DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/19/2026 and 09/10/2025 have been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,10,16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 9,869,877 hereinafter Kim) in view of Liao et al. (US 2023/0102042 hereinafter Liao).
Referring to claim 1, Kim discloses a display apparatus (Col. 1 lines 17-20; Stereoscopic image displays can be classified into glasses type and non-glasses type depending on whether the viewer needs to wear special glasses to separate left and right images.), comprising:
a display module (Fig. 6; display panel 100);
a light-transmitting module (Fig. 6; polarization control unit 200) located on a display side of the display module (Fig. 6; display panel 100) (Fig. 1; unit 200 located on a display side of the display module 100); and a
controller (Fig. 6; polarization control unit 200) configured to:
in a two-dimensional display mode, control the display module to display a first two- dimensional image, and control the light-transmitting module to be in a first light-transmitting state, so that the first two-dimensional image is displayed on a side of the light-transmitting module that is away from the display module (Col. 6 lines 19-28; In the 2D image mode, when the light emitted from the display panel 100 passes through the polarization control unit 200 to which an electric field is applied, the light passes through the polarization control unit 200 substantially without changing the polarization axis. Thus, the polarization axis of light is vertical {circle around (x)} (z-axis direction in FIG. 6) both before and after the light passes through the polarization control unit 200. As a result, a light whose polarization axis is vertical {circle around (x)} is supplied to the switchable lens device 300.); and
in a three-dimensional display mode, control the display module to display a second two- dimensional image, and control the light-transmitting module to be in a second light- transmitting state, so that a naked-eye three-dimensional image (Col. 1 lines 17-20; Stereoscopic image displays can be classified into glasses type and non-glasses type depending on whether the viewer needs to wear special glasses to separate left and right images. Thus, non-glasses type reads on limitation “naked-eye image”), corresponding to the second two-dimensional image is displayed on the side of the light-transmitting module that is away from the display module (Col. 5 line 62 to Col. 6 line 2; In the 3D image mode, when the light emitted from the display panel 100 passes through the polarization control unit 200 to which an electric field is not applied, the polarization axis of the light is rotated by about 90° from a vertical direction {circle around (x)} (z-axis direction in FIG. 6) to a horizontal direction custom character (x-axis direction in FIG. 6). Hence, a light whose polarization axis is horizontal custom character is supplied to the switchable lens device 300.);
wherein the first light-transmitting state is different from the second light-transmitting state (Col. 6 lines 19-28; In the 2D image mode, when the light emitted from the display panel 100 passes through the polarization control unit 200 to which an electric field is applied, the light passes through the polarization control unit 200 substantially without changing the polarization axis. Thus, the polarization axis of light is vertical {circle around (x)} (z-axis direction in FIG. 6) both before and after the light passes through the polarization control unit 200. As a result, a light whose polarization axis is vertical {circle around (x)} is supplied to the switchable lens device 300…. And… Col. 5 line 62 to Col. 6 line 2; In the 3D image mode, when the light emitted from the display panel 100 passes through the polarization control unit 200 to which an electric field is not applied, the polarization axis of the light is rotated by about 90° from a vertical direction {circle around (x)} (z-axis direction in FIG. 6) to a horizontal direction custom character (x-axis direction in FIG. 6). Hence, a light whose polarization axis is horizontal custom character is supplied to the switchable lens device 300), and in the second light-transmitting state, a lens layer (Fig. 6; switchable lens device 300) is arranged in a direction close to or away from the display module (Fig. 6; display panel 100) are formed on the light-transmitting module (Fig. 6; polarization control unit 200) (Fig. 6; lens layer 300 is arranged in a direction close to or away from display module 100 are formed on the light-transmitting module 200).
However, Kim is silent on a grating layer that are arranged in a direction close to or away from the display module are formed on the light- transmitting module.
