DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 21, 31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,376,828. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are broader than the claims in 828.
US 12,376,828
1 An apparatus, comprising: a handheld ultrasound probe wirelessly operatively couplable to a smartphone or tablet, the handheld ultrasound probe containing: an ultrasonic transducer array configured to selectively transmit ultrasound signals at any frequency from 1 MHz-12 MHz associated with a plurality of transducer elements and receive ultrasound signals reflected through a target tissue; one or more processing devices configured to, for a point in the target tissue: process a plurality of portions of received signals the point in the target tissue, wherein each of the plurality of portions is associated with grouped into a respective one of a plurality of sub-apertures of the transducer array, wherein the processing comprises: determining a respective coherent sum over each of the plurality of portions of the received signals for each sub-aperture; performing a processing operation over the respective coherent sum to obtain respective resulting data for each sub-aperture; normalizing the respective resulting data for a sub-aperture of the plurality of sub-apertures by an incoherent sum of the received ultrasound signals associated with the sub-aperture; and summing the normalized resulting data for the plurality of sub-apertures for imaging the target tissue.
9. A method of processing ultrasound signals received by an ultrasonic transducer array for imaging a target tissue, the method comprising, for a point in the target tissue: processing a plurality of portions of ultrasound signals associated with the point in the target tissue, wherein each of the plurality of portions is grouped into to a respective one of a plurality of sub-apertures of the transducer array, wherein the received ultrasound signals are each delayed by a respective delay time, and wherein the processing comprises: determining a respective coherent sum over each of the plurality of portions of the ultrasound signals for each sub-aperture; performing a processing operation over the respective coherent sum to obtain respective resulting data for each sub-aperture; and normalizing the respective resulting data for a sub-aperture of the plurality of sub-apertures by an incoherent sum of the received ultrasound signals associated with the sub-aperture; and determining output data for imaging the target tissue at the point by summing the normalized resulting data for the plurality of sub-apertures.
US 19/290,548
21. An ultrasound imaging system comprising: an ultrasonic transducer array comprising
a plurality of transducer elements configured to transmit and receive ultrasound signals reflected from a target tissue; and one or more processing devices configured to: group received ultrasound signals into a plurality of portions, each portion corresponding to a respective one of a plurality of sub-apertures of the ultrasonic transducer array;for each sub-aperture: determine a coherent sum of the portion of the received ultrasound signals;perform a processing operation on the coherent sum to obtain resulting data;normalize the resulting data using an incoherent sum of the ultrasound signals associated with the same sub-aperture;sum the normalized resulting data for the plurality of sub-apertures; and generate output data for imaging the target tissue.
A method for processing ultrasound signals received by an ultrasonic transducer array for imaging a target tissue, the method comprising:receiving ultrasound signals from a plurality of transducer elements;grouping received ultrasound signals into a plurality of portions, each portion corresponding to a respective one of a plurality of sub-apertures of the ultrasonic transducer array;for each sub-aperture:determining a coherent sum of the portion of the received ultrasound signals;performing a processing operation on the coherent sum to obtain resulting data; normalizing the resulting data using an incoherent sum of the ultrasound signals associated with the sub-aperture;summing the normalized resulting data for the plurality of sub-apertures; anddetermining output data for imaging the target tissue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an astract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Statutory Category: Yes - The claims recite a method and apparatus; and therefore, is a method or system.
Step 2A, Prong 1, Judicial Exception: Yes - The claim recites the limitation steps of determine a coherent sum…performing a processing operation over the coherent sum of data and summing the resulting data.
This limitation, as drafted, is a process step that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers the performance of the limitation in the mind using just mathematical calculations as it is regarding a concept coherent sum of data.
That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind and/or being performed with the aid of a pen and paper.
Accordingly, the claim recites a mental process-type abstract idea using mathematical calculations.
Step 2A, Prong 2, Integrated into Practical Application: No - The claim recites the following additional elements: “sending and receiving ultrasound signal”
Sending and Receiving data as claimed is a presolution insignificant activity; which is a data gathering step which is a form of a pre-solution insignificant activity.
The use of a computer/controller/memory to implement the method does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application as itis merely used to perform the judicial exception.
These additional elements (the handheld probe, the ultrasonic transducer) taken individually or in combination, merely amount to insignificant pre/post-solution activities and do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. This claim is therefore directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B, Inventive Concept: No - Similarly to Step 2A Prong 2, the additional claim elements merely recite insignificant extra-solution activities, which do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For these reasons, there is no inventive concept in the claim. In light of the above, the claims are ineligible. The same concept applies to the dependent claims in that they fail to further provide to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-25, 27-33, 35-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Call et al. (US 2013/0253325, hereinafter Call).
