Status of Claims
Claims 1 and 6 contains language that is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed towards an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John (US 2021/0172758).
Claims 2-3 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John in view of Guan (US 2021/0174669).
Claims 4-6 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John in view of Guan in view of Chandraker (US 2025/0148911).
Claims 7-8 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John in view of Guan in view of Chandraker in view of Hranac (US 2014/0136089).
Priority
The priority date for this application is 12/16/2024.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a traffic information collection unit configured to collect…”, “a traffic congestion section determination unit configured to determine…”, “a traffic congestion section information providing unit configured to provide traffic congestion section information…”, in Claim 1 and “a text generation unit configured to generate…” in Claim 6.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof (See Paragraph [0045] of the Specification of the instant application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. A step-by-step analysis of the independent claims is provided below:
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter? Yes, Claim 1 is directed towards an apparatus (machine) and Claim 9 is directed towards a method (process).
Step 2A Prong One: does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? Yes, the independent claims recite, “collect[ing]…traffic information comprising a real-time travel speed”, “determin[ing] a normal speed range…”, “provid[ing] traffic congestion section information…”. These claim limitations represent an abstract idea as they are functions that can be performed solely within the human mind.
Step 2A Prong Two: does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No, independent claims do not recite additional elements and therefore are not integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B: does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No, as previously stated the independent claims do not recite additional elements and therefore cannot cause the claim to be directed away from the abstract idea and therefore does not cause the claim as-a-whole to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Dependent Claims: none of the dependent claims contain additional elements that would be sufficient to either integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or cause the claim as-a-whole to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John (US 2021/0172758).
As per Claim 1:
John teaches the following limitations:
“An apparatus for providing real-time traffic information, the apparatus comprising: a traffic information collection unit configured to collect, in real time while a user vehicle is travelling along a travel route, traffic information comprising a real-time travel speed and a cause of traffic congestion”
John Paragraph [0070] teaches real-time collection of traffic data including traffic speed. Figure 4 teaches identifying congestion compared to normal traffic and the cause of said congestion.
“a traffic congestion section determination unit configured to determine a normal speed range based on the traffic information and determine a section with a real-time travel speed lower than a lower limit of the normal speed range as a traffic congestion section”
John Figure 4 teaches identifying a normal route that has been slowed based on a congestion event and identifying an alternative route that is shorter. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill that the comparison of a normal speed would have a range of normally acceptable values.
“and a traffic congestion section information providing unit configured to provide traffic congestion section information comprising at least one of a location of the traffic congestion section, the cause of the traffic congestion, or an expected delay time based on the traffic information and the traffic congestion section included in the travel route of the user vehicle.”
John Figure 4 teaches identifying a location of traffic congestion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system taught by John with the range of normal values. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the system more effective by providing a useful range of normal values.
As per Claim 9: this claim is substantially similar to Claim 1 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
Claims 2-3 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John in view of Guan (US 2021/0174669).
With regards to Claim 2, John teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 but does not teach the following limitations that Guan teaches:
“wherein the traffic information collection unit is further configured to collect the cause of the traffic congestion based on a real-time traffic image provided through an intelligent transport system and an image analysis model, and wherein the traffic information comprises at least one of real-time traffic accident information, rally information, event information, traffic control information, or roadwork information.”
Guan [Abstract] teaches identifying traffic congestion based on traffic image data.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system taught by John with the identification of traffic congestion via images taught by Guan. Guan and John are analogous references as they are both directed towards ascertaining traffic information. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the system more effective by utilizing a cheap sensor type to extract traffic information.
With regards to Claim 3, John in view of Guan teaches all of the limitations of Claim 2 and further teaches the following limitations:
“wherein the traffic congestion section determination unit is further configured to determine the normal speed range according to a preset cycle by using a traffic pattern prediction model that uses the real-time travel speed as training data.
John Paragraph [0019] teaches training a machine learning system to determine normal travel speed on a road segment.