In an analogous art, Liao discloses a lens layer (Fig. 7; mircro lens layer 350) and a grating (Fig. 7; grating layer 660) that are arranged in a direction close to or away from the display module (Fig. 7; a display module is presented but not shown in the direction of images IM1) are formed on the light-transmitting module (Fig. 7; layer of IM1) ([0052]; As shown in FIG. 6, the micro lens layer 350 is located on the second display surface 342. Lights generated from the micro LEDs 321, 322, 323 of a first group of the pixels (e.g., the left pixel in FIG. 6) form a first image IM1 on a first imaging plane IP1 after propagating via the micro lens layer 350, and lights generated from the micro LEDs 321, 322, 323 of a second group of the pixels (e.g., the right and middle pixels in FIG. 6) partially penetrate through the first display surface 341 and partially penetrate through the second display surface 342 and form a second image on a second imaging plane IP2.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Liao to the system of Kim in order to allow the transparency and the effect of lowering the cost of the panel of the micro LED transparent display that can be achieved.
Referring to claim 10, Kim discloses wherein adjacent lenses of the lens layer are connected to each other (Fig. 4; lens cell, each lens is connected to each other).
Referring to claim 16, Kim discloses a method of display control, comprising:
in a two-dimensional display mode, controlling a display module to display a first two- dimensional image, and controlling a light-transmitting module to be in a first light transmitting state, so that the first two-dimensional image is displayed on a side of the light- transmitting module that is away from the display module (Col. 6 lines 19-28; In the 2D image mode, when
the light emitted from the display panel 100 passes through the polarization control unit
200 to which an electric field is applied, the light passes through the polarization control
unit 200 substantially without changing the polarization axis. Thus, the polarization axis
of light is vertical {circle around (x)} (z-axis direction in FIG. 6) both before and after the
light passes through the polarization control unit 200. As a result, a light whose polarization axis is vertical {circle around (x)} is supplied to the switchable lens device
300.); and
in a three-dimensional display mode, controlling the display module to display a second two- dimensional image, and controlling the light-transmitting module to be in a second light- transmitting state, so that a naked-eye three-dimensional image (Col. 1 lines 17-20; Stereoscopic image displays can be classified into glasses type and non-glasses type depending on whether the viewer needs to wear special glasses to separate left and right images. Thus, non-glasses type reads on limitation “naked-eye image”) corresponding to the second two- dimensional image is displayed on the side is of the light-transmitting module that is away from the display module (Col. 5 line 62 to Col. 6 line 2; In the 3D image mode, when the light emitted from the display panel 100 passes through the polarization control unit 200 to which an electric field is not applied, the polarization axis of the light is rotated by about 90° from a vertical direction {circle around (x)} (z-axis direction in FIG. 6) to a horizontal direction custom character (x-axis direction in FIG. 6). Hence, a light whose polarization axis is horizontal custom character is supplied to the switchable lens device 300.);
wherein the first light-transmitting state is different from the second light-transmitting state (Col. 6 lines 19-28; In the 2D image mode, when the light emitted from the display
panel 100 passes through the polarization control unit 200 to which an electric field is applied, the light passes through the polarization control unit 200 substantially without changing the polarization axis. Thus, the polarization axis of light is vertical {circle around (x)} (z-axis direction in FIG. 6) both before and after the light passes through the polarization control unit 200. As a result, a light whose polarization axis is vertical {circle around (x)} is supplied to the switchable lens device 300…. And… Col. 5 line 62 to Col. 6 line 2; In the 3D image mode, when the light emitted from the display panel 100 passes through the polarization control unit 200 to which an electric field is not applied, the polarization axis of the light is rotated by about 90° from a vertical direction {circle around (x)} (z-axis direction in FIG. 6) to a horizontal direction custom character (x-axis direction in FIG. 6). Hence, a light whose polarization axis is horizontal custom character is supplied to the switchable lens device 300), and in the second light-transmitting state, a lens layer (Fig. 6; switchable lens device 300) and a grating layer that are arranged in a direction close to or away from the display module are formed on the light-transmitting module (Fig. 6; polarization control unit 200) (Fig. 6; lens layer 300 is arranged in a direction close to or away from display module 100 are formed on the light-transmitting module 200).