With respect to claims 21, 31 Call discloses a method of processing ultrasound signals received by an ultrasonic transducer array for imaging a target tissue, the method comprising, for a point in the target tissue: (see para. 0009 “A method of forming an ultrasound image is provided, the method comprising transmitting an unfocused first circular wave front ultrasound signal into a region of interest from a first transmit aperture and receiving echoes of the first circular wave front ultrasound signal at a first receive aperture to form a first image layer, transmitting an unfocused second circular wave front ultrasound signal into a region of interest from a second transmit aperture and receiving echoes of the second circular wave front ultrasound signal at the first receive aperture to form a second image layer, applying a weighting factor to at least one pixel of the first image layer to obtain a modified first image layer, and combining the modified first image layer with the second image layer to form a combined image”.);
processing a plurality of portions of ultrasound signals associated with the point in the target tissue, wherein each of the plurality of portions corresponds to a respective one of a plurality of sub-apertures of the transducer array, wherein the received ultrasound signals are each delayed by a respective delay time, and wherein the processing comprises (see para. 0091, “In some embodiments of multiple aperture imaging with point-source transmission, receive beamforming comprises forming a pixel of a reconstructed image by summing time-delayed echo returns on receive transducer elements from a scatterer in the object being examined. The time delays of a scatterer's echoes recorded at each receiver are a function of the unique geometry of the probe elements, combined with an assumed value for the speed of sound through the medium being imaged. An important consideration is whether the summation should be coherent (phase sensitive) or incoherent (summing signal magnitudes only and disregarding phase information)”
determining a respective coherent sum over each of the plurality of portions of the ultrasound signals; and performing a processing operation over the respective coherent sum to obtain respective resulting data for each sub-aperture; and determining output data for imaging the target tissue at the point by summing the resulting data for the plurality of sub-apertures. (see para. 0092, “In some embodiments of multiple aperture imaging with point-source transmission, receive beamforming comprises forming a pixel of a reconstructed image by summing time-delayed echo returns on receive transducer elements from a scatterer in the object being examined. The time delays of a scatterer's echoes recorded at each receiver are a function of the unique geometry of the probe elements, combined with an assumed value for the speed of sound through the medium being imaged. An important consideration is whether the summation should be coherent (phase sensitive) or incoherent (summing signal magnitudes only and disregarding phase information).”
With respect to claims 22, 32 Call wherein the processing operation comprises at least in part a square operation or a magnitude square operation (see para .0092, 0134).
With respect to claim 23, Call discloses, wherein the one or more processing devices are formed in an FPGA or an ASIC (see para. 0078).
With respect to claim 24, 33 Call wherein at least a first sub-aperture of the plurality of sub-apertures is overlapped with a second sub-aperture of the plurality of sub-apertures (see para. 0062).
With respect to claims 25, 34 Call discloses wherein the ultrasonic transducer array comprises a 2D grid of CMUt (see para. 0056).
With respect to claims 27, 36 Call discloses wherein the one or more processing devices is configured to perform the processing for each of multiple points in the target tissue to form a two-dimensional ultrasound image. (see para. 0009).
With respect to claims 28, 37 Call discloses wherein the normalization compensates for cross-multiplication redundancy resulting from overlapping sub-apertures (see para. 0119).
With respect to claims 29, 38, Call discloses wherein the one or more processing devices is external to ultrasonic transducer array and communicatively coupled via a wireless connection (see para. 0055).
With respect to claims 30, 39, Call discloses wherein the system is configured for cardiac ultrasound imaging and operates between 1 MHz and 5 MHz. (see para. 0093).
With respect to claim 40, Call discloses, wherein the coherent sum is delayed based on per-element delay times aligned to a point in the target tissue. (see para. 0091-0092, see Fig. 6 multiple points, see para. 0124-0127)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26, 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Call et al. (US 2013/0253325, hereinafter Call).
With respect to claims 26, 34 however it fails to explicitly teach wherein the plurality of sub-apertures form a full aperture and a size of each of the first sub-aperture and the second sub-aperture is in a range of 50% - 80% of a size of the full aperture.
However, Call explicitly discloses that “The location, function, number of elements and physical size of an aperture may be defined dynamically in any manner needed for a particular application.” (see para. 0062).
Therefore, in the absence of any showing of specific criticality, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to have a sub-aperture having a range of 50%-80% of the size of the full aperture since doing so will allow for the user to dynamically adjust the size for a particular application depending of a particular cycle/target/dimensions as needed.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH M SANTOS RODRIGUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797