130, Figure 12) having a first input-side coil and a first output-side coil; and
a first impedance conversion circuit (Zc, Figure 11),
wherein an output end of the first power amplifier (Tr2) is connected to a first end of the first input-side coil (Figure 12, para [0019]),
wherein an output end of the second power amplifier (Tr1) is connected to a second end of the first input-side coil (Figure 12, para [0019]),
wherein a first end of the first output-side coil is connected to the first feed point (Figures 11 and 12, para [0016] and [0020]),
wherein a second end of the first output-side coil is connected to a first end of the first impedance conversion circuit (Figures 11 and 12, para [0014] and [0016]), and
wherein a second end of the first impedance conversion circuit is connected to the second feed point (Figure 11).
Regarding claim 4, as applied to claim 1, Kazuyuki (para [0019]) teaches that a phase of a high-frequency signal outputted from the first power amplifier at the first end of the first input-side coil and a phase of a high-frequency signal outputted from the second power amplifier at the second end of the first input-side coil are opposite to each other.
Regarding claim 18, Kazuyuki (Figure 9, para [0005], [0006] and [0011]) teaches a communication device comprising a signal processing circuit (111) configured to process a high-frequency signal; and the antenna module according to claim 1 connected to the signal processing circuit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazuyuki.
Regarding claim 2, Kazuyuki teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 1, except explicitly mention that in a plan view of a main surface of the antenna, a first direction from a center of the antenna toward the first feed point is different from a second direction from the center toward the second feed point. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the antenna module of Kazuyuki such that in a plan view of a main surface of the antenna, a first direction from a center of the antenna toward the first feed point is different from a second direction from the center toward the second feed point in order to achieve dual polarization.
Regarding claim 3, Kazuyuki teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 1, except explicitly mention that the first impedance conversion circuit is a 1/4 wavelength transmission line. However, it is well known in the art to use a ¼ wavelength transmission line as an impedance conversion circuit to ensure maximum power transfer and minimizing signal reflections.
Regarding claim 5, Kazuyuki teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 1, except explicitly mention that the first power amplifier and the second power amplifier constitute a differential amplifying-type amplifier circuit. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure both the first power amplifier and the second power amplifier constitute a differential amplifying-type amplifier circuit such that the amplifier circuit would amplify the voltage difference between two input signals while actively cancelling unwanted noise and voltage fluctuations shared by both input lines.
Regarding claim 6, Kazuyuki teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 1, except explicitly mention that a phase of a high-frequency signal inputted to the first feed point is different from a phase of a high-frequency signal inputted to the second feed point. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure a phase of a high-frequency signal inputted to the first feed point is different from a phase of a high-frequency signal inputted to the second feed point in order to achieve circular polarization suitable for satellite communications.
Regarding claim 7, Kazuyuki teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 1, except explicitly mention that a phase difference of high-frequency signals respectively inputted to the first feed point and the second feed point is 90°. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure a phase difference of high-frequency signals respectively inputted to the first feed point and the second feed point to be 90° to generate circular polarization suitable for satellite communications.
Regarding claim 8, Kazuyuki teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 2, except explicitly mention that the first direction is orthogonal to the second direction. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the feed points such that the first direction is orthogonal to the second direction to generate circular polarization suitable for satellite communications.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 9, Kazuyuki fails to further teach a first phase shifting circuit connected only to one of: a node between the output end of the second power amplifier and the second end of the first input-side coil, or a node between the output end of the first power amplifier and the second end of the first input-side coil.
Regarding claim 10, Kazuyuki fails to further teach a third power amplifier and a fourth power amplifier; a second transformer having a second input-side coil and a second output-side coil; and a second impedance conversion circuit, wherein the antenna further has a third feed point and a fourth feed point, wherein an output end of the third power amplifier is connected to a first end of the second input-side coil, an output end of the fourth power amplifier is connected to a second end of the second input-side coil, wherein a first end of the second output-side coil is connected to the third feed point, wherein a second end of the second output-side coil is connected to a first end of the second impedance conversion circuit, and wherein a second end of the second impedance conversion circuit is connected to the fourth feed point.
Claims 11-17 would have been found allowable for at least the reason for depending, either directly or indirectly, on claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ashizuka (US 2014/0120852 A1) discloses a wireless communication device comprising a transformer, power amplifiers and impedance conversion circuit.
Park et al (KR 2022-0085597A) discloses an antenna module comprising a transformer, power amplifiers and impedance conversion circuit.
Hitoshi et al (JP 2022019088A) discloses an antenna module comprising a transformer, power amplifiers and impedance conversion circuit.
/HOANG V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845