However, Kim is silent on a grating layer that are arranged in a direction close to or away from the display module are formed on the light-transmitting module.
In an analogous art, Liao discloses a grating layer (Fig. 7; grating layer 660) that are arranged in a direction close to or away from the display module (Fig. 7; a display module is presented but not shown in the direction of images IM1) are formed on the light-transmitting module (Fig. 7; layer of IM1) ([0052]; As shown in FIG. 6, the micro lens layer 350 is located on the second display surface 342. Lights generated from the micro LEDs 321, 322, 323 of a first group of the pixels (e.g., the left pixel in FIG. 6) form a first image IM1 on a first imaging plane IP1 after propagating via the micro lens layer 350, and lights generated from the micro LEDs 321, 322, 323 of a second group of the pixels (e.g., the right and middle pixels in FIG. 6) partially penetrate through the first display surface 341 and partially penetrate through the second display surface 342 and form a second image on a second imaging plane IP2.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Liao to the system of Kim
in order to allow the transparency and the effect of lowering the cost of the panel of the micro
LED transparent display that can be achieved.
Referring to claim 19, Kim discloses one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media having instructions stored thereupon which, when executed by a controller having at least a processor and a memory therein (Col. 3 lines 4-6; FIG. 1 is a cross-sectional view illustrating a schematic configuration of a 2D/3D image display device according to the first exemplary embodiment of the present invention. Thus, the 2D/3D image display device has one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media having instructions stored thereupon which, when executed by a controller having at least a processor and a memory is presented but not shown), cause the controller to perform operations comprising:
in a two-dimensional display mode, controlling a display module to display a first two- dimensional image, and controlling a light-transmitting module to be in a first light-transmitting state, so that the first two-dimensional image is displayed on a side of the light-transmitting module that is away from the display module (Col. 6 lines 19-28; In the 2D image mode, when
the light emitted from the display panel 100 passes through the polarization control unit
200 to which an electric field is applied, the light passes through the polarization control
unit 200 substantially without changing the polarization axis. Thus, the polarization axis
of light is vertical {circle around (x)} (z-axis direction in FIG. 6) both before and after the
light passes through the polarization control unit 200. As a result, a light whose
polarization axis is vertical {circle around (x)} is supplied to the switchable lens device
300.); and
in a three-dimensional display mode, controlling the display module to display a second two- dimensional image, and controlling the light-transmitting module to be in a second light- transmitting state, so that a naked-eye three-dimensional image (Col. 1 lines 17-20; Stereoscopic image displays can be classified into glasses type and non-glasses type depending on whether the viewer needs to wear special glasses to separate left and right images. Thus, non-glasses type reads on limitation “naked-eye image”) corresponding to the second two- dimensional image is displayed on the side of the light-transmitting module that is away from the display module (Col. 5 line 62 to Col. 6 line 2; In the 3D image mode, when the light emitted from the display panel 100 passes through the polarization control unit 200 to which an electric field is not applied, the polarization axis of the light is rotated by about 90° from a vertical direction {circle around (x)} (z-axis direction in FIG. 6) to a horizontal direction custom character (x-axis direction in FIG. 6). Hence, a light whose polarization axis is horizontal custom character is supplied to the switchable lens device 300.);
wherein the first light-transmitting state is different from the second light-transmitting state (Col. 6 lines 19-28; In the 2D image mode, when the light emitted from the display panel 100 passes through the polarization control unit 200 to which an electric field is applied, the light passes through the polarization control unit 200 substantially without changing the polarization axis. Thus, the polarization axis of light is vertical {circle around (x)} (z-axis direction in FIG. 6) both before and after the light passes through the polarization control unit 200. As a result, a light whose polarization axis is vertical {circle around (x)} is supplied to the switchable lens device 300…. And… Col. 5 line 62 to Col. 6 line 2; In the 3D image mode, when the light emitted from the display panel 100 passes through the polarization control unit 200 to which an electric field is not applied, the polarization axis of the light is rotated by about 90° from a vertical direction {circle around (x)} (z-axis direction in FIG. 6) to a horizontal direction custom character (x-axis direction in FIG. 6). Hence, a light whose polarization axis is horizontal custom character is supplied to the switchable lens device 300), and in the second light-transmitting state, a lens layer (Fig. 6; switchable lens device 300) is arranged in a direction close to or away from the display module (Fig. 6; display panel 100) are formed on the light-transmitting module (Fig.