With regards to Claim 10, this claim is substantially similar to Claim 2 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
With regards to Claim 11, this claim is substantially similar to Claim 3 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
Claims 4-6 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John in view of Guan in view of Chandraker (US 2025/0148911).
With regards to Claim 4, John in view of Guan teaches all of the limitations of Claim 3 but does not teach the following limitations that Chandraker suggests:
“wherein the traffic congestion section information providing unit comprises a vector generation unit configured to: generate a traffic information vector by dividing and expanding the traffic information based on at least one of a preset token count unit, a sentence boundary, or a paragraph boundary and performing vectorization; and generate a route vector by dividing and expanding the traffic congestion section included in the travel route of the user vehicle based on at least one of a preset token count unit, a sentence boundary, or a paragraph boundary and performing vectorization.”
Chandraker Paragraph [0049] suggests using large language models to present traffic information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system taught by John in view of Guan with the large language model identification of traffic information suggested by Chandraker. These references are analogous as they are all related to traffic information acquisition. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the system more effective by using a known method of machine learning to facilitate traffic information.
With regards to Claim 5, John in view of Guan in view of Chandraker suggests all of the limitations of Claim 4 and further suggests the following limitations:
“wherein the traffic congestion section information providing unit further comprises a vector search unit configured to retrieve a traffic information vector that is close to the route vector.”
Chandraker Paragraphs [0043]-[0045] suggest identifying routes by a large language model.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system taught by John in view of Guan with the large language model identification of traffic information suggested by Chandraker. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the system more effective by using a known method of machine learning to facilitate traffic information.
With regards to Claim 6, John in view of Guan in view of Chandraker suggests all of the limitations of Claim 5 and further teaches the following limitations:
“wherein the traffic congestion section information providing unit further comprises a text generation unit configured to generate a sentence comprising at least one of the location of the traffic congestion section, the cause of the traffic congestion, or the expected delay time based on the retrieved traffic information vector and a preset sentence template, and wherein the traffic congestion section information providing unit is further configured to provide the traffic congestion section information based on the generated sentence.”
John Figure 4 teaches producing a sentence based on cause of traffic congestion.
With regards to Claim 12, this claim is substantially similar to Claim 4 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
With regards to Claim 13, this claim is substantially similar to Claim 5 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
With regards to Claim 14, this claim is substantially similar to Claim 6 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
Claims 7-8 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John in view of Guan in view of Chandraker in view of Hranac (US 2014/0136089).
With regards to Claim 7, John in view of Guan in view Chandraker teaches all of the limitations of Claim 6 but does not teach the following limitations that Hranac teaches:
“wherein the expected delay time is determined based on the normal speed range and the real-time travel speed.”
Hranac Paragraph [0030] teaches identifying the amount of delay based on the comparing live speed to normal speed for road segments.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system taught by John in view of Guan in view of Chandraker with the delay time comparison taught by Hranac. These references are all analogous as they are all related to traffic information acquisition. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to make these modifications in order to make the system more effective by providing more useful information.
With regards to Claim 8. John in view of Guan in view of Chandraker in view of Hranac teaches all of the limitations of Claim 6 and further teaches the following limitations:
“wherein the text generation unit is further configured to generate the sentence by using a retrieval-augmented generation large language model.”
John Paragraph [0019] teaches outputting speed predictions based on a machine learning system. Figure 4 teaches this output being presented in sentence form. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use any machine learning method for producing this sentence.
With regards to Claim 15, this claim is substantially similar to Claim 7 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
With regards to Claim 16, this claim is substantially similar to Claim 8 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
Related References
Yang (US 2019/0310100)
Related to dynamic lane-level navigation.
Baik (US 2019/0172344)
Relate to forecasting traffic conditions.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach examiner by telephone are unsuccessful the examiner’s supervisor, Thomas Worden can be reached on (571) 272-4876. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/GODFREY ALEKSANDER MACIOROWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3658