6; polarization control unit 200) (Fig. 6; lens layer 300 is arranged in a direction close to or away from display module 100 are formed on the light-transmitting module 200).
However, Kim is silent on a grating layer that are arranged in a direction close to or away
from the display module are formed on the light- transmitting module.
In an analogous art, Liao discloses a lens layer (Fig. 7; mircro lens layer 350) and a grating (Fig. 7; grating layer 660) that are arranged in a direction close to or away from the display module (Fig. 7; a display module is presented but not shown in the direction of images IM1) are formed on the light-transmitting module (Fig. 7; layer of IM1) ([0052]; As shown in FIG. 6, the micro lens layer 350 is located on the second display surface 342. Lights generated from the micro LEDs 321, 322, 323 of a first group of the pixels (e.g., the left pixel in FIG. 6) form a first image IM1 on a first imaging plane IP1 after propagating via the micro lens layer 350, and lights generated from the micro LEDs 321, 322, 323 of a second group of the pixels (e.g., the right and middle pixels in FIG. 6) partially penetrate through the first display surface 341 and partially penetrate through the second display surface 342 and form a second image on a second imaging plane IP2.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Liao to the system of Kim
in order to allow the transparency and the effect of lowering the cost of the panel of the micro
LED transparent display that can be achieved.
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 9,869,877 hereinafter Kim) in view of Liao et al. (US 2023/0102042 hereinafter Liao), and Kim et al. (US 2011/0175857 hereinafter Kim857).
Referring to claim 8, Kim in view of Liao as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein a lens in of the lens layer is a cylindrical lens, the grating layer comprises a plurality of strip- shaped light-transmitting areas, and an extension direction of the a light-transmitting area of the plurality of strip-shaped light-transmitting areas is parallel to an axial meridian of the lens.
In an analogous art, Kim857 discloses wherein a lens in of the lens layer is a cylindrical lens ([0013]; cylindrical lenses), the grating layer (Fig. 4A; 512) comprises a plurality of strip- shaped light-transmitting areas (Fig. 4A; between strips of 512 is the light transmitting areas), and an extension direction of the a light-transmitting area (Fig. 4A; light transmitting from display panel 300) of the plurality of strip-shaped light-transmitting areas is parallel to an axial meridian of the lens (see below Fig. 4A that the light transmitting area is parallel to an axial meridian of the lens).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Kim857 to the system of Kim in view of Liao in order to provide a stereoscopic image that has enhanced viewing angle.
Referring to claim 11, Kim in view of Liao as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein a grating period of the grating layer is M times an aperture of a lens of the lens layer, and M is an integer greater than 1.
In an analogous art, Kim857 discloses wherein a grating period (Fig. 9B; 611, 613) of the grating layer is M times an aperture (Fig. 9B; 612A) a lens of the lens layer, and M is an integer greater than 1 (Fig. 9B; grating periods 611,613 each is two times an aperture 612A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Kim857 to the system of Kim in view of Liao in order to provide a stereoscopic image that has enhanced viewing angle.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-7, 9, 12-15, 17-18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Referring to claim 2, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitation “wherein the light-transmitting module comprises a first light-transmitting component and a second light- transmitting component that are arranged in the direction close to or away from the display module; and
in the second light-transmitting state, the lens layer is formed on the first light- transmitting component, and the grating layer is formed on the second light-transmitting component”.
Referring to claims 3-7 are objected upon dependent on the claim 2.
Referring to claim 9, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitation “wherein the display module comprises a plurality of sub-pixels arranged in an array; and
a lens of the lens layer is a cylindrical lens, and an included angle between an axial meridian of the lens and a row direction of the plurality of sub-pixels and an included angle between the axial meridian of the lens and a column direction of the plurality of sub-pixels are greater than 0 degrees and less than 90 degrees”.
Referring to claim 12, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitation “wherein the grating layer comprises a plurality of light-transmitting areas arranged at intervals;
an orthographic projection of one of the plurality of light-transmitting areas on the display module is located in an orthographic projection, on the display module, of a lens that corresponds to a light-transmitting area and is in the lens layer; and
different light-transmitting areas correspond to different lenses of the lens layer, and the plurality of light-transmitting areas correspond to a part of lenses of in the lens layer”.
Referring to claims 13-15 are objected upon dependent on the claim 12.
Referring to claim 17, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitation “wherein a grating period of the grating layer is M times an aperture of a lens of the lens layer, and M is an integer greater than 1;
the grating layer comprises a plurality of light-transmitting areas arranged at intervals;
an orthographic projection of one of the plurality of light-transmitting areas on the display module is located in an orthographic projection, on the display module, of a lens that corresponds to a light-transmitting area and is in the lens layer;
different light-transmitting areas correspond to different lenses of the lens layer, and the plurality of light-transmitting areas correspond to a part of lenses of the lens layer; and the method further comprises:
in the three-dimensional display mode, controlling the grating period of the grating layer to switch between a plurality of candidate periods”.
Referring to claim 18, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitation “wherein a grating period of the grating layer is M times an aperture of a lens of the lens layer, and M is an integer greater than 1;
the grating layer comprises a plurality of light-transmitting areas arranged at intervals; an orthographic projection of one light-transmitting area on the display module is located an orthographic projection, on the display module, of a lens that corresponds to a light-transmitting area and is in the lens layer;
different light-transmitting areas correspond to the different lenses of the lens layer, and the plurality of light-transmitting areas correspond to a part of lenses of the lens layer; and
controlling the display module to display the second two-dimensional image, and controlling the light-transmitting module to be in the second light-transmitting state comprise:
in a display time period of one frame of a target naked-eye three-dimensional image, controlling the display module to sequentially display a plurality of frames of second two- dimensional images based on a two-dimensional image corresponding to the target naked-eye three-dimensional image; and
when the display module displays one frame of second two-dimensional image of the plurality of frames of second two-dimensional images, controlling the light-transmitting module to be in a second light-transmitting state corresponding to the one frame of second two- dimensional image, so that a plurality of frames of auxiliary naked-eye three-dimensional images that one-to-one correspond to the plurality of frames of second two-dimensional images are sequentially displayed on the side of the light-transmitting module that is away from the display module,
wherein the display time period is less than 33.3 milliseconds; and in second light- transmitting states corresponding to different frames of second two-dimensional images, the lens layer remains unchanged, the grating period of the grating layer remains unchanged, and positions of the light-transmitting areas of the grating layer vary”.
Referring to claim 20, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitation “wherein a grating period of the grating layer is M times an aperture of a lens of the lens layer, and M is an integer greater than 1;
the grating layer comprises a plurality of light-transmitting areas arranged at intervals;
an orthographic projection of one of the plurality of light-transmitting areas on the display module is located in an orthographic projection, on the display module, of a lens that corresponds to a light-transmitting area and is in the lens layer;
different light-transmitting areas correspond to different lenses of the lens layer, and the plurality of light-transmitting areas correspond to a part of lenses of the lens layer; and the operations further comprise:
in the three-dimensional display mode, controlling the grating period of the grating layer to switch between a plurality of candidate periods”.
Conclusion
/SCOTT D AU/Examiner, Art Unit 